kicking footys outside the ground

Got hit right in the side of my face from about 2 metres away walking to Richmond station and the same thing, the guy and his mates were laughing their heads off... So I grabbed the footy, and threw it over the fence into the train yard... They were not impressed, however a couple of rather big onlookers were happy I did it and backed me up when they had a go at me... Go join your local comp if u wanna get a kick... Kids I don't mind, but not adults kicking as hard as they can, trying to show off..

When i read this i cut straight to a vision of Jack Black kicking Baxter off a bridge.

Oh boo hoo, you got a little bit hurt by a stray ball so you come on bigfooty to whinge about it. Alot of people at the footy are idiots, they're not gonna change and become normal once outside the gates, you've learned your lesson. You copped a whack, be careful next time and move on, FFS some people are ********s

+1. Some people these days...

Meh, it's just one of those things, hard to enforce.
Should have waited till they had the ball in their hands and run up and smashed them! Everyone around would have yelled "BALL!"
Dunno about coming on to Bigfooty to say something about it though mate, just asking for people to troll you.

There was a group of kids outside Etihad after the Ess v StK game trying to do what Gary Jr and SJ did in that Herald Sun video , were they were trying to dribble the football into the large orange garbage bins from all angles.

Haha and after a few hundred shots and about 50 minutes .... they finally got one in.

Got a big cheer from the corporates slowly leaving the functions , that passed by on the way to catch the trains.

Then they left contented.

I'll go one worse, got smashed in the eye one day at Princes park against Carlton in about 92/93. I was sitting on level one at the social club end when I turned around after a goal was kicked and whack, an unopened streamer (which was as hard as a rock) smashed into my face and fractured my eye socket. Thank christ they are banned from all venues now!!

in the grassy, non car park areas, its okay i reckon, especially before the game when people are strolling in at all sorts of times (i'm thinking where you come up from richmond station towards the MCG, next to punt road oval, lots of green space there for a kick, or even that park area that's there when you come from subi station out in perth), after the game is a bit crap since everyone is leaving at the same time

but concrete jungles, like etihad, should be avoided at all costs, no room, plenty of people... injury waiting to happen that

Its a part of going to the footy as a kid, you take a footy and run and around yelling out the name of your fav player as you kick a goal!!

Im tipping that they wernt trying to hit you so suck it up

Where's the sense in taking a full-sized footy for kicking at Docklands? Take a foam tiddler to kick around if you need to, but leave the full-sized ball for the park or a VFL game.

Back when I had a left knee, I decided to start taking a size 3 training ball to the footy figuring that couldn't hurt anyone. There were too many little kids wandering over the Princes Park surface to feel comfortable using a full sized ball. Plus there's no way of jarring a finger while trying to mark a mongrel with one of those.

I used to love the challenge of kicking a footy around the ground to a mate, while trying to dodge people walking past. But i was good enough to not hit anyone other than my mate :cool:

It's only annoying when you're taking oldies around..

I used to take my mother and grandparents, an 80yr old getting pelted in the back of the head is a bit much...

If it hits ya, simply pick up the ball, see who they support... Geelong supporter give it back and have a laugh, anyone else (especially Collingwood or Hawks supporters), torp it in the other direction and shrug your shoulders and say 'sorry?!'

After the Essendon game last night I was walking around the ground with my son to the train when whack, right in the back of the neck/head with a football. It really hurt, I feel like I have whiplash today, and I was stunned for a few moments. When I turned around there were a couple of girls laughing themselves silly. One came up and apologised. Surely this practice should be banned. It really hurt me, although for dignity and my son's sake I pretended it didn't, and if it had hit my seven year old son it could have done some major damage. Why isn't this banned?
I agree a few years back this young boy about 10 fractured his wrist when a wet footy hit his wrist/hand when he put it up to protect his head as someone said look out...

In essence, there is no point complaining. Isn't policed and won't be.

Best thing to do is move on, and keep your eyes open and do your best to avoid being hit next time.

I am sure people generally don't mean to hit others. They did apologise. Can't blame them for laughing. It's pretty much always funny. Doesn't make it intentional.

It's only a football, man up.

Can tell you've never played the game at any level :thumbsu:

Actually I played for years dimwit. Getting a ball in the back of the head while you're walking along innocently is much different than playing a game of footy.

It didn't matter to me so much but what if it had hit a kid or an elderly lady instead?

Actually I played for years dimwit. Getting a ball in the back of the head while you're walking along innocently is much different than playing a game of footy.

It didn't matter to me so much but what if it had hit a kid or an elderly lady instead?

a) it was an accident, you should probably have had more awareness to not walk near people kicking a football, then cry like a sook when it hit you. At least they apologised.

b) it was a football. If it was a bottle/something hard, then you have reason to complain

c) to think that police/security staff can control people from playing kick to kick outside the ground after a game is not only unrealistic, but a complete waste of manpower and would be impossible to enforce.

Suck it up mate, not that big a deal.

It is banned at Etihad Stadium, but as people have previously said it is hard to police - and there is no one appointed to the job of 'stopping people kicking footys on the external concourse'. Obviously before a match it should happen a lot less as there are line attendants, gate attendants, security and spruikers hanging around out front, but by the end of the match there aren't many staff left outside. There's always kids kicking a footy around outside gate 5. What power do the staff really have in stopping it anyway? First a warning, then what, kick them out? Out of where? It's a lot easier to just watch where you're walking.

kicking footys outside the ground