melbourne
"Yellow & Black"
Collo offers Elliott Optus invite
03 March 2005 Herald Sun
Mark Robinson

CARLTON president Ian Collins is poised to end the bitter two-year stand-off with John Elliott by inviting him back to the Blues.

It's understood a mutual friend, Peter Scanlon, a former AFL Commissioner, has tried to broker a peace deal between the two powerful and outspoken Blues identities.

Collins and Elliott have not spoken – other than muffled hellos – since Elliott and his board resigned in November, 2002, leaving Collins and his Carlton One ticket to take control of club.

Collins last night confirmed Elliott, whose name he took off the Legends Stand in 2004, would be invited to Optus Oval as part of the last game celebration against Melbourne in Round 9.

"We will inviting John back to Carlton at some stage," Collins said.

"People may think it's stupid, but life moves on.

"But it will happen. I don't know if it's an olive branch from me, but let's rule a line under it and move forward . . . I'm sick of looking back."

Elliott, who is the focus of a 60 Minutes documentary to be screened shortly, was at Optus Oval on Monday for filming.

In a move believed to have pleased Elliott, the Blues gave him permission to film on the ground, where he was greeted by several club employees.

Elliott learnt of Collins' invitation late last week and was understood to be warm to the idea. But last night he was non-committal.

"I'm not saying anything until I get the invitation," he said.

There is lingering bitterness between the pair, but Collins stressed the importance of moving forward.

"I don't want this to be a public discussion, but the club's always bigger than the individual," Collins said.

"We will be inviting everyone back, anyone who has played or who has been on the committee. We will write to everyone concerned and they can pick as they see fit."

Asked the significance of Elliott's invitation, Collins said: "It's a general invitation to everyone for the last home game, whether it's (former board directors) Kevin Hall or Barry Stones, (former chief executive) John Gurrieri, what's it matter."

It's believed Elliott and Collins will have a chance to catch up before the Round 9 clash. Long-time friend, Sam Kekovich, has invited Elliott to the Kangaroos president's dinner for the match against Carlton in Round 1.

Elliott and Collins worked together at Carlton for 11 years as president and chief executive respectively, before Collins became AFL football operations manager.

In 2002, Elliott and members of his board were named in a salary cap scandal that led to a $1 million fine and draft sanctions being imposed on the Blues by the AFL.

Amid claims of legal action being taken against Elliott and Co, Elliott resigned on November 12.

itsintheblood said:
Collo offers Elliott Optus invite
03 March 2005 Herald Sun
Mark Robinson

CARLTON president Ian Collins is poised to end the bitter two-year stand-off with John Elliott by inviting him back to the Blues.

It's understood a mutual friend, Peter Scanlon, a former AFL Commissioner, has tried to broker a peace deal between the two powerful and outspoken Blues identities................

This is the same Peter Scanlon a Crooked mate of Elliot who was Ex director of Elders at the same time Elliot was on that board and was involved with the international Bond scandal and the Elders shares scandal.

Good to see Carlton are sticking to their Origins to go forward.

worthogs said:
This is the same Peter Scanlon a Crooked mate of Elliot who was Ex director of Elders at the same time Elliot was on that board and was involved with the international Bond scandal and the Elders shares scandal.

Good to see Carlton are sticking to their Origins to go forward.
at least elliot wasn't involved in anyones death ...in a drug taking binge.
but then again that bloke is always welcome with open arms down at geelong
glasshouses buddy !

Big Jack may be a good bloke, but he is a manipulative, dishonest, swindling, underhanded crook. He was caught with his pants down cheating the system and caused a great deal of damage at Carlton.

He ran Carlton as well as he ran his businesses, and with the humility of Mohammed Ali. If I was a Carlton fan I'd still be pretty dirty on him. To this day he still thinks he did nothing wrong :rolleyes: .

Having said all this he is passionate about footy and life must go on. Just keep him away from Carltons finances.

Blues_Man said:
glasshouses buddy !

No but he and his dodgy business practices put a lot of people to the wall and ripped them off Millions. I do not approve of The event you mentioned above either and he was stupid for what he did. Elliot went out of his way to Lie, steal, decieve and rort the system (so did Scanlon for that matter) But I suppose you would just call that Business. Remember this man is the one that has put you in the position you are in now through his contempt for the rules of the game (and business for that matter).

worthogs said:
No but he and his dodgy business practices put a lot of people to the wall and ripped them off Millions. I do not approve of The event you mentioned above either and he was stupid for what he did. Elliot went out of his way to Lie, steal, decieve and rort the system (so did Scanlon for that matter) But I suppose you would just call that Business. Remember this man is the one that has put you in the position you are in now through his contempt for the rules of the game (and business for that matter).
people make mistakes and pay for them.
with regard to John Elliot ...was he doing all these things for himself .? or was he in some misguided way believing he was helping the club he loves ?
Life goes on ..and people must move on..how long do you suppose is the correct time span to hold a grudge ??

Blues_Man said:
glasshouses buddy !

Yeah good comeback douche, didn't really Ablett Snr was a disposed President of Geelong.

Hoggy said:
Yeah good comeback douche, didn't really Ablett Snr was a disposed President of Geelong.
no ...sorry your correct he's not a deposed (he should be disposed of)president of Geelong ..he is a drug taking low life who played a part in another persons death .
which makes him a much nicer person ..thank you for picking me up on my ignorance :rolleyes:

JeffDunne said:
John Elliott made mistakes - but everyone else but him has paid for them.

The twit should be in Jail.

I'm actually surprised at Collo on this one.

Actually, I'm not, I'm just trying to be nice. :)
Including his (ex) mrs who was a tad surprised - to say the least - when she found out her house had been sold from under her. Terrific fella. Go Blues, let him into your finance department.

Great arguement Blues Man.

Basically read. Geelong have Ablett so its OK for us to have a pilferring, slimmy thief, who robbed from EVERYONE of US, welcomed back to the club.
Yeah, I'm with you!

Blues_Man said:
the same reason why the Kangaroos will welcome Carey back ..life moves on . just as long as you don't allow the person into any position where he could do the same again.
Nah Carey screwed up(ha,ha)but Elliott near destroyed the club,I wouldn't want him back.

Big Jack should be hung from the Legends Stand by the nads & his decaying carcass left to rot as a reminder of the legacy he has left for Carlton & the many other victims of his scumbag business dealings. Any remains should be delivered to the people of Bridgewater for them to toss into the Loddon River to feed the carp.

Blues_Man said:
people make mistakes and pay for them.
with regard to John Elliot ...was he doing all these things for himself .? or was he in some misguided way believing he was helping the club he loves ?
Life goes on ..and people must move on..how long do you suppose is the correct time span to hold a grudge ??

I agree people do make mistakes and pay for them however I dont think Jack was doing any of this for anyone else bar John Elliot and his Ego. As for thinking he was helping his club in any way This is a bit rich as he went out of his way to hide payments to his players from the AFL, knowing totally that this was outside the rules of the Salary Cap.

He was even bagging his creditors last month for making him a Bankrupt rather than saying he screwed up and lost people their money.

As for a time span how the 7 years he is a declared bankrupt. That sounds a good length of time.

I dont see the big deal to be honest. I wont ever forgive him for the pain he has put my club through but he has been down at the club regularly since he resigned as president.
He frequently took his seat in one of the corporate boxes in the stand previously named after him at many a game since 2002. So he has been attending OO. This is just getting more profile to the fact that he is still involved at the club. But for God's sake Collo, keep him well away from the admin offices and staff!!! :eek:

VANDA said:
Big Jack should be hung from the Legends Stand by the nads & his decaying carcass left to rot as a reminder of the legacy he has left for Carlton & the many other victims of his scumbag business dealings. Any remains should be delivered to the people of Bridgewater for them to toss into the Loddon River to feed the carp.

Can't you think of something a little harsher?

Here's an idea. Why don't they make him wear a collingwood jumper and put him in a torture chamber and have the collingwood theme song blaring constantly for 2 weeks. He should be made to watch black and white TV and have eddies face plastered all over his cell.

itsintheblood said:
Can't you think of something a little harsher?

Here's an idea. Why don't they make him wear a collingwood jumper and put him in a torture chamber and have the collingwood theme song blaring constantly for 2 weeks. He should be made to watch black and white TV and have eddies face plastered all over his cell.
Now I'd almost pay to see that. :D

John Elliott is BACK!!!!