Jarryd Roughead - legend

Who are you again?

All the best mate, glad you're taking inspiration from the legendary Roughead family and in particular the second best Roughead in the competition :thumbsu:

11a.gif
That's just disgusting

I would make some comment about Bomber Thompson being able to get something from Dank that cures cancer but I won't because that would be wrong.

I didn't think about cancer until my Dad got it and died, it is a real campaigner watching people die from it. Really feel bad for Roughy and his family, hope he gets through it and is back on the paddock belting Essendon as soon as possible.

Get well soon. Releasing our inner child by giving each other crap on a forum is not something to take seriously. Best of luck.

so it's no real secret that I can be a nasty campaigner
passionate in my hatreds of all things Hawthorn,
but i can also, on the rare occasion, be a little bit of a softie I blame this recent development on two things..
1)the birth of my daughter in 2012)
2) after collapsing st home in January of 2015and my subsequent diagnosis of a grade 3 glioma multiforme after collapsing at home from a seizure(that's brain cancer for the slower members of the Bay boondy's of this community.fst forward to this morning and i noticed Caro's article on Roughy this morning so after taking a deep calming breath i decided to read a Caro article about a Hawthorn player and i realized somehow Mr Roughead had been training towards at least attempting to perform at an elite AFL while still undergoing treatmentlevel just staggered me.
I cannot speak with any authority on the side effects of his particular brand of immuno-therapy treatment, but I imagine ifiit is anything like what I ended up having to do for most of 2016 a combo two for the price of one deal chemotherapy and radiotherapy I have been doing that has left me barely able to type coherentlyor think at all on some days..
(personally I think quite a few have noticed and commented on some of my more seemingly completely garbled efforts over the last two years, A massive drop-off in the coherence and quality of my posting over 2015 -2017. (which certainly wasn't stellar to begin with :p)so after two craniotomies(a simple enough procedure where a nice man cuts open my skull and removed parts of my brain.. hopefuly on the tumor, nothing I might actually need later..:p (one at the start of 2017 and the first one at the start of this year, followed somewhat unfortunately immediately by a stroke
(if you're going to have a stroke I highly recommend doing it immediately post surgery as you recover in the ICU unit of a major hospital. those people know what they are doing.. I now also qualify as officially disabled (physically you tool-bags it's called hemiplegia or hemiparesis) even after brain cancer two brain surgeries, a stroke and consuming a south american drug courier's one full colon 's worth of painkillers and drugs I manage to own you idiots.with a depressing regularity in the face of Essendon and it's faithful becoming the lowest of low hanging fruit probably the softest and easiest of targets since the invention of football.. for the recor@I don't normally post while drunk. (high sure :p)
the surgery was a success however, despite the stroke, ad the cancer has for now gone quiet, so there is no chance of me shuffling off anytime soon, baring the usual ill-fortune of heart attacks
so no Duritz I am not getting much sun lately, you drunken scumbag
so yes A Cut Above I ha've been 'away 'for a while and will continue to do so for the remainder of this year, i hope to get out of hospital by sometime in October I don't have a lot of time and/or energy for footbsll (let alone Bigfooty and the Bay, but fear not there's been no sign of any recurrence since the first surgeryJan last year. the docs tell me they believe the chemo did it's job and got the rest of the tumorbut I need to clear a 5 year window of no activity before I gt to start throwing the R word around too much..

so anyway back to the point of this thread, based on my own journey over the last almost three years now.. my admiration for what Roughy is achieving is off the charts especially if he, as I so desperately hoping he actually beats his variant of this campaigner of a disease,I would like to thank the following cadre of posters who have been in the know and quietly supported me in my journey over the last couple of years@royals1922 Starburns_ Morganashlee Tyler Durden007 Ant_ convMessage: 1831535, member: 97574"]Bender_ Cooksen Frankston Rover Brain Power Benwah83 I might have missed one or two posters here, however if this is not news to you, you did not 'go public' with it and for that you have my thanks..
so anyway that's my story
here's hoping you can join me in wishing Roughy all the best, especially for his family, (I've now seen first hand up close how this shit impacts on immediate family, it' bloody terrible.
so in closing I don't want your sympathy Essendon will rise once more to power back and when they do I will endeavor to become the most aggravating poster on the site..
screw you flogs. and you flogs over there, and especially you!,
don't look at me like that, get out of my sight, you disgust me! :thumbsu:
H
I appreciate getting a mention you nasty old fart. I am sorry for your battles with cancer .Keep hanging in there and giving it to me . This is the first I have heard of it and my thoughts do go out to you and your loved ones as they are affected in ways only those that go through it will know . Its when cancer gets personal . Here is a giggle for you . Dec last year I had emergency operation as a tumour was growing in my throat . Yep Stage 2 cancer . In my lymph as well . Differential prognosis double hit large b cell lymphoma . Average 11 months to live . 2% survive 2 years . So I read everything about cancer cos I have a 8 and a 10 year old that need their dad and I was gonna at least be the 2 year bloke . I read juicing 2 kilos a day of carrots . I read Liposomal vitamin c in super high doses was a good alternative til the chemo could start and would even help the blood and be compatable with chemo . Being xmas holidays etc the chemo couldnt be started for a month but despite having the most aggressive cancer it kept at bay I even felt the new diet had cured me . Cut a long story short i did 5 day stints on chemo in hospital every 3 weeks for 6 months . Stayed on the carrot juicing and liposomal vit c . I am in remission . No sign of cancer at the minute . Back on bay 13 and giving it to you .

congrats mate, well done, While I can't quite claim the same myself right now it has been almost 18 months since the initial diagnosis with no new activity.. I feel like I am winning and the chemo did its' job o be honest the stroke did more damage than anything else st this point so if you know of any stem-cell related treatments/trials for paralysis, in NSW. let me know any details

Inspirational Post Haduken :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: except the bit about hawthorn. lol

I have to admit that I have been dealing with the "Big C" myself the last few weeks and reading your post has given me a more positive attitude to what I am about to incur. What started out as an upset stomach has been diagnosed as a sigmoid tumour (cancer in the upper bowel) queue the offended jokes. I lost my virginity to a colonoscope and definitely not a 48%er.:eek:. The positive side is that doesnt seem to have spread to my liver and only contained in one area.

I will be heading into hospital early next week for the op where they will be cutting below the tumor and removing 30-45 cm of my large intestine and reattaching. Then undergoing a course of chemo at a later date.

Admittedly I was totally head ####ed when given the news but I have come to terms with it and reports from others who have undergone the same procedure have been nothing but positive.

Inspirational Post Haduken :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: except the bit about hawthorn. lol

I have to admit that I have been dealing with the "Big C" myself the last few weeks and reading your post has given me a more positive attitude to what I am about to incur. What started out as an upset stomach has been diagnosed as a sigmoid tumour (cancer in the upper bowel) queue the offended jokes. I lost my virginity to a colonoscope and definitely not a 48%er.:eek:. The positive side is that doesnt seem to have spread to my liver and only contained in one area.

I will be heading into hospital early next week for the op where they will be cutting below the tumor and removing 30-45 cm of my large intestine and reattaching. Then undergoing a course of chemo at a later date.

Admittedly I was totally head ####ed when given the news but I have come to terms with it and reports from others who have undergone the same procedure have been nothing but positive.

FFS mate, get it sorted will ya?

believe,
you can win :thumbsu:

congrats mate, well done, While I can't quite claim the same myself right now it has been almost 18 months since the initial diagnosis with no new activity.. I feel like I am winning and the chemo did its' job o be honest the stroke did more damage than anything else st this point so if you know of any stem-cell related treatments/trials for paralysis, in NSW. let me know any details
You are doing it tough mate . Hopes and prayers for you . You are very positive . Keep your chins up.

All the best oogac, it's a pretty routine op these days & whilst it has risks they know what they are doing & I'm sure you'll come out of it ok.

I had about 50cm of my large intestine removed 4 1/2 years ago due to bowel cancer. I was in the middle of borneo & couldn't shit for 4 days so I went to the doctor who suggested I go to Singapore to see a specialist. A couple of days later when I had a flight out, I was utterly ****ed & I wanted to die. My mrs rang the doc & he came around home & jabbed me up which got me moving & he practically carried me onto the plane.

I then had 8 hours in Balikpapan waiting for the flight to singapore so we checked into the airport hotel where I ended up having the longest shit in my life. I reckon it was at least a metre long if not more but only the diameter of a sharpie. Whatever the doc jabbed me with must have loosened my intestine up enough to let the shit pass through the cancer.
I'm only telling you this because it's the most impressive shit I've ever had. :$

So later on in the afternoon I get the flight to Singapore & check into a hotel for the night, ready for an appointment with the doc the next day. Go to the doc & he gets me to do a scan & some blood tests & I'm diagnosed with bowel cancer (sigmoid tumour like you). Once I had my insurance company sorted out with notification of a claim etc, I was checked into a room & scheduled to have an op the next day.
The Op went well & from the biopsy they determined that I was stage 2 which meant I wouldn't require chemo or anything else as it was contained inside the intestine & they felt that they had removed it all.

Ended up doing about 2 days in ICU after the op & another 6 days in a ward before they let me out. I had a complication where my intestine had kinked due to being moved around for the cut & shut & thus not allowing anything to pass through especially bile which I was spewing up at about 1 litre at a time. They had to put a nasogastric tube in me to drain the bile out of me whilst the intestine sorted itself out with its new position. Once they let me out of hospital I had to hang around sing for 4 days before they would remove the staples from my gut & once that was done I caught the 1st flight out back to Perth to convalesce.

The next day in Perth my intestine kinked up again probably due to the travelling & I ended up doing 3 weeks in hospital there whilst it sorted itself out again.
Did another 5 weeks at home & then had my first colonoscopy where they cleared me & I was free to head back to work. In all it was around 2 1/2 months from when I first got crook to going back to work.

I get a ct or pet scan & blood test done yearly in Singapore & it's all good so far.

TLDR I had bowel cancer 4 1/2 years ago, had an op & it's all good these days.:thumbsu:

Haduken, all the best to you as well, it sounds like you are on the road to recovery & I hope it all goes well.

so it's no real secret that I can be a nasty campaigner
passionate in my hatreds of all things Hawthorn,
but i can also, on the rare occasion, be a little bit of a softie I blame this recent development on two things..
1)the birth of my daughter in 2012)
2) after collapsing st home in January of 2015and my subsequent diagnosis of a grade 3 glioma multiforme after collapsing at home from a seizure(that's brain cancer for the slower members of the Bay boondy's of this community.fst forward to this morning and i noticed Caro's article on Roughy this morning so after taking a deep calming breath i decided to read a Caro article about a Hawthorn player and i realized somehow Mr Roughead had been training towards at least attempting to perform at an elite AFL while still undergoing treatmentlevel just staggered me.
I cannot speak with any authority on the side effects of his particular brand of immuno-therapy treatment, but I imagine ifiit is anything like what I ended up having to do for most of 2016 a combo two for the price of one deal chemotherapy and radiotherapy I have been doing that has left me barely able to type coherentlyor think at all on some days..
(personally I think quite a few have noticed and commented on some of my more seemingly completely garbled efforts over the last two years, A massive drop-off in the coherence and quality of my posting over 2015 -2017. (which certainly wasn't stellar to begin with :p)so after two craniotomies(a simple enough procedure where a nice man cuts open my skull and removed parts of my brain.. hopefuly on the tumor, nothing I might actually need later..:p (one at the start of 2017 and the first one at the start of this year, followed somewhat unfortunately immediately by a stroke
(if you're going to have a stroke I highly recommend doing it immediately post surgery as you recover in the ICU unit of a major hospital. those people know what they are doing.. I now also qualify as officially disabled (physically you tool-bags it's called hemiplegia or hemiparesis) even after brain cancer two brain surgeries, a stroke and consuming a south american drug courier's one full colon 's worth of painkillers and drugs I manage to own you idiots.with a depressing regularity in the face of Essendon and it's faithful becoming the lowest of low hanging fruit probably the softest and easiest of targets since the invention of football.. for the recor@I don't normally post while drunk. (high sure :p)
the surgery was a success however, despite the stroke, ad the cancer has for now gone quiet, so there is no chance of me shuffling off anytime soon, baring the usual ill-fortune of heart attacks
so no Duritz I am not getting much sun lately, you drunken scumbag
so yes A Cut Above I ha've been 'away 'for a while and will continue to do so for the remainder of this year, i hope to get out of hospital by sometime in October I don't have a lot of time and/or energy for footbsll (let alone Bigfooty and the Bay, but fear not there's been no sign of any recurrence since the first surgeryJan last year. the docs tell me they believe the chemo did it's job and got the rest of the tumorbut I need to clear a 5 year window of no activity before I gt to start throwing the R word around too much..

so anyway back to the point of this thread, based on my own journey over the last almost three years now.. my admiration for what Roughy is achieving is off the charts especially if he, as I so desperately hoping he actually beats his variant of this campaigner of a disease,I would like to thank the following cadre of posters who have been in the know and quietly supported me in my journey over the last couple of years@royals1922 Starburns_ Morganashlee Tyler Durden007 Ant_ convMessage: 1831535, member: 97574"]Bender_ Cooksen Frankston Rover Brain Power Benwah83 I might have missed one or two posters here, however if this is not news to you, you did not 'go public' with it and for that you have my thanks..
so anyway that's my story
here's hoping you can join me in wishing Roughy all the best, especially for his family, (I've now seen first hand up close how this shit impacts on immediate family, it' bloody terrible.
so in closing I don't want your sympathy Essendon will rise once more to power back and when they do I will endeavor to become the most aggravating poster on the site..
screw you flogs. and you flogs over there, and especially you!,
don't look at me like that, get out of my sight, you disgust me! :thumbsu:
H
Tl;dr

Geez you pricks, get past this horrible shit, please!!!!! The Bay will be shut down if ya don't. Then what would i do?:)

Up-Date (pun intended)

Thanks for your info Breva_ made everything I had to comprehend so much easier.
I had surgery 16 days ago and everything seems to have gone well and I wasnt issued with the much feared colostomy bag. The 8cm tumour was removed with 40cm of my large intestine and the pathology report had indicated that the cancer had not breached anywhere else. I do have to see an oncologist and maybe required to still do chemo just incase. There was at least 20 others in my ward who had undergone the same procedure. I didnt realise that bowel cancer was so prevalent. If I can offer any advice to those on Bigfooty ... if you have a series of pains in the stomach and longish term of diahorrea, go and get a check-up with your doctor.

Cancer is horrifying, after my bout with chemo back in 2010, 48 weeks of the worst crap I ever felt, I'm hoping you don't have to live thru that shit, I wouldn't do it again for all the years on the planet. Good luck and health to all
Chemo is so so much easier now . Lots of different stuff and regulated doses . Is still tough dont get me wrong . I would go through chemo again if I have to . ☺

Good Lord another one.
All the best oogs, the whole Bay is behind you too

Jarryd Roughead - legend