Strength Irritating people/things that annoy you in the gym III

I had my first session back this morning, we had one newbie and someone return who has been absent for a year.

Geez it was hard yakka, my last session was Xmas eve, since then i've drank and ate and not exercised, not surprising of course but back on the horse.

I was amazed and appalled at how much condition I lost between the end of the footy season and the start of preseason training in early Nov. Only six weeks, might as well have been six months. :(

Genuinely surprised that I didnt really see any newbies
Glory be, the newbies came for me today, its like as if the read this forum. :$

There was at least 10 newbies today.

Fortunately for me, they all came at the end of my Pull workout and was doing forearm exercises. so had zero impact.

History suggests that by end of January it will be quiet again, so about 3 weeks to go.:thumbsu:

USA must be getting slammed by Ozempic. Sounds like gyms are very quite now people don't need to work out
Ive watched a few videos online where it discusses that people would rather take a weight loss drug instead of working out at the gym.

Sure do both if you want to go down that path, but to choose a drug over going to the gym entirely, given all the benefits of weight training is just wrong on so many levels.

Ive watched a few videos online where it discusses that people would rather take a weight loss drug instead of working out at the gym.

Sure do both if you want to go down that path, but to choose a drug over going to the gym entirely, given all the benefits of weight training is just wrong on so many levels.

Lots of people are really lazy. They don't care about how healthy they are.

Yes I know, I see it in my office every day. According to one Oz govt agency, 66% of society is overweight/obese.

The irony for me at least, is that its far easier for me to be in a routine and go regularly 6 days a week, then to occasionally go to the gym.

When I was recovering from the flu, just going in for 3 days a week to try and maintain my strength last month was exhausting. Mind you thats also likely because my immune system was compromised.

I was amazed and appalled at how much condition I lost between the end of the footy season and the start of preseason training in early Nov. Only six weeks, might as well have been six months. :(
On a positive note, youre back training again. :thumbsu:

You will be surprised at just how quickly you will regain a lot your endurance and strength.

Will be interested to see how you are going after two months of consistent training.

I havent been able to run for over a month, I am kinda dreading Thursday when I start again as I will not only struggle with the run but will have to dial down my speed. :huh:

I would love Ozempic so i can do both.

Yes I know, I see it in my office every day. According to one Oz govt agency, 66% of society is overweight/obese.

The irony for me at least, is that its far easier for me to be in a routine and go regularly 6 days a week, then to occasionally go to the gym.

When I was recovering from the flu, just going in for 3 days a week to try and maintain my strength last month was exhausting. Mind you thats also likely because my immune system was compromised.

Most people look at the challenge of the first 6 - 12 weeks, as you're trying to establish a routine, and think that it's always going to be that hard. Once you've settled in to a routine, finding what you like, how to fit it in to life, it's pretty easy.

Just doing anything is a good start, something as simple as starting a routine of going for a walk around the block after meal goes a long way for people not doing anything.

I would love Ozempic so i can do both.
There are alternative medication that work where you can do both and be prescribed medication by a doctor.

From what I have heard Ozempic is not only hard to obtain via pharmacy but doctors are also less inclined to prescribe.

Most people look at the challenge of the first 6 - 12 weeks, as you're trying to establish a routine, and think that it's always going to be that hard. Once you've settled in to a routine, finding what you like, how to fit it in to life, it's pretty easy.

Just doing anything is a good start, something as simple as starting a routine of going for a walk around the block after meal goes a long way for people not doing anything.
Interesting comment you made about talking a walk after a meal, I heard recently that it is much better to go for walks after a meal than at any other time of the day. It was in relation to blood glucose levels and using the immediate fuel source for walking then storage.

Yes, doing anything is a good start. If I had to convince someone to hit the gym, I would tell them to ONLY do the exercises they may have fun with and enjoy and nothing else. At this stage its all about having a positive association with going to the gym. Once a routine has been established, then you can start looking at better workouts.

Interesting comment you made about talking a walk after a meal, I heard recently that it is much better to go for walks after a meal than at any other time of the day. It was in relation to blood glucose levels and using the immediate fuel source for walking then storage.

Yes, doing anything is a good start. If I had to convince someone to hit the gym, I would tell them to ONLY do the exercises they may have fun with and enjoy and nothing else. At this stage its all about having a positive association with going to the gym. Once a routine has been established, then you can start looking at better workouts.

If you managed to convince someone to turn up to the gym and do just squats, three times a week ongoing, that would probably be sufficient for most to end up pretty strong and healthy.

The caveat would be that they knew how to actually perform a squat/exercise properly.

I have seen way too many people at the gym either perform the movement incorrectly or poor ROM, ie quarter reps. They would have been far better off just using a machine instead.

My hot take would be with some, they might as well not have gone to the gym entirely, if their squat eventually leads to a debilitating crippling injury.

The caveat would be that they knew how to actually perform a squat/exercise properly.

I have seen way too many people at the gym either perform the movement incorrectly or poor ROM, ie quarter reps. They would have been far better off just using a machine instead.

My hot take would be with some, they might as well not have gone to the gym entirely, if their squat eventually leads to a debilitating crippling injury.
My mate as the worst ROM ive ever seen. We skip legs because he just can't do it haha. And he's weak and doesn't like a bit of pain.

Ive seen some people squat, where they are totally fine squatting using just the barbell, as soon as they increase the weight, the ROM and execution deteriorates. All that demonstrates, is that they can perform the movement, but have not developed the strength to go heavier.

Immediately in my early days, I was guilty of this. :$

I would get your mate to first develop muscle and strength using machines first then maybe try again to squat. At the end of the day, the squat exercise is a skill. There is a learning curve, it takes time to learn and perform correctly.

Would a Trap Bar Deadlift be the most universally accessible exercise that's hard to **** up?

Squat wise it's not 'that' hard to work out if you can park the ego and take your time to build up.

Goblet squats / Bar-only Squats and slowly build up as you develop mobility and technique would result in most people ending up being able to do them 'fine'.

Most people just find it hard to park the ego and take that time.

Ive seen some people squat, where they are totally fine squatting using just the barbell, as soon as they increase the weight, the ROM and execution deteriorates. All that demonstrates, is that they can perform the movement, but have not developed the strength to go heavier.

Immediately in my early days, I was guilty of this. :$

I would get your mate to first develop muscle and strength using machines first then maybe try again to squat. At the end of the day, the squat exercise is a skill. There is a learning curve, it takes time to learn and perform correctly.
As with most mates, they don't want to bother with any legs at all because what's the point?

Its always back or chest day when we go. I am ok with that as i can hit the same spot multiple times a week

Strength Irritating people/things that annoy you in the gym III