Leaguies converting to AFL - not players, supporters.

I took a sample. Standard practice.

By the way, I actually like RL and will happily watch a game on friday night after the footy or even in place of the footy (if it's delayed or not shown) and I'm in Sydney.

Are you really arguing that LU forumites are more tolerant of AF followers than the other way around?

This sums up 99.9% of Bigfooty. These are just replies from this topic.

How embarrassing.
Psst, troll, I'm allowed to have an opinion. You could exchange "rugby league or union" for baseball or american football and it would still be my opinion. I don't enjoy watching these games.

I didn't go on about NSWtards and bogans and bumsniffers, etc. Get real. :rolleyes:

Growing up in Sydney and growing up in a family that supported both league and union I have been a total convert. I was dragged along to countless league games and never really got into it. Went to a single Swans game and now not only me but my family don't watch or support league at all and have converted to AFL.

I don't hate league by any means but I can tell you from someone who has been involved with junior AFL football in Sydney for 10 years that league is a sport on the way down. The size of the junior leagues and senior Sydney leagues have been continuously sky rocketing.

With the new tv deal expect the number of converts from NSW to tripple.

Growing up in Sydney and growing up in a family that supported both league and union I have been a total convert. I was dragged along to countless league games and never really got into it. Went to a single Swans game and now not only me but my family don't watch or support league at all and have converted to AFL.

I don't hate league by any means but I can tell you from someone who has been involved with junior AFL football in Sydney for 10 years that league is a sport on the way down. The size of the junior leagues and senior Sydney leagues have been continuously sky rocketing.

With the new tv deal expect the number of converts from NSW to tripple.

Care to explain how an increase in junior Rugby League players equals a sport on the way down?

I would suggest he is referring to the AFL League participation numbers rather than Rugby League.

So ringleader - do you actually have any interest in Aussie Rules or are just here trolling? What team do you support? Why do you feel you need to defend the undefendable :p

Australian Football (AFL is a League!) will win in the long run as the game is simply a better game to play and watch than either of the rugby codes.

The cream will always rise to the top!

I don't mind the actual sport Rugby League.

The idiots on LU are another story, if you don't say even one negative thing about Aussie rules, you get labelled a Victard (Which genius came up with that :rolleyes:).

Bigfooty has it's fair share of idiots too, but nothing compares to what goes on at LU, heck they even nickname Bigfooty, Bigpoofy :)rolleyes:). Seriously, the average poster on LU (not all) has the same IQ of an average poster from Bay 13.

Then we have the usual fumbleball, boggerball, gAyFL insults, and the constant need to compare League crowds with AFL ones, TV ratings with AFL ones etc. Seriously I wreckon they talk more anti-Aussie rules than Rugby League over there, especially that flog El-Diablo, who has the need to insult Aussie rules even if mentioned in the slightest form.

They also call Aussie rules a Victard sport, oblivious to the fact it's played in 4 states and a territory. Also they feel the need to dispute the fact Aussie rules is the most popular football code in the country, by mentioning that half the population live in either QLD or NSW. Doesn't mean every one of those people follow League, just like not everyone in any other state follows Aussie rules. There are more people who follow Aussie rules up there than people who follow League elsewhere.

EDIT: Just when we thought LU couldn't get more dumber, some flog posted a thread saying that we are fearing them (LOL!) because of an AFL deal with Adelaide oval

The actual sport of Rugby League cops it a bit around here because many BF posters don't like the sport. But I am yet to see someone come on BF say, I was brought up on RL but I like following AFL now (or similar) and have the next person say NAHH YOUR A NSWTARD so we are going to completely belittle you.

Same applies to the sport of 'Soccer', not liked by many around here (me included by the way) but the reason the fans are criticised is because of exactly what you had there 'Soccer/Football'. 'Soccer' is an abbreviation derived from Association Football which is the actual name of the sport. 'Football' is a word which has different connotation depending on your region. In Europe it referes to Association Football, in the U.S. it refers to American Football in Victoria it refers to Australian Football in NSW it referes to Rugby Leage or Rugby Union (name derived from Rugby Football Union).

I think it is this holier-than-thou approach Association Football (I'm going to call it Soccer, for short:rolleyes:) fans have which is what those on BF dislike.

As we are on BigFooty, an Australian Football forum. I think it would be safe to assume in this region (of the internet, non geographical) the abbreviation Football should refer to Australian Football, not Soccer.

This ^^

I enjoy soccer, though far less than I used to, the number one reason for this is I can't stand most (or maybe just the most vocal) of the fans. The zealots in this country (led by the biggest **** in Australian sport, Craig Foster) in recent years have become increasingly aggressive in expressing their cultural cringe, I find it difficult to watch and appreciate the game like I used to because when I do I'm reminded of these flogs.

Total convert here too. Grew up playing Rugby League and supporting a team week in week out until I saw a live Swans game at the SCG in the early 90s. Now I can't see what I ever like about Rugby League. I watch now and think it's such a boring and predictable game with a lack of atmosphere created by the fans. Oh and when I was at school the only football code on offer was Rugby League. I noticed the other day that my former school in south western Sydney now offers Aussie Rules for school sport. The game is growing in NSW. No doubt about it. Well done to all at the AFL. :thumbsu:

I wish this thread had not go hijacked by the usual RL vs Football BF vs LU bullshit. The OP was an interesting question and I would have liked to have heard some calm input from people who have discovered the AFL in QLD and NSW... and hear about their experiences.

You can do the usual Bay 13 level discussion anytime: why ruin this thread?

During the Super League war in the mid-1990s, there were plenty of people who abandoned rugby league and switched to AFL. But rugby league is a lot stronger now.
There won't be significant numbers of people renouncing their support of rugby league so they can follow AFL exclusively. The number of people who will do that will be negligible.
The league fans who convert to AFL when the Giants come into being will do so without leaving rugby league. And that's fine with me. Rugby league fans are most welcome to follow the Giants - I hope they do, and I'm confident there will be plenty who will take an interest.
AFL is my number 1 passion, but I don't mind the odd game of rugby league; and the Origin games in particular are must-see events.
We've moved beyond the fallacy that sport support is a zero sum, and that AFL needs rugby league to decline in order to grow.

During the Super League war in the mid-1990s, there were plenty of people who abandoned rugby league and switched to AFL.

I never met one person that "switched" to AFL because of SL .There were many unhappy rl people ,they may have had an attitude to rl but they never showed up at the SCG .They may even have blamed the AFL in some obscure way for forcing SL to eventuate .There were no rl jumpers at the SCG and certainly no banners promoting their switch from rl .
I introduced AFL to my wife and her family . They were/are Eastern Suburbs followers but never attended rl games .Now the extended family attends Swans games .One set of rels are connected with Easts and wont have a bar of AFL yet we've attended Easts rl games to be "polite" and found that there is little attraction .

As a part time AFL watcher who has turned to full on following of AFL, just wondering what do AFL diehards think of this? Are most AFL supporters welcoming of converts? Or do many scoff at them?

All I was doing (in a round about way I must admit) was answering the OPs question with a YES we are welcoming of converts and NO we do not scoff at them.

Even in this thread with its vigorous discussion of the various sports, not 1 poster has derided the OP for being a league fan who now enjoys AF.

To be honest, rugby union is just about the only sport where the spectacle is far better at lower levels, for example Sydney club rugby.

I find this a very strange statement .Talking to some RU people they wont attend games unless it's "test" level .Indeed ,when Sydney club rugby was at it's pinacle crowds numbered in the hundreds lower than WAFL ,SANFL and VFA which had the new AFL to compete with .

No doubt that was the leagues plan by recruiting Hunt / Folau as well as giving birth to GC & GWS.

As a part time AFL watcher who has turned to full on following of AFL, just wondering what do AFL diehards think of this? Are most AFL supporters welcoming of converts? Or do many scoff at them?

Don't know of anyone scoffing/mocking converts or even those who enjoy both... welcome aboard mate :thumbsu:

There is a healthy rivalry btwn fans of NRL and AFL... much of which came from the hell dished our by often insecure NRL fans... now it's almost translational from both sides of the fence. Maybe it's a little sad though... here in Australia we have more established grass-root-supported football codes than any other country on Earth. I reckon that's a point to celebrate if nothing else

They also call Aussie rules a Victard sport, oblivious to the fact it's played in 4 states and a territory. Also they feel the need to dispute the fact Aussie rules is the most popular football code in the country, by mentioning that half the population live in either QLD or NSW. Doesn't mean every one of those people follow League, just like not everyone in any other state follows Aussie rules. There are more people who follow Aussie rules up there than people who follow League elsewhere.

I actually particularly like the population comparison as a real highlight of the nill-IQ levels of those posting it. For example, here in S.E QLD, population explosions over the last 15 yrs now mean that of those living in South-East QLD, it is estimated that not much more than 40% of said population was even BORN in QLD at all! It also forgets the rapid growth in AusKick and amateur leagues/teams; or all the generally happy Aussie Rules supporters living in both states!

Well I guess the question is answered, thanks for all the input and feedback. My AFL supporting mates are also very happy that I'm on board. I haven't turned my back totally on league, in fact very much enjoyed seeing my Sea-Eagles hammer Canberra 20-0 in the rain last night.

It is just that now unless it's my team playing in the NRL I'm more likely to watch an AFL match than an NRL one. Supercoach is great too, really helps in getting to know all the players from all the teams. I'm not playing in a league, just in a learning phase but will play more competitively next year.

An interesting story....

A few weeks ago, I went to my local pub to try and watch one of the suns first games. I asked the bat tender if they could put the footy on to which he was happy to do. Another patron at the pub said "what gayfl? why do you want to watch that for?" all of a sudden the pub (a whole six people) told him to shut up and that they would all rather watch AFL anyday. And the bar tender who replied "Afl is good, it's the way of the future".

Needless to say he shut up after that and everyone else enjoyed the football. People in Sydney are coming round. Only a small single example but 10 years ago that would not of happened.

An interesting story....

A few weeks ago, I went to my local pub to try and watch one of the suns first games. I asked the bat tender if they could put the footy on to which he was happy to do. Another patron at the pub said "what gayfl? why do you want to watch that for?" all of a sudden the pub (a whole six people) told him to shut up and that they would all rather watch AFL anyday. And the bar tender who replied "Afl is good, it's the way of the future".

Needless to say he shut up after that and everyone else enjoyed the football. People in Sydney are coming round. Only a small single example but 10 years ago that would not of happened.

i like this story. darn ignorant bogans who have that thought process annoy me.

There is a healthy rivalry btwn fans of NRL and AFL...

I don't thing strong = healthy .

here in Australia we have more established grass-root-supported football codes than any other country on Earth. I reckon that's a point to celebrate if nothing else

Suggesting it would be better if we worked together .

much of which came from the hell dished our by often insecure NRL fans...

Football fans would agree

now it's almost translational from both sides of the fence.
"translational" ?
Apart from some extremists on LU there seems to be greater (if not reluctant) acceptance on the fact that AFL is here to stay and has a legitimate reason for being .There are no studies to back that up but all lot of the issues that tended to inflame supporters have now long past .
We still hear of SL issues so imagine what it was like at it's height .IMO was of that hatred was directed at AFL .Then we had the invasion of South Melbourne and the creation of the Bears - seemingly a direct confrontation .Things were dying down a bit just for the WC to re-ignite competition between the codes all fronts - spectators , money ,spotlight ,stadia and long term future .Next we have the two expansion teams each "poaching" a NRL player .That has died down a lot just a few games into the season in spite of some media attempts to fan a "war" mentality .

IMO the biggest factor in greater accptance of rl fans is the participation of rl names like Jack and Mortimer who have come from grassroots and the great participation take up of AFL by juniors .

I find this a very strange statement .Talking to some RU people they wont attend games unless it's "test" level .Indeed ,when Sydney club rugby was at it's pinacle crowds numbered in the hundreds lower than WAFL ,SANFL and VFA which had the new AFL to compete with .
I doubt RU people see it that way, just a personal opinion that i'd rather watch the level where the players attack rather than the penalty and kicking fests that are international/super 15 rugby union.

Leaguies converting to AFL - not players, supporters.