Player Watch Jeremy Finlayson

We actually live in a world where there is more outrage over a word being said between two footballers playing a heated game than there is for vandalism of someone’s home.

Did you hear Eddie talking about rocks being thrown at the home and they all condone that - but Damian Barrett made sure he snuck in 'of his own doing'....

Anybody who has followed port in the last two decades knows the afl is racist.
Anytime one of our indigenous players gets reported they get huge standard setting bans. It’s a clear and obvious pattern over decades.
SPP got called a pos on the title of news.com then white vic player does an act twice as bad & the headline is ‘player x might be in trouble’
It’s called institutionalised racism & the afl are pros at it. The double standards are breathtaking

Unfortunately the AFL and many clubs have been guilty of Institutionalised Racism for 100 years. Unfortunately it is even worse in country and local leagues. Whilst people like Eddie Macguire and Jeff Kennett were running football clubs, there is little chance of equality for Aboriginal players with racist flogs running the show.

I thought I saw he got a little love tap during the game.

It's surprising the lack of context from this issue vs the clarkson one. Yet you go back last week vs Melbourne and Fritch is telling the crowd to go forth and multiply. What about the offense to the asexuals?

Did you hear Eddie talking about rocks being thrown at the home and they all condone that - but Damian Barrett made sure he snuck in 'of his own doing'....
nah i didn't but...sounds like the finlaysons deserve this.

You can't be saying naughty words on a footy field and not expect to be publicly shamed and have rocks pummeled at your family home.

For the Essendon players to go hard on Jeremy in the investigation and the 3 weeks suspension. I think maybe the victim is gay and JF knew it. That’s the only scenario that fits the punishment..
I think you're spot on and the AFL can't say it because the individual involved doesn't want to be public with this, hence why AFL are squirming everytime they're asked. Only reason I can make for the differing punishment.

So the afl argument is
a) Clarkson was provoked
b) the word Jeremy used was more naughty
Specious reasoning
Surprised anyone buys that shit for one second

a) coach should never interact with opposition players. Clarkson has form, anger management issues & is in a position of authority where he is a role model so must be held to higher standards.
Finny is playing a gladiatorial sport & said something stupid in the heat of battle, has serious issues at home & self reported/ apologised of his own accord
b) splitting hairs on which homophobic slur is worse?

more like c) one white good old vic boy, other not

The other aspect of this which I find humorous is that when I played footy I heard horrible things, things that would make a sailor blush. I played with one guy who would give opposition players nicknames & would make them cry by the end of the game.

Sometimes abuse was directed at me when I played well, I remember one time the entire Cleve seniors team claimed to have carnal knowledge of my gf at the time. ( with hindsight there might be some truth in it) but it was a mark of your manhood to soak it up & keep your eye on the ball & keep playing well. Then if they went too far snipe em physically & then verbally. But what was said on the field stayed on the field

The other aspect of this which I find humorous is that when I played footy I heard horrible things, things that would make a sailor blush. I played with one guy who would give opposition players nicknames & would make them cry by the end of the game.

Sometimes abuse was directed at me when I played well, I remember one time the entire Cleve seniors team claimed to have carnal knowledge of my gf at the time. ( with hindsight there might be some truth in it) but it was a mark of your manhood to soak it up & keep your eye on the ball & keep playing well. Then if they went too far snipe em physically & then verbally. But what was said on the field stayed on the field
An eye for an eye, the reverse fixture in mind if they got the better of you. It always added spice to the contest and made it ultra competitive. No harsh feelings afterwards.

Unfortunately, times have changed. Now to clarify I'm not saying awareness shouldn't be spread and some shit that's said is completely off limits, but the intention of the goon is to get under your skin. Nothing else deeper rooted. Unless you had sex with their mother or something...

cool story bro

How tf do people even track down Jez's address? I would've thought that the living locations for players and coaches are kept discreet.

Then again we did have that drive by racist pull up at Eddie Betts' house only a few weeks ago so maybe it's not as hard as it should be.

Except for Kenny of course. They probably use government grade camouflage to make sure he can never be tracked.

Has Barry Curtin involved himself or said/done something about Finlayson's comments? Going on his latest facebook ramblings he's been booted from hosting talking footy at the club lol.

We actually live in a world where there is more outrage over a word being said between two footballers playing a heated game than there is for vandalism of someone’s home.

Is the vandalism thing real? I've seen it mentioned on here a bunch of times but I haven't seen anything corroborating it.

Has Barry Curtin involved himself or said/done something about Finlayson's comments? Going on his latest facebook ramblings he's been booted from hosting talking footy at the club lol.
Well at least some good has come out of all of this then.

How tf do people even track down Jez's address? I would've thought that the living locations for players and coaches are kept discreet.

Then again we did have that drive by racist pull up at Eddie Betts' house only a few weeks ago so maybe it's not as hard as it should be.

Except for Kenny of course. They probably use government grade camouflage to make sure he can never be tracked.
It wouldn't be that hard it only takes one ******* who lives near you and they tell their circle of dipshits & so on.

Sorry for intrusion.
A lot of words even inappropriate slurs, have always been said in the heat of the battle. I am not saying this is okay.

Imagine however if the current AFL administration were in charge of the ADF.

A country declares war on Australia and young Aussie soldiers in combat are overheard directing inappropriate slurs at the enemy.

Would these leaders immediately suspend all of these troops for three weeks with compulsory training added on?

Perhaps, at least in this day and age.

Give me a break, it’s a game where high paid young athletes kick around an inflated ball, not midway through Verdun. This ‘heat of battle’ nonsense is absolutely ridiculous

Player Watch Jeremy Finlayson