Shell
Premium Platinum

Now the tennis is over and I'm back at work, am more focused (I think)
Just carry a small amount of fat atm across the stomach, only a guess of what it would take to get rid of it completely.I know you’re too clever to be bmiing your weight? Is 70 flat just your ideal? If so what for?
My bmi would be like 80, I’m in really good shape at 100 but 97/98 would help with running and mobility a lot
70.9I'll be under 70kg soon and into the 60s.
Now the tennis is over and I'm back at work, am more focused (I think)
7kg down is a great effort for less than two months.So I am very new to all this on a semi-serious level.
I’ve played sport all my life - mainly cricket - so I was ‘cricket fit’ in that you could give me a ball and say ‘bowl me 15 overs straight’ and I could do it’ despite usually being a smoker and regular piss drinker but I’ve never been much of a gym goer. I played front row in rugby league so naturally was pretty big for that as well and my training usually consisted of rocking up during fitness and smoking darts behind the club rooms until ball work started
About 12 years ago when I was a journalist and started doing a bit of jogging, for diary sort of story the paper got me to run a half marathon and do a story each week about my training and stuff and I was about 90kg then. But I’ve steadily grown since and I maxed out at about 134kg recently. I was f**king disgusting. My missus broke up with me over Christmas as well which didn’t help. That was unrelated to how I looked im pretty sure - I’ve always been big since we’ve been together, but it certainly wouldn’t have made things easier.
Anyway I joined a gym in November but only went sporadically. On New Year’s Day I decided to start taking it at least semi seriously and have missed only two days since.
I’m sort of torn between trying to get stronger in my upper body and losing the weight on my stomach.
I’ve lost about 7kg so far. It’s hard trying to balance doing a lot of cardio - I generally walk anywhere between 4-6km on the treadmill, sometimes run a kilometre here or there (running is hard at my weight and my knees are shot after 20 years of being a bowler). Then I try and do weights at the end, some nights I might just do a few kilometres then do 45-60 minutes of weights.
I’ve really noticed a difference from my chest up and in my arms. It doesn’t seem to matter TOO much what exercises I’m doing as long as I do 5-6 of them at high intensity and I’m f**ked at the end.
I’m about to start an actual program that I downloaded to actually focus on the biceps, triceps and forearms just so there is some proper structure to what I’m doing now that I’ve made a bit of a start, and I will keep doing what I’m doing with my cardio to try and lose weight. At some point well in the future I’d like to get below 100 again - 110 would do for now, I am very stockily built and my legs are, well, huge so I can’t do a thing about the weight on them really.
Diet is very hard for me. There’s no other way to say it: I hate good food. Fruit, veggies, salad. I can’t stand them. I do the best I can but I struggle so I have to just eat minimally. No snacking, no sugar, lots of water, the odd cold meat sandwich here and there and tuna etc.
7kg down is a great effort for less than two months.
As for diet, from a pure weight gain/loss perspective quantity is more important than quality as long as you are eating enough protein to repair and grow your muscles.
My only advice (and I'll not an expert so take it with a grain of salt) would be to make sure you also focus on legs, back, and shoulders as well as your arms to build a balanced and strong physique.
Calves can be stubborn to grow so that's definitely a bonus if yours are well developed.Thanks mate. If you took a picture of my calves you’d think I was probably some kind of athlete; they actually look toned and fairly well looked after. My thighs I think will be a problem forever.
My back will be hard work, I know it is something I have to address and I’m not looking forward to it
Take it very slowlyPretty unfit at the moment after retiring from footy and cricket. Have a gym membership and have decided to get back into it. Any tips for a returned beginner? Eg. Program/s
Diet wise I plan to follow the F45 diet
Pretty unfit at the moment after retiring from footy and cricket. Have a gym membership and have decided to get back into it. Any tips for a returned beginner? Eg. Program/s
Diet wise I plan to follow the F45 diet
Especially up hills. I live in Tassie and some steep hikes around my parts. Great leg and cardio workout.Walking is underrated.