John Carrot
I pity you if you think footy is the most important thing in the world.
Money is not the most important thing in the world, not even close, but it does place a roof over your family's head and puts food on the table. All i was trying to say was if i had the choice between being able to provide for my family better or remain loyal to my local club i know what i'd choose. Ideally they would be mutually exclusive events but sometimes this isn't reality.
G’day Andrew
Geez mate I’ve been biting my lip over this stuff of “district” players expecting to make a living out of playing footy but now I’ve got to come charging in on my favourite hobby horse!!
Firstly, get a Monday to Friday job to put food on the table.
Secondly, (if you are a Gen Yer and need a roof over head .. may your god help you cos you poor buggras will never own your own home) .. if you want to get paid on Satd’y afternoon get a second job stacking shelves at Safeway.
Thirdly, next time you are at footy training don’t ask your President, Secretary, Treasurer, committee etc.etc. how much they get paid to provide footy for you “district level” footballers. Ask how much it COSTS them a year to volunteer for those jobs!!
I’ve been banging on about this since the last century. Don’t accuse me of living in sixties .. playing for the jumper! The economic facts are that if small town “DISTRICT” footy is to survive FOOTBALLERS are entitled to some recompense for the cost of playing. This is where the sponsors come in. Discounted petrol, a motel room for the family at single rates, 2 meals for the price of one at pubs and restaraunts.
Those sponsors rewarded by extensive advertising and word of mouth support for what is essentially a tax deduction anyway.
Also say $40-$50 bucks a WIN for ALL senior players with the expectation to recycle at Club social functions and a healthy, transparent match day awards system for the champs!!
If you reckon that doesn’t make sense .. see you at Safeway on Satd’y!!!
Cheers
John Carrot
Ps Sorry for the occasional YELLING in capital letters!!