Lexton Plains Football League

Im told that Ararat played Great Western on Friday night and that it was a pretty good game, played under lights in front of a handy crowd. Gt Western is only 18 Km from Ararat and Moyston is 20 Why in the hell arn't these clubs playing against each other in regular competition, The VCFL needs structure leagues that make sense.

Ararat being a part of the LPFL makes no sense at all. I agree that they would be better off with the likes of Gt Western and Moyston.

I think a few of the CHFL teams would like a move to the LPFL too. Not allowing the Eagles to leave a few years ago was a bad move by the VCFL.

Ararat being a part of the LPFL makes no sense at all. I agree that they would be better off with the likes of Gt Western and Moyston.

I think a few of the CHFL teams would like a move to the LPFL too. Not allowing the Eagles to leave a few years ago was a bad move by the VCFL.

The last time the Eagles tried to make the move to the MDFL was two years ago and the VCFL didn't stop it, it was the MDFL club reps who voted against it. Guess who voted against - southern clubs such as Caramut, Penshurst, Hawksdale. Why, they didn't want to travel to Ararat. Hard to recruit out of warnambool then.

Eagles, great western, moyston, tatyoon, smw Rovers, lake bolac, Glenthompson, Stawell swifts and Navarre - 9 clubs within 30 minutes of Ararat and play in three different comps. At any one weekend can be over 300km from each other. Absolutely rediculous.

I'm no expert and neither is my 3 year old duaghter but i think she could work this one out.

Ararat and District Football Association went under ten years ago because there was not enough foresight. Hope this is not the case with many other leagues due to VCFL's lack of foresight and guts to embrace change for the better of the game.

I heard that Brendan Scott is coachin Natte. Is this true???
He played for Ararat the past few years and coached their scoobs.
Does anyone know if he's a playing coach or non playing.
He used to play at Natte, why did he go back, does anyone know and how good of a player was/is he???

I work with him and havn't seen him play.
Good bloke to have around the seam and loves a drink.
Would be good value on trips and at functions if his missus lets him out.
Ask him to do his Peter Garret impersonation.:thumbsu:

Cheers

The last time the Eagles tried to make the move to the MDFL was two years ago and the VCFL didn't stop it, it was the MDFL club reps who voted against it. Guess who voted against - southern clubs such as Caramut, Penshurst, Hawksdale. Why, they didn't want to travel to Ararat. Hard to recruit out of warnambool then.

Eagles, great western, moyston, tatyoon, smw Rovers, lake bolac, Glenthompson, Stawell swifts and Navarre - 9 clubs within 30 minutes of Ararat and play in three different comps. At any one weekend can be over 300km from each other. Absolutely rediculous.

I'm no expert and neither is my 3 year old duaghter but i think she could work this one out.

Ararat and District Football Association went under ten years ago because there was not enough foresight. Hope this is not the case with many other leagues due to VCFL's lack of foresight and guts to embrace change for the better of the game.
spot on there. those clubs knocked us backed. but it was ok for them to cum to ararat and play ararat united a few years earlier!!!!! With those clubs, add beaufort and you have a ten team competition. It makes sense but the vcfl are just to dumb or havent got the balls to make decisions like that

Would of made sense playing footy in a league with those clubs being so close and all but ararat would be a dominating force with so many people to pick from in there town..playing footy in the lexton plains was the right idea it might take the eagles and has taken the eagles a long time to become seccusful club in the lexton plains but over time with the town geting bigger and with more kids coming threw there juniors there is chances that ararat acctually might dominate one day in the lexton plains league..making the league a stronger comp:thumbsu:

I feel sorry for Ararat, they have not won a senior game in years. The scary thing is the gap between them and the tops teams isn't subsiding. Personally i think a restructure has to happen but i think talking about it on here does no good. Do we think Rob Ward or any of the VCFL fellas are sitting at work looking at our ideas contemplating a restucture?

It would be good to see some relevant footy talk on here...

Has anyone landed any big recruits worth watching?

What about practice matches, any been played or coming up?

I heard that Brendan Scott is coachin Natte. Is this true???
He played for Ararat the past few years and coached their scoobs.
Does anyone know if he's a playing coach or non playing.
He used to play at Natte, why did he go back, does anyone know and how good of a player was/is he???

I work with him and havn't seen him play.
Good bloke to have around the seam and loves a drink.
Would be good value on trips and at functions if his missus lets him out.
Ask him to do his Peter Garret impersonation.:thumbsu:

Cheers

The fact he has a clearance in suggest he is a playing coach, you seem to know more about him then any of us would. Maybe next time you're sitting in the tea room at work together you could ask... :D

Moyston played funny buggers at that meeting too. One rep voted for and one voted against. Why did they do that?

The fact he has a clearance in suggest he is a playing coach, you seem to know more about him then any of us would. Maybe next time you're sitting in the tea room at work together you could ask... :D

Good call Big Chill. It"s hard to believe a person could work with someone and not ask if they are a playing coach. Gotta love the posts where guys are just pumping their mates.

I feel sorry for Ararat, they have not won a senior game in years. The scary thing is the gap between them and the tops teams isn't subsiding. Personally i think a restructure has to happen but i think talking about it on here does no good. Do we think Rob Ward or any of the VCFL fellas are sitting at work looking at our ideas contemplating a restucture?

It would be good to see some relevant footy talk on here...

Has anyone landed any big recruits worth watching?

What about practice matches, any been played or coming up?

Calivil United pulled out of the Maryborough Night series and Rokewood is playing to fill the void. The game is at 8:30 tonight. They are playing North Bendigo who won their first round clash against Marong. It is set to be a good game.

if you attend the game leak, could you post who played well, goal kickers etc etc

Dont listen to em boom crash opera they are full of sh$t, Little skinners on the computer pulling there little frankfurts:D Your league will sort FAT BOY WATERS right out he will dribble pastry down his leags:eek: keep eating pies ROSSY:thumbsu: You seem to no your stuff so keep posting good material for us important people to read.Anyone that gets into TUBBY WATERS is a friend of mine.
thanks itchygroin. another post filled with common sense on your behalf. keep up tyhe good work and best of luck for 08

Huge news just in HILLY has left c/l and will not coach this season, rumours over the past months are correct is heading to QLD:eek: Huge bomb for the reigning premiers 4 weeks from kick off:thumbsdown:What is HILLY thinking:thumbsdown: Hope his plane is bullet proof it might just get shoot down:D

your on the money sirsaint that is a huge bombshell, havent spoken to anyone at the club yet but id imagine the committee would be seething, i was also told ross waters may infact not be playing with apollo bay and that he will be assisting ports in his coaching roll, dont know if that is the right move if true

I heard the Players are pretty pissed off, he didnt address any of them..............soft option:thumbsdown:.... Can any of you carn/linton lads confirm this?

Fairly gutless if hasnt address any of the players:mad: Was told that HILLY only plays for money this confirms that, The rumours were floating around for months surely he could have told them at a earlyier date? A MAN WITH NO RESPECT AT ALL 4 WEEKS NOTICE IS PISS WEAK:thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

I heard the Players are pretty pissed off, he didnt address any of them..............soft option:thumbsdown:.... Can any of you carn/linton lads confirm this?

Can confirm this donkeypunch. Hilly was on the sidelines watching and didn't address the players at any stage. My mail is he was feeling crook and didn't want to pass it around though was certainly talking to players who were on the sidelines. I don't think it will affect the club at all if he leaves. There are plenty of experienced players that are leaders around the club anyway. You have got the likes of Justin Porter who is joint coach anyway, Jake Pring, Braith Nunn, Travis Grigg(fmr asst coach at Dunnstown), Craig Grenfell, Digger Bodey, etc etc. There were about 40 blokes at training on tuesday night plus about a dozen that weren't able to make it to training, so things aren't looking that bad for the club. There is plenty of enthusiasm and belief around the club regardless of this little hiccup. For the record, the club played an intra club scratch match and the SKINS had a very good win despite playing 3 men down for the last half.

I think if any team has the list to cope with this sort of crisis it is CL. I wouldn't think this will affect their chances greatly. In fact, they seem to love having the back up against the wall and everyone writing them off. The players Mr Responsible mentioned should all be able to shoulder the load.

It has been quite a dramatic off season for the two grand finalists from last year.

So mr responsible what is his reason for leaving money???
All i can say is Jason is coming to QLD for a change also his club has know for the last 2 months that he was thinking about moving up
don't worry jason will be well looked after up here
i hope he has a great year on the field
just one question and be honest how does he play the game because i look forward to playing with him

you would think the last training run with so many numbers would be the right time to break to news. It must be a clunes thing to leave the club in the lurch......at least he got a cheap flag out of it.

Get a fair bit of information from a commitee member out at linton and he confirmed Hilly told them of the move about 6 weeks ago and it was decided then it would be best to keep it to themselves until it was all sorted. This man has been on the commitee for a few years and says there is no hard feelings toward him and in fact at the last meeting gave him full support in his move as it is primarily an employment one that will benefit his family. Now thats all fact from a man who holds a position very close to the top out there and if he was chasing money you'd stay at the biggest money spenders in the region rather than go to Qld where they pay almost nothing. He told the meeting that if it didn't work out he'd be back at the club but you'd wonder if he read these. Will keep everyone posted about the happenings out there as my old mate has loose lips after a few sips and he knows all.

Pretty ordinary the way the Hill saga has been played out. My issue with what you're saying snail is i find it hard to believe the club wouldn't have been looking at coaches to fill the void if they had have known. You seem to know a lot about Hill and it appeared you were close with the Clunes contingent. My guess is what snail is saying is coming from the horses mouth!

In other news coming from the other grand finalist from last year 7-8 players have put in clearences. Assuming that Jacobs, Andrews and Ross retire that is over half there side gone. Also are guys like Quinn, Ramsay, Steinkellner and Robinson playing again?

Also Karl Begbie has put in another clearance, i'd imagine with Biggs and Begbie gone the premierships odds might float out a bit. I shot Skipton down early but that was only due to the disappointment of last year. I think they may me the team to be in 08.

I hear that Lexton are running a bus stopping at all Central Highlands club if anyone is interested in playing out there. They have picked up about 30 blokes aready but the 'coach' can fit another 20 more so get in early.