Injury/Rehab Injury/Niggle Management - w/ cptkirk

Yo, so my GF apparently has sway back? She's been seeing some doc who also does clinical pilates who has diagnosed her with that. Main thing is her abs are apparently too weak for her back. Thing is, when she was in the gym with me she was deadlifting up to 70kg+, squatting a lot too (all with relatively low bf%), but not doing any ab work.

Long story short, apparently this chick hasn't really alleviated any of the issues. Anything that'd help without aggravating any back issues? Mainly because I've mentioned some stretches and exercises (and her doc agrees with) but anything else would be a huge bonus and give some additional variation. Cheers

sway back is posteriour pelvic tilt with the hips pushed forwards so

- strengthen glutes/hams
- focus on stability based exercises for the core like planks, pallof presses and chops/lifts with an emphasise on staying long/tall and tight in half then tall kneeling positions
- hammer hamstring mobilisations from various angles, not just straight down to a toe touch
- off set farmer walk variations again staying long/tall and tight

Anyone have any experience with sports hernias / groin pain? I thought I strained my right groin in a footy game about 10 weeks ago making a quick step around a contest. I then took 2 weeks off and started playing again. The damn thing just won’t heal properly but it is not bad enough for me to stop running/kicking etc. I also went overseas for 6 weeks since the injury hoping by the time I returned it would be healed as I would not be doing anything overly active while on my holiday. Now I have been back home for 2 weeks and it is still at the same level of pain. Nothing while walking or sitting down but if I do some squats I get pain or if I run I also get a sort of 'hot spot' feeling in the area. The weirdest and most painful part is since I did the injury I have been getting a bizarre popping/snapping happening in the area when I am in bed. For example I will be laying on my back and wake up to move onto my side. As I lift my right leg something in my groin (where the injury is, perhaps a bit deeper into the adductor) pops/clicks and I get a severe pain that shoots through my whole body. I was thinking after doing a bit of Dr Goggling that it may be a sports hernia? Any help or advice would be appreciated. I will be heading to see the Doctor in due time.

not many injuries "just heal" without dedicated rehab, especially something in the hips which doesn't get complete rest...cease all running and do daily core and glute strengthening stuff for 4 - 6 weeks progressing with volume first then intensity...i've fixed a few blokes up with that set up, 1 bloke who had to take close to 2 yrs off from footy because of OP

Anyone have any experience with sports hernias / groin pain? I thought I strained my right groin in a footy game about 10 weeks ago making a quick step around a contest. I then took 2 weeks off and started playing again. The damn thing just won’t heal properly but it is not bad enough for me to stop running/kicking etc. I also went overseas for 6 weeks since the injury hoping by the time I returned it would be healed as I would not be doing anything overly active while on my holiday. Now I have been back home for 2 weeks and it is still at the same level of pain. Nothing while walking or sitting down but if I do some squats I get pain or if I run I also get a sort of 'hot spot' feeling in the area. The weirdest and most painful part is since I did the injury I have been getting a bizarre popping/snapping happening in the area when I am in bed. For example I will be laying on my back and wake up to move onto my side. As I lift my right leg something in my groin (where the injury is, perhaps a bit deeper into the adductor) pops/clicks and I get a severe pain that shoots through my whole body. I was thinking after doing a bit of Dr Goggling that it may be a sports hernia? Any help or advice would be appreciated. I will be heading to see the Doctor in due time.

Is the injured area where the adductors attach to the pubic bone? Around the area where your leg meets your hip?

adductortendinopathy.jpg

I had the same issue the last 2 years, it happened to me halfway through the 2013 season and like you hoped it would go away after rest which it just settled down but didn't go away and then early in this season it flared up again.

My physio mate told me (admittedly this was done via email as he lives overseas) that it was the early signs of OP. Take 2 weeks off running, which i didn't because i was too stubborn to miss games of footy. I just reduced my workload.

As kirky said, you need to rehab with core strengthening and glute exercises this really helped me (just use you tube for how to do certain exercises). Surprisingly the other thing that helped me was dropping some weight at my heaviest during the footy season i was around 91kg by the last game i had got down to 81kg. The last few weeks my groin felt as good as it did all year.

I had the same issue the last 2 years, it happened to me halfway through the 2013 season and like you hoped it would go away after rest which it just settled down but didn't go away and then early in this season it flared up again.

My physio mate told me (admittedly this was done via email as he lives overseas) that it was the early signs of OP. Take 2 weeks off running, which i didn't because i was too stubborn to miss games of footy. I just reduced my workload.

As kirky said, you need to rehab with core strengthening and glute exercises this really helped me (just use you tube for how to do certain exercises). Surprisingly the other thing that helped me was dropping some weight at my heaviest during the footy season i was around 91kg by the last game i had got down to 81kg. The last few weeks my groin felt as good as it did all year.

Ah thanks very much mate. Yeah my story sounds very similar to you. During the season I was at around 92kg's and since my trip I am down to about 85 so that might help a little. I am fairly sure I have a weak core and glutes so I will try and strengthen them before I reassess where it is at.

The symptoms you've stated sound more like a pectineus strain than the more traditional adduct longus strain, find some good detailed anatomy pics of the adductors on google and you should be able to palpate which specific adductor it is.
The pectineus has a habit of not settling due to it's greater load in walking, external rotation strength is the way to de-load this thing!!

Does anyone know a treatment/prevention for the Triceps Brachii Muscle (Lateral Head)?
I have pulled the muscle three times now. I believe i'm warming up properly, and have the right form when using it.

proper diagnosed or self diagnosed? it's a pretty hard muscle to "pull" on it's own
Self diagnosed. It feels very sore and restricts me from gym and sport every year for the past three years. During footy season it's fine but as soon as I start cricket it flares up. I thought it was from a bad throwing technique but I have only bowled and batted so far this pre season. I warm up and stretch but it still flares up, like a bad strain.

well its not the tricep itself but rather referred pain which i'd be inclined to say is coming from the shoulder complex...correct your breathing patterns, extend your thoracic spine and activate your lower traps and see what happens...do at least 2/day

Thankyou. Appreciate your help. I will give them a go. Will let you know how I get on mate.

Dislocated my knee again in my grand final with a knock to the lateral side of my knee. Been to the doctor and she reckons I've done my MCL and medial meniscus. Had an MRI today and I'm hoping they don't find anything anymore sinister in there. I'd be gutted if there was ACL to complete the 'unhappy triad'.

Anybody else had a similar injury and how did you manage it?

Hi guys,

Since footy has finished I've done the usual relaxing of standards and been fairly lazy in a training (weights & running) sense. I've intermittently been running and gyming in this time but with a few days between each.

I went for a run this arvo with a generous warm up jog to a local oval before partaking in some sprint work 200m, 100m & 50m efforts after a considerable stretch. I jogged home at a similar rate and have noticed now that I'm in pain though the upper hamstrings. The pain is like a pang that kicks in every now an then.

A few things to note:

- I'm currently squatting around 110kg (3 sets of 6) which is as heavy as I've ever gone.
- When sprinting I'm focusing on my technique by trying to keep my style as "clean" as possible.
- I have been using the rowing machine and bikes @ gym to keep off my feet.
- I have put on a kilo since footy finished.
- I'm old (30 odd)
- I haven't had a serious soft tissue injury in my career.

What can I do to prevent pinging my first hammy?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

sprint work should be done short to long meaning start at short distances and increase gradually, not head straight into 200's

Cheers. I'll start short and go from there.

sprint work should be done short to long meaning start at short distances and increase gradually, not head straight into 200's
Exactly. It sounds like you're overloading too quickly, without gradually increasing load. Tendons hate changes in loading and it sounds like you've developed a reactive hamstring tendinopathy.

Thanks for that info. I'll research it. I thought I'd be right to get back into power running but obviously not.

Injury/Rehab Injury/Niggle Management - w/ cptkirk