LeCras is a forward, so play him there!!

Yep our midfield is still a weakness compared to the top teams. We really need some more class and should go all out to get Jaeger O'Meara.

Agree, Kerr was close to his best today, was excellent, and he looked elite. Our only real gun young mid atm is Shuey, while Stevens, Swift and Masten still develop.

Once Kerr and Priddis go, I wouldn't mind seeing a Shuey, Scooter, Masten, Stevens midfield combo with leCras, Sheppard, Gaff through the wings, but still feel we lack at least one more absolute gun. Would Rich be enough? Or do we need another Shuey.

Where was this thread last week?

Seriously we got beat by the reigning premiers on their dung heap.

As long as we win more than we lose at home, the trips away will become easier for us.

For now lets not over-react eh?

West Coast need multiple options in the forward line to succeed , something that has worked this season . Today it was only Kennedy , so in essence we need to find another mid either Stevens / Swift / Hams and play Kennedy / Lecras / Darling forward , if we dont we wont beat the better teams .

I was thinking before/during the game this is one match particularly where LeCras should play in the midfield. Tarrent and O'Brien both play really well on him, what we really needed was i50s from LeCras and Shuey, I don't think we necessarily needed more options up forward.

we got smashed all over melbourne..lecca was irrelevant where ever he played-he was always going to be outmonstered,as he has been in the past..
and with todays press/flood/zone..if he plays in the mid, he still ends up forward around goals much of the time..so that forward role argument is ludicrous.
we were simply outclassed and outcoached..and overhyped all week.
glad that games over.now we can get back to normal and enjoy that!

Gotta disagree with this thread. As most posters have said, Harry O'Brien and Chris Tarrant own Lecca so he has very little impact against the Pies. Except maybe last year when he singlehandedly took them on at Etihad.

We were beaten all over the park today though so I don't really see the point of this thread TBH. Shouldn't just point out Lecca's quiet performance, he wasn't alone thats for sure.

we had as many inside 50's as Collingwood. Who else looked like kicking goals other than Kennedy today?

Now whose dumb...
the difference in the quality of those inside 50's was painfully obvious.

we got smashed in the clearances despite dominating the hit outs. our midfield was very very very ordinary today.

What did you think of Lecras' last two games where he was arguably BOG in both, playing solely through the middle?

How do you explain, in the context of your argument, the fact that Lecras played forward for a fair bit today but was comprehensively beaten by O'Brien?

Do you honestly think that keeping him forward for whole games and in doing so taking a big chunk of our newfound midfield class out of the middle, albeit with Lecca maybe kicking an extra 2-3 goals every couple of games, would be worth it?

Please answer these.
So youre answering a question with a question? Until you tell me who else looked like kicking goals in our forward line today, and what other forward options we could have utilised, I wont respond to yours.

As for the two or so people who think im trolling.. wtf? I bleed WCE. Im at every home game and i try to make it to melbourne for a game once a year too. Im arguing that just because O'Brien won a couple of contests inside our forward 50m where the kick coming in was shite and gave Harry every chance to spoil it, doesnt mean we should just throw LeCras back to the middle. Leave him forward the whole game and eventually with 50 inside 50's he will get a few opportunities to mark on the lead or crumb a goal.

And what game were people watching when they say LeCras played up forward most of the day? It was at least 50/50, and when he gathered the ball or was involved in a forward thrust, it was usually Kennedy and Nicoski vs 4 magpies. They needed to be manned up and made accountable, and LeCras is one person we definitely should have had in their since we had just as much of the ball as they did.

I simply cannot understand why forwards cant be left to play up forward. Especially a proven straight kicker like LeCras. Not everyone has to be like Ben Cousins or Ablett or Swan and move from the forward line into the middle. We've got plenty of runners through the guts, and when Lynch and Darling push up to the wings we certainly dont need any more...

So youre answering a question with a question? Until you tell me who else looked like kicking goals in our forward line today, and what other forward options we could have utilised, I wont respond to yours.

It's a ridiculous question, all of our forward options bar Kennedy looked very ineffective because of the terrible service our mids were giving them and the complete dominance of the Collingwood backline.
Nicoski was always floating and kicked a couple when given the opportunities, Embley pushed in there and looked relatively dangerous, Cox had a couple of set shots which he just couldn't couldn't convert and Darling was around the mark all game - just couldn't get himself into a position to have a clean shot at goal. You seem to think putting having Lecras down there all game would have seen every forward entry be converted into a goal with some freak snap from the pocket or strong overhead mark and accurate set shot - let me remind you that he spent time down there, and was beaten comprehensively.

So there you go.

Now answer my questions.

We need a genuine crumbing forward to complete the structure.

Someone that is evasive and nippy so the defenders get into panic mode when the ball hits the deck.

Lecca is class (not today) but needs a foil and while we play very tall in the front 50 we have a week link.

Crumbing goals are rare for us and although Nicco has been playing super in general I think a small forward is the remedy to take us to the next level.

He wont need to have massive stats himself, his role is to create fear among the defenders if the ball goes to ground, a tiger at ground level.

Neates or Broome may comeon but Strijk is the short term fix IMHO.

As for the two or so people who think im trolling.. wtf? I bleed WCE. Im at every home game and i try to make it to melbourne for a game once a year too. Im arguing that just because O'Brien won a couple of contests inside our forward 50m where the kick coming in was shite and gave Harry every chance to spoil it, doesnt mean we should just throw LeCras back to the middle. Leave him forward the whole game and eventually with 50 inside 50's he will get a few opportunities to mark on the lead or crumb a goal.

And what game were people watching when they say LeCras played up forward most of the day? It was at least 50/50, and when he gathered the ball or was involved in a forward thrust, it was usually Kennedy and Nicoski vs 4 magpies. They needed to be manned up and made accountable, and LeCras is one person we definitely should have had in their since we had just as much of the ball as they did.

I simply cannot understand why forwards cant be left to play up forward. Especially a proven straight kicker like LeCras. Not everyone has to be like Ben Cousins or Ablett or Swan and move from the forward line into the middle. We've got plenty of runners through the guts, and when Lynch and Darling push up to the wings we certainly dont need any more...[/QUOTE]

I will tell you why blue and gold, because he is a midfielder by trade, he was recruited as one, he has spent his life as one.

Unfortunately because the Eagles have been so shit for 3 years he was virtually the only player in the whole squad with any ability and hence he was thrown forward and performed a treat.

But he is not a forward ultimately. He is a midfielder. We have Kennedy, Darling and Lynch forward, why on earth would you kick it to Lecras in a pocket who will have 2 blokes on him? He will not get it.

Don't panic mate, we were beaten by the best side in the comp. It is ok, we are only starting our climb. They are at the top of the mountain.

Believe me we will never be at the top of the mountain with Lecras sitting in a pocket. Never ever unless we have Judd, Cousins Kerr as our midfield!!!!

I simply don't understand your comments if you really know anything about footy.

as if lecca wouldve made a 9 goal difference..??
but he kicked 12 against essendon?
but wait this is collingwood -they monstered us with pressure and it all turned to fubar!!
harry o was like a giant tarantula all over lecca...

back to reality...we seem to be around high middle order of the comp, which is way better than last year..lets enjoy that. (;

as if lecca wouldve made a 9 goal difference..??
but he kicked 12 against essendon?
but wait this is collingwood -they monstered us with pressure and it all turned to fubar!!
harry o was like a giant tarantula all over lecca...

back to reality...we seem to be around high middle order of the comp, which is way better than last year..lets enjoy that. (;

I am yet to disagree with anything you say! Spot on assessment.

We got done by a better team. Simple as that.

Their midfield was on top generally the whole game. Most forward moves of ours were underpressure or poorly executed, leaving our forwards with having to deal with high bombing balls, that made it easy for their defence.

We simply got done by the best side of the last year and a half, nothing more nothing less.

I will tell you why blue and gold, because he is a midfielder by trade, he was recruited as one, he has spent his life as one.

Unfortunately because the Eagles have been so shit for 3 years he was virtually the only player in the whole squad with any ability and hence he was thrown forward and performed a treat.

But he is not a forward ultimately. He is a midfielder. We have Kennedy, Darling and Lynch forward, why on earth would you kick it to Lecras in a pocket who will have 2 blokes on him? He will not get it.

Don't panic mate, we were beaten by the best side in the comp. It is ok, we are only starting our climb. They are at the top of the mountain.

Believe me we will never be at the top of the mountain with Lecras sitting in a pocket. Never ever unless we have Judd, Cousins Kerr as our midfield!!!!

I simply don't understand your comments if you really know anything about footy.

This. I have always said he is a midfielder. His game has really stepped up and in the next few years I expect him to be widely considered an elite midfielder.

On why he has been played forward, I believe there are two reasons. Firstly, his fitness base was not up to scratch so he could not play through the middle for significant periods. He's still got a bit to go in improving his fitness base. Secondly, he could play forward rather effectively, so it is better than not on the park. If he was a less effective forward he would have been playing in the WAFL instead, as a midfielder.

This. I have always said he is a midfielder. His game has really stepped up and in the next few years I expect him to be widely considered an elite midfielder.

On why he has been played forward, I believe there are two reasons. Firstly, his fitness base was not up to scratch so he could not play through the middle for significant periods. He's still got a bit to go in improving his fitness base. Secondly, he could play forward rather effectively, so it is better than not on the park. If he was a less effective forward he would have been playing in the WAFL instead, as a midfielder.
Lecca is genuine class and possesses that rare ability around goals.

We could compile a list of very good mids that rarely kick goals yet alone a double figure score.

Even Judd, Ablett, Swan and Co have been used up forward on occasion with average success. In the end the powers that be send them back in the middle where they best help the TEAM win.

Lecca could be a pretty good mid no doubt but WCE are a better TEAM with Lecca close to goal.

We could compile a list of very good mids that rarely kick goals yet alone a double figure score.

Even Judd, Ablett, Swan and Co have been used up forward on occasion with average success. In the end the powers that be send them back in the middle where they best help the TEAM win.

Lecca could be a pretty good mid no doubt but WCE are a better TEAM with Lecca close to goal.

he could not get a kick in a month on O'Brien and a few other big mobile backs. Time for a run in the middle.

Disagree there - i reckon he's both - which means we have the luxury of playing him in our spot of greatest need.

With the rise of our talls - his need is not great up front anymore hence we can use his midfield skills. I was largely surprised he spent so much time forward yesterday when our midfield was getting monstered. I wonder if there is some workload restraints on him at the moment - because he spent a damn site more time in the midfield last week.

As mentioned - i've come right around to him playing midfield - it's where we need him most and where he can add most to our current squad.

god you lot are all obsessed with getting goal kicking mids. We have probably the sharpest shooter in the team getting wasted in the midfield. And then you lot whinge when we get more behinds than goals each game.

Which one do you want?

hehe..i'm not whinging..i'm quietly chuckling..i see he did a lot of good against the pies, wherever he played-not!? (presuming this game has caused you to post this topic) its not like he's gonna bag 12 goals every game..and i believe we still had numerous goalkickers when he wasnt playing..
sometimes he doesnt match up,or meets his nemesis (harry o).or its horses for courses-this week in the mid,next week we may need him upfront..as said before,either way with the flood/press,theres 36 people around the goalsquare at times,including lecca in whatever role he's playing!
it seems we have a happening forwardline now with or without lecca,but still have an underwhelming midfield,that needs more class/skills in the short term,until the real deal steps up..lecca could be good in that role, depending on the teams we play...you simply cant use the pies game as a case for lecca,because we were monstered all over the park-dominated!!!

I disagree. As you state, he has genuine class. I would rather that class be lifting those around him in the midfield, which is our area of greatest need. He is not the only bloke on the list that can kick a goal. And most of them are taller and just as mobile, so he doesn't even have that advantage. Last year when we were down on quality forwards, I could see why he needed to spend more time there. This year though, that is hardly an issue. Due to his size limitations, in the forward line, he is far more replaceable than in the midfield.

Class in the midfield is always more important than class in the forward line. See every WC premiership team for proof.

LeCras is a forward, so play him there!!