Player Watch Isaac Quaynor

Some players are even better at top level vs VFL or practice games.

They can look touch and go in the reserves, but you give them a run in the seniors and being around better players helps them reach their potential - that’s IQ.

I remember Wellingham was like that.

Not every player can play ressies and beat the door down, some you need to just get games into at AFL level for that confidence piece.

You a convert now Maggie5 TheGreatGrundy ? Genuinely reckon he's the most talented up and coming back flanker in the league, can't be out of our best 22 from here out unless he's injured.
I echo what TheGreatGrundy posted, further you seem to be right also like Atu big change in him from what I saw at VFL level.

Every time I saw Atu do something good last night I was reminded that the last time I saw Atu play, I was reminded of two young boys near me, telling everyone around them, 'see that player there? That's my brother'. Atu's family.:)

Yes he played well and will nicely fill the hole left by that drug fiend we got from Sydney. As someone commented in the other thread he is like a Lumumba with a head (not a headless chook). I had worried he wasn't developing but it seems that he has gone up a notch. Atu was a revelation too. :thumbsu:
His kicking reminds me of Lonie. Low and flat, but easily able to cover 55-60m through strong legs and a good action. Quaynor though I see as a mid longterm; it's just the way he moves towards and around the footy, he's rarely stationary at a contest.

Lamumba had a thumping kick and was very evasive, so I can definitely see the comparisons there.

Promising signs last night, he's exactly the type of player we've been looking for.

Alway had the ability he showed last night, l think the difference is confidence that he belongs at the top level which allowed him to play his game, and not play safe, like he did in the past

H did have a thumping kick, but more often than not it was chaotic and was blasted high instead of a nice low trajectory.

IQ kicks did seem to ‘explode’ off the boot as a poster mentioned, but still with control...effortless timing.

He wasn’t really challenged defensively last night as the Hawks were horrible, but looks a great attacking weapon Off HB.

IQ, Maynard and Crisp running off HB (and with Moore the most agile 200cm defender in the game) gives us the rebound we need!!

Career sample size vs handful of games.

He was pick 13...

He is definitely closest to Lumumba in my view. Some good athletic traits, a little fumbly at times, looks slightly flustered at times when he gets the ball in traffic, and his kicking is okay, but arguably has a little too much arc in it. Can play a little taller than his height, but you'd never say he is strong above his head. Will be a good player for us over the years I expect. Let's not take that comparison as criticism either Harry O was AA remember.

Comparisons to Wirrapunda and H Shaw are a fair way off in my my view.

Runs a straight line alot blokes struggle have confidence to do this of he breaks the line most of the time we are out and running.

Huge asset if he can continue build on this.

I don't want to dampen this, but his kicking is being quite overrated on this board at the moment. Solid maybe, long maybe, but certainly not precise or with a low trajectory

Some players are even better at top level vs VFL or practice games.

They can look touch and go in the reserves, but you give them a run in the seniors and being around better players helps them reach their potential - that’s IQ.

I remember Wellingham was like that.

Not every player can play ressies and beat the door down, some you need to just get games into at AFL level for that confidence piece.
Wellingham who got 37 against Melbourne at the MCG but could only get 21 or so in VFL games? Yeah some guys are strange like that. :D

Player Watch Isaac Quaynor