KDFL March 07 - May 07

Re: Kyabram District FL

I believe this is spot on and is something that Stanhope has not encouraged. There has been over the years some players who could quite easily have gone to a GV club and had a go a senior footy. Some have flirted with the idea, but have always stayed at the so called mainland. Is this mainly due to the culture of the club which has been highlighted before? Or is it due to the fact it's easier to stay with what you know, or indeed the club not encouraging their players to strive to reach their full potential as a footy player?
I think you will find that times are slowly changing and these days, sports are more about enjoyment and catching up with mates. The Mainland has had a good core of people there over the last few years and it attracts blokes back. None of them want to be AFL superstars, they want to have a competitive kick and enjoy it with a few beers afterwards (with mates). These days a lot of people cant find the time or commitment to play major league so they choose comfortable surroundings and base decisions on enjoyment and success with minimal output.

Been a while since I tried to hose down the Avenel hype but after dining with me mate Joeyboy today I'm back onboard. I thought if they just got competitive this year and then added a full forward next year theyd be on track. Now it's looking every chance they'll grab 4th or 5th spot which will be a huge effort.

Who else is backing the Swans for September?
I think Avenel are still a long way off having success in finals. They would be 6 goals off Vt and probably 10 goals off Stanhope. You are right though, they have pulled together a few nice wins and will be pushing for a finals birth. You would have to say they are in a similar boat to Undera, have come along way since last year. Avenal have had nice wins against Lanky (5 points) and Gig who are in a similar mould.

I believe this is spot on and is something that Stanhope has not encouraged. There has been over the years some players who could quite easily have gone to a GV club and had a go a senior footy. Some have flirted with the idea, but have always stayed at the so called mainland. Is this mainly due to the culture of the club which has been highlighted before? Or is it due to the fact it's easier to stay with what you know, or indeed the club not encouraging their players to strive to reach their full potential as a footy player?

I couldn't disagree more. Over the years there have been plenty of players from the Mainland that have gone onto play at GV. I'm not sure what you base this theory on actually.

Yes true Skut, but you'd have to agree that there is atleast half a dozen others who could have gone and had a crack by now, no doubt by having a year or two in a major league makes you a better footballer, even if you don't cut it you will still learn off better players and hear other coaches ideas on the game. Each to there own though, and I know how they all feel about not leaving the club as I've made some tough decisions to leave and always found myself back there in a year or two, have no doubt being away has made me a better player each time I returned though.

I think Avenel are still a long way off having success in finals. They would be 6 goals off Vt and probably 10 goals off Stanhope. You are right though, they have pulled together a few nice wins and will be pushing for a finals birth. You would have to say they are in a similar boat to Undera, have come along way since last year. Avenal have had nice wins against Lanky (5 points) and Gig who are in a similar mould.

Its still to hard to say which teams will feature, Avenel will definetly push for a spot but theres tough competition in the top 8 i reckon. At this stage my predictions would be Stanhope, VT, Ardy, and the remaining two spots to go between Tally, Undera, Rushy and Avenel with girgarre and Lancy only a goal or two off that pack

well thats good 2 hear an also good 2 c vt has not lost :thumbsu::thumbsu:

We have a challenging run of five of the best teams in a row coming up in a couple of weeks which will give us a bearing as to where were really at....
We haven't played Tally, Undera, Ardy or Stanhope yet and we play rushworth straight after all them.

We have a challenging run of five of the best teams in a row coming up in a couple of weeks which will give us a bearing as to where were really at....
We haven't played Tally, Undera, Ardy or Stanhope yet and we play rushworth straight after all them.
from what i have read BODZY stanhope would b a close 1 is it at vt or there u should grt over the line against the rest cause u have iceman#49 seems he is in great form:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Been a while since I tried to hose down the Avenel hype but after dining with me mate Joeyboy today I'm back onboard. I thought if they just got competitive this year and then added a full forward next year theyd be on track. Now it's looking every chance they'll grab 4th or 5th spot which will be a huge effort.

Who else is backing the Swans for September?

jes huge call, five big games will soon sort out the boys from the men.
Don t go getting ahead of ya self the big boys are knocking lets see if avenal will be there to answer the call

hey carlton 86 but he said he is the prime player of the comp an if it was not 4 him vt would not b 2nd on the ladder how is walk`s goin :):):):)
has had a decent start to the season been plaed in the midfield and forward flank and is 5th or 6th on the league goalkicking list, some people around the club have described him as the rolce royce in amungst toyotas

jes huge call, five big games will soon sort out the boys from the men.
Don t go getting ahead of ya self the big boys are knocking lets see if avenal will be there to answer the call

Wasn't saying they're a flag threat, but from a quick look they appear to play the better ranked teams once so they might sneak into 5th which would be a huge progression and one they can build on in '08.