Kdfl - 2009

Managed to get to Gig on Sunday to watch the game but couldnt tell which players were them was just wondering who the 20 and under players were and what no. they are, that are running around for Stanhope and getting there first crack at finals football for the first time?

:thumbsu: Good to see Stanhope, having some talented kids coming threw the ranks. Hope to see them at the big stage in Mooroopna :thumbsu:

From memory there was only about four of these kids playing on the weekend as their thirds were also competing the same day and i believe a couple have been pushed back to seconds football for finals. The players that played were Matt Stokes #27, Jamie Densley #19, Ryan Patten #1 and Jack Baker#13. They are the only ones i could recall that played, could have been more though

Always good to see sides giving the younger ones a go. I can't think of many seasons at all since being a little 7 year old back in 92 cheering on VT in the old Tungamah League where we haven't had several under 17 year age players, let alone under 20.
I know this year we would've had 15 or 16 players, play under the age of 20 in the seniors and probably 8 of them play a half season or more.

Stanhope's Chris Saunders, where does he originally hale from??? He must be on some good coin? or does he play their with mates??? Can play just a little bit ;). Has he had a quite year due to injury or what?? Think he will be a big key for Stanhope to stay in the finals race. Amazing GV or MFL clubs haven't poached him. (Or have they?)

Originally came to the club through Marcus Emmett, went to Uni with him in Ballarat.
Had been overseas for most of this year and only got back a few weeks ago. I am sure a few clubs have been trying to get him over the past couple of years.

He has played the last 3 home and away games and the one final., He has been overseas for most of the year. Can play.

Originally came to the club through Marcus Emmett, went to Uni with him in Ballarat.
Had been overseas for most of this year and only got back a few weeks ago. I am sure a few clubs have been trying to get him over the past couple of years.

Thanks for feedback Hank. Great effort for him travelling back from Ballarat every week to play for the lions. Watched him play VT in last game of season, and I don't think there is anyone in the kdl who match up on him. Good luck to the Lions on Sunday!

Yes, maybe getting ahead of themselves.

Nagambie might be like their jumper cousins in the AFL -

OUT IN STRAIGHT SETS!

(And Nick don't worry about the email reply)
Nagambie, very classy side. all the players are still quite young and bond really well together. Young anthoony haysom against lancy on the weekend was outstanding and his brother danny kicking 6. With the morel at the club at the moment with all teams still in , will be very hard to beat come grand final day.

Who will play the Lakers in the GF? My tip is the Lions but Lancy on a big ground might run them off there legs. It will be a good game of footy if the first week of finals is any thing to go by.

Watched the Nagambie V Lancaster game on Saturday, Lancy were right with Nagambie until the 3rd quarter until Nagambie kicked away and then never looked threatened.

Looks as though both sides sustained injuries from the game, Mick Shiels looked to have done something to either his groin/hammy and number 17 (Price?) hurt his shoulder so the week of will help. Lancy on the other hand had the Mitchell that plays in backline (number 7) do a hammy as well as big Morgan do his, so Lancy might be a bit light on in the back half this week.

Big game between Lancy & Undera this week, what are people's thoughts?

Did anyone see the Undera V Stanhope final? Match report?

Thanks for feedback Hank. Great effort for him travelling back from Ballarat every week to play for the lions. Watched him play VT in last game of season, and I don't think there is anyone in the kdl who match up on him. Good luck to the Lions on Sunday!

No worries mate, just to straighten one thing out he didnt travel back from Ballarat, lived in Stanhope before going overseas and is now in Ky.

Undera to win by 4goals and then 2 beat the lakers in the big 1 by 5pts LaPorta to kick a goal after the siren....

Well, in case anyone's interested, the ground at Murchison is looking pretty good ATM, and we've got most things all spick and span for Saturday (Including a barrier fence to prevent anyone from bringing grog and to stop the cars entering the ground from blocking traffic) for what should be a big crowd in attendance.

Basically, it will be a good setting for what should be a good day's sport.and with that in mind, here's who i think should win Saturday.

Undera, although were sorely tested against Stanhope should outlast Lancaster by 4-5 goals in what I think will be a fast, entertaining game, but only because Lanky's injury list is pretty big.

Nagambie should account for Tally in the two's by 5 goals, after their slip up last week, and should meet their Senior & Under 18's counterparts next week.

And lastly, Avenel should end the brave run of Rushworth in the thirds, because I think that their size and stamina should be enough to hold Rushy off by 2 goals.

It's fair to say, that I got those really wrong, but Tally played solidly in the twos and should make a good account of themselves in the Grand Final, but I was surprised by Rushy's win, because it was a case of the bigger bodies of Avenel melting in the sun like chocolate soldiers, but it would be a massive upset if they beat Nagambie with the side that they have in the 3rds/B]

Just wondering what peoples thoughts are of Chris Eddy playing,i see he is named but is it realistic for him to play ? Can you risk it in such a big game ?

Would be surprised if he played, however I assume if they named him he'll likely suit up - couldn't see why they'd name him otherwise. Would be a big gamble considering he hasn't played for a number of weeks but I guess Lancy are happy to roll the dice. If he play's one would think he wouldn't venture far from the square?

What was the wash up on other injuries to Morgon and Mitchell, will they play? Is anyone else likely to miss?

Undera on the other hand should almost be at full strength so they'd be reasonably confident. I didn't see there performance against Stanhope last week but by all reports Stanhope took it right up to them, La Porta getting them home in the end.

Reckon Undera might turn the tables on their qualifying final result and get home by 3-4 goals.

They have named Mitchell and Morgan as well,so will be interesting to see there final line up.If Undera play like they did vs Stanhope id have to say Lanky will win,having said that take nothing away from Stanhope they played well and controlled the footy meaning Undera could control the tempo of the game with injuries catching up with them in the last. But i reckon Undera by a couple of goals.

Mitchell trained last night so one would assume he will play, not sure bout Morgan as he lives in Melb, Eddy no chance of playing.