Lexton Plains Football League

Result from the Illabarook v Linton game saw the saints get up by 4 goals with a 9 goal to nil last qtr. At 3/4 time the bulldogs were 6 goals up before the barnstorming saints - albeit a man down since half way through the 3rd quarter after big moota stasse was red carded in a very soft decision(a 50m penalty was not even given) ran over the top of the dogs in a fantastic display of skilful and determined football. The saints had the running early but could not put it on the scoreboard and to the dogs credit they persisted and always were putting the pressure on the saints. As the second and 3rd qtrs transpired, C/Linton disposal was letting it down though the dogs pressure and running around the ground was impressive and forced the saints into error and in fact the dogs running made the saints look slow at times. Not to be out done and in true C/Linton style, when their backs were against the wall, took the game into their own hands and ran over the top of their opponents who gave so much for 3 qtrs. Special mentions to Rhys Mundy who went into the ruck, James Rayner, Jake Pring, Travis Grigg and Jade Keam to help turn the game around. Best for Illabarook were the umpires, the local Illabarook goal umpire, the wind, the uneven ground, the heat and the gravel on the cricket pitch. Thumbs down to the Illabarook committee for not providing fans with the best thing to come out of Illabarook - the Bulldog Burger.

THUMBS DOWN TO STASSE, WAS A CHEAP HIT, THUMBS DOWN TO LOCAL COPPA FOR MOUTHING OFF TO YOUNG KIDS IN THE 17S AND THUMBS DOWN TO YOU YOU JACKASS

Can anyone from skipton please confirm how many pies davie parker ate
last week:confused::thumbsu:

well big mouth i watch the 17s and seconds and dave parker did well in both and if you've got any problem with dave parker why do you go front him instead of hiding behind the stupid name if you have any balls you would

take a joke you germ, what else would expect after leaving cl to a rival club, why dont you take it up with king kraft when carngham play skipton instead of hiding behind the stupid name, if you have any balls you would

gday i was wondering how the 14s 17s and 2onds went for cargham today can any one help me out with this
14s carngham smashed young doggies side.
17s was close all day as doggies only just scraped across the line.
2nds carngham keep dogggies goalless for 3 quaters and ran out match 35 point winners

take a joke you germ, what else would expect after leaving cl to a rival club, why dont you take it up with king kraft when carngham play skipton instead of hiding behind the stupid name, if you have any balls you would
yeah no doubt the canteen profit would be up at skipton.

league record for most pies in one day is held by dave *goal sneak* parker
current record:72
attempting record:86

THUMBS DOWN TO STASSE, WAS A CHEAP HIT, THUMBS DOWN TO LOCAL COPPA FOR MOUTHING OFF TO YOUNG KIDS IN THE 17S AND THUMBS DOWN TO YOU YOU JACKASS

Pretty mature comeback biscuit. As for stasse probably deserved 50m penalty but wasn't as severe as you make out and didn't warrant a red card. Umpire Cliff McCann was a bit hot on the decision. Maybe moota was frustrated that he couldn't get a bulldog burger or two before the big game and took his frustrations out on jamie lamb!

just maybe.

Dunno what game you were watching! Stasse lined Lamby up while he had his back to him. Very courageous of Stasse attempting to take him out while he wasn't looking. If he gets rubbed out for 4 weeks, he deserves every bit of it for being a sniping coward!

Illabarook players are T Connor, B Ketchen, B Williams and S Tung.
I know Waters was the coach of last years premiers, but I think they should pick a coach still connected to a LPFL club!
Any thoughts on this?
I think you go with the best man for the job. I would say nearly all the other coaches last year would of said waters was the best coach for the past few years and he would of only learned more from his role at the roosters

Dunno what game you were watching! Stasse lined Lamby up while he had his back to him. Very courageous of Stasse attempting to take him out while he wasn't looking. If he gets rubbed out for 4 weeks, he deserves every bit of it for being a sniping coward!

Did you see the the photo of the incident in the courier today? Stasse had his eyes shut which shows he really had no idea where he was going to make contact. Again it was careless and probably deserved 50m penalty (which wasn't given) - I stick by ny opinion and don't think he deserved to be red carded. Also if he didn't try and spoil do you think his coach and team mates would be happy if he pulled out the contest and gave away a cheap possession to an opponent? Wouldn't think so. Maybe Lamb should have been more aware that contact was going to be made.

Re: Eagles Signing

Can anyone confirm the signing of Craig Cooper to the Ararat Eagles? If it is true he will be a handy signing, given he is a former BFL rep.
Is that the big 6"7" that used to play for Sebas, if so he will be a big inclusion for the young Eagles. Also I was at the Brook V C/L Game and Stasse has got a case to answer.

Yeah i agree had some good stuff in there. Interesting looking through it, i would say the LPFL clubs are recruiting better then the CHFL. Would love to see an interleague square off. Think people would be surprised from CHFL.

Bout time i update my odds for the the flag this year.

Previous odds for the LPFL Premiership:
Carngham- $2.20
Rokewood- $3.50
Skipton- $5.00
Lexton- $12.00
Natte- $15.00
Illabarook- $17.50
Navarre- $20.00
Ararat- $1000.00

Current Odds for the LPFL Premiership:
C/L- $2.90 (Drifted slightly, still the team to beat though)
Rokewood- $3.50 (Remaining firm, good inclusions)
Skipton- $4.80 (Coming in a few points. Looking reasonable at this stage)
Lexton- $10.00 (Closed in, taking a bit of money from a few dreamers)
Natte- $12.50 (Money coming from the Loyal Natte folk)
Navarre- $20.00 (Unkown quantity, no takers thus far)
Illabarook- $50.00 (Coach said not looking to improve just maintain?? )
Ararat- $1000.00 (We all hope they improve, a few years off yet)

Sorry big chill but looking at the LPFL interleague squad, I would say a CHFL team would win by 30 goals. Of the guys who have played in the CHFL Eamon Johnson would be the only 1 who may get a gig in a rep side. Jake Pring might scrape into a 2nd team, but Reid, Oliver, Johnstone, Wilkie, Conroy and Grigg wouldn't even make a 3rd string side. In fact I seriously doubt whether Nigal Reid would get a game in the top reserve grade sides in the CHFL.
Just skimming the surface, here are some names they would be up against
L.Adams J.Adams Winduss C.O'Brien Rodgers Scoble Cronin Uhi L.Cox A.McKay Peake Sheppard Newton Mann D.James J.Gilbert Tranquilli Gunn Morgan T.Beacham Sobey B.Powell Bone Pellisier Landry Liston S.Mullane L.Brown Russell Dodds Watts Collier Sacco S.Dwyer Edwards A.Bones Burchell Ewart Doherty Drew Adam Brierley J.Cahir R.Cahir Sawers Wemyss J.Reid Nicholson McDonald.
There's 3 Henderson medals in there, 11 with VFL experience, 1 with AFL, Stacks up pretty well against the LPFL squad IMO.

Sorry big chill but looking at the LPFL interleague squad, I would say a CHFL team would win by 30 goals. Of the guys who have played in the CHFL Eamon Johnson would be the only 1 who may get a gig in a rep side. Jake Pring might scrape into a 2nd team, but Reid, Oliver, Johnstone, Wilkie, Conroy and Grigg wouldn't even make a 3rd string side. In fact I seriously doubt whether Nigal Reid would get a game in the top reserve grade sides in the CHFL.
Just skimming the surface, here are some names they would be up against
L.Adams J.Adams Winduss C.O'Brien Rodgers Scoble Cronin Uhi L.Cox A.McKay Peake Sheppard Newton Mann D.James J.Gilbert Tranquilli Gunn Morgan T.Beacham Sobey B.Powell Bone Pellisier Landry Liston S.Mullane L.Brown Russell Dodds Watts Collier Sacco S.Dwyer Edwards A.Bones Burchell Ewart Doherty Drew Adam Brierley J.Cahir R.Cahir Sawers Wemyss J.Reid Nicholson McDonald.
There's 3 Henderson medals in there, 11 with VFL experience, 1 with AFL, Stacks up pretty well against the LPFL squad IMO.

Pointless debate. It's nearly double the pool seeing there's only 8 teams in the LPFL and 14 in the CHFL. Simple mathematics says CHFL has it won.

The positive about the LPFL is that there are 7 teams with premiership hopes this year and only 1 team you are 95% sure of a win against. I doubt many teams in the CHFL would honestly see themselves beating Hepburn or Daylesford and the 200 point mark has already been cracked in round 1.

The long and the short of it is that no matter which league you are in, it is still minor league footy. If you enjoy it, who cares what the standard is? It's nice to have a wide open competition though...

Pointless debate. It's nearly double the pool seeing there's only 8 teams in the LPFL and 14 in the CHFL. Simple mathematics says CHFL has it won.

The positive about the LPFL is that there are 7 teams with premiership hopes this year and only 1 team you are 95% sure of a win against. I doubt many teams in the CHFL would honestly see themselves beating Hepburn or Daylesford and the 200 point mark has already been cracked in round 1.

The long and the short of it is that no matter which league you are in, it is still minor league footy. If you enjoy it, who cares what the standard is? It's nice to have a wide open competition though...

Well said Old School. It is an endless debate!! Unless you are playing AFL or VFL you may as well just play where you get the most enjoyment out of footy and where your mates are!:thumbsu:

And on another note this weeks round of footy should be a cracker. Will get a very good insite into where most of the teams are at this week i would think:thumbsu:

I don't post that often, but a great reply by old school!

Nothing worse than people comparing leagues... it is a pointless exercise and where do you stop. Again well done old school.

Well said Old School. It is an endless debate!! Unless you are playing AFL or VFL you may as well just play where you get the most enjoyment out of footy and where your mates are!:thumbsu:

And on another note this weeks round of footy should be a cracker. Will get a very good insite into where most of the teams are at this week i would think:thumbsu:

Exactly. There is always a better standard unless you play AFL.

The tips this week will be tough. Illabarook v Lexton is one that really interests me. I think quality is on Lexton's side but Illabarook arguably are the most disciplined team. It's likely to be a good battle.

Natte v Navarre is a big one too. Natte has to get a win on the board. They play CL and Skip 3x each which means they have the toughest draw of the lot and I would chalk them down for 8 losses already. 3x to CL and Skip and 2 to Rokewood. 8 and 8 was the record CL and Illabarook had at the completion of the season. The pressure is on for them not to drop games to Navarre, Illabarook and Lexton.

Thoughts?

Ryang your squad does look pretty good i do admit. The point that old school mentions is pretty accurate. If you only allowed players from 8 teams ranging from top to bottom i think you might get a surprise. Interleague isn't a true representation of how good a league is anyway. Any league might have 18 guns then it might fall away pretty quick. What impresses me about the LPFL this year is that there is a lot of quality in the bottom end of teams lists. I think you would see a few teams from the LPFL when there up and firing mix it in the CHFL, prob not with the likes of D'Forde, Waurbra and Hepburn but i think they would be in the hunt for 4th an beyond. Just my thoughts mate.

I think this weeks footy should be very good, I agree with old school that Natte have a tough road but i wouldn't say they are in-capable of wining against C/L or skipton as the deficits haven't been huge. This week would have to be seen as a must win for them though. Also if Lexton can manage to scrap together another win to be (2-1) it would give them a big step up on the likes of Illabarook, Navarre and Ararat who are likely to be (0-3) after this weekend. Might help them in their fight for fifth spot

Absolutely right pigdon. With some very big games again it should answer many more questions as to who is the real deal. The only team we may not know where they are at are the saints having struggled the last 2 weeks you would say against some very spirited opposition. Playing Ararat this weekend you wouldn't think will tell us to much, I think we will have to wait another week until they play Rokewood to see where they truly sit.

I think this weeks footy should be very good, I agree with old school that Natte have a tough road but i wouldn't say they are in-capable of wining against C/L or skipton as the deficits haven't been huge. This week would have to be seen as a must win for them though. Also if Lexton can manage to scrap together another win to be (2-1) it would give them a big step up on the likes of Illabarook, Navarre and Ararat who are likely to be (0-3) after this weekend. Might help them in their fight for fifth spot

I agree that Natte is capable of beating CL, Skip and Rokewood but I would set the year up worst case scenario if I were them. My prediction is that it is out of them, Lexton and Illabarook for 4th and 5th. Navarre haven't lived up to the preseason hype yet.

Ryang your squad does look pretty good i do admit. The point that old school mentions is pretty accurate. If you only allowed players from 8 teams ranging from top to bottom i think you might get a surprise. Interleague isn't a true representation of how good a league is anyway. Any league might have 18 guns then it might fall away pretty quick. What impresses me about the LPFL this year is that there is a lot of quality in the bottom end of teams lists. I think you would see a few teams from the LPFL when there up and firing mix it in the CHFL, prob not with the likes of D'Forde, Waurbra and Hepburn but i think they would be in the hunt for 4th an beyond. Just my thoughts mate.

I agree with nearly everything that you OSB TOTS & pigdon have said but I was responding to some earlier posts where it was suggested that an interleague match up between LP & CH would be a close affair. I was not comparing leagues just interleague teams. I'm not sure what the LP selectors thoughts were but it puzzles me that they would pick blokes who have been in the league for 5 minutes and were poor to average players in the CHFL. Even the selection of Shaw from Lexton is questionable given that he was at best a fringe player in the Ballarat league. They wouldn't have even seen these guys play in the LPFL so how can they reward them with an interleague honour?

I'm not a subscriber to the theory bandied about in some quarters that the standard of footy in CHFL is miles above that of the LPFL. The bottom teams in the CHFL would still be the bottom teams in LPFL IMO. As the saying goes a league is only as strong as its weakest clubs. The gulf between the top & bottom in the CHFL is massive & getting bigger & I can't see how things can go on the way they are for much longer. But, as long as the VCFL have their do absolutely nothing policy in full swing, nothing will change - until clubs start falling over. So don't believe the rubbish about how rosey everything is in the Central Highlands because there is a genuine feeling of hopelessness amongst 6 or so of the poorer clubs.

So after dribbling on, I was pointing out that the best players in the CHFL are far better than the best in the LPFL. Thats all. And I stand by that.