Jared Brennan

Re: Jarred Brennan

Nope he is not going to make it. Unfortunate, since he could be one of the most exciting players in the comp to watch - but he won't. Simply too lazy to be anything more than a bit-part flashy player.

I don't know if he's improved on the commitment side either - the year he had all the injury problems (2004 maybe?) I saw him running around kicking a footy on an oval two days after injuring himself in a game - and didn't play again for about another three months.

He could be great for the game up here but I just don't reckon he'll make it.

i agree, the question is, how much is bris willing to invest in Jared. He is in need of a mentor/guidence. His preparation for afl is sub par as observed with his consent injuries and slow recovery from them. We can all see his potential, and want him to realise this with the lions. But does Jared want to realise this potential? From what i have observed in the lions and the cubs, he runs on auto-pilot and the lions football management do not want to risk him realising his potential via another club.

Definately across the half forward line, along with Mitch Clark, with Brown at full forward. Bradshaw IMO is more stable across half back or as the loose backmen. Brennan is relatively quick and mobile and provided he bulks up a little more will be more of an asset down forward. I don't agree that it is quite make or break yet for Jared, he just needs to be more consistent over four quarters and his body needs to stand up to the rigors of AFL.

He is already 94kg, which is quite bulky compared to 79kg when he first started out. He may put on a little more, but he's unlikely to reach the 100kg mark where Mal and Browny were. It's probably not in his best interest to be that bulky anyway - he doesn't play a very physical game, and his strength is his athleticism. I remember the game against Port earlier this year where Brennan leaped to take a mark, and the defender (Michael Wilson)'s fist only came up to his armpit.

That's how he should play. If he is to be played at half-forward, he should just be instructed to get the ball with his athleticism, and immediately deliver the ball long to the goalsquare or go for a shot himself.

Another option is to play him back, but I would need to think about how that's best done.

4bnqf0o.jpg

jared is an absoulte gun, he gets me to the footy and gets me watching it. i only watch brisbane for this kid. his freakish skills and ability to do something from nothing is extraodinary. he is a champion!

You're a great photographer Scott522. Love the sepia tone and shading. Picture is worth a thousand words.

What is Jared thinking? Why is he looking so pensive? Did Scott522 tell him something to make him appear all reflective?

My son was talking to him at the time, Jared's great with the kids...really listens and speaks to them on their level, not down to them, my son thinks he's a great bloke.

Thanks for the compliment !

yea im close to him, so anny questions just shoot

Tell him I beleive he is a great player and I cannot wait to see him unleash his potential, but I am getting tired of waiting.

without being to mean can u ask why he is not been consistant. I mean he must have had an injury or something.

Tell him I beleive he is a great player and I cannot wait to see him unleash his potential, but I am getting tired of waiting.

without being to mean can u ask why he is not been consistant. I mean he must have had an injury or something.

Yeah he has a troublesome left quad, which restricts him kicking over 50 meters. so if u watch a few games he played more closely you could probably see.

but you didnt hear it from me...haha

Thanks for the insight Changa #10 but you've done it for yourself now mate.
We'll expect regular updates on this board throughout the pre-season and season proper on how Brennan's going.:p

Jared Brennan