January 26th 2025

The problem is the final outcome is basically settled. Its Jan 26th.
Its the policy of both the Labor and LNP parties, poll after poll shows that to be the preferred date and it is the incumbent date.
The issue is some people just will not accept the answer.
So no society can ever change its mind on anything (I’m not thinking narrowly about the date of Australia Day) because what we have is encumbant?

But specifically on Australia Day, what do you most like about Australia Day? Is it important to you? If so why?

Is there anything you dislike about Australia Day, or think could be improved?

So no society can ever change its mind on anything (I’m not thinking narrowly about the date of Australia Day) because what we have is encumbant?

But specifically on Australia Day, what do you most like about Australia Day? Is it important to you? If so why?

Is there anything you dislike about Australia Day, or think could be improved?
They can change their mind however there needs to be appetite for the change led by one of the major parties preferably.

Its not up to me to argue the case to keep the date. The date is the date until the people are convinced otherwise.

This thread is generalist and not specifically about ‘change the date’

I see Dutton must have been asked about it by a ‘journo’ again mate, cos he’s fired up again a couple of days ago. What an absolute phoney
Correct as was Wayne Swan and Jason Clare.
Maybe you need to tell the media to stop asking them the question.

Correct as was Wayne Swan and Jason Clare.
Maybe you need to tell the media to stop asking them the question.

So was Elmur Fudd..

c43a2bfd80f7d470779993e2b1b25cd4.jpg

The people who would now defend ‘advance australia fair’ would have fought tooth and nail to defend god save the queen from being replaced by it

Both tunes are dirges.

The words for Advance Australia Fair are pretty uninspirational. It became the national anthem because it was the least shit option in a referendum over Waltzing Matilda and God Save the Queen. But at least it's about the country.

God save the King/Queen is one of the worst national anthems. It assumes the existence of a supernatural supreme being along with the archaic notion that monarchs are divinely appointed and protected. It doesn't even refer to the nation once, just that he/she will 'reign over us'.

Both tunes are dirges.

The words for Advance Australia Fair are pretty uninspirational. It became the national anthem because it was the least shit option in a referendum over Waltzing Matilda and God Save the Queen. But at least it's about the country.

God save the King/Queen is one of the worst national anthems. It assumes the existence of a supernatural supreme being along with the archaic notion that monarchs are divinely appointed and protected. It doesn't even refer to the nation once, just that he/she will 'reign over us'.

Waltzing Matila is way more inspiring.

The only redeeming quality in Advance Australia Fair is the word girt.

Any future new anthem should include this word.

What in your post is inconsistent with your opening assertion?

It’s just a battle that the Labor Party has no interest in engaging in right now. With good justification.

It might take another decade or two before we’ve grown up sufficiently as a country to have a proper discussion on the topic - one where people are prepared to engage and prepared to listen.
It's a losing fight at this point.
When it becomes politically convenient it will change in a heartbeat.
To get to that point you need a majority onboard with it. As you say we are probably a decade or two away probably even longer after the voice referendum.

Waltzing Matila is way more inspiring.

The only redeeming quality in Advance Australia Fair is the word girt.

Any future new anthem should include this word.
ill happily stand for this .... otherwise my fat lily white 'woke' ar$e remains seated

Barely a peep about Keating and Rudd's busts in Ballarat being decapitated. The Redfern Speech and National Apology have really riled someone up this Australia Day. If this was Cook it would be front page of every paper and leading the national nightly news.

View attachment 2210496
almost all the other statues in the area were defaced and no link has been found to the Redfern speech or the apology. Sounds like just your usual scum out and about.

On SM-A136B using BigFooty.com mobile app

[emoji6]" data-quote="SBD Gonzalez" data-source="post: 0" class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeBlock--expandable bbCodeBlock--quote js-expandWatch">
Good nominations but even though the majority of national anthems are rooted in a daggy [emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]th century romantic sensibility, I have big issues with any attempt to modernise them.

Witness West Coast’s excruciating club song.

(I think I just have issues with people singing in public in general! Majorly cringey for me.)

The best national anthems are about killing other people: France and Scotland.

Everything else is pish.

The problem is the final outcome is basically settled. Its Jan 26th.
Its the policy of both the Labor and LNP parties, poll after poll shows that to be the preferred date and it is the incumbent date.
The issue is some people just will not accept the answer.
This is a myopic perspective and completely disregards what this date means to the people who have been here the longest

January 26th 2025