Introduction Thread

Gary Shadforth said:
I know I am not allowed in here. But I cant help myself. All I want to say is that reading the foregoing posts has brought one helluva huge lump to my throat and, unashamedly, a tear to my eye.

It's great to know that Hawks supporters are as passionate as ever. So many unwavered as we go through thin eras after having gone through so much of the thick. What really impresses me are the youngsters who have not known the glory years but are such avid fans of our great club.

To you I say when the day comes and the premiership cup is again held aloft it is going to be all that much sweeter.

I am really moved in reading this thread. And it was one of our great young supporters who started it.

Why not, Gary?

I agree with the others - great thread. Very enjoyable read, thanks to all those who have already introduced themselves.
I am 38, married with 3 kids. We live in Berwick and I work 2 jobs to try to pay the bills, but I still find some time (never quite enough) to log on to BigFooty.
I started barracking for Hawthorn in March 1980. The 80's were simply awesome and even better in hindsight (with some perspective). I loved seeing in a "Footy Dictionary" once the definition of "Grand Final - A game played at the end of the season between Hawthorn and some other side".
The only GF I went to was 1991. I became a member for the first time this year, one adult and one child membership. I took turns taking my kids and really enjoyed seeing the games live on a regular basis. My favorite players are Mitchell, Franklin and Croad, and of course you have to love Crawf and Hodge. I look forward to the future and really hope we can repeat those glory eras of the 70's and 80's.

I know, phil, I had a laugh when I read that line and thought 'that's right'. I have well documented my Hawthorn background over the years and I thought leave it to the youngens - why bore ppls any further.

And as I said, it is great to see we have so many youngsters writing on the Hawks board. I am so impressed with their passion and love for our club.

Cheers, phil.

Im 21 doing a teaching degree at uni
followed the hawks since being threatened to be kicked out of home if i didnt do so as a 3 year old and recieved a guernsey for my christening.
learnt to sing the song as a child by being forced to recite it every nite before i got my dinner.
member for 16 years.
best win ive been to was the 2001 semi in adelaide
hate goldsphincter.
play footy and cricket.
Love the hawks and cant wait for being old enough to appreciate how good it is to follow a successful team.

I am 29 years old and barracked for the Hawks since I 6 years old. I was privileged to watch the 88, 89 and 91 grand final.

The 89 final was the perhaps the standout. I was almost the first 12 yrs old to drop dead of a heart attack. The winning margin was 6 points. I recall Dermot flattened in the first few minutes and Dipper leaving with a punctured lung. That day while Geelong played the man the Hawks played the ball . Almost lost it in the final few minutes:eek: , but what a day.

My sister also barracks for the Hawks and I sometimes think she is more of a passionate supporter than I am. I took her to her first game and she cheered louder than me . She then stuck it up to the opposition. I moved a few seats down in case a melee was to erupt. No fear, the Hawks cheers squad was near:cool: . Now my wife barracks for the Hawks . Came part of my contract;) .

I’ve been through the high and lows and I do believe this time around the current players we have will take us to another premiership. I saw the talent in 88 and the comparisons with the current team will surely win a flag. However, it will take some time. But when its time it will come with a bang(prediction 09). I just hope for Crawford sake he will still be around . I still remember Crawfs first match at the SCG kicking 5-6 goals. What a champ.

I always be a Hawk.

Go Hawks!!

I'm a student in Adelaide, but been a Hawk for most of my life now.

My dad and brother are Port, Mum's Geelong, and I'm a Hawk. I go for them because my aunt told me to, because she used to be good friends with the boys back in the 70's (Slightly obscure, I know)

She was really good friends with Peter Crimmins as a matter of fact. She told me that a group of them would come over to my grandad's house, flog a couple of beers, grab the ciggerettes and then quickly bail. :D
Maybe not the best attitude, but funny all the same.

Been to every Hawthorn game down here for a number of years, which unfortuantely has resulted in a number of beltings, but it's good to see the boys anyway.

it happened to be the 75'GF with my older brother.We didn't have tickets but my brother who is ten years older than me managed to purchase some the morning of the game in Young and Jacksons from this rather scantily clad woman who i realised later as grew into my teens must've been a hooker given her garb at that hour of the morning.Ticket scalper/prostitute ....she must've made a fortune,
You definately arent the Mufti?

I'm Jack, I'm 16 years old and I'm doing Year 12 at Box Hill High School. I lived in England until 1999, when I moved over here with my family (my mum's family is over here). My uncle follows the hawks and so my father and I started to support them too. I've been a member every year since 1999, and the first game I went to was the thrashing of Sydney at Waverley Park in 99. My favourite player was Danny Chick until he moved to the Eagles and since Campbell Brown joined our ranks, he's been my favourite.

Just though id add somthing about myself in this thread as well.

Well, im helen, im 17 years old.. turing 18 in october. Currently in year12 and cant wait for this year to be over.

Ive supported hawks ever since i remember. My mum goes for hawks, and so does everyone else in her family, so i guss that it was family that made be go for hawks from a young age.. my dad goes for kangaroos... but it was hawthorn i was made.

I still remember the first game of footy i went to. I would have been about 5 years old... against adelaide at waverly park..i remember my uncle taking me to that game... and to this very day... i still go to the football with the same people.

Even though ive been a hawthorn support all my life, this is only the 3rd year i am a member. Ive got resverd seats at the mcg.. and have had them for the past three years.

I love going to the footy...but now this year i have got a part-time job.. so makes going to game abit more difficult.. but i get down when i can

Hi everyone :)

My name is Rach and I'm 18 years old, currently in year 12, and have been a proud, passionate and paid up Hawthorn member for 10 consecutive years now! I've only just discovered BF and really look forward to discussing everything brown and gold with you all.
Ciao

Hi everyone :)

My name is Rach and I'm 18 years old, currently in year 12, and have been a proud, passionate and paid up Hawthorn member for 10 consecutive years now! I've only just discovered BF and really look forward to discussing everything brown and gold with you all.
Ciao

Welcome aboard, Rach. Good to have you involved on the Hawk Board!

Having gone through Year 12 myself in the past few years, all I can say is study hard!

just found this thread so i thought id have a crack..

Im 21 and was born a fitzroy supporter, dad was a lions fan, but switched to the hawks in '93 after being caught between the two for a couple of years because of relatives. My aunty n uncle took me to a hawks crows game at Waverly (we won) offered me a jumper for my birthday, i chose d. jarman, and that was it.

went to tafe out of high school and got a surveying qualification. for the last 18 months have worked full time as a survey draftsperson, therefore always on the computer and as a result big footy.

Living in the northern suburbs of Melb, every one barracked for the pies, blues or bombers growing up, so have never had many hawks supporters to go to games with. i started playing footy again this year to help some mates out for the first time since under 17s so havent been to many games this year, but try to watch the replay every week.

just found this thread so i thought id have a crack..

Im 21 and was born a fitzroy supporter, dad was a lions fan, but switched to the hawks in '93 after being caught between the two for a couple of years because of relatives. My aunty n uncle took me to a hawks crows game at Waverly (we won) offered me a jumper for my birthday, i chose d. jarman, and that was it.

went to tafe out of high school and got a surveying qualification. for the last 18 months have worked full time as a survey draftsperson, therefore always on the computer and as a result big footy.

Living in the northern suburbs of Melb, every one barracked for the pies, blues or bombers growing up, so have never had many hawks supporters to go to games with. i started playing footy again this year to help some mates out for the first time since under 17s so havent been to many games this year, but try to watch the replay every week.

Welcome, matey. :thumbsu:

G'day

My name is Chris. I am 27 years old and live in the outer eastern suburbs of Melb. I have been an avid reader of this website (more so than poster) since early this year. I play footy in the ammo's and came to know about this site after checking out their sites on BF.
I have been a Hawthorn fan all my life and have been a member for the past 12 years. My family is predominately made up of Hawks fans and my dad and I named my little brother Leigh when he was born - after the greatest player to have ever played the game of course. I love the Hawks and can occasionally get a bit upset at the negative posts on here when certain players don't perform. If they are having a dip for the brown and gold - they are right by me!!
Very excited about the next few years at Hawk land.
My favourite players are the ones that don't take a backward step - Lewis, Brown, Hodge, Mitchell and the like, but as i said before, as long as they are willing to have a crack for the mighty Hawks, then they've got my vote.

Cheers

Hi all!

The name's James, I'm 28 and living in Chelsea Heights, where "Lethal" was recruited from. I'm engaged to be married in March (Steph also Hawks), we've got a mortgage and 2 Staffies.

My brother and I run our own business in blinds and awnings called Twenty20Blinds, if anybody needs anything please PM me. ;)

I was born into a non footballing family and had no team until I copied my best friend in Prep ('85). I guess I'm lucky in choosing good people to associate with!

Was only a barracker and never went to a game until '94 v ess, thus graduating to supporter. Best football memory was 96 merger game, Piggy is a Legend and Langers showed true Hawthorn colours. Scraped together pocket money for concession 11 in '97 '98 & '99, missing 2000 no money, but adult member since! Gold member this year with 8 year scarf!

No favourite players just love the tough guys (thanks god Vanders stopped the Bombers bashing us). Buddy is fast becoming no 1 though.
No 3 is on my back.

I am technology challenged so i tend to read all the great conversation on BF without contributing. Some of the 'Me Too' repetition sh1ts me though.

See you guys and girls around.

Go Hawks. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

My name is Nick and im a Hawkaholic.

Followed the Hawks for as long as i can remember, family are all either kangas or Hawks supporters (makes for interesting times) and im glad i made the right choice!! Chose the Hawks cos of the premiership in the year i was born, 1971 - you do the maths. Work in medical research (with the secret purpose of cloning many crawfs so we can have him/them for the next 100 years!). Lived/worked overseas for a while and missed a few seasons but absolutely loving it since being back in oz.

FOR AUCTION: 1999 Brownlow Medal Football

I am auctioning a limited edition (1 of only 750 made) 1999 Brownlow medal commemorative football hand signed by the winner Shane Crawford. It is a genuine Sherrin red leather ball with gold leaf writing. Mint condition. Great opportunity for hawks fans and collectors alike given its the champ's last season!

Taking offers starting at $1600

Please contact Matt at matt_argy@hotmail.com

cheers

Hi guys, only really just discovered this thread so i thought i would just say a couple of things..
I discovered Big Footy about 6 months ago and since then i haven't been able to go a day with out coming on and checking the news and whats going on with everything.

Im 20 years old and live in tassie work full time and love sport especially basketball and football where i play both at senior level here in tassie. I've been a fan since i was about 3 years old as my dad gave me no choice (ive been told i originally barracked for the bulldogs but dad must have brain washed me into the hawks) and so i love it when the hawks come down here to play and when im able to get to melbourne to watch them!

As i dont have many close friends that are hawks supporters and they just cringe when i want to talk about them (24 hours a day) its great to be able to come on here and discuss everything to do with the hawks with people who share the same passion and love for the club that i do...

I was to young to remember or see any of our premierships so i am very much looking forward to the next 3 - 5 years where hopefully the day will come and i can only imagine the feeling..

Anyway there is a couple of my thoughts i look forward to the future and hopefully meeting some of you guys on here and witnessing hawthorn success!!

G'day Hawkers, Cam here. 2 years ago I moved to Melbourne after 5 years overseas. If only i had found Bigfooty while i was away, because hands down BF provides more info about the mighty hawks than any other medium. But i rarely get time to post, I guess Im happy just to observe.

Im into my 3rd year as a member and go to every game i can:thumbsu:.

I dont play anymore, but my last game was for the mightly Wimbledon Hawks in th BAFL in London. I didnt know anyone in London when i got there, and moved to wimbledon purley to play for the Hawks. A great experience, and made my first few months in a new country a pleasant time.

I tried to start my very first thread tonight but... access denied.:(

Mods, when will i be able to post new threads?

Introduction Thread