I had to use a footy, well, for my own sake
I been snorting stuff since I was just eighteen
And from that day they call me Shaky Jake
Shaky Jake, boy, what you gonna do
AFL Rangers coming after you
Here's the price you pay for one mistake
So get off the streets it's Shaky Jake

Should the thread be locked now?

The AFL Players Association advised Jake Carlisle's manager not to inform St Kilda of the allegations against the player despite knowing that Channel Nine was threatening to expose footage of Carlisle taking illicit drugs.

In a revelation which has created significant friction between the Saints and the players union it has emerged that the AFLPA knew about the allegations against Carlisle in the hours that preceded his trade to St Kilda but said nothing and advised Anthony McConville to do the same. The players' union has since said it would not sanction McConville.

Carlisle and McConville fronted the AFL's integrity bosses on Thursday with the player having admitted he misled his manager when first contacted about the vision which was shown on A Current Affair last Wednesday, just hours after his multimillion-dollar agreement with the Saints was ratified by the AFL.

Players boss Paul Marsh admitted to Fairfax Media that McConville sought the advice of the AFLPA. He said he backed the decision of the players' union to initially withhold the information from St Kilda although he admitted the timing had been unfortunate. "Whilst the timing could not have been more unsatisfactory for the club as it turned out, the agent would have been breaching his obligations to the player if he was to act on the limited information he was aware of any earlier."

It is understood Carlisle came clean to McConville several hours after the trade had been ratified by the AFL, a trade which included the Saints giving up their first-round draft pick. Carlisle had allegedly not been aware of the intricacies of the social media "snapchat" and had not realised his illicit substance use could have been made public.

Fairfax Media now understands McConville contacted Ian Prendergast and the AFLPA legal boss Brett Murphy on the morning of Wednesday, October 21, some 24 hours after first being contacted by Channel Nine.

McConville had contacted Carlisle who denied he had an issue.

Prendergast and Murphy advised McConville to further investigate the allegations but not at that stage inform St Kilda. Saints boss Matt Finnis had previously overseen the AFLPA and is understood to remain disappointed at being kept in the dark at such a crucial stage of the trade.

It has since emerged that St Kilda would not have recruited Carlisle had it known of his drug use. Further antagonism between the club and the AFLPA has emerged with the Saints now moving to not only strip Carlisle's marketing money but also various other components of the four-year deal estimated at about $2.4 million with an option for a fifth season.

While McConville fronted the AFL on Thursday he falls under the jurisdiction of the AFLPA.

Said Marsh: "We are comfortable with the actions of Jake's agent throughout the matter and the guidance provided by the AFLPA.

"In our view the club and the AFL were informed at the appropriate time based on the information that was available and the circumstances surrounding the allegation."

Carlisle also faces home-and-away games suspension from St Kilda and has unofficially agreed to voluntarily take a positive illicit drug strike.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...llegations-20151029-gkmd80.html#ixzz3pwwJLqG2

The PLAYERS union

Not the clubs union

So they looked after their client

meh

The PLAYERS union

Not the clubs union

So they looked after their client

meh

So the players union have stated that the manager did the correct thing in following their own shonky advice.

Even the trade unions have realized ( mostly ) that its not their duty to cover up illegal activities by the rank and file.
Maybe StKilda should sue the AFLPA for damages. What have they got to lose?
The least we would gain is making them think twice before trying to screw with us. Give you comfortable you prick.

Prescience? This just hit the front page of the Age online - http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...e-film-nine-days-earlier-20151104-gkqiww.html

Apparently someone tried to shop some stills to Ch7 just over a week before the 21st.

Wow short on stories, Ch7 came out with that information the day the film was shown on Ch9.

No my info has more to do with Carlisle and previous dalliances. Considering it is coming from Essendon I wont believe it until it is from a more reputable source.

No worries mate, it is on the home page of the Age, not your fault the Age is beating a dead horse
"A Current Affair National executive producer Grant Williams clarified that the program had only received a copy of the footage for the first time late on Monday October 19 and they contacted McConville and Essendon on the Tuesday for a comment and decided to publish the following evening."

Did anyone else notice this as part of the article (about Essendon knowing)? I thought all along it was his manager knew and Essendon had no idea just like us.

I still can't get past MG saying Dodoro was being extremely cooperative on the Tuesday and that we will definitely get a deal done (which he subsequently did).

This straight up stinks. I know its best just to move on, but I can't trust a thing that comes from that scummy excuse for a football club!

"A Current Affair National executive producer Grant Williams clarified that the program had only received a copy of the footage for the first time late on Monday October 19 and they contacted McConville and Essendon on the Tuesday for a comment and decided to publish the following evening."

Did anyone else notice this as part of the article (about Essendon knowing)? I thought all along it was his manager knew and Essendon had no idea just like us.

I still can't get past MG saying Dodoro was being extremely cooperative on the Tuesday and that we will definitely get a deal done (which he subsequently did).

This straight up stinks. I know its best just to move on, but I can't trust a thing that comes from that scummy excuse for a football club!
Surely you're not implying the Injectors lied.....
Wow, who'd have thunk that!!!!!

I bet Jake is going through his phone deleting 'friends'. This new film offered to the channel 7 seems different to what 9 had. At least Jake will be associating with a decent group of young men at Seafood.

Caught up with a mate who is an Essendon supporter last night (yes I know that I should know better); first thing he said was - thanks for pick 5! This attitude is full on throughout Essendon - suggested responses??

Happy to get Carlisle hope it works out for the Saints just hate the rubbish from other clubs

Caught up with a mate who is an Essendon supporter last night (yes I know that I should know better); first thing he said was - thanks for pick 5! This attitude is full on throughout Essendon - suggested responses??

Happy to get Carlisle hope it works out for the Saints just hate the rubbish from other clubs

I just hope this is a worse draft than 2003, and at the end of ten years people look back and wonder how the only decent player among them slid to pick 14

I bet Jake is going through his phone deleting 'friends'. This new film offered to the channel 7 seems different to what 9 had. At least Jake will be associating with a decent group of young men at Seafood.
Its probably like planking, thousands of video's around with Jake snorting coke in different locations.

The whole Carlisle story is past its use-by date now, and I'm sure Hawthorn are thankful that it has diverted attention from the rape accusation case against one of their premiership players- a story that has been strangely quiet in the media..say compared to the Milne accusations that went on for a number of years and pulled out on a regular basis by various journalists.

One thing that has been bugging me is this "due diligence" that gets done when recruiting a player from another club. Now hearing stuff about Carlisle and that he has had a bit of a bad boy reputation at Essendon to me means that St Kilda did NOT make enough enquiries or were they well aware of the player they were drafting and decided to back in their culture and club systems to straighten him out? I would have thought a simple phone call by Nick Riewoldt to BJ querying Carlisle would have done the trick. How hard could it be????

But how do we even know that didn't happen?

Maybe BJ said he's a bit of a lad but a huge talent? Maybe BJ said he's in a crap environment here but get him down there with you blokes and he'll thrive?

Look, it's not the bad boy stuff that's the problem here; it's specifically the snorting of coke (real or otherwise) and posting of same on social media.

Has that happened before?

Would BJ even know of any risks in that area?

We're all guessing when it comes to the due diligence. And unless there's absolute proof that the club stuffed up I'll continue to give them the benefit of the doubt.

Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk

Interesting that Hawthorn, Carlton, the Bulldogs and probably other clubs were interested in Carlisle. Hawthorn were ready to pounce during trade week, Carlton dropped out because of the Saints offer and the Bulldogs made up excuses about "character" to hide the fact they couldn't compete because of their 1.5 million dollar VFL player.

And to believe that Carlisle is the only one to be doing drugs, is a bit naïve. Even at our club there would be plenty of players who are a bit of a "lad".

As Dr Spaceman says this is soley about snorting coke and then putting it on social media. Cant think of a dumber more damaging thing a player could do to themselves at a new club.

Really its a bit jumping at shadows to carry on about the Saints and DD. This was a total blindside and it is all Carlisles stupid fault.

Jake Carlisle Updates