KDFL - 2012

Re: Kdfl - 2011

By the way, thought someone would have posted about the new Nagambie Coach by now, think its been decided for a week or so, by the head of the Coach recruiting committee!!!, he decided to appoint himself after there was no sutiable applicants. A few players to return with him I believe, Ben Hutton, Danny Haysom are 2.

If it's the guy who rang me the day before I took on the local job down here I reckon the Lakers coulda done a lot worse!!!

Last gig yielded a premiership so don't reckon they could have done much better Doon;)

As for your question Jayco, any retirement will only be forced upon me by the medicos, so will have to wait and see on that front, as for not committing to Stanhope, not sure where that one has come from, other than if I'm retiring I suppose you could say thats not committing:thumbsu:, you haven't been speaking to Abid have you, he has been coming up with some good ones of late including Percy Roberts to Girgarre:eek:.

Hank with respect you double entredred yourself there. Not much has changed in the last decade for expenditure but with James I think everyone in country vic knows he was $1K a game and more when he went to Nth Bendigo. this alone would add $18K to the year. QUOTE]

As I highlighted, '08 was outside the norm, and as I pointed out $30,000 in 2000 to $35,000 in 2011 is not much of a change over the past decade, so not sure if I've "double entredred" myself, for one because I have no idea what "entredred" means:thumbsu:

just a question, especially for those guys in sides who played finals this year. Do players really expect to get paid if they're in the bottom 10 players in the side? Especially if they're a local player.

no....

Bloody great to see some discussion arising about who gets what, who pays for it and who’s not paying boyos!
That’s a double entendre from Benny Hill I think! Was I talking about footy or sex?

Double Entendre, n. a word or expression with two meanings esp. When one of the meanings is indelicate. (Oxford Dictionary)

It is truly great that the money in DISTRICT footy and its impact is being discussed.
Trouble is, moreso by those who receive and wish it to grow!

I ask again. What benefit do the poor souls receive who give you “legends in your own lunch time” a guaranteed stipend you demand to play DISTRICT footy?

Not playing country major league seniors .. not bushwhackers TAC .. not VFL .. certainly not AwFul Footy!!

Does DISTRICT footy have more than a thousand payers through the gate each week. Does it have all of a weekly game live/replayed in full on TV or radio.

Do those who work to raise funds to meet your demands get business advantages? Maybe the sponsors can rig their tax deductions?
Of your Club. Do the President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, Committee person etc. .. ad infinitum who basically work for nothing to put you precious ponces on the footy field each winter get say, top six .. $500 a week. Next bracket $300 .. etc.

It certainly ain’t an employer/employee relationship.

Do you as a DISTRICT footballer getting $500 a week declare a contract to the ATO?
Do you re-cycle any of that $ back in to your Club as well as help out off the field?

If not “PYFO”..:thumbsdown:
John Carrot
Ps. I refuse to listen to any justification from you boyos until we see the advent of this points system over the coming years. That will slow down the high-cycle..low-cycle payment advocates and put country DISTRICT footy back to the place of entertainment and development that it should be .. not where a premiership goes to the highest bidder!
Sorry boyos .. but you haven’t heard the last of me yet!!:thumbsu:

Hank with respect you double entredred yourself there. Not much has changed in the last decade for expenditure but with James I think everyone in country vic knows he was $1K a game and more when he went to Nth Bendigo. this alone would add $18K to the year. I know you were at Tonnie at this stage but he wasnt travelling to Stanhope because he loved the club and town.
It costs very good money for very good players and I think very good players in the league will be $500+ a game depending on what they have done.

I think you will find James played 3 home and away games in 2007 + finals and only 7 in 2008 + finals. So where do you get $18K from????????

Last gig yielded a premiership so don't reckon they could have done much better Doon;)

As for your question Jayco, any retirement will only be forced upon me by the medicos, so will have to wait and see on that front, as for not committing to Stanhope, not sure where that one has come from, other than if I'm retiring I suppose you could say thats not committing:thumbsu:, you haven't been speaking to Abid have you, he has been coming up with some good ones of late including Percy Roberts to Girgarre:eek:.

thought that the docs advice would be the only way you wouldnt be playing/recommitted... and no not from tavs uncle abid :)

Bloody great to see some discussion arising about who gets what, who pays for it and who’s not paying boyos!
That’s a double entendre from Benny Hill I think! Was I talking about footy or sex?

Double Entendre, n. a word or expression with two meanings esp. When one of the meanings is indelicate. (Oxford Dictionary)

It is truly great that the money in DISTRICT footy and its impact is being discussed.

I ask again. What benefit do the poor souls receive who give you “legends in your own lunch time” a guaranteed stipend you demand to play DISTRICT footy?
Not playing country major league seniors .. not bushwhackers TAC .. not VFL .. certainly not AwFul Footy!!

Does DISTRICT footy have more than a thousand payers through the gate each week. Does it have all of a weekly game live/replayed in full on TV or radio.

Do those who work to raise funds to meet your demands get business advantages? Maybe the sponsors can rig their tax deductions?
Of your Club. Do the President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, Committee person etc. .. ad infinitum who basically work for nothing to put you precious ponces on the footy field each winter get say, top six .. $500 a week. Next bracket $300 .. etc.

Do you as a DISTRICT footballer getting $500 a week declare a contract to the ATO?
Do you re-cycle any of that $ back in to your Club as well as help out off the field?

John Carrot
Ps. I refuse to listen to any justification from you boyos until we see the advent of this points system over the coming years. That will slow down the high-cycle..low-cycle payment advocates and put country DISTRICT footy back to the place of entertainment and development that it should be .. not where a premiership goes to the highest bidder!
Sorry to jump into this convo. As a former netballer the concept of paid footballers always annoyed me until as a club exec realities hit. To attract even relatively good players to bulk up numbers, not just chase a flag but be competitive to try keep standard of league up etc you have to pay. Now on figures well players can ask what they like but isnt the onus on the individual clubs as to what they are prepared to pay. Don't think we can just blame players for this. Good old supply and demand and I think most will agree the demand for quality players currently outweighs the supply. Unfortunately clubs have to have success or at least remain competitive to maintain the interests of the supporters, sad but true.

John Carrot

J.C question - just say a local farmer sold his cattle for $2.48 a kilo made a 100k and said to the footy club go forth and spend , how would you feel about that

Way off the mark IMO. Been on and off the Stanhope Committee since 2000, we budgeted for $2000 a game then (so after injuries we spent around $30,000 for the year and remember that was with G.Exell as playing coach), and this year we didnt budget per week but it ended up to be $35,000 for the year. I would assume in 08 when James played the full year it would have been above that, but not much has changed as far as our expenditure goes in the past decade. (Maybe it is time we bumped it up, but you can only spend within your means)
Now you can only guess but VT, Rushy & Lancy would have been above what we were spending, but if they were spending in excess of $50,000 then all I'd say is that they arent spending it very well.(Lancy excluded, reckon they would have just snuck under that mark anyway)
It has got to the point though that if a club isn't prepared to outlay a minimum of $2,000 a week then you aren't going to play finals, doesnt matter how good your junior development is. With Murch, Rushy, VT & Lancy all looking like (again only an educated guess) they will spend in excess of their outlay this year, that figure looks like it may rise.
Been thinking about this,saw 8 to 10 games of lanky this year and am only guessing but would think burnett is on 15k, thompson 12k, gemmill, brunt, nunn,sierakowsk,meka on 8k N casey, varcoe and maybe thompson the fullback 4k, J casey ,cheap wanted to play with his brother-in-law 5k, $300a week best player awards, Total $80k Happy to be corrected.2 points-if i'm a $100 a per player per week either way its20k differenceand secondly the addition of siera, J casey and meka was the difference between another prelim and a premiership, some times you have to spend that little more

Way off the mark IMO. Been on and off the Stanhope Committee since 2000, we budgeted for $2000 a game then (so after injuries we spent around $30,000 for the year and remember that was with G.Exell as playing coach), and this year we didnt budget per week but it ended up to be $35,000 for the year. I would assume in 08 when James played the full year it would have been above that, but not much has changed as far as our expenditure goes in the past decade. (Maybe it is time we bumped it up, but you can only spend within your means)
Now you can only guess but VT, Rushy & Lancy would have been above what we were spending, but if they were spending in excess of $50,000 then all I'd say is that they arent spending it very well.(Lancy excluded, reckon they would have just snuck under that mark anyway)
It has got to the point though that if a club isn't prepared to outlay a minimum of $2,000 a week then you aren't going to play finals, doesnt matter how good your junior development is. With Murch, Rushy, VT & Lancy all looking like (again only an educated guess) they will spend in excess of their outlay this year, that figure looks like it may rise.
Been thinking about this,saw 8 to 10 games of lanky this year and am only guessing but would think burnett is on 15k, thompson 12k, gemmill, brunt, nunn,sierakowsk,meka on 8k N casey, varcoe and maybe thompson the fullback 4k, J casey ,cheap wanted to play with his brother-in-law 5k, $300a week best player awards, Total $80k Happy to be corrected.2 points-if i'm a $100 a per player per week either way its20k differenceand secondly the addition of siera, J casey and meka was the difference between another prelim and a premiership, some times you have to spend that little more

Well worked out Wallaby, reckon most of those would be pretty close to the mark, obviously missed games would come into account so you could take maybe 10G off, Meka half year, J Casey & Burnett missed 3 or 4, most of the others other than Steve Thomson missed 1 or 2. Still decent dollars, believe Violet Town would have been similar to this, hence the earlier dig that if they spent over $50G they weren't doing it well;), in hindsight though they were the only side to knock off Lancy and that was probably their undoing in the end as they were already looking ahead to the 2nd Semi before the Qualifying final.

J.C question - just say a local farmer sold his cattle for $2.48 a kilo made a 100k and said to the footy club go forth and spend , how would you feel about that

I'd say that the drought/global warming/climate change would definitely be over and Julia wouldn't be Prime Minister!!

A coterie of farmers in Longwood (outside of the Club) bought a flag to Longwood in 1977 by getting them each to buy one of 30 head to be run with their herd over a couple of years then recompensed purchase price when sold. Meantime one kept seven and fed them on grain. A local butcher slaughtered them .. erm .. the cattle I mean .. as you could in those days and many people would come to the Club's functions to eat the steaks! In '78 the governement changed the rules.

Your proposal has coterie influence written all over it.
But as long as the funds we divided amongst Club funding (eg power bills, new jumpers), cost recompense to players working with sponsors ( say 25c a litre back to a local servo) and genuine, transparent "top eight" awards on match day. No problem .. but no way spend $100k in year one to go out in straight sets then hit this "low cycle" stuff that has been put about on this forum!

Cheers Jobby
John Carrot:thumbsu:

Sorry to jump into this convo. As a former netballer the concept of paid footballers always annoyed me until as a club exec realities hit. To attract even relatively good players to bulk up numbers, not just chase a flag but be competitive to try keep standard of league up etc you have to pay. Now on figures well players can ask what they like but isnt the onus on the individual clubs as to what they are prepared to pay. Don't think we can just blame players for this. Good old supply and demand and I think most will agree the demand for quality players currently outweighs the supply. Unfortunately clubs have to have success or at least remain competitive to maintain the interests of the supporters, sad but true.

G’day Annie Lennox
Good economics argument there “WouldIlietoyou”.
But as you also have sung so well, “Why .. don’t ask me why!”

It’s a bit chicken and egg of which came first .. excess supply or excess demand?

From my experience this is firstly a 40 year filter down from AFL money, combined with Gen X having only 2-3 generation Yers (maybe not even footballers!) around the 20 year old mark nowadays who realise that many Clubs comply with the big spend.
So it’s case of selling out to the highest bidder then skipping thru when it all goes sour.

If it’s demand pull from the footy players .. make them EARN it!
Like they have to when they have a real job..

Cheers
John Carrot:)
Ps: I hope Slime .. erm .. Liam the footy players manager on the Up Country Footy Punt show had his tongue in his cheek when he proposed on the show that match payments must now move to netballers? He said it .. not me. Where would a Club be without the netters? :thumbsu:

i know a couple of the guys mentioned at lancy wallaby and i can assure you that you are way off the mark. i actually dont think you would have got one of the figures right, casey probably the closest, the coach- way off.
any club paying that figure at minor league level is kidding themself. if they could sustain that over a few years, id be very surprised.

i know a couple of the guys mentioned at lancy wallaby and i can assure you that you are way off the mark. i actually dont think you would have got one of the figures right, casey probably the closest, the coach- way off.
any club paying that figure at minor league level is kidding themself. if they could sustain that over a few years, id be very surprised.
As i said,happy to be corrected but i can assure you i have got one of the figures correct. Interested in the ' way off ' remark for Burnett. I would have thought 15k would be very reasonable for a quality playing coach

Don't think he was disagreeing that Burnett would be 'worth' $15k, but I reckon he'd be the kind of guy who'd do it for less so that he could squeeze in another key player. Wouldn't surprise me if he was only on $8-$10k.

If Thompson was on $12k, that's about $700-$800/game (?).. Again, prob worth it, but I don't reckon he'd be on more than $500.

I guess that's the whole point about match payments; the only blokes who really know are the club administrators and individual players. I honestly don't reckon anyone bar the coach would've been on more than $300/game at Rushy; most players are locals and I know Flannery and Gage were on a lot less than that.

A little on the high side I'd reckon Stewy. N Casey nowhere near $4k, Sierakowski nowhere near $8k (he took $200 less from Lancy than Stanhope were offering) Burnett on way less than people might think, meka missed plenty but I would say was well worth whatever he was getting, don't think S Thompson would be on $600 a game either. Not sure about the others (Nunn, Gemmill, Brunt, A Thompson, Varcoe) but woudl be VERY surprised if they were on what you propose.

Also the 'incentive' awards - if they went to a 'paid' player, then that came off their match payment. For example, if S Thompson was on $600 as you say, if he got BOG and won the $300, then he still only gets the $600 (not the $600 + $300). I reckon $50k - $60k would be closer to the mark. don't really know though, just taking what I do know and filling in the blanks on what I think their ranking would be.

As mentioned clubs like Lancy and Stanhope have been two of the very few who have been able to remain pretty competititve (playing finals most seasons) without breaking the bank, by recruiting decent players but more importantly 'local' types (with a link to the club) who stick around for a few years and are prepared to probably play for unders to be part of a successful culture - not a cyclical one.

A little on the high side I'd reckon Stewy. N Casey nowhere near $4k, Sierakowski nowhere near $8k (he took $200 less from Lancy than Stanhope were offering) Burnett on way less than people might think, meka missed plenty but I would say was well worth whatever he was getting, don't think S Thompson would be on $600 a game either. Not sure about the others (Nunn, Gemmill, Brunt, A Thompson, Varcoe) but woudl be VERY surprised if they were on what you propose.

Also the 'incentive' awards - if they went to a 'paid' player, then that came off their match payment. For example, if S Thompson was on $600 as you say, if he got BOG and won the $300, then he still only gets the $600 (not the $600 + $300). I reckon $50k - $60k would be closer to the mark. don't really know though, just taking what I do know and filling in the blanks on what I think their ranking would be.

As mentioned clubs like Lancy and Stanhope have been two of the very few who have been able to remain pretty competititve (playing finals most seasons) without breaking the bank, by recruiting decent players but more importantly 'local' types (with a link to the club) who stick around for a few years and are prepared to probably play for unders to be part of a successful culture - not a cyclical one.
On reflection might have been a bit generous on some of the guys. I thought i was unders for S Thommo so maybe have to drag some back across the board. As for the incentive awards and your example what happens to the $300. Is it spread across the "unpaid" best players or back into the coffers. Not sure, is he not eligible or not given it

Nic Varcoe was not paid, only one in the side

We got lucky with Burners. Best coach we've had and best player we've had. Probably the lowest paid playing coach in the kdl.
Burnett $8K, Lamaro $35K. VT need to win the flag or they are stuffed.

We got lucky with Burners. Best coach we've had and best player we've had. Probably the lowest paid playing coach in the kdl.

Better than Rusty you reckon Mr Lanky?

Ahhhh so inspiring to read what some clown thinks they might know but don't.

But I will give you a bit of credit with the amount of $35,000.

That believe it or not is the amount that Hayden and Daffy (to the uninitiated his old man) raised this year towards the clubs coffers.

Get your facts right before you post crap and while your at it make a call to Merrigum and ask how much Daffy raised for Jack Anderson.

Piiissss Off