Jack Redden..... Next Simon Black?

To be sure, he is no 98 pound weakling, but irrespective of where he is at now, I just think he is going to be so much better with a 24 year old body.

Go Lions!

Redden is from the small town of Keith about 2 hours south of Adelaide. Regularly drive through this town on way to Melbourne or Mt Gambier. Already had a couple of chats about the young man in the local servo they rate him highly! I think he moved to Adelaide at a pretty early age for school and footy. His brother also got drafted to the crows possibly on the rookie list a few years ago? All early indications are he has the motivation to work hard and get the best out of himself, we need a Simon Black clone.

He was all over the shop v Dogs. Suggest time in the gym would be beneficial. No substitute for class - look at those Pie youngsters v Crows.

He was trying to barge through the traffic in many games.. though the intent was there he didnt have the body to do it, in the end looking clumsy.

Another preseason and he will stick it when he tries to do the impossible. Cant wait. :thumbsu::thumbsu: ..

I reckon he's developed physically already. He's got a set of shoulders on him now and looks like he's getting bigger through his legs. He won't be Voss sized but he'll be a little bigger than Blacky.

He is listed as 74 kg on the lions website but I'm guessing that was sometime in the preseason. Looking at players at a similar height to him he probably needs to be between 80-85 kgs. I think after another 2 preseasons he will be at his best.

He won't be the next Simon Black, there never will be one but he does look very promising.

Has the hands in close
Has the toughness - just rides the punishment
Has the vision to pick the right option when distributing the ball
Has the body - just needs time
Has the potential, and when you see his eyes, has the desire - IMO
I feel we have the real deal here

Redden is from the small town of Keith about 2 hours south of Adelaide. Regularly drive through this town on way to Melbourne or Mt Gambier. Already had a couple of chats about the young man in the local servo they rate him highly! I think he moved to Adelaide at a pretty early age for school and footy. His brother also got drafted to the crows possibly on the rookie list a few years ago? All early indications are he has the motivation to work hard and get the best out of himself, we need a Simon Black clone.

Yep his brother was drafted as a rookie to the Crows a few years back, plays for the Keith A Grade at the moment. I play in Keith's league the KNTFL and I can tell you Jack is a gun :thumbsu:

Will be interesting to see what he can do with his body over the pre season. Last season a few of our guys got some great results. Once he has a bigger body to throw around i think he will get a lot more ball.

Cant remember if it was 01-02 or 02-03, but there was one year there where Black put on his size. Watched the season highlights recently, and there is a very very noticable size difference between years.

75% Simon Black will be a great return.It's very hard to say until he actually dominates a game which Black has done 20 plus times.If we can see him do this within the next 3 years it would promising.

Jack Redden..... Next Simon Black?