LCHF- Low Carb / High-Healthy Fat lifestyle.

Yes!

Don't get me wrong ablett, i appreciate your inputs on this board. But at the end of the day what you endorsing is a strict paleo diet. You're not the inventor of it, just the messenger. So maybe you could tone down the arrogance a little.

November 4, 2013
Dietary fat has been demonized for the past 40 years as the cause of obesity, heart disease, diabetes, and other degenerative illnesses. But a sea change is afoot, as more health experts reject the low-fat diet dogma promoted by Conventional Wisdom and underscore the health benefits of a low-carb, high-fat ketogenic diet.

Dr. Jeff Volek, a professor at the University of Connecticut, is one of the pioneers of the low-carb, high-fat diet movement who says the ketogenic diet confers an array of health benefits, both to elite endurance athletes, as well as to the average sedentary individual.
http://www.examiner.com/article/ket...gainst-obesity-and-disease-says-dr-jeff-volek

evo , Bazzar , BroughtonMid , ablett
gqfbzrU.jpg

...And anyone wanting to carb up for sports get into sweet potatoes.

Ssshhhh it's a secret, next minute , lean muscular people will be walking around everywhere!

It makes sense to me even if there's no science to back it, which there is, you bust your ass pumping iron for an hour to burn fat which continues to burn while recovering afterwards.
Then why would you want to ingest carbs post work out which spikes insulin and stops fat burning?
Only benefit to carbs post training would be if you were training again a few hours later cos the post w/o carbs would then act as pre w/o carbs/energy for next session.
What's your opinion on the "simple carbs during/immediately PWO stops catabolism" argument?

Secondly (Bazzar may have an opinion on this) - morning gym-goer, normally have porridge mid-morning (office environment) - ideal mid-morning snack to replace this with? Have been having yoghurt at times, sometimes just skip completely and bring lunch forward to 11am

Your wanting foods containing glucose that will fill muscle glycogen stores opposed to foods(fruit) containing fructose which fills liver glycogen stores.
Are you bagging fruit again? :D

http://www.t-nation.com/free_online_article/sports_body_training_performance_nutrition/fructose_wars
But, it's important not to make the mistake of thinking that the small amounts of fructose in fruit will be problematic. Remember, all the problems happen at very high intakes of fructose when liver glycogen is likely to be maxed out.

It's highly unlikely that consuming whole, unprocessed, fresh fruits will promote energy imbalances and body fat gains. However, it's very likely that regular consumption of fructose-rich fruit juices and foods will cause these problems.

So, when should you eat your fruits? Well, the optimal times to consume fruit — if you don't have any absorption issues — may be first thing in the morning and around your workouts.

In the end, top researchers have concluded:

"The intake of naturally occurring fructose from an unprocessed, whole food diet is low and unlikely to contribute to any negative metabolic consequences."

As we always like to remind people: Whole fruits are rarely, if ever, the cause of major body fat problems. We don't know many people who go on "pear benders" or "blueberry binges."

Are you bagging fruit again? :D

http://www.t-nation.com/free_online_article/sports_body_training_performance_nutrition/fructose_wars
But, it's important not to make the mistake of thinking that the small amounts of fructose in fruit will be problematic. Remember, all the problems happen at very high intakes of fructose when liver glycogen is likely to be maxed out.

It's highly unlikely that consuming whole, unprocessed, fresh fruits will promote energy imbalances and body fat gains. However, it's very likely that regular consumption of fructose-rich fruit juices and foods will cause these problems.

So, when should you eat your fruits? Well, the optimal times to consume fruit — if you don't have any absorption issues — may be first thing in the morning and around your workouts.

In the end, top researchers have concluded:

"The intake of naturally occurring fructose from an unprocessed, whole food diet is low and unlikely to contribute to any negative metabolic consequences."

As we always like to remind people: Whole fruits are rarely, if ever, the cause of major body fat problems. We don't know many people who go on "pear benders" or "blueberry binges."

Not at all, but most fruit is high in fructose which is better served around your evening meal than pre exercise.
I just think fruit is very overrated but would rather your eat a piece of fruit than a packet of twisties or a tub of low fat yogurt.
Rice malt syrup or raw honey is good pre training.

What's your opinion on the "simple carbs during/immediately PWO stops catabolism" argument?

Secondly (Bazzar may have an opinion on this) - morning gym-goer, normally have porridge mid-morning (office environment) - ideal mid-morning snack to replace this with? Have been having yoghurt at times, sometimes just skip completely and bring lunch forward to 11am

Simple carbs, or any carbs for that matter , during or immediately after training blunts HGH which is a bad idea.
Amino acids will help reduce the impact of catabolism without hindering HGH.

In Regards to replacing mid morn meal, hard to comment without knowing what you've already had post gym & what your goals are?
Plus what your lunch meal is?

In Regards to replacing mid morn meal, hard to comment without knowing what you've already had post gym & what your goals are?
Plus what your lunch meal is?
Post gym - shake with plain protein, banana, honey, creatine, milk

Lunch - generally steamed veggies or salad & tinned tuna/salmon, although I'll often have half a chook instead of the tuna/salmon on leg day.
Once a fortnight I'll have a roast beef sandwich with sundried tomato & coleslaw.
Otherwise, leftovers (soup/stew/curry).

With all this talk of cutting out grains, are oats on the blacklist now too or are they considered a special case?

Oats definitely on the ban list , all grains contain phytic acid which inhibits nutrient absortion.
You can soak the oats over night in a water label just above the contents with lemon juice added to neutralise the pythic acid but it's only partly effective.
Replace oats with white rice, when do you eat oats?

Post gym - shake with plain protein, banana, honey, creatine, milk

Lunch - generally steamed veggies or salad & tinned tuna/salmon, although I'll often have half a chook instead of the tuna/salmon on leg day.
Once a fortnight I'll have a roast beef sandwich with sundried tomato & coleslaw.
Otherwise, leftovers (soup/stew/curry).

If I was to be brutally honest that post work out Shake is for someone wanting to bulk or add a roll around the stomach, if that's your goals then fine, but if your goal is to increase lean muscle mass then it needs a major overhaul.
Have just the plain protein in water with in 30mins post gym.
Hour later have what you have for lunch then an have lunch.
Try & fast till T time to give your body a chance to digest & utilise all the post gym food.
I gather the milk your drinking is pasteurised from the Supermarket, it will block the whey from being effective, the banana & honey will spike insulin(insulin is also a fat storage hormone) hence why you want it quite after gym.
All you hard work at gym breaking down muscle tissue is ruined by your post gym food.
I guarantee you fell a lot better after training eliminating the carbs.
The whey causes enough of an insulin spike to shuttle the amino acids into your muscle cells hence why no need from carbs.

Also don't rely on tin tuna/salmon for muscle gains, maybe ok as a snack, grass fed beef or Lamb,pasture raised free range eggs & chicken choice.

If doing what your currently doing is building copious amounts of lean muscle , then disregard my advice, if not then there maybe some merit in what I'm suggesting.

Training is Queen
Diet is King

If I was to be brutally honest that post work out Shake is for someone wanting to bulk or add a roll around the stomach, if that's your goals then fine, but if your goal is to increase lean muscle mass then it needs a major overhaul.
Have just the plain protein in water with in 30mins post gym.
Hour later have what you have for lunch then an have lunch.
Try & fast till T time to give your body a chance to digest & utilise all the post gym food.
I gather the milk your drinking is pasteurised from the Supermarket, it will block the whey from being effective, the banana & honey will spike insulin(insulin is also a fat storage hormone) hence why you want it quite after gym.
All you hard work at gym breaking down muscle tissue is ruined by your post gym food.
I guarantee you fell a lot better after training eliminating the carbs.
The whey causes enough of an insulin spike to shuttle the amino acids into your muscle cells hence why no need from carbs.

Also don't rely on tin tuna/salmon for muscle gains, maybe ok as a snack, grass fed beef or Lamb,pasture raised free range eggs & chicken choice.

If doing what your currently doing is building copious amounts of lean muscle , then disregard my advice, if not then there maybe some merit in what I'm suggesting.

Training is Queen
Diet is King
So much bro.

Interesting that Neurologist Dr. David Perlmutter on Dr Oz last week said if you were to have carbs (excluding above ground greens) white and brown rice is all he recommends.

Interesting brown rice gets a mention cos due to its natural oil content it's usually rancid plus it inhibits protein digestion.

White rice offers no nutrient value due to it being bleached, used only as a carb source for variety to sweet potato which is packed with nutrients.

Has there been a paradigm shift in nutrition? You bet there has!

Published November 6, 2013 | By Fiona
Last week, (27 October 2013) Dr Andreas Eenfeldt, Swedish Medical Doctor wrote a blog titled: “The week the paradigm shift happened?”, you can read it here.
I believe Dr Eenfeldt is right, a paradigm shift did happen. There has been a wave of media focusing on questioning the current “accepted truths” about sugar, saturated fat and cholesterol and all I can say is, it is about time!

http://www.informedhealth.com.au/wp/has-there-been-a-paradigm-shift-in-nutrition-you-bet-there-has/

Sign the petition
http://www.change.org/en-AU/petitio...-and-promoting-food-that-causes-heart-disease

I smell an Evolution!

So the ABC has declared -

THE ABC's health expert Dr Norman Swan has warned people will die as a result of a controversial program shown by his own network that questioned the role of cholesterol in heart disease.

http://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/he...e-dr-norman-swan/story-fneuzlbd-1226753370639

Good to see his unbiased expert Dr Peter Clifton, Professor of Nutrition at the Sansom Institute at the University of South Australia and an NHMRC Principle Research Fellow sticking to his guns and not digressing from his best selling books- The CSIRO Healthy Heart Program, The CSIRO Total Wellbeing Diet and The CSIRO Total Wellbeing Diet Book 2. Why ruin a good thing.

I also wonder why no mention of Dr Kerryn Phelps the morning after Catalyst? Hmmm.

So the ABC has declared -

Good to see his unbiased expert Dr Peter Clifton, Professor of Nutrition at the Sansom Institute at the University of South Australia and an NHMRC Principle Research Fellow sticking to his guns and not digressing from his best selling books- The CSIRO Healthy Heart Program, The CSIRO Total Wellbeing Diet and The CSIRO Total Wellbeing Diet Book 2. Why ruin a good thing.

I also wonder why no mention of Dr Kerryn Phelps the morning after Catalyst? Hmmm.

It's called power.
There's too much at stake for the wheat n grain n sugar industry to sit back & let fact ruin their lucrative profit mongering be effected by a switch to a low carb lifestyle.
They have the capital to pay many reputable experts to debunk recent findings in favour of high fat low carb.
Leading lecturers , PhDs etc are easily bought to speak on behalf of major companies to influence the general public.
Everyone's morals have a price, offer me a fortune plus shares in the company & I'll soon promote Soy protein powder for muscle building & margarine on white bread is a healthy breakfast.

The health n wellness industry is as corrupt as any, sad but true.

What's the best thing to eat after working out ?

Usually I just have protein shakes with banana, honey, milk and sometimes almonds and walnuts thrown in straight after. And then mainly eat steak and other red meats for dinner, oats with banana and honey for breakfast, leftovers for lunch really. So nothing too healthy to be honest.

ablett, if it's not too much of a hassle, could you please post up what you eat generally on a day to day basis? Cheers mate.

For what it's worth, here goes.

I have a different meal schedule for each different activity or non activity days.

Normal / Rest / non active day.

Upon rising- half a teaspoon of pink Himalayan salt in glass of water, every day.

Every day except one rest day a week I'll hold this off til after 12noon where I also replace coffee with cacao powder to give adrenal glands a break from caffeine , but usually at 8-9am:
BP coffee= 50g grass fed butter, 25-50g cacao butter, 30ml MCT oil, 2 heaped teaspoon organic coffee, 2-3g stevia, bit of cinnamon ,all mixed in a blender with 400mls boiling water.
Supplements:
Cod liver & butter oil
Vit c
Vit K
Vit D
Selenium
Potassium iodide

Fast til 6pm except weight training days where a whey shake is drank at 2pm.

Evening meal:
2-300g of grass fed beef or lamb, green vege & cauliflower.
After meal , 25-50g 85% Lindt dark chocolate.
Lately also been endulging in home made coconut cream/milk ice cream.

Try not to eat after 8pm, definitely not after 9pm

Pre bed supps:
Magnesium
Potassium
Zinc
Taurine
Vit c

Additions:
Cardio/Keto /fat burning days-
200mg caffein tab or cup of strong green tea 30-45mins before around 3k of walk-jog-sprint sessions.
30mins post session 10g EEA's in 300ml coconut water.
30-45mins later eat solid meal, cardio days I try & eat as minimal carbs as possible , sometimes just eggs with steak or just a heap of marinated lamb chops.

Gym / work out days-
lately doing more super setting/Crossfit - commando style training.
At 2pm I add a shake consisting of 40g unflavoured grass fed whey in 200ml water, 20ml olive oil, teaspoon cacao powder
30-45 mins pre EEA's in coconut water plus 3g beta-alanine
During- sip on a secret blend of certain amino acids in 1.5-2litre of water with 200ml coconut water n 75-100ml lemon juice.
Post - 5g l-Leucine
30mins later, EEA's in coconut water
30-60mins later, solid meal, usually have a 200g sweet potato with dinner on heavy training nights along with other usual vege.
Atleast once a week after a heavy training session I will have a meat dish on rice , spaghetti bolagnese or chicken curry stir fry , chow mein etc for variety & so I don't get sick of sweet potato!

Also take 3g D-Apartic acid daily

Soon to include:
Vanilla extract to BP coffee.
Collagen powder to BP coffee following mornings of heavy training sessions, post w/o in between EEA's & solid meal, plus pre bed.

After Xmas will experiment with Spiralina one month & Chlorella the next to see if the offer any benefit , if so I'll combine them daily.

Extra notes:
I always put heaps of butter on veges , especially sweet potato.
Also ad qtr to half an avocado to evening meals when prices are reasonable.
I add pink Himalayan salt to all my pre/during/post amino drinks , into cooking & onto food.

I think that's everything!

Im sure this will go against the grain/trend of most peoples diet/eating habbits but slowly data is being revealed to support most of whats mentioned above.

I've been tweaking this for the past 12 months & just about got it right.
Energy good.
Strength good
Training output good
Recovery good
Fitness/speed n endurance good for age
Fatloss very good
Rarely Hungary which is good
Blood work good

Now looking to add more muscle while keeping body fat low.

LCHF- Low Carb / High-Healthy Fat lifestyle.