KDFL - Pre-Season 2010

Wow seems you have a lot of inside info there Sports_mad. Whats your position at the club and whats caused you to dislike it so much???

Clubs fine mate, has lot of really great people that contribute a hell of lot. Players that still play with seriosly broken bones others that drive for hours to get there (one from as far as Geelong) and many that obviously love the club. Unfortunately there are few others that have very limited football experience and knowledge gained playing backwater 2nds that use the club as a method to stroke their own ego's. All this comes at the expense of the other great contributors previously mentioned that are responsibly for the clubs continued existance.

Youve lost me a bit now.
You were getting stuck into club administration and now its the players.
A couple of things to note on the Longwood football club.

It wasnt in their best interest to enter the KDFL from the B&D. But it also wasnt in their best interest to stay in a 5 club B&D.
The VCFL has ended the B&D and left no choice but to play in the KDFL. O&K would have been better suited for their level but location and travel makes the KDFL the realistic option.
Personally it would have been much more apropriate for 2-3 clubs to come into the B&D but that didnt happen so they have to work with where they are.
Its going to be tuff for Longwood to get to being competitive in the KDFL and even harder for them to stay afloat in the years to come. But I would much more want the Longwood Football Club to die in the struggle to survive in the KDFL than fade away and dissapear with the other 4 B&D clubs.
Longwood has a good ground (maybe a little small) great club and function rooms, good lights and a good group of loyal locals. No reason why they cant be competitive in the KDFL as long as they can turn the direction of the club around. Counted 10 or more players playing for Nagambie that have played for Longwood and Id be fairly sure the only reason they left was because of the B&D not the Longwood Football Club.
If it is true that Longwood is now without a Coach it might be a great opportunity for someone to bring a couple of players take the raines and keep the club going foward in what seems to be a quality league.

Youve lost me a bit now.
You were getting stuck into club administration and now its the players.
A couple of things to note on the Longwood football club.

Sorry Rog, may have not explained myself fully. The players are a great bunch who go well beyond what you would expect. However, its the admin that consists of ex footballers that have played nowhere and achieved nothing that are responsible for the ordinary decisions being made. I too would not like to see the history of the club disappear, but with the lack of competant and experienced decision makers I believe that the end is not a question of "If" but "When"

C'mon Bond, don't give us half the story! Who's splashing cash? and towards which players?
Two clubs have made quite substantial offers to players from my neck of the woods.
One club to make up for opportunities lost the other to prove a point.
I would have posted aloud but seems the fun police have a problem with me.
One thing for fact the KDFL may be a minor league but willing to pay major league money's.........

Sorry Rog, may have not explained myself fully. The players are a great bunch who go well beyond what you would expect. However, its the admin that consists of ex footballers that have played nowhere and achieved nothing that are responsible for the ordinary decisions being made. I too would not like to see the history of the club disappear, but with the lack of competant and experienced decision makers I believe that the end is not a question of "If" but "When"

I thought you were describing Murch there for a second:eek:, but it's hard to find people full stop, and although like my club, you would desperately like for a better committee or executive (Because Murch are the one of the worst run clubs in the KDFL, which is amazing considering the amount of KDFL leaders that have come from Murchison, so you'll have to be pretty bad to beat us ATM), but you have to go with what you've got until you can find something better, which rarely happens.

Just like the playing group, Longwood are just going to have to play the hand they've been dealt with, and I hope that they do survive for the long haul.

Seems like today has been a big day for politics, we’ve seen the Federal Liberal Party tear itself apart with in fighting and leadership battles. To top of a big day of turmoil I’ve heard a late rumour that Longwood coach and former VFA player Paul Cleary has been sacked after recently being officially reappointed by the Longwood committee for season 2010, can anyone confirm if this news is correct?
Apparently the club has cited the desire to move in another direction, however my mail has it that the coach has said the news came as a big relief as he wasn’t looking forward to approaching the clubs first year in the KDFL backed by club administration that was unable to comprehend the idea of paying players above $100, had to put to the committee a request by the coach for new footballs and tackle and bump bags and was simply out of touch with whats required in modern country football.

It is clear that the clubs officials lack the professionalism, football experience to make the transition away from the failed BDFL and into the KDFL. With potentially 6 - 10 of this seasons players leaving citing reasons for leaving ranging from accussations of reward card fraud, underhanded player payment tactics and just poor treatment.
If the on field organisation is as good as the off field the 2010 season will be an interesting one for all concerned.

This football club is a bit like the guy who jumped of the four story building!
As he passed each floor on the way down, people could hear him say "so far so good" :thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Tell us what you really think Sports Mad !:thumbsu:, In any case this is a bad move by Longwood, because you would think that you would be better off having the coaching side of things settled by the new year considering the challenges that await the club in '10, but there's a lot of goings on within clubs, so there could be more than what I've heard here, maybe the club doesn't have the money to throw around to get players and better equipment, so they couldn't meet his demands therefore they split.

So if what you said is true, will they have enough for a Reserves next season ?, if they've lost 6-8 players so far with supposedly no one coming in, then what does that say about the future ?.

Gee a bit of overkill on the Sunday games, I'm sure a lot of players wouldnt be too happy playing 6-8 Sunday games for the year. A couple is fine for something different and reckon one or two on any given week is enough, allows players/supporters from other clubs to go and have a look at other sides. Not all games on that weekend on a Sunday.

Not sure if the league had a good think about all the Suday games, How are clubs going to have there home functions ? The one's that bring the money in for the clubs to keep them alive ?

Yes not sure how the family friendly (& employer friendly) Sunday night functions will take off!!:thumbsdown:

Some clubs might still hold their functions on the Satdy night, might help with their performance!!:D

avenel coach is paul cox n longwood has giving cleary the arse, wat a joke. having played 4 both avenel n longy i can say that longy need 2 get sum players n avenel shuld b a force this yr with alot of players cuming bak home.

I seriously hope there isnt 8 sunday games. What a load of shit.

Rushy had a good turn out last night. 30 on the track, but more promisingly, almost all had senior experience. Still a bit off the Undera's of the comp (impressive recruits BTW), but should be in for a pretty competitive season. Still talking to a few and trying to coax a few locals back, but none have committed thus far.

avenel coach is paul cox n longwood has giving cleary the arse, wat a joke. having played 4 both avenel n longy i can say that longy need 2 get sum players n avenel shuld b a force this yr with alot of players cuming bak home.
Don't really know about being a force but they should improve. Their depth was their achilles heel last year.

having played for avenel 2yrs ago, i would say we could b a force again this year our youth around the town is amazing, in saying that i played for longy this season after having a fall out with the avenel coach, n i would like 2 say i reckon longy r in for 1 long season. As for this season i do reckon with coxy as our new coach and some seymour lads coming over as well as some old faces bak at the club, avenel will b in the top 5.a fine player is also on the way bak 2 avenel this year in chris chee, can play and only 20 but has all the skills n for a lil bloke not afraid 2 go in 4 the hard ball, i would put him in my top 10 players from the last 5 yrs to come outta the under18's from the kdfl.

do they not think about ppl n work on mondays...silly silly. sum teams could struggle 2 have a full team on sundays. players need 2 make sure they can play these games n do all teams agree on this.

Agreed, it's bullshit.
We are KDFL, country footy play on a saturday and enjoy the rest of the weekend, one or two games on saturday will be fine, but 8!!! NO CHANCE :thumbsdown:

Seems like today has been a big day for politics, we’ve seen the Federal Liberal Party tear itself apart with in fighting and leadership battles. To top of a big day of turmoil I’ve heard a late rumour that Longwood coach and former VFA player Paul Cleary has been sacked after recently being officially reappointed by the Longwood committee for season 2010, can anyone confirm if this news is correct?
Apparently the club has cited the desire to move in another direction, however my mail has it that the coach has said the news came as a big relief as he wasn’t looking forward to approaching the clubs first year in the KDFL backed by club administration that was unable to comprehend the idea of paying players above $100, had to put to the committee a request by the coach for new footballs and tackle and bump bags and was simply out of touch with whats required in modern country football.

It is clear that the clubs officials lack the professionalism, football experience to make the transition away from the failed BDFL and into the KDFL. With potentially 6 - 10 of this seasons players leaving citing reasons for leaving ranging from accussations of reward card fraud, underhanded player payment tactics and just poor treatment.
If the on field organisation is as good as the off field the 2010 season will be an interesting one for all concerned.

This football club is a bit like the guy who jumped of the four story building!
As he passed each floor on the way down, people could hear him say "so far so good" :thumbsdown::thumbsdown:
Id be interested to know where you got your info from. I have been involved at the club for a number of years now and in my mind the club HAS been heading in the right direction in the appointment of Paul Cleary and Rick Shiner. I would be very suprised if Paul has been sacked and also very disapointed

as a player 4 longy last yr and played under cleary i can confirm that its 100% true, im glad 2 say tho im proud 2 b bak home at avenel.

I thought you were describing Murch there for a second:eek:, but it's hard to find people full stop, and although like my club, you would desperately like for a better committee or executive (Because Murch are the one of the worst run clubs in the KDFL, which is amazing considering the amount of KDFL leaders that have come from Murchison, so you'll have to be pretty bad to beat us ATM), but you have to go with what you've got until you can find something better, which rarely happens.

Just like the playing group, Longwood are just going to have to play the hand they've been dealt with, and I hope that they do survive for the long haul.

bit harsh there cletus delroy!! think you will find most of the returning players which is nearly all of them would disagree, making finals last year in one of the tightest final spot nailbiters ive seen in this league, without recruiting as many as some competitors, tells me something went right and with some quality recruits turning out for december training, id say the clubs on the right track....and im pretty sure ive seen you enjoy a fair bit of the thursday night catering provided by the murch volunteers after a tough session
icon12.gif

as a player 4 longy last yr and played under cleary i can confirm that its 100% true, im glad 2 say tho im proud 2 b bak home at avenel.
Coady, you are a w***er! Where did you get that from? Why are you so glad to be back at Avenel? Too hard for you at Longwood?

If he struggled at Longwood then he would want to acquaint himself with the Avenel 2's coach not worry about Paul Cox being the messiah!

struggle at longy, nice 1 jonno, n i'll b in the 1st side, rite besides me will b c.chee, that kid can play sum footy.

jonno im going bak home buddy, only played at longy 2 b up there playing wit chee, n i heard from a longy source that cleary is gone. bit harsh i reckon but 70's style footy is long gone

Thursday, 3rd December 2009 Shepp News
Longwood drops Cleary
Longwood Football Club and coach Paul Cleary have severed ties a year after the former VFA player took the reins at the club.
While Cleary feels he was unceremoniously outed as coach of the club for next season by the incoming committee, Longwood's football operations manager Andrew Burke said the club and Cleary came to a mutual decision to part ways.

Cleary said he received a phone call on Tuesday night from club president Shona Guest informing him he would not be coach of the Redlegs next season.

``What happened?, that's a good question,'' Cleary said.

``I'm still trying to work out what I was told, she didn't use the word sacked, but I think I might have been sacked.''

The shock decision comes on the eve of the club's entry into Kyabram District Football League following the disbandment of its former league, Benalla District Football League.

``Evidently last night (Tuesday) there was a committee meeting, and at the end of the committee meeting a new committee was formed,'' Cleary said.

``The new committee wanted to go in a new direction, to a place that involved me not coaching.

``They wanted to appoint someone else and I can probably say I'm 99.999 per cent sure the person they have in mind is my assistant coach from this season (Ricki Shiner).''

While Cleary feels he was more-or-less sacked as coach of the Redlegs after only a year at the helm, Burke's version of events differs somewhat.

``In the end I don't necessarily think it was a fall out, it was a mutual agreement,'' Burke said.

``Paul (Cleary) and Shona (Guest) had a discussion last night (Tuesday), I wasn't involved in the discussions, but Paul felt that he didn't know if he was as motivated as he should be, he didn't know if his heart and soul was in it.

``It was a purely mutual agreement from both parties.''

Whatever the case, sacked or walked away, Cleary admitted he felt relieved to not be in charge of the Redlegs as they take the step up in to the KDFL next season.

Cleary said he felt the club was a long way behind the other clubs in the league and its reluctance to spend money wasn't helping its cause.

``The words I used with Shona was `well, you've saved me','' Cleary said.

``They've got a lot of work to do, I've coached in the KDL (Avenel) before, and from where Longwood is at the moment, they're a fair way off the mark, and I'm not sure if they accept that, and that was part of my frustration.

``There were a few issues leading up to it, there seemed to be a reluctance from some at the club to pay high profile people, and that was an issue.

``It's a big step up in to the KDL, you need some top-quality footballers, for which you need to pay for, and there was a reluctance to do that.''

Ricki Shiner came to the club with Cleary and Burke said while a new coach was yet to be appointed at the club for its inaugural KDFL season, he would be disappointed if Shiner didn't continue on with the Redlegs.

``There's a couple of options we are looking at (for head coach), but we would be very disappointed if Ricki left us next season,'' Burke said.

Id be interested to know where you got your info from. I have been involved at the club for a number of years now and in my mind the club HAS been heading in the right direction in the appointment of Paul Cleary and Rick Shiner. I would be very suprised if Paul has been sacked and also very disapointed

Have you read Hanks post from the Shepp News? I was on the money, only I have a slightly different account from that of the football development manager / ego enlargement supervisor or whatever he calls himself this week.

Interesting to see cody and chee leaving, seems as also mentioned more leaving then coming, Ricki as coach will also be bad news as he's not the most respected player around town.

Seems its just getting tougher and tougher...:footy:

couldnt have said it betta altho shiner aint the best footy player but can coach, having played under him at avenel in the under 18's, i will say that he does have a good footy brain, but a playing coach at longy is not the go, i feel as if they need some1 who can see the whole games n not just there own game. players will leave, longy are joking if they want to really have a crack, spend money otherwise sit down the bottom and let your club die. n with meseld and chee leaving they loose 2 young blokes, thats the start of things there they can not play blokes who started in the one's last yr, burke,r.eddy,m.hanson etc, they dnt have the speed or the skills 2 keep up with kdfl, not trying 2 single u guys outs just first ppl who came 2 mind, i reckon it will be some time b4 longy become a force and all that comes 2 not wanting 2 hand out money, last yr all senior players got $40 per game n best on got $300, y not turn that 300 into player payments with a couple big names the locals shuld follow and ppl will come over. longy has the ground and the rooms for both netty n footy, great social club but the footy needs 2 improve.