January 26th 2025

Just like how Morrison did his “woke” change to the national anthem by enforcing pro indigenous “wokeness” in the anthem by erasing “young” and replacing it with “one”.

Didn’t hear the Murdoch’s crying to high heaven about it
Got to be honest, I didn't even know that.

More honesty, I only learned a few weeks ago that Jan 26th has only been Oz day since 94.

I dead set thought it had been around for ages. So the opposition to changing it just makes no sense to me..I do love an extra day off this time of year though, just don't want it at the expense of First Nations feeling like shit.

Only by the ignorant few who should be to told to GAGF anyway

I’ve just posted links to 5 Liberals including 2 ex PMs who’ve said Indigenous people should be grateful for colonisation while slightly begrudgingly admitting there were some “negatives” to British colonialism, but the benefits far outweighs the negatives.

Now whilst they didn’t say “shut up” literally you can easily see the subtext to their arguments.

I’ve just posted links to 5 Liberals including 2 ex PMs who’ve said Indigenous people should be grateful for colonisation while slightly begrudgingly admitting there were some “negatives” to British colonialism, but the benefits far outweighs the negatives.

Now whilst they didn’t say “shut up” literally you can easily see the subtext to their arguments.
Still the few and they're ignorant, don't waste your emotional energy hand wringing about what pollies say.

If it was every Jan and Joe public with the same sentiment then yeah go grind your axe, but it isn't.

Isolated?! Hahahaha:

These aren't represntative of the dominant media narrative that referred to in my previous reply.

Still the few and they're ignorant, don't waste your emotional energy hand wringing about what pollies say.

Like it or not politicians lead the country and legislate when the holidays are.

If it was every Jan and Joe public with the same sentiment then yeah go grind your axe, but it isn't.

Oh what they are saying publicly is a fraction of what ordinary members of the public say in private when they think you agree with their beliefs.

I’ve had people straight up say they like Lang Hancock’s method of dealing with “those people” without a hint of shame

These aren't represntative of the dominant media narrative that referred to in my previous reply.

If that narrative were as dominant as the narrative in Germany regarding the Holocaust not a single one of those people would have made those comments.

We still have a long way to go, but it looks as if the train is about to be derailed

Righteo mate, discriminating against the checks notes Vegans now are we?
Vegan sausages on gluten free bread for Fitzroy BBQs

The Nationality and Citizenship Act 1948 became law on 26 January 1949. The Act created Australian citizenship and the rules for gaining it. All residents born in Australia automatically became citizens.

So that anniversary has significance for citizenship ceremonies.

As long as Dutton is leader of the opposition then it's not changing. If he's PM then obviously not. If they lose this election and the Libs get a leader with half an ounce of empathy then it might change. It obviously should change and the appetite is definitely there but Dutton would view it as an affront to some wonderful bygone era that exists inside his head.

If the Libs get a leader with half an ounce of empathy, they get shown the door pretty quickly. Turnbull dragged the party kicking and screaming into the SSM postal survey and they knocked him off as soon as they had the chance. This isn't the party of Malcolm Fraser anymore.

Like it or not politicians lead the country and legislate when the holidays are.

Oh what they are saying publicly is a fraction of what ordinary members of the public say in private when they think you agree with their beliefs.

I’ve had people straight up say they like Lang Hancock’s method of dealing with “those people” without a hint of shame
'They'? - if you think this is the sentiment of every Jan and Joe you're wrong, and a rather dystopian view of our society.

Unfortunately there are more than an ignorant few.
I don't think this is widespread sentiment, you may think so from your personal experiences. However, unless you've received this ignorance from 100's of 1000's personally then you can't definitively state that this is the mindset by and large.

I can't state the other way either, except to say by my experience with strangers the average Jan and Joe don't have a punch down attitude on indigenous people, reckon society would look a lot worse if it were the case.

If that is what you're implying.

He walks back many of his positions (immigration etc) but not as lightning fast as trump or Howard did

I don't think this is widespread sentiment, you may think so from your personal experiences. However, unless you've received this ignorance from 100's of 1000's personally then you can't definitively state that this is the mindset by and large.

I can't state the other way either, except to say by my experience with strangers the average Jan and Joe don't have a punch down attitude on indigenous people, reckon society would look a lot worse if it were the case.

If that is what you're implying.

Yeah but that is what it boils down to,
Personal experience. It's not widespread where I live now but **** it was brutal to where I spent albeit very small amounts of time in. Indigenous were looked on as trash and I'm talking two weeks tops in remote areas.

South of the Yarra Kram who see more than most shit aint right.

I love Australia, love the people here, my wife is Australian, my kids are Australian and I'm a proud Brit who knows his country hasn't been the best.

January 26th 2025