Local Geelong Leagues Thread (GFL/BFL/GDFL)

Pardon my ignorance, but I've been away for work for a while.
How could Skrobalak get the chop after just coaching them to a premiership? Am I unaware of something obvious?

Its all off field! Similar to Sheedy from Bannockburn, apparenlty Skrobalak upset a few people amongst the club, more specifically sponsers.... Torquay will be able to find another decent coach but I'm not too sure if they can find another dominant full-forward.

Actually, St. Joeys have also approached Daine Taylor from Torquay and a few clubs are chasing his team mate Ben Raidme... Two good young players!

Andrew Baars to Ammos.. I think I may have already posted that one but things are looking good with that one.

Whispers said:
Its all off field! Similar to Sheedy from Bannockburn, apparenlty Skrobalak upset a few people amongst the club, more specifically sponsers.... Torquay will be able to find another decent coach but I'm not too sure if they can find another dominant full-forward.

Actually, St. Joeys have also approached Daine Taylor from Torquay and a few clubs are chasing his team mate Ben Raidme... Two good young players!

Andrew Baars to Ammos.. I think I may have already posted that one but things are looking good with that one.

Come on whispers sounds like your holding a little bit back about big scrotumsac..if you know the full story please enlighten the members of Big Footy.

Daisy_13 said:
Come on whispers sounds like your holding a little bit back about big scrotumsac..if you know the full story please enlighten the members of Big Footy.

Yeah alright.. Torquay Pub who pump some big coin into the Footy Club (35k I think) weren't happy with 'The Scrob' due to his antics on their premises. Apparently, Mad Monday was the second time that he has caused some unwanted scenes at the pub and Torquay Pub basically said if he doesn't go, we're pulling the pin on sponsership.

Fair point I reckon....

Whispers said:
Yeah alright.. Torquay Pub who pump some big coin into the Footy Club (35k I think) weren't happy with 'The Scrob' due to his antics on their premises. Apparently, Mad Monday was the second time that he has caused some unwanted scenes at the pub and Torquay Pub basically said if he doesn't go, we're pulling the pin on sponsership.

Fair point I reckon....

Torquay were not happy with that situation but due to them winning the flag they put him on his last warning. Allegedly after this big skrobba has allegedly belted the living suitcase out of a popular Torquay reserves player, which was the straw that broke the camels back, hence Sack!

bossco said:
Torquay were not happy with that situation but due to them winning the flag they put him on his last warning. Allegedly after this big skrobba has allegedly belted the living suitcase out of a popular Torquay reserves player, which was the straw that broke the camels back, hence Sack!

There has got to be something seriously wrong wit this bloke.... social issues or something..

An Independent Panel of different Football Experts & Personalities was put together to thoroughly analyze the standards of our Competitions. Players, Competitions were viewed to find out the Best Standard Competitions. Team Lists, profile players & Finals watched were other key elements in our findings.

1. VFL Seniors
2. Eastern FL (A Grade)
3. VFL Reserves
4. Ovens & Murray FL
5. A Grade Amateurs (VAFA)
6. Goulburn Valley FL
7. Essendon District FL (A Grade)
8. Geelong FL
9. Bendigo FL
10. Diamond Valley FL (A Grade)
11. Ballarat FL
12. Western Region FL (A Grade)
13. B Grade Amateurs (VAFA)
14. Southern FL (A Grade)
15. Central Murray FL
16. Eastern FL (B Grade)
17. Riddell FL (A Grade)
18. Essendon District FL (B Grade)
19. Geelong District FL
20. Sunraysia FL

2000 RATINGS –
1. VFL Seniors 2. VFL Reserves 3. A Grade Amateurs (VAFA)
4. Ovens & Murray 5. Ballarat FL 6. Eastern FL
7. Diamond Valley 8. Geelong FL 9. Goulburn Valley
10. Bendigo FL

bossco said:
Hey bossco heard today from a very relible source that skrobba may have already signed with bacchus marsh in the ballarat league. he has'nt taken long to move on. Probably best he moves away from geelong league with that rep

Football Analysor said:
An Independent Panel of different Football Experts & Personalities was put together to thoroughly analyze the standards of our Competitions. Players, Competitions were viewed to find out the Best Standard Competitions. Team Lists, profile players & Finals watched were other key elements in our findings.

1. VFL Seniors
2. Eastern FL (A Grade)
3. VFL Reserves
4. Ovens & Murray FL
6. Goulburn Valley FL
8. Geelong FL
9. Bendigo FL
11. Ballarat FL
15. Central Murray FL
16. Eastern FL (B Grade)
17. Riddell FL (A Grade)
19. Geelong District FL
20. Sunraysia FL

2000 RATINGS –
10. Bendigo FL
IMO BFL > GDFL

An Independent Panel of different Football Experts & Personalities was put together to thoroughly analyze the standards of our Competitions outside AFL. Players, Competitions were viewed to find out the Best Standard Competitions. Team Lists, profile players & Finals watched; were other key elements in our findings.

OFFICIAL RATINGS -

1. VFL Seniors
2. Eastern FL (A Grade)
3. VFL Reserves
4. Ovens & Murray FL
6. Goulburn Valley FL
8. Geelong FL
9. Bendigo FL
11. Ballarat FL
15. Central Murray FL
16. Eastern FL (B Grade)
17. Riddell FL (A Grade)
19. Geelong District FL
20. Sunraysia FL

2000 RATINGS –
10. Bendigo FL

TORQUAY coach Adam Skrobalak has been sacked after being charged with making threats to kill another member of the club.

Senior Detective Wayne Elliott of Geelong CIU said Skrobalak had been charged with making threats to kill and threats to inflict serious injury.

Sen-Det Elliott said the charges related to alleged threatening phone calls and text messages to another member of the Torquay Football Club.

He said the alleged incidents occurred in the early hours of October 1 - the day after the AFL Grand Final.

Sen-Det Elliott said the Grovedale man had been bailed to appear in Geelong Magistrates' Court on December 13.JL

Skrobalak, who last month coached the Bellarine Football League side to its first premiership since 1988, said yesterday that he was disappointed with the club's decision to fire him.

``I'm a bit disappointed the club has acted on it when nothing has been proven,'' Skrobalak said.
``The charge doesn't mean that you're guilty - it's only the first point of anything.''

He said the club notified him of its decision on Tuesday.

Skrobalak said he hadn't really had time to contemplate his coaching future yet but supposed he would wait and see whether he received any calls from other clubs. Club president Peter Papworth said the side had no comment to make at this stage.

Skrobalak joined Torquay two seasons ago and coached the side to runners-up last year.

A leading full forward he has taken out the BFL's goal-kicking award for the past two years.

OFFICIAL RATINGS -

1. VFL Seniors
2. Eastern FL (A Grade)
3. VFL Reserves
4. Ovens & Murray FL
6. Goulburn Valley FL
8. Geelong FL
9. Bendigo FL
11. Ballarat FL
15. Central Murray FL
16. Eastern FL (B Grade)
17. Riddell FL (A Grade)
19. Geelong District FL
20. Sunraysia FL

GDFL before BFL can't be right can it?

bossco said:

I actually knew about the threats made to the person since because I know the threatened person but also know people looking after this investigation. Was a bit hesitant in saying anything more because I knew it was strong possible that it could end up in the courts... Who cares now since the Addy has printed the report! :rolleyes:

Whispers said:
I actually knew about the threats made to the person since because I know the threatened person but also know people looking after this investigation. Was a bit hesitant in saying anything more because I knew it was strong possible that it could end up in the courts... Who cares now since the Addy has printed the report! :rolleyes:

Who was the threatened person whispers.....?
And is it true scrobalak did belt the suitcases out of him......?

Nah I can't... Look, a lot of sh*t is posted on this website but this situation is pretty serious to discuss here. The court hearing hasn't even been heard yet...

I think Whispers may be able to confirm or deny this then.

Is it true Whispers that about 30 of the Torquay players have had a meeting and have said that if Skrobolak is not reinstated as coach then they are all walking out on the club?

The Hulkster said:
I think Whispers may be able to confirm or deny this then.

Is it true Whispers that about 30 of the Torquay players have had a meeting and have said that if Skrobolak is not reinstated as coach then they are all walking out on the club?

Not too sure about the meeting but I know of around 12 to 15 who have said that they would walk... hence the reason why other local clubs have jumped on the younger players at Torquay.

Gday guys i have read this forum silently for some days now and i think its time some things were set straight on this matter.

1. Skrobalak didnt physically touch the person in question and never has.
2. There has been a public case of slander launched against him which is unfortunate because many of those discussing the issue are unaware of the facts surrounding this alleged incident.
3. I can categorically confirm that there was no incident on mad monday involving the player in question at the Torquay Hotel...nor did any other player involve themselves in an incident there....i can tell you this because the players didnt even go there on the day in question so this statement is false.

It is disappointing to read the statements being made here based solely upon hear/ say....it is a typical bush telegraph where each story teller has added their own little piece to this story and it has now been blown grossly out of proportion.

Many at the club are confident that this situation will be rectified in a sensible manner and that Skrobalak will be rightfully re-instated at the helm in Torquay for the 2007 season where the Tigers will launch a bid to go back to back. This sequence of events has definitely not ended and i encourage you guys in the forum to be sensible about what you say and dont believe every idiot standing on a street corner with a version of events....

all the best

texas1234 said:
Gday guys i have read this forum silently for some days now and i think its time some things were set straight on this matter.

1. Skrobalak didnt physically touch the person in question and never has.
2. There has been a public case of slander launched against him which is unfortunate because many of those discussing the issue are unaware of the facts surrounding this alleged incident.
3. I can categorically confirm that there was no incident on mad monday involving the player in question at the Torquay Hotel...nor did any other player involve themselves in an incident there....i can tell you this because the players didnt even go there on the day in question so this statement is false.

It is disappointing to read the statements being made here based solely upon hear/ say....it is a typical bush telegraph where each story teller has added their own little piece to this story and it has now been blown grossly out of proportion.

Many at the club are confident that this situation will be rectified in a sensible manner and that Skrobalak will be rightfully re-instated at the helm in Torquay for the 2007 season where the Tigers will launch a bid to go back to back. This sequence of events has definitely not ended and i encourage you guys in the forum to be sensible about what you say and dont believe every idiot standing on a street corner with a version of events....

all the best

If this is the case why has he been charged...im sure the police wouldnt charge him without any evidence....

No guys....i'm not Skrobalak.....in relation to your question Daisy....Skrobalak has been charged for allegedly making a threatening phone call to somebody that he was unhappy with....not for assault as some may suggest....it was a phone call and it is yet to be proven that it was actually him!!!!....read the article....it pretty much spells it out....i dont mean to come off sounding angry but i have been frustrated by the lack of common sense many people in the footballing community have shown by misinterpreting the circumstances, etc.

cheers boys

heard today that three time league medalist jay fastuca is leaving werribee and playing at anakie next year. was told he signed last night for big coin werribee will be shattered first gilham now fastuca also heard a few more of their good players are leaving to play in the ballarat league can any one confirm this