JON = ... Phar Lap?

you just owned yourself...

he said that he has massive improvement in hijm - same thing as saying great potential
you just agreed with him
you sir have the i.q of a wombat (10 more i.q pts than a carlton supporter)

Why waste the pearls on the swine.

jon will improve from 1/10 to 2/10.

If that is "owning" myself then i concede!

Now I,ve not seen JON in the showers so I can't completely rule out the Pharlap comparisn but I think more along another line.....The term Drongo was derived from a horse in the early 1900's I think,who ran about 80 races and never won.In fact finished tailed off most times.
So JON is a drongo.

Just watched the replay of Port vs Tigers. Watched JON carefully. Turned the ball over a few times badly. He also had a hand with a couple of key plays, like his tackle on Peter Burgoyne in the last which was rewarded with a free and his subsequent pass to a team mate led to our only (and thus winning) goal for the quarter.
Happy to persist with him. Has good mechanics with his kicking and so with confidence will hit targets more regularly. Covers ground effortlessly. Needs to show more intensity in his game and then it will step up a notch.

Anyone here who writes him off already is a ____in idiot

He is 20 years old suffered injury set backs in the last 2 years

He just needs time at AFL level he will be good no doubt. By this time next year you will all be calling his praises, mark it down

Anyone here who writes him off already is a ____in idiot

He is 20 years old suffered injury set backs in the last 2 years

He just needs time at AFL level he will be good no doubt. By this time next year you will all be calling his praises, mark it down

Were they injuries to his awareness and decision making glands?

Happy to persist with him. Has good mechanics with his kicking and so with confidence will hit targets more regularly. Covers ground effortlessly. Needs to show more intensity in his game and then it will step up a notch.

Unfortunately, many supporters see this as one of his problems - including me. He just does not seem to have an urgency to his game - he seems to spend too long reacting to the play before deciding what to do (usually chase).

I was careful to keep an eye on him throughout the game and I saw turnovers and bad decision making mostly. I agree he should be persisted with BUT NOT IN THE SENIORS THIS WEEK please!!! He needs to get the basics right and you don't earn your spot by playing a game like his against port. If its a free ride it does him no favor.

Just watched the replay of Port vs Tigers. Watched JON carefully. Turned the ball over a few times badly. He also had a hand with a couple of key plays, like his tackle on Peter Burgoyne in the last which was rewarded with a free and his subsequent pass to a team mate led to our only (and thus winning) goal for the quarter.

There are many examples where young 'gangly' players took time to pick up the pace of AFL but went on to have productive careers. Andrew Embley is one that springs to mind. Givethe kid a break and at least until the end of next year before you judge him.

It isn't because he is gangly...it's because he can't play!

I'm of the belief that he can as evidenced by his last quarter efforts on the weekend. A mate of mine was at the game and he said that Jon busted his guts to make positive position time and again only to be ignored by the 'possession' game being played at the time. I noticed in many of his Coburg games he improved as the game progressed and never stopped running.

Where's Mario Speedwagon when you need him?

Why are you so intent on seeing this kid fail Sausage Roll? It's not like he spends most of his time writing on some footy blog bagging the crap out of people. He actually works his **** off to become the best player he can be for the RFC. It's not his fault we took him at pick 8. Something which I was and am stilly a little mystified by.

You should try dealing in facts for a change instead of just senseless vitriol.

Example:

Negatives: He doesn't have the best decision making. This is the biggest problem as it may not improve enough to allow him to play at a good standard. His kicking has been a little suspect.

Positives: - He is, whether you like it or not, a super athlete. Very quick and one of the most agile players in the comp. Draft testing testifies this.
- he has improved his kicking
- he is willing to run and chase as was seen in the port game - especially last quarter where he was one of the hardest workers on the ground.
- he looks intense when the camera focusses on his face - must be trying his guts out
- he is willing to take the game on and backs himself

I am sure others can add to both these lists but it seems to me that at 20 and with only a limited amount of footy behind him the positives outweigh the negatives.

Where's Mario Speedwagon when you need him?

Why are you so intent on seeing this kid fail Sausage Roll? It's not like he spends most of his time writing on some footy blog bagging the crap out of people. He actually works his **** off to become the best player he can be for the RFC. It's not his fault we took him at pick 8. Something which I was and am stilly a little mystified by.

You should try dealing in facts for a change instead of just senseless vitriol.

Example:

Negatives: He doesn't have the best decision making. This is the biggest problem as it may not improve enough to allow him to play at a good standard. His kicking has been a little suspect.

Positives: - He is, whether you like it or not, a super athlete. Very quick and one of the most agile players in the comp. Draft testing testifies this.
- he has improved his kicking
- he is willing to run and chase as was seen in the port game - especially last quarter where he was one of the hardest workers on the ground.
- he looks intense when the camera focusses on his face - must be trying his guts out
- he is willing to take the game on and backs himself

I am sure others can add to both these lists but it seems to me that at 20 and with only a limited amount of footy behind him the positives outweigh the negatives.

Bigstyle, tend to agree with most of what you said. You have, however forgotten a couple major weaknesess. One is his horrendous awareness. He has absolutley no idea of whats around him.
The other is his lack of body strength which prevents him standing up in tackles. They simply tackle him and his body collapses. Obviously this can improve IF he gets stronger.

Finallly, his football nous( sort of decision making) isn't great.

I don't really care what look they have on there face???

JON = ... Phar Lap?