Local Geelong Leagues Thread (GFL/BFL/GDFL)

Danny Stanley has a brother, Mick, who was recruited from Ocean Grove by Newtown last year.

The G&DFL is just a place where old thugs and prison escapees go to throw a few cheap punches without being put in a jail cell. Disgraceful standard of footy.

Did anyone watching the brisbane v fremantle game on channel 9 see the story run at half time of the African umpire carnt remember his name making his G.F.L boundary umpires debut at a round 2 clash between Lara and South Barwon. Showed footage of the game and the crowd, good publicity for the league.:thumbsu:

beanpole said:
barwon heads u/18 for back-to-back flags?

not when they collapsed under some pressure from drysdale!!!

along with their supporters being dicks, the coach had a few words in the direction of the drysdale players at half time, who rubbed back in hisface as they all walked off the field!!!

havent corio fc had MORE junior issues with violence again this year?

:D:D:D:Dhole area breeds them violent i think

sticko_64 said:
I also remember back when we played at their ground we would always lock our bags in the parents car boots so that they couldn't steal any of our property. Sure St Albans has some whittington ferals but no where near as many as Corio!
Thats classic, we did that as well. My mum was to scared to get out of the car when she came out there to watch.

I was playing in the 2nd semi final in 1994 (GDFL) vs North Geelong, my first season of senior footy i was only 18.

I came off the bench in the first quarter. I kicked a goal soon after following a free kick against my immediate opponent.

So i kicked the goal and the ball is being balled up in the middle and i am standing in the true forward pocket.

Next thing i know the trainers are standing over me and i didnt know what had happened.

My opponent had been standing in front of me and just threw his elbow back into my head and knocked me out cold.

I actually played on (it was a final!). The siren blew about 5 minutes later. I didnt cme back on, as i couldnt remember anything i had done after i stayed on. I remember coming out after half time and sitting on the bench and asking the bloke next to me, did i run out with the team and run around the ground or did i just come straight to the bench? I had no idea what was happening.

Anyway the guy who hit me was reported and got 3 weeks, not bad back then, and he missed playing in the Grand Final because of it.

So you can see why i hate the GDFL. And that is by far not an isolated incident. That crap happened all the time, and apparently stilll does.

The Hulkster said:
I see there is a bit of trouble at Nth Shore.

I have it from a reliable source that the coach offerred his regisnation but it wasnt accepted.

Apparently all is ok now.[/quot

Enlighten us DC what is happening down there at winsdor park, both on and off the field?

Can anyone tell me how Werribee centrals are traveling so far this season?. I've heard there not going as well as recent years.

What can anyone tell me about a bloke called Glenn Keast ? apparently signed today with Golden Square in the Bendigo league

Can anyone tell me the playing history of WADE CHAPMAN !?...is he related to the chapman that played for brissie/bears - lions yrs ago etc etc.Is he coach or assistant coach @ north shore !? :confused:

sunline 11 said:
Can anyone tell me how Werribee centrals are traveling so far this season?. I've heard there not going as well as recent years.

Yeah.. not as good. some good players in their team but haven't been as good as previous years. In saying that though, the comp has gotten better. Some teams have recruited well and have jumped above Werribee... They'll still be competitive.

rex hunt is only human said:
probably moving to Geelong area next season from Swan Hill. Looking for a good club to play at? Any suggestions? 24 y/o 6', utility, assistant coach of senior side in Golden Rivers Footy league at the moment.

Got a few mates from Swan Hill!! In particular the Lonegan's.. not sure if you know Aaron or Joel... Any club goes alright... if you take your footy seriously however, join a GFL or BFL club.. forget the GDFL clubs. If you want money or coaching, go GDFL. I reccomend Geelong West Blue then.. they are desperate for a decent coach!!!!!!!

Just wondering how Adam Jago is going down there !?.....been involved with him when he has been up playing with Nightcliff in the NTFL, heard the side he's playing for is'nt crash hot !? where they been playing him....

yeah i know jaydo and aaron. played with aaron at Boga last few years, and coached Jaydo in the under 17s last year. don't think i'm going to take it all that seriously next year, struggling a bit with a few injuries this year, taking a toll, but i'll probably get the itch next year and be keen as.

Whispers said:
Yeah.. not as good. some good players in their team but haven't been as good as previous years. In saying that though, the comp has gotten better. Some teams have recruited well and have jumped above Werribee... They'll still be competitive.

I heard they picked up a bloke by the name of Matthew Walsh from WRFL, how's he going?, heard he's put on a few kg's and is struggling to find the pill. Blokes like that might be holding them back?.

yeah i know jaydo and aaron. played with aaron at Boga last few years, and coached Jaydo in the under 17s last year. don't think i'm going to take it all that seriously next year, struggling a bit with a few injuries this year, taking a toll, but i'll probably get the itch next year and be keen as.
So hows Adam going this year !?

Well a few of Joel's mates play at West and I reckon the big fella himself may don on the jumper next year so if your interested, i can give you contact numbers....

bearsboy said:
What can anyone tell me about a bloke called Glenn Keast ? apparently signed today with Golden Square in the Bendigo league

hardest player ive seen! gettin on a bit though, but still a value 2 any club!

BIGANT said:
Can anyone tell me the playing history of WADE CHAPMAN !?...is he related to the chapman that played for brissie/bears - lions yrs ago etc etc.Is he coach or assistant coach @ north shore !? :confused:

another hard nut, he is coach at nth shore.

sunline 11 said:
I heard they picked up a bloke by the name of Matthew Walsh from WRFL, how's he going?, heard he's put on a few kg's and is struggling to find the pill. Blokes like that might be holding them back?.
Matthew Walsh has more rolls on him than a bread shop. He is too unfit and is injured all the time as a result.

crudbucket said:
Gutsy effort by Leopold against the might of South Barwon yesterday, this Leopold side needs to be taken seriously by a lot of teams..

I have been following their results and see that they are a very competitive unit. They have struggled for years. Why the sudden improvement. No doubt Cam Wright and Tony Brown are making a big impact, but there must be more to it than this. Is it coach?other recruits? juniors? off field? Can someone please let me know.