King Of The Hille

May 1, 2009
The North
Tier 1 poster
Jaryd Cachia was a former vic metro U16 captain by memory, however i havnt heard a thing about him for a long time.

In and Out Mid who is already extremely solid and would walk into AFL body wise.

Anyone know where he is at? Currently playing for SKC but is he likely to be picked up

Jaryd Cachia was a former vic metro U16 captain by memory, however i havnt heard a thing about him for a long time.

In and Out Mid who is already extremely solid and would walk into AFL body wise.

Anyone know where he is at? Currently playing for SKC but is he likely to be picked up

That's a bit of a slide, certainly some 16 yo's just don't kick on, but for mine a captain means that player's a bit special, and he possibly hasn't lived up to expectations and performance for this year's selectors. Missing out on the VM team this year won't hurt his draft chances as much as in previous years.

He is a great size and a good player, but from what I've seen he definately needs to work on his outbursts.
I'd expect a Victorian State Screening for him at the very least.

Having said that, I still reckon he will make some form of AFL drafting.

That's a bit of a slide, certainly some 16 yo's just don't kick on, but for mine a captain means that player's a bit special, and he possibly hasn't lived up to expectations and performance for this year's selectors. Missing out on the VM team this year won't hurt his draft chances as much as in previous years.

He is a great size and a good player, but from what I've seen he definately needs to work on his outbursts.
I'd expect a Victorian State Screening for him at the very least.

Having said that, I still reckon he will make some form of AFL drafting.

I find it a bit strange given Cachia's previous standing (as VM U16 captain) that he didn't even get a chance at a VM praccy match. There may be a view that he doesn't have as much development left but he can play footy. There seems to be veiled references to temperament - does anyone want to eloborate? He'd have to be a rookie chanace at minimum and I reckon 2007 VM U16 coach Simon dalrymple may be interested in getting him to the Bulldogs.

What i have heard from an extremely reliable source is that he didn't make the VM side because he is too much of a tank, he has too much muscle.

I know this sounds wrong..but it's true i can tell you that

[FONT=&quot]After seeing how VM performed in the carnival some questions must be asked as to why he was left out? Interesting to note that when he did captain this side in U16 VM they won the carnival. I have seen him play a number of games this year for his school and he appears to be a quality draft prospect. After seeing the successful of Dan Hannebery on the weekend and the fact that Cachia and him have gone stride for stride for a number of years now I would be very surprised if he wasn’t picked up. As previously mentioned it appears to be his temper that lets him as he has been yellow carded in a number of games for school and supposedly the reason he was left out of VM. Works hard, big athletic body, great set of hands, long kick and a great ability to find the ball, if this draft really is limited, can’t see why he won’t be picked up?[/FONT]

I agree - Cachia was (and still is) a great player. He seems to be one of the many boys that have been overlooked this year in VM. Did he get an invite to draft camp or state screening?

Hey mate, no cachia didnt even get an invite to the initial 55 man squad which trained earlier in the year. Very surprising that he wasnt as he was a former metro captain. Have seen him play a few games for st.kevins in which he did quite well in. Although i think the fact that he was built so early has stunted his growth somewhat. Any thoughts on his draft prospects?

nope. A number of good players missed out asweel. i think clubs are hoping to keep good players under the radar in a draft that is limited.

used to play in jaryds football team a few years back. One of the most talented juniors i have ever seen play some of the high marks he took were simply unbelievable. Was wondering if anyone knows where he is at? did he get an invite to the national draft camp or state draft camp? what are his draft chances like??
any feedback would be appreciated

used to play in jaryds football team a few years back. One of the most talented juniors i have ever seen play some of the high marks he took were simply unbelievable. Was wondering if anyone knows where he is at? did he get an invite to the national draft camp or state draft camp? what are his draft chances like??
any feedback would be appreciated
Just two posts above this one you told us that he didn't.

no i didnt
i said he didnt get invited to the vic metro initial 55 man swuad earlier in the yr not the national and state screenings
two completely different things

[FONT=&quot]Not overly surprising he got a late call up, since resuming for knights after his school commitments he has averaged 25 touches 7 tackles and has being in the best every week. Would be very surprised if he didn’t get at least rookie listed.[/FONT]

Cachia has a strong body so he goes well at TAC level but he's slow and his kicking overall you would rate in the poor category. I can't see a future for him in the AFL.

Depends how much emphasis you put on his left foot. His right is fine, nothing poor about it in my view but, well, lets just say he shouldn't be kicking on his left no matter the situation.

Can anyone tell me when the state screenings are? I am really looking forward to this kids results. Whilst I agree with you that Cachia doesn’t have the best kick in the TAC, I do find it interesting you refer to him as slow. I believe he has featured for his school in the 4x100m relay a number of times on APS athletics day, not a bad effort for a boy who is listed as 183cm and 86kgs. His results over the 20m sprints will be interesting at state screening but once he gets going he flies, probably the reason pagan now has him running off the back flank.

i agree that his left foot is horrible he cost northern a goal late againt gold coast that cost them a chance of winning.
Have heard whispers that the bulldogs are going after him very strongly.
are you aloud to go and watch the state screenings or is it strictly players and recruiters? where are the state screenings and also what do the players get tested on beep test, agility etc?

Draft Profile Jaryd Cachia