Rumour Justin Leppitsch and The Players

haha always such a witty conversation where you are involved. Ill take that as you have no rebuttal to my post then? so you are out kind of admitting your'e wrong and a bit out of touch then?. I have worked in several workplaces and have yet to have my boss assault me, sounds like it's happening at your work everyday though, totally normal, part of everyday life, nothing to see here.

I call BS.

Your previous post appeared to be.

You're out of step mate, someone out on site or on the tools would only get a warning for telling the boss to **** off.
I know this because I work in an office.

(personally the causal link seems to have passed me by)

It is then pointed out, somewhat more gently than you might have deserved.

Well you lost me at I work in an office.

and you fail to accept that this was a valid rebuttal of your non sequiter.

We have been shit for 10 years, tell me what you like about the club at the moment?
I follow the Lions because I'm from Brisbane; they're our team.
Part of that interest includes support for those working and playing there. That said, I also recognise when someone is doing damage to our 'brand' (Angus, for example). I take great pride in the people who got involved to change things at the club, from members who successfully campaigned for the return of our guernsey, to the big hitters like Matthews who restored direction. I like the recruitment of Swann and Schwab and the work they are doing.

It isn't a requirement as a supporter to like everything about the club, or all the decisions made, after all, it isn't Swann's club or Matthews' club, or anyone else employed there. But, when most (far better judges than me) agree that the likes of Schwab have done a good to very good job and that the coach hasn't had the opportunity to yet prove himself and finish half the job asked of him, I tend to agree.

For some, it seems to be a daily mission to ignore the convincing arguments for positives and continue to flog the dead horse that is their irrational hysteria. As an example, the over the top claims that we were severely ripped off in the Aish trade have been repeatedly refuted with perfectly logical and factual explanation to the contrary. When an opinion is so overwhelmingly in the minority and no sensible argument can be made to support it, you have to consider that it might be just wrong. The arguments that "We shoulda..." are so ridiculous and ignorant that the opinions of those spouting such theories are rendered worthless.

We can all disagree with various actions of the club, and the value or abilities of various players, but without sensible argument/reason, those opinions are redundant. When the only noise a poster makes is constant whining and declarations of how terrible each facet of the club is, you have to wonder where their supportership is. "The coach is shit". "The recruiter is shit". "The club is shit". Then what the **** are you doing here?

It boggles the mind that some believe they have a better idea about recruiting or trading, or worse, that the professionals doing it are clueless, without displaying any inkling that they have a clue.

When the reaction to every development at the club is how they got it wrong or one's only contribution is to continue flogging a dead horse, I have to question the point of their participation here or as a member/"supporter".

We have been shit for 10 years, tell me what you like about the club at the moment?

I will be eternally grateful for the joy the Brisbane Lions brought to my life in 2001-2003 and I think I understand the cycle of AFL life and the world of salary caps, draft selections and being an interstate team in a non-AFL state. I am a proud Lions member and will continue to be so through thick and thin, good times and not so good times...I am in for the long haul and am happy to back Leppa, Lethal, Swan, Lambert and co in for the re-build. My only angst is that Vossy was shafted by short-sighted dickhead Chairman Angarse.

I follow the Lions because I'm from Brisbane; they're our team.
Part of that interest includes support for those working and playing there. That said, I also recognise when someone is doing damage to our 'brand' (Angus, for example). I take great pride in the people who got involved to change things at the club, from members who successfully campaigned for the return of our guernsey, to the big hitters like Matthews who restored direction. I like the recruitment of Swann and Schwab and the work they are doing.

It isn't a requirement as a supporter to like everything about the club, or all the decisions made, after all, it isn't Swann's club or Matthews' club, or anyone else employed there. But, when most (far better judges than me) agree that the likes of Schwab have done a good to very good job and that the coach hasn't had the opportunity to yet prove himself and finish half the job asked of him, I tend to agree.

For some, it seems to be a daily mission to ignore the convincing arguments for positives and continue to flog the dead horse that is their irrational hysteria. As an example, the over the top claims that we were severely ripped off in the Aish trade have been repeatedly refuted with perfectly logical and factual explanation to the contrary. When an opinion is so overwhelmingly in the minority and no sensible argument can be made to support it, you have to consider that it might be just wrong. The arguments that "We shoulda..." are so ridiculous and ignorant that the opinions of those spouting such theories are rendered worthless.

We can all disagree with various actions of the club, and the value or abilities of various players, but without sensible argument/reason, those opinions are redundant. When the only noise a poster makes is constant whining and declarations of how terrible each facet of the club is, you have to wonder where their supportership is. "The coach is shit". "The recruiter is shit". "The club is shit". Then what the **** are you doing here?

It boggles the mind that some believe they have a better idea about recruiting or trading, or worse, that the professionals doing it are clueless, without displaying any inkling that they have a clue.

When the reaction to every development at the club is how they got it wrong or one's only contribution is to continue flogging a dead horse, I have to question the point of their participation here or as a member/"supporter".
This deserves more than a "Like"...well said Skoob!

I just assume he chokeslams most players on a weekly/fortnightly basis. And the coaches and staff.

I realise you're just being flippant, but I've seen this term used before WRT the Leppa/ZOB incident. The account I've heard was that Leppa grabbed him by the collar of the jumper, not the throat as has been widely misreported. Also the chokeslam as a wrestling move involves the turning of the opponents body's axis horizontally and forcing them into a hard barrier of some sorts, usually the mat. Thus there was no choke or slam. Using that term probably perpetuates a reputation the incident doesn't quite deserve. Sounds cooler I know, but ... yanno*...

* - now WBB's gone, I bags that term.

I realise you're just being flippant, but I've seen this term used before WRT the Leppa/ZOB incident. The account I've heard was that Leppa grabbed him by the collar of the jumper, not the throat as has been widely misreported. Also the chokeslam as a wrestling move involves the turning of the opponents body's axis horizontally and forcing them into a hard barrier of some sorts, usually the mat. Thus there was no choke or slam. Using that term probably perpetuates a reputation the incident doesn't quite deserve. Sounds cooler I know, but ... yanno*...

* - now WBB's gone, I bags that term.

You should host wrestling 101 classes ;)

With all the talk about Leppa's job security going forward, I am a little perplexed with the negativity.

Firstly if you were to replace him, who would you want that would actually come to the Lions that will do a better job? Any unproven coach is in the same boat as Leppa 3 years ago and perhaps without a genuine passion for the club as he does. Any experienced coach will likely prefer to coach in a different footy environment given the choice.

And then if you look at the flashy mob down on the coast with Eade and what has happened there, it shows that an experienced coach who in theory has seen it all before, can still have minimal impact when certain factors go against them.

I would much prefer to back in a guy that clearly cares about the club and has some excellent coaching attributes.

There may be aspects of coaching that he is not competent in yet but I doubt communication is one of them. he seems a genuine, empathetic, deep thinking man and i struggle to see how that would not translate into the locker room.

Also he has the support network around him with Lethal to learn and work on his weakness'.

then if you look at the new management structure and the appointment of Matty Francis to oversee many of the roles that were taking up too much of his time and I think that the path is set for sustained success. Have some patience people, we are on the way up.

I call BS.

Your previous post appeared to be.

You're out of step mate, someone out on site or on the tools would only get a warning for telling the boss to **** off.
I know this because I work in an office.

(personally the causal link seems to have passed me by)

It is then pointed out, somewhat more gently than you might have deserved.

Well you lost me at I work in an office.

and you fail to accept that this was a valid rebuttal of your non sequiter.

lol - BB doesen't need you to come rushing to his defence, he is a strong poster with even stronger conviction - clearly, as per the END of the conversation 2 pages ago, this was over, not sure why you need to come in with your 2c.

Because you chose to post on a public forum with no statute of limitations?

Oops, it appears I've rushed to Matt's defence. I'll leave you to it.

I personally am 100% behind Leppa this year, upon.. even more reflection.. I really want him to do well. He needs results IMO, but I am backing him to turn this around.

He has made his mistakes and done lots of good, but he appears prepared to listen, so fingers crossed the last 12 months will be a huge learning tool and he coaches us to a finals appearance in the next 2-3 years.

With all the talk about Leppa's job security going forward, I am a little perplexed with the negativity.

Firstly if you were to replace him, who would you want that would actually come to the Lions that will do a better job? Any unproven coach is in the same boat as Leppa 3 years ago and perhaps without a genuine passion for the club as he does. Any experienced coach will likely prefer to coach in a different footy environment given the choice.

And then if you look at the flashy mob down on the coast with Eade and what has happened there, it shows that an experienced coach who in theory has seen it all before, can still have minimal impact when certain factors go against them.

I would much prefer to back in a guy that clearly cares about the club and has some excellent coaching attributes.

There may be aspects of coaching that he is not competent in yet but I doubt communication is one of them. he seems a genuine, empathetic, deep thinking man and i struggle to see how that would not translate into the locker room.

Also he has the support network around him with Lethal to learn and work on his weakness'.

then if you look at the new management structure and the appointment of Matty Francis to oversee many of the roles that were taking up too much of his time and I think that the path is set for sustained success. Have some patience people, we are on the way up.
Cue all the pundits* suggesting every champion of the game, despite neither being available nor interested (or affordable).

*Polite term.

No point ditching Leppa just yet. We're trying to appear not a basket case, and ditching coaches (again!) would be a bad idea. Besides, who would ever want to come and coach us? We'd appear even less attractive and become a doomed coaching gig.
Stick with Leppa. He's done a lot of good in his time at the helm (more so than Voss imo) and is worth persevering with. No further need to destabilise the club even more. If it's not all clicking in 2 or 3 years max, then it may be time to search for a new coach

Cue all the pundits* suggesting every champion of the game, despite neither being available nor interested (or affordable).

*Polite term.

I'm pretty sure Norm Smith is out of a job at the moment.

Could we afford him though?

No point ditching Leppa just yet. We're trying to appear not a basket case, and ditching coaches (again!) would be a bad idea. Besides, who would ever want to come and coach us? We'd appear even less attractive and become a doomed coaching gig.
Stick with Leppa. He's done a lot of good in his time at the helm (more so than Voss imo) and is worth persevering with. No further need to destabilise the club even more. If it's not all clicking in 2 or 3 years max, then it may be time to search for a new coach

1. We shouldn't keep Leppa on to only make it appear like we are less of a basket case if he is doing a poor job of coaching us taking what has happened at the Saints, Power and Bulldogs of examples of what can happen when you ditch a poor coach.

2. Yes it's very difficult to tell who would be a good coach but I think we've got a good list, a good off field structure and I'm sure there'd be a few oldies who wouldn't mind the heat of Queensland.

I'm pretty sure Norm Smith is out of a job at the moment.

Could we afford him though?

He'll be ready as soon as we find a cure for 17 stab wounds in the back. We're up to fifteen.

BFjwP-bCQAAx05B.jpg

What do I like about the club?

The fact that for the first time in countless years its got a direction.
It's got a board, a CEO, a director of coaching and a coach that's unified.
It's got a plan to regain relevance and financial stability.
It's been active - aggressive even - in its list management .
That our playing list on paper is probably more balanced with more potential for the start of 2016 than it's been in 10 years.
That the efforts to inform and engage its members over the last 2 years have been dramatically better than the 10 before it.
It's my bloody club - for better or worse.

Are things perfect? No.
Is the direction right? Maybe. Only time will tell. But its time they deserve.
Has Leppa made mistakes - undoubtedly.

But what 2 year manager/coach hasn't? Juggling 40+ personalities on any worksite - office, construction or playing field is VERY VERY difficult and easy to underestimate. If he's acknowledged he needs to be better that's as good a step I can ask of anyone. The accusation he favours newbies and his own recruits is understandable and logical - they are his vision, his team. If that get noses out of joint so be it. To assume it happens at the Lions alone is naive.

Throwing the baby out with the bathwater because we on the outside don't think things happen quick enough is a recipe for instability and unpredictable results for as long as we continue to do it.

We changed 2 years ago for little immediate benefit. To keep creating the environment where we do it again is madness.

Someone at afl.com.au sure loves O"Brien....

Never seen a delisted Rookie get so much air time - You'd think we delisted Rocky or something!

I really dont understand the get rid of Leppa attitude. First year he got slaughtered until last 8 ish rounds and then everyone was on the Leppa train. Then we had a injury riddled year and he had the balls to make tough decisions and the list turnover has been huge.

Good on him, he is passionate about getting his team back up there so bring it. I'm not saying he is great nor terrible, but I can't see how we can judge yet. Lets see where we are next year is my opinion....

Rumour Justin Leppitsch and The Players