Jason Blake

LJ&H

Draftee
Apr 24, 2007
Guys, as a very keen St.Kilda supporter, can you please give your opinions on Jason Blake.
I find him very frustrating and I know he gives 100%, but his skills and decision making is woeful. Why have we persisted with him for so long and what role does he play in our side.
He has given our side nothing for years and it has been a very long time since he has been in our top 3 players. He should play 1 game a year, as Goodes is the only bloke he seems to play well on. Time to send him back to the Scorpions.

Very interesting with Jason Blake, i will have one opinion on him one week then a different one the next week. I think at the moment he is in our best 22 as he is one who will always chase, tackle and give his all. However when we have a full strenght team he is not in my best 22.
Worth while keeping on the list as there are others who are worse than him.

Very interesting with Jason Blake, i will have one opinion on him one week then a different one the next week. I think at the moment he is in our best 22 as he is one who will always chase, tackle and give his all. However when we have a full strenght team he is not in my best 22.
Worth while keeping on the list as there are others who are worse than him.

I believe he is a very strategic player for us. He is not going to be an out & out champion in a set position e.g Full Forward, Ruck, CHB etc - what he does bring to the table is an ability to play a serviceable game across many positions. He can be slotted into a position and then be called upon to fill another hole if a player is injured or out of form.

If he can rate 6/10 in any position - yes he will attract his detractors that demand he rates 9or10/10 in every position (especially after 100 games of senior AFL footy) this is better than a player rating 2-3/10 in their set and only position. The virsatility across all positions he brings to the team is his forte.

His a good player without a 'home'.

I believe he is a very strategic player for us. He is not going to be an out & out champion in a set position e.g Full Forward, Ruck, CHB etc - what he does bring to the table is an ability to play a serviceable game across many positions. He can be slotted into a position and then be called upon to fill another hole if a player is injured or out of form.

If he can rate 6/10 in any position - yes he will attract his detractors that demand he rates 9or10/10 in every position (especially after 100 games of senior AFL footy) this is better than a player rating 2-3/10 in their set and only position. The virsatility across all positions he brings to the team is his forte.

His a good player without a 'home'.

I agree completely with you. He is a player without a home. I wouldn't call him a 'good' player. He can't play up forward, cos he can't kick a goal and gets in G and Nick's way. He gets anihilated in the ruck and doesn't get enough of the ball as a roving ruckman. Any forward would be licking his lips, seeing Blakey go to pick him up.
I can't remember a time when I would give him a 6/10.

I agree completely with you. He is a player without a home. I wouldn't call him a 'good' player. He can't play up forward, cos he can't kick a goal and gets in G and Nick's way. He gets anihilated in the ruck and doesn't get enough of the ball as a roving ruckman. Any forward would be licking his lips, seeing Blakey go to pick him up.

Gees fair smashing. New poster I think you are aren't you... Could this be Della or Paul55 again? God I hope so lol.

I think he is pretty important. We lack guys of his size and endurance. He is no star by any means however he has a crack every week and never really gets smashed by an opponent. I think he cops a fair bit of undeserved flack. His ability to take a contested mark is pretty good and his kicking at goal has improved somewhat. I recall him kicking a very important goal for us against Adelaide in the final in 2005. And his decision making is a lot better than some, but I won't bother with names as they've all copped it lately anyways.:rolleyes:

Blake isn't a star. I don't know any St Kilda supporters that expect him to be a game winner.

As you're a "St Kilda supporter" tell us how bad Blake normally goes shutting down players like Goodes?

Who's the next player you're hunting? Or is it back to one of the ex coaches?

Hmmmm ... which alias to use .... is it cold down there in Geelong?

Blake suffers from being the "Jack of all trades, master of none." But having said that, this is precisely why he's built such a long career. If I was a coach, particularly of St Kilda in recent seasons, I'd love to have Blake in the squad - he's heaven. A tall defender is out with a hammy? Get Blake. A ruck is out with foot injury? Get Blake. A tall midfielder's done a corky? Get Blake. A tall forward has a broken hand? Get Blake. I think the assessment of 6/10 is spot on: and if you have a guy who can slot in and do the job (maybe not be a superstar, but just do the job) in that many places, golden. His problem is going to come either this week or next, because the injuries are slowing down (please God!) - there's plenty of specialists, 8-9/10, who are on their way to take his spot.

As far as i can tell he does the job that the COACH asks him to week in week out. His skills arent as silky as a dalsanto but geeze Blakey gives a 100% effort every week. For the bagger/s just go down to Moorabinn and show him how good you are.

It has all been said, but he is like me in my club 18 days in Melbourne. A utility, ableit at a slightly higher level..!

Keep him until all the positions have an admirable backup, which will never happen.

Gee LJ&H (crap poster name by the way) I think you are a very immature poster - you raise a topic/thread and gain other posters interest to respond and all you do is kick the subject whenever someone puts up a different/positive view.

Next time you place a thread, please insert the condition

" This post is to dump on one of our players and I would only appreciate similar negative comments on that player"

This will save people who may have an intelligent/unbias point of view in responding.

It has all been said, but he is like me in my club 18 days in Melbourne. A utility, albeit at a slightly higher level..!

Keep him until all the positions have an admirable backup, which will never happen.

Great post. Nice personal plug for days of former glory:p; excellent summary of his job - he is a utility, pure and simple. And lastly, you are so right: we are NEVER going to have all those positions backed up totally - even with the flipping amazing depth I think we're going to have for the next two years, thanks to all these injuries giving lesser-lights opportunity.

I don't think Blake just fills a spot - 1-5/10 quality players fill spots. Kids needing to be blooded and shown that they're not in Kansas any more - they fill spots. Blake does the job - not necessarily with panache, but he does it.

I'll play the devils advocate here... Does he "do the job" or does he just fill a spot? Because anybody can fill a spot.[/quote]

errrr...Milney to full back, Harvey in the ruck....come BM your more intelligent than that!

Fair call, but you've taken me too literally. I should've just said that there comes a point where a jack of all trades needs to step up in one of them.

I believe Blake is getting in the way of players that could be better than he is in many of the various positions he's used in. My view is that having a pinch hitter who can fill any spot sounds nice in theory, but holds back the development of multiple players who could be tested in those spots. Has Blake kept guys like Allan (albeit injured), Sweeney and Watts out of the team when they could've had a run?

Gee whizz, I have got a reaction here and hit a nerve with a few people. Big Member raises some very good points. It is about time he settled into a designated spot, because he is keeping a few players out, who should've had a run.

Gee whizz, I have got a reaction here and hit a nerve with a few people.

weeeeeell your job here is done then :rolleyes:

I'm not his biggest fan. But I did have a drink with him after your mob, geelong beat us last year at the dome & he's a bloody nice bloke. You'll also be happy to know that he hates losing to your mob most of all!

he is keeping a few players out, who should've had a run.

name them & justify.

weeeeeell your job here is done then :rolleyes:

I'm not his biggest fan. But I did have a drink with him after your mob, geelong beat us last year at the dome & he's a bloody nice bloke. You'll also be happy to know that he hates losing to your mob most of all!

name them & justify.

Geelong......I don't know where the belief comes from that I am a Geelong supporter.
Watts and Sweeney should be given a game ahead of him. As you have said, my job here is done. I still can't find a reasonable argument in any return posts that claim he should stay.
I love the Saints, but am getting increasingly frustrated like most other honest saints fans would be.

Guys, I happen to know LJ & H personally, and know he is a die-hard Saints man.

I however am not, as you might have worked out.

He told me to get on here and have a look at the pasting he was getting from his fellow St Kilda fans, who obviously feel Blakey is a champion and ornament to the game.

Well, maybe not that good, but excuse me old mate for feeling he's ordinary. I happen to agree with him.

I feel a coupla blokes at Geelong aren't that great and some Geelong fans would probably agree with me.

Can any St Kilda fans agree with LJ & H or do you all think he's in your best 22? Surely not.

I don't deny he tries as hard as he can, and that's all you can ask I guess.

I'd like to see him on a HFF, His strengths are his tackling (missing in the forward half with Hammil out), his motor and he is quite a good mark.

His decision making is woeful and further up the field he gets caught out at HFF, kick for the big sticks or top of the square

Fair call, but you've taken me too literally. I should've just said that there comes a point where a jack of all trades needs to step up in one of them.

I believe Blake is getting in the way of players that could be better than he is in many of the various positions he's used in. My view is that having a pinch hitter who can fill any spot sounds nice in theory, but holds back the development of multiple players who could be tested in those spots. Has Blake kept guys like Allan (albeit injured), Sweeney and Watts out of the team when they could've had a run?

BM...hang on I was just reading an extract from Stan Alves at Harvey's testimonial....you may be right

On two stand-out games:
“Against Melbourne … we took a real punt and played Robert in the ruck against Jimmy Stynes. No-one would think that would be a good idea. But he actually took Stynes to the cleaners because he allowed him to win the knock, but around the ground he destroyed him. Stan Alves

In terms of Blake holding young kids back, no I don't think so. I mean Blake is only 23-24? himself with +100 games. The only ones holding Sweeney & Watts back are themselves - Ross will put them in when they are at same level I reckon

Gees fair smashing. New poster I think you are aren't you... Could this be Della or Paul55 again? God I hope so lol.

I think he is pretty important. We lack guys of his size and endurance. He is no star by any means however he has a crack every week and never really gets smashed by an opponent. I think he cops a fair bit of undeserved flack. His ability to take a contested mark is pretty good and his kicking at goal has improved somewhat. I recall him kicking a very important goal for us against Adelaide in the final in 2005. And his decision making is a lot better than some, but I won't bother with names as they've all copped it lately anyways.:rolleyes:

nah i wouldn't of thought this is della, this is a fair comment his desicion making is shocking he does get in the way all the time but the bloke can run and does put in his all. he does 2 or 3 good things a game. ATM he keeps his spot but as someone else said if we were at full strength he wont be there.

i would be supprised if we got rid of him just because i would say this is exactly what ross lyon is looking for (work ethic).

but as the guy who started the post said he only plays very well on goodes it is his 1-2 good games a year.....usualy.

nah i wouldn't of thought this is della, this is a fair comment his desicion making is shocking he does get in the way all the time but the bloke can run and does put in his all. he does 2 or 3 good things a game. ATM he keeps his spot but as someone else said if we were at full strength he wont be there.

i would be supprised if we got rid of him just because i would say this is exactly what ross lyon is looking for (work ethic).

but as the guy who started the post said he only plays very well on goodes it is his 1-2 good games a year.....usualy.

Couldn't agree with you more, Emmo. Finally someone being honest about this. My question then is, does work ethic and fitness outweigh decision making and skill level.

i dont want to answer that :)..um in our current situation yes, because it is what we are lacking. although work ethic and fitness are obviously integral parts to a top player but they alone wont cut the mustard in the AFL.

so in short at the moment yes. cause we dont have many if any other options but id say next year will be his last unless he can do something very special. he has had a fair go i think.

obviously alot of people will disagree and thats fine but they are my thoughts anyway.

Jason Blake