Its all happening at Glenorchy

Can't say I think we will be, don't think we have the courage (it is a big risk) and who would we sign?

Good on Glenorchy, but I don't think it is necessarily fair on the other clubs UNLESS the get the salary cap exemption as well.

I can see how other clubs would be disapointed in not getting the exemption, but i think the money that is being given is only to support the outcome of akermanis coming to glenorchy - to improve the TSL, gate takings, publicicity, standard of the game etc.. this will also help other clubs at there home games i beleive.

I would think so. Seeing How Hobart are the most financial club in the league, who are they looking at bringing down then Munts ol' boy:D

Hobart is asset-rich but not cash-rich. There's a huge difference :)
HFC Sports Club sold their investment in the Brisbane Hotel (owned since 1974) for almost $900k and reinvested the money into other properties around the city.
It's partly why Hobart are still around and Sandy Bay and later the Southern Cats aren't and why New Norfolk are stuck in the SFL for the near future.

munts said:
Can't say I think we will be, don't think we have the courage (it is a big risk) and who would we sign?

Good on Glenorchy, but I don't think it is necessarily fair on the other clubs UNLESS the get the salary cap exemption as well.
There's a lot of reasons why that won't happen Munts.
The club is not really in any position to barter for that sort calibre of recruit.

Hobart does not pay big bucks for players anymore and they wouldn't really have the cash to splash around to do so.
I think the club is still living in extreme fear of what happened during the mid 1990's when they were hit by mismanagement and the crippling effects of the recession.
Home crowds are small, membership this season was 85, very few social functions held by the club to raise valuable funds, very few fans attended after match drinks in the clubrooms - key revenue streams and good little earners for the club all either underperforming badly or going to waste.
Once the wages and overheads are paid, you'd have to wonder where the money would come from.

A lack of drive, lack of clear plan and ambition, lack of communication, lack of skill to perform the tasks required, always taking the cheapest, most conservative option, constantly cutting corners.
Been like that for many years and it's very well known.

With the shenanigans that have gone on up there over the past 10-15 years, it's no longer seen as the sort of attractive proposition to entice a drawcard player/s up there as it was in the 1980's when we were based at North Hobart, had a strong following and even stronger leadership at player and management level.

Then there's the small matter of quality of facilities - it's a point I used to disagree with Duff quite a lot on, but having heard what a lot of players have said in the past couple of years, it is certainly an issue.
My own grandfather, who played senior footy back in the 1940's on some very ramshackle grounds and has followed the HFC since 1949 even laughs at the TCA Ground and reckons its facilities for the players and spectators are abysmal, and he's right.
It's fine for SFL level but not for your top league.
If they were to actually ask a big-name recruit to come over and show the player the facilities on offer with a tour of the club, that player would be straight out the door these days, never to return. And that's the truth.
One of the key points to Akermanis' signing with Glenorchy was that he was impressed with the GDFC's facilities on offer and impressed with the club's professionalism.
Glenorchy's General Manager and President have done a lot of work in getting this deal over the line (with a lot of help from a good band of workers no doubt), but Hobart's paid General Manager this season just gone never even attended a single match on a Saturday that the club played - because he was a footballer with another club at a lower level!!
I didn't even know what he looked like until the very last night of the season when the club had a party up there for a life-member.
Therein lies a stark difference.. Culture.

I say good on Glenorchy for what they've done, it's no good of us complaining about not having a drawcard player when we really haven't got the setup needed, planned accordingly, nor put the genuine hard yards in to actually be in a position to be able to attract a 'Robbo' or an 'Aker'.

It's like the flabby-bellied, rotten-toothed guy with BO, a comb-over and poor dress sense and no job complaining about not being able to get dates with swim-wear models when the guy who looks after himself, goes to the gym, eats well, dresses nice and has good manners, has a good job etc lands them regularly and 'grotty man' then has the audacity to blame it on the fact that 'clean man' only gets 'em 'cos 'es rich.
Fact is, 'clean man' probably put in a shitload of hard work and dedication to get into that position in the first place and is reaping the rewards.

:spade: :spade: :spade: :spade: :spade: :spade:

Hobart is asset-rich but not cash-rich. There's a huge difference :)
HFC Sports Club sold their investment in the Brisbane Hotel (owned since 1974) for almost $900k and reinvested the money into other properties around the city.
It's partly why Hobart are still around and Sandy Bay and later the Southern Cats aren't and why New Norfolk are stuck in the SFL for the near future.

There's a lot of reasons why that won't happen Munts.
The club is not really in any position to barter for that sort calibre of recruit.

Hobart does not pay big bucks for players anymore and they wouldn't really have the cash to splash around to do so.
I think the club is still living in extreme fear of what happened during the mid 1990's when they were hit by mismanagement and the crippling effects of the recession.
Home crowds are small, membership this season was 85, very few social functions held by the club to raise valuable funds, very few fans attended after match drinks in the clubrooms - key revenue streams and good little earners for the club all either underperforming badly or going to waste.
Once the wages and overheads are paid, you'd have to wonder where the money would come from.

A lack of drive, lack of clear plan and ambition, lack of communication, lack of skill to perform the tasks required, always taking the cheapest, most conservative option, constantly cutting corners.
Been like that for many years and it's very well known.

With the shenanigans that have gone on up there over the past 10-15 years, it's no longer seen as the sort of attractive proposition to entice a drawcard player/s up there as it was in the 1980's when we were based at North Hobart, had a strong following and even stronger leadership at player and management level.

Then there's the small matter of quality of facilities - it's a point I used to disagree with Duff quite a lot on, but having heard what a lot of players have said in the past couple of years, it is certainly an issue.
My own grandfather, who played senior footy back in the 1940's on some very ramshackle grounds and has followed the HFC since 1949 even laughs at the TCA Ground and reckons its facilities for the players and spectators are abysmal, and he's right.
It's fine for SFL level but not for your top league.
If they were to actually ask a big-name recruit to come over and show the player the facilities on offer with a tour of the club, that player would be straight out the door these days, never to return. And that's the truth.
One of the key points to Akermanis' signing with Glenorchy was that he was impressed with the GDFC's facilities on offer and impressed with the club's professionalism.
Glenorchy's General Manager and President have done a lot of work in getting this deal over the line (with a lot of help from a good band of workers no doubt), but Hobart's paid General Manager this season just gone never even attended a single match on a Saturday that the club played - because he was a footballer with another club at a lower level!!
I didn't even know what he looked like until the very last night of the season when the club had a party up there for a life-member.
Therein lies a stark difference.. Culture.

I say good on Glenorchy for what they've done, it's no good of us complaining about not having a drawcard player when we really haven't got the setup needed, planned accordingly, nor put the genuine hard yards in to actually be in a position to be able to attract a 'Robbo' or an 'Aker'.

It's like the flabby-bellied, rotten-toothed guy with BO, a comb-over and poor dress sense and no job complaining about not being able to get dates with swim-wear models when the guy who looks after himself, goes to the gym, eats well, dresses nice and has good manners, has a good job etc lands them regularly and 'grotty man' then has the audacity to blame it on the fact that 'clean man' only gets 'em 'cos 'es rich.
Fact is, 'clean man' probably put in a shitload of hard work and dedication to get into that position in the first place and is reaping the rewards.

:spade: :spade: :spade: :spade: :spade: :spade:

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Top post Kingpin, every aspect of what you say is correct. There is another player in this however Kingpin. The HCC should be ashamed of themselves for letting the ground fall into the state it is in. There are 2 sides to the ground upon entry, the cricket side which is well kept and the footy side which is falling to pieces. Forget the ground, it is ok and should be a great advantage to HFC as visiting teams should hate it. But the clubrooms and changerooms are disgraceful, as is the kiosk. Next time you are up this way check out the changerooms, they leak at the promise of rain and the place stinks and is ant infested, surely a health risk to the users. HCC get of your arse and redevelop the joint, heaven forbid it ever caught on fire:eek: might end up looking like KGV;)

I can see how other clubs would be disapointed in not getting the exemption, but i think the money that is being given is only to support the outcome of akermanis coming to glenorchy - to improve the TSL, gate takings, publicicity, standard of the game etc.. this will also help other clubs at there home games i beleive.

I'm told their is no money given to Glenorchy from AFL Tas. It is only a salary cap exemption & only for Akermanis. So they have to find whatever money they are paying him. I hope other clubs start to think outside the square like that. Its the only way we will get some media & public attention for our footy. Not since a guy like John McCarthy would we have we have seen that sort of interest at North Hobart. All other clubs would be the same. So clubs, get off it & go for it!

You are correct. AFL Tas are not contributing a single dime to help pay for Aker. Glenorchy are carrying the full financial burden and are banking on a rush of sponsors and people through the gate to justify the investment.

Glenorchy media release had said he'd be playing as many games as possible in 2011, as well as attending pre-season training, and doing community events.

Win News also said reports of him signing a one off game with Milawa were incorrect and he's free to play with Glenorchy for all games....whether or not he will is another story.

I remember posting on here my doubts that we'd land Aker, I am glad I was wrong, would be good to have him at the club. I am looking forward to getting to game this season, now that I am in Hobart again.
You are correct. AFL Tas are not contributing a single dime to help pay for Aker. Glenorchy are carrying the full financial burden and are banking on a rush of sponsors and people through the gate to justify the investment.
Scott Wade also said back when the news broke that Glenorchy were chasing Aker that AFL Tasmania would not be assisting teams in signing players like Aker. They will allow the salary cap room, but, if they want to sign a player like Aker the club themselves have to foot the bill.

That's if what I heard from Scott Wade on the news is correct.

from the facebook page

New Glenorchy recruit Jason Akermanis will be training with his new Glenorchy teammates for the first time tomorrow (Monday) night. Dont miss out on this historic opportunity to welcome Aker to the Magpies' Nest. All welcome, free entry, public bar will open!

Training starts at 6pm

Will certainly be there :)

To say AFL tas has not contibuted to the aker deal, is a total Furphy. They are contributing significant dollars to it as they are with Laycock in Burnie.

Heard from a very very reliable source that Glenorchy are footing the bill in it's entirety. 3k a game . If Glenorchy are able to do it then good on em. Bet Glenorchy aren't getting the hand outs the coastal clubs are getting

I went out there tonight, didn't check in for long, saw a fair few there, Win News parked out the front there, saw many cars out there, I got out there about 7:30ish. saw them standing around at about cenre half forward, some were wearing orange singlets from the looks of it.

I wanted to stick around, but, the family wanted to go and do the shopping, shame, would have been interested in checking out the new Grandstand as I hadn't seen it close up.

ah well, there's always time.:)

Was there from 5:45 until 6:30. Was about 50-60 people there when I was there and win, and southern cross had their crews there. Got an interview too.

Trainer was saying there was 65 over twenty y.o players and twenty under 18s I think. They were saying that you would never get that amount usually in mid November.

Also Glenorchys first round game will be Saturday night KGV against north Hobart :), which was exactly what I wanted.

Saturday Night? Excellent, I will be able to get to that.

Also who were the people in orange? Where they players or supporters? I was just outside the ground looking in, and there looked like people wearing orange on the ground.

I thought they were wearing orange anyway, I just saw a group of people standing around on the ground as we went past the ground.

Edit: Looking at the photos on Facebook of the training, funny enough none of which are wearing orange, so hmm, maybe I need my eyes checked.:eek:

Not sure. There wasn't anyone I can think of wearing orange. Players were wearing white training tops. Might have been some supporters or something?

Parents think it may have been umpires who were training, but last I heard they trained at TCa, unless these were SFL ones, but I think they must've been supporters since it was at 7:40pm we were across the road near the pool looking in and I saw some players sitting in the white tops, but then saw some orange tops, so may have been supporters.

I would have gotten there earlier but I headed over from Bridgewater, and my siblings weren't too interested in sticking around.

Josh Arnold has handed Aker his 24 jumper, as Aker said that number was lucky.

I noticed in the photos on facebook Michael Bowden, is he back at the club?

Dont know might of been there to watch. He's at home games some times usually hangs around near the scoreboard on the other side. Son plays for Glenorchy too so might of been there to watch him too.

Yeah you could be right, just he may have been just showing Aker around like another former Glenorchy player was a few months ago.

I haven't been around the club since before I moved to Queenstown, which was just after the 2007 season. but I have been trying to keep up with the club over the last 3 years.

Hoping to get back to the games, may even break old the old flag too, been in retirement for 3 years, may have to leave it at home when I go to Lauderdale got told off about it there.

What's going on at Glenorchy.

I mean who's making it all happen.

What a turn around in only a few months

Aker is going to be at training tonight from 5:30PM. Come along and have a look. There will be a free sausage sizzle as well :)

I reckon Glenorchy will make a killer on the bar tonight, good luck to them!

Yeah was preety much packed the whole night from what I could see. Was just over 100 people there I reckon although the under 13s were training there before. BBQ was $1 a sasuage too and most people had 2-3 so a good night for the GDFCs finances.

Its all happening at Glenorchy