Is there anyone out there who will be ditching their current AFL team for 1 of the new Franchises?

Re: Is there anyone out there who will be ditching their current AFL team for 1 of the new Franchise

I've lived my whole life in different parts of Western Sydney. Out as far as Rooty Hill then to the inner west, a little detour to Adelaide, then back to the inner west and now to the aussie rules rich Hills District.

I never, ever will be supporting GWS though. They may be the 'local' team, but I'm wholly invested in the Swans who in my mind have respected and well represented the whole of Sydney (both the east and west) well in their 28 years here. I also love them dearly and my heart is with them completely.

I'm growing to not like GWS unfortunately. I'm a great supporter of the game, but something about them gets under my nose. I don't think they or the AFL administration has any idea about the people of Western Sydney or the area.

The Falou thing rubbed lots of people up the wrong way. Nobody likes a turncoat. As much as Sheedy wants to see him as a 'local' westie, he made his allegiances long ago and to most is nothing more than a 'dirty' queenslander ;). The fact that he also turned his back on the NRL doesn't at all entreat him or GWS to the public in Sydney. That move has now polarised the AFL and NRL as opposing forces when I think they would have benefited from being more 'hey we can all operate successfully in this market' like the Swans have done. It would have at least got them onside with the local press and given them positive publicity instead of the constant hate and scorn.

I also received some of GWS marketing in my mail earlier this year. It was some stupid 'return this footy' card that had a registration number which asked people to sign up for info on GWS and in doing so GWS would donate a $1 to some charity of sorts. Smart marketing, but I didn't appreciate the psychological coercion and I suspect neither did other people.

Also, I'm currently studying in Canberra actually and their 'ACT4GWS' campaign although highly successful (I'm pretty sure they got their required $50 from 5000 people) I think gives the wrong impression. They're claiming to be a local team there as well which I do think is the right way of going about it.

I mean lots of people in Canberra are passionate AFL supporters and desperately want to see more games. I love that this is bringing more games here, but seriously, how can Greater Western Sydney be representative of Canberra; a whole other city, in a whole other state. Most people in Canberra disassociate themselves with Sydney completely and in my experience here, harbour some resentment of sorts (little brother syndrome would be an accurate description).

Not to mention, how would people in Sydney think about having to share a team and some games with Canberra. In their first years, perhaps it would be more important for them to play all their home games in their base area in order to build support up instead of rushing off to Canberra.

Just my thoughts, mostly irrelevant to the initial question of the thread, but yeah... I do want them to succeed in order for the game to prosper, but I'm not entirely convinced about the way they've gone about it, so I won't be making any sort of investment in them even though they are my local team.

Re: Is there anyone out there who will be ditching their current AFL team for 1 of the new Franchise

I've lived more than half my life in Western Sydney. Sydney is my home, it's where my life is and where I watch my sport.
Australian Football has always been my passion. I've always supported Essendon - which was easier when I lived in Victoria, but living in Sydney I only got to see the Bombers a handful of times per year.
But the expansion of footy has always been a big interest of mine; and I've long believed a Western Sydney team will be an important step in the growth of the game. And now that the team is a reality, I'll be putting my money where my mouth is.
GWS, if it's going to work, will need start-up supporters; and I'll be one of them. Being a part of the spread of footy into my home area is attractive. So is the pioneering aspect of being a part of a footy club from scratch. And also not having to do the long distance relationship thing with a footy club, and to be actually able to see my club play more often.
The first GWS v Essendon game will be weird. Barracking against the Bombers will run against all my pre-existing footballing instincts. It wasn't an easy decision, but I know it's the right one.

And GWS have got Sheeds. That seals the deal.:footy:
I'd have to through something similar to you in order to change.

ie. living on the Gold Coast or West Sydney for a period of time longer than what I've been supporting Essendon for (17 years).

Only through the lack of seeing Essendon and seeing another team more often would it slowly grow on me.

Doubt that will happen though.

I moved from Gippsland to the Gold Coast when I was aged 9. Played junior footy for the Palm Beach-Currumbin Lions. Though I live in Brissy now, I've always considered myself a Coastie.

I've been a Blue fan since day dot, but I will HEAVILY support Gold Coast. Probably 100% Carlton and 97% Gold Coast. Will definitely be getting a GC membership too as I plan on attending most games.

you've already jumped, the final process is inevitable.

I've lived in Fremantle for 30 years... I've never considered changing my team. I still dont know how someone can do it...

no way

There's a good thread on this on the GC Suns page.. "who did you follow before the SUNS" or something..
Mostly it seems there are quite a few people local to the 'Coast who are jumping aboard from other clubs, a few who never really had a team they were passionate about, as well as a few people who have been upsed with the Lions recently.
And I can understand them doing it, if you lived on the GC or grew up there you'd want to get behind your local team. Personally I may be moving to Sydney at the end of next year and if I do that I will sign as a GWS member and go to their games, but I would get an Interstate EFC membership and the Bombers would still be my #1.
However I'm probably going to try and become an interstate GWS member anyway, just because they are going to need all the support they can get.

Nah, just go and give your coin to GWS and be done with it.
Not needed.
You are either Essendon 100 per cent or you are not at all.
That has been what has made the clubs like Essendon, Collingwood, Hawthorn and Carlton so successful. There are no second teams for us. And while I hate the Maggies and the Blue baggers and especially the Hawks I also love them cos their fans are just as one-eyed as us. As soon as we start having some so called chicken armed Essendon supporters buying memberships at other clubs and having "second teams" we start to sink to the realms of Richmond, St Kilda, Norf.
So take you coin, give it to Sheeds and enjoy the carazy ride that will be GWS - I won't be joining you - couldn't even if I wanted to!

That has been what has made the clubs like Essendon, Collingwood, Hawthorn and Carlton so successful. There are no second teams for us. And while I hate the Maggies and the Blue baggers and especially the Hawks I also love them cos their fans are just as one-eyed as us.

Not entirely true.

I know heaps of ex Magpie and Hawthorn fans up here in Brisbane that now follow the Lions. Some of them resisted for a while, but eventually jumped ship. There is a contrast too, some of them still hold a soft spot for their old team, while a few of them hate them completely.

A couple of guys I know jumped to the Bears after the 1990 Flag, as they felt the flag gave them 'closure'. I look like I'll be living up here permanently, and thought about the GC for about 5 seconds, but I just couldn't do it, I'm too emotionally involved.

The flag didn't give me any closure at all, I just want more!

Very hard to do so as soon as you pass the age of 18-21 and I'm 21.

I honestly am starting to have soft spot for the Gold Coast. Have always loved it there and if I was not living in Melbourne, that would be the place I'd love to be most. Will be watching them closely as a "second/neutral team".

However, it is impossible for me to change having stuck out my entire lifetime supporting Collingwood and now that I have finally tasted ultimate success, there is no chance of converting.

No chance.

That said, I will be attending GWS games and hoping they grow a good grassroots supporter base.

Same !!

When I moved up here 15 years ago I tried to follow the Swans (I even took out a membership) but couldn't change allegiances especially when I watched the Blues play them.

I'll support the new GWS franchise because I genuinely want the code to succeed in Sydney because if it does, it will have a strong impact on rugby league which is something that will please me to no end. I just can't handle that game, the way it is administered, the media coverage and basically anything to do with it.

GWS's success will go a long way to wiping out rugby league's popularity.

I've lived in Fremantle for 30 years... I've never considered changing my team. I still dont know how someone can do it...

Yeah I know they're a disgrace

If you did you weren't much of a supporter to begin with.

As a Melbourne Heart 'supporter' I feel qualified to say this!

If I'd lived in GC for many years, considered it home, etc, I might think about it...but I don't think I could.

That said, if that was the case, I might go to quite a few of their games (due to lack of options), and would probably develop a soft spot for them.

I'll have my own "local" side to go and watch from 2012 - and I will take out a membership to support them - but I'll be staying a Blues supporter and member as well.

I'm not sure why some people think that you have to ditch support for your long term club in order to get behind a new club starting up in your area.

This. Carlton will remain my team, but I will still be purchasing a GWS membership for 2 reasons. 1: living so close it'll be good to see some regular footy again. 2: i'm a strong believer that AFL is the greatest sport in the world, and I want it to be as successful as possible, wherever that means they expand to. GWS will become my 2nd team, but have no hope in hell of replacing Carlton.

I have 3 mates who are all changing to GC. All went for Essendon and I would call them reasonable fans.

Don't know if you would find many on here as people on BF would usually be the die hard fans who would never consider changing.

Since moving to the Gold Coast at the age of 12, after being born in Adelaide and supporting Port. I've seen footy grow up here remarkably (big thanks to the lions 3 peat). There's not many port supporters on the Gold Coast, but i've adjusted to it and have always maintained my support for the power, and as I grow older, it seems to grow more and more every year.

But i'll consider GC my second side, not when they play Port though! I'm getting a Suns membership, just because I love going to the footy, but my feelings for port are unwavered and would trade anything to see another flag. If it were port v GC in the grand final. I can honestly say I would want port to win, with boaky winning a norm smith.

Born and brought up in Melbourne, family moved to Adelaide, watched with humour at the genesis of the Crows (8 page supplements in Addy and hysterical 'Heroes' headlines after beating Essendon in a practise game) thought this sort of thing really isn't for me. Went to first game, sealed my deep and longstanding emnity for them.

Without being in the situation they must all be Bandwagoners.
How many people actually live in the Melbourne suburb of the team they barrack for. ( Not many I'd say unless they've renamed Dandenong , Collingwood ). Its no excuse.
If you moved to Collingwood would you change your football team?

If I did live interstate I consider that I probably would generate an empathy with the local side ( you have to barrack for someone if you go to the footy and your team isn't playing ). And I suppose if my children told me they wanted to support that team I might restrain myself from beating them to near death because of that empathy.

Without being in the situation they must all be Bandwagoners.
How many people actually live in the Melbourne suburb of the team they barrack for. ( Not many I'd say unless they've renamed Dandenong , Collingwood ). Its no excuse.
If you moved to Collingwood would you change your football team?

If I did live interstate I consider that I probably would generate an empathy with the local side ( you have to barrack for someone if you go to the footy and your team isn't playing ). And I suppose if my children told me they wanted to support that team I might restrain myself from beating them to near death because of that empathy.

I think your first paragraph really doesn't apply, the likes of Carlton, Collingwood and Essendon outgrew their suburbs years ago, and are simply Melbourne or even Victorian based teams now. The Gold Coast has been unrepresented, and if you have a bit of local loyalty, then a local team can have a massive attraction.

I think it's bad juju to switch teams personally (except if you support Fremantle, there's always an exception!)

As a West Adelaide Bloods supporter growing up, it took a while for me to start to support the Crows, and they weren't even competing in the same league.

I haven't lived in Adelaide since I left school 16 years ago, but I'm still a passionate Crows supporter. I've been a Swans member for the last few years and attend most games with a group a Sydney supporters. I wear the Swans scarf and cheer, cheer the red and the white. But I always have my Crows socks on underneath, and when Adelaide play the Swans I'm a rabid Crows supporter and abuse the Swans players I'm normally cheering for (in good humour of course). It's very confusing for my Swans mates!

I'll be supporting GWS in a similar way, and will probably buy a membership. I think it's great that Sheeds is the coach as he will help to market the game well and he understands that the key for GWS to succeed is to court the many new Australians that populate the area. It's no use trying to win the hearts of rusted on League supporters who have a very limited and prejudiced understanding of our great indigenous game. They are a dwindling demographic in the area anyway.

Immigrants on the other hand, want to build a new life in Australia and being part of a new club as it is being built is a great way to do that. Also, many are from countries that play soccer, and I've found fans of soccer tend to like Aussie Rules more than they do the various flavours of Rugby.

I think it helps that league in particular is associated with the Daily Telegraph channel 9 mindset that often vilify immigrants, while the AFL tries to create a perception that they are more welcoming and open to diversity (whether or not they actually are is a different matter).

I think the expansion teams are really exciting, and I don't mind losing players to them (we've already lost Bock). I hope they succeed.

I'm just unsure who I'll support in the local derbys. Perhaps I'll be one of those nongs who wears the colours of a team that's not playing. Or perhaps I'll wear a West Adelaide scarf and cheer for both Westies and the Bloods and really confuse everyone (myself included).

I've lived more than half my life in Western Sydney. Sydney is my home, it's where my life is and where I watch my sport.
Australian Football has always been my passion. I've always supported Essendon - which was easier when I lived in Victoria, but living in Sydney I only got to see the Bombers a handful of times per year.
But the expansion of footy has always been a big interest of mine; and I've long believed a Western Sydney team will be an important step in the growth of the game. And now that the team is a reality, I'll be putting my money where my mouth is.
GWS, if it's going to work, will need start-up supporters; and I'll be one of them. Being a part of the spread of footy into my home area is attractive. So is the pioneering aspect of being a part of a footy club from scratch. And also not having to do the long distance relationship thing with a footy club, and to be actually able to see my club play more often.
The first GWS v Essendon game will be weird. Barracking against the Bombers will run against all my pre-existing footballing instincts. It wasn't an easy decision, but I know it's the right one.

And GWS have got Sheeds. That seals the deal.:footy:

Turncoat. I bet if Essendon were flag favourites next year you wouldn't be jumping ship.

Nah, just go and give your coin to GWS and be done with it.
Not needed.
You are either Essendon 100 per cent or you are not at all.
That has been what has made the clubs like Essendon, Collingwood, Hawthorn and Carlton so successful. There are no second teams for us. And while I hate the Maggies and the Blue baggers and especially the Hawks I also love them cos their fans are just as one-eyed as us. As soon as we start having some so called chicken armed Essendon supporters buying memberships at other clubs and having "second teams" we start to sink to the realms of Richmond, St Kilda, Norf.
So take you coin, give it to Sheeds and enjoy the carazy ride that will be GWS - I won't be joining you - couldn't even if I wanted to!

Right.. So are they accepting cash or what?? I want to support them financially primarily because they'll need it, and secondly for the good of the code. If I take out the cheapest GWS membership I can, they get the coin and also get higher figures.. There's no way they're getting my heart, but if I wanna cheer 'em on against the Saints, Kangas and all the other teams (apart from us, of course) where's the problem?
Alright, you don't want EFC members buying memberships for other clubs? Do you not remember how Sheedy used to take out a membership for every club in the competition when he was our coach?
Well whatever, just because I love the Bombers doesn't mean I can't want the expansion sides to do well off-field.

Its weird inst it...WHY DO WE GO FOR THESE TEAMS IN THE FIRST PLACE????

I have never lived in Geelong, have no family that come from there and have no affiliations with the place what-so-ever....but i dearly love my club and I guarantee...if we were ever down in the dumps $$$ wise...id be out rattling cans like the Patriotic Footscray in the 80's.

Iv thought about it and discussed it a few times wiht friends...What Would Happen If Your Team Moved/Merged....

I have 3 kids...(B5/B5/G1) and my boys have changed from Pies to Hawks and Cats to Tigers...but il give them until they are 10 and then they can choose a team and stick with it. All the while getting in thier ears about the Cats and how they should go for them.

Anyone that changes team as an adult (really after 15) will never be serious about their club no matter how much support they show I believe.

You choose your team...you live and breathe that team your entire life...and you die with your team.

Any changes are BS in my opinion.

I have 3 mates who are all changing to GC. All went for Essendon and I would call them reasonable fans.

Don't know if you would find many on here as people on BF would usually be the die hard fans who would never consider changing.

Expect your mates to be very fickle supporters.

I'm from country SA and when the Crows came in, about half of my mates changed from their VFL team to Crows. Which is fair enough because they wanted to follow a SA team.

They are crap supporters. Love the Crows when they're winning, but jump off real quick when things go bad. I feel sorry for the fair dinkum Crow fans out there, becuase you have to put up with a lot of bandwagoners.

Is there anyone out there who will be ditching their current AFL team for 1 of the new Franchises?