Lodden Valley Football League

Good 2 c marong may be on the up and up, dont kno col rogers personally but have heard nothing but good reports about the family and their involvement in the club. Has Freddo actually got good names?? Anyone know of the new recruits, are there some old players coming back to join the ranks? D Alford, M Dalton, G Stewart????

who else from sandhurst will be going to inglewood? have calivil or pyramid picked up any recruits? i heard that daniel pavlou wont be playing there next year?

Load of crap, ablett, only thing bendigo reserves would win is an ego contest.

I've played lv a few years ago when it was stronger and have played bfl 1's and 2's and i can tell you there's some average players running around in the lv senior top sides cos their daddy or uncle is coach , president etc...

The top sides in bfl 2's on the qeo would touch up Calivil.
I'm not bagging lv footy just stating a fact.

Sth reserves side from the last 2 years would beat Calivil especially at the qeo, sth's 3rd's would beat Marong you blokes in the lvfl need a reality check.

You and the big garry 'god' ablett been sharing drugs in hotel rooms mate? what a load of crap. i know a lot of the boys in the sth 2's team, some handy players and sure some of them would play lvfl seniors but to say their team would beat the likes of calivil, newbridge, mitiamo just shows the typical bfl attitude... Personally, id love to come up against the bfl players you seem to exemplify; their cocky, arrogant and are likely to lay down as soon as you start being competitive...

Sth reserves side from the last 2 years would beat Calivil especially at the qeo, sth's 3rd's would beat Marong you blokes in the lvfl need a reality check.
typical south player mate, blokes in the bfl like your self think there superstars . bfl is obviously not as good as u think, and you are the one in desparate need of a reality check! bloody drongo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:mad:

ablett your an idiot, i played bendigo footy seniors a few years back and let me tell you there are a lot of average players playing senior footy in that league also.The bendigo league is nowhere near as strong as it use to be! i went and watched a few games of of south play n there is no way there 2's would beat calivil actually they wouldnt beat the top 5 teams!

I agree, don't think it will happen, but live in hope on that rumour!

Serp new coach Ben Fox, did he play there a few years ago? Was he any good? Any one know much about him?

might have played at Serp a few years ago originally from Ararat and a very good player till he injured his ankle in 2005.

Ablett old son do you really think Calivil would rather have Jay weston running around in the guts than Ross or LLoyd Maxted. The reality is there is some very acccomplished footballer running around in the LVFL who would be walk up stats in the BFL 1st. We are all very protective and passionate of our own clubs and leagues and if you post dribble like that mate expect some backlash.

very true, seems to be a lot of leagues comparing themselves to each other, bfl better then lvfl or hdfl?? who really cares, here is a question.....how would the bfl stack up against the goulburn valley?

Goulburn Valley is stronger, GV and the Ovens'n'Murray would be the two strongest league in country vic.

Hit a few nerves by the looks of things, good to see some of you guys sticking up for league, thats what i like to see a bit of passion.

Your right that most people are very protective about their league and club when talk about standard arises. You have used Jay Weston for an example but it's not a real strong one as Weston has played in senior finals with Wedderburn along with senior footy at Redan and South so while he might not be of the quality of the Maxteds he would be a very good player at this level.

I think the Lodden Valley is in a bit of a lull standard wise at the moment (pretty strong through the late 80's and early 90's) and doesn't stack up to the HDFL in regards to standard or facilities but all the sames it takes a good side to win the flag as Newbridge found out earlier this season. I always reckon the top couple of sides might have the BFL 2's for overall strength but there wouldn't be alot in it hentz a number of LV side basing their recruiting campaigns around fringe BFL senior along with reserves players.

Your right that most people are very protective about their league and club when talk about standard arises. You have used Jay Weston for an example but it's not a real strong one as Weston has played in senior finals with Wedderburn along with senior footy at Redan and South so while he might not be of the quality of the Maxteds he would be a very good player at this level.

I think the Lodden Valley is in a bit of a lull standard wise at the moment (pretty strong through the late 80's and early 90's) and doesn't stack up to the HDFL in regards to standard or facilities but all the sames it takes a good side to win the flag as Newbridge found out earlier this season. I always reckon the top couple of sides might have the BFL 2's for overall strength but there wouldn't be alot in it hentz a number of LV side basing their recruiting campaigns around fringe BFL senior along with reserves players.

depth of a league in my opinion is based on the weakest side this year that was marong, they have already improved making the league a better place. A nine team competitive competion is not only going to strengthen the clubs themselves it is going to strengthen the league and allow the LVFL to take over from the HDFL as the strongest district league around bendigo.

The standard of all leagues in the region have dropped considerably since the early to mid 90's...ESPECIALLY THE BFL.
Think about the BFL premiership teams of the early 90's like Castlemaine who had all these players who had played AFL or would go on to play AFL such as:

Oliver, Kavanagh, Starbuck, Culpitt...and that is just from one team!

If you put a team like that against Eaglehawk's team this year they would absolutely SMASH THEM!

So I wouldn't go trumpeting the BFL...at the moment it is a disgrace for the "premier league" of the region.

In addition to this point are the crowds: you can always tell the state of a league by the crowds you get to a Grand Final.

Once again, I can remember the Castlemaine V Golden Square GF in the early 90's and it was absolutely packed, you would have to get to the ground at 9am to ensure a spot on the fence.
Compare that to most crowds over the last 10 years...probably twice the attendance.

Much improvement is needed for the BFL before people come on here slagging the LVFL.

depth of a league in my opinion is based on the weakest side this year that was marong, they have already improved making the league a better place. A nine team competitive competion is not only going to strengthen the clubs themselves it is going to strengthen the league and allow the LVFL to take over from the HDFL as the strongest district league around bendigo.

Spot on Frank. If the LVFL has 9 competitive sides flogging it out each week than the crowds will improve, funds improve, grounds, player and facilities improve. No one wants to go see a side getting pumped by 15 goals thats boring. But a side winning by under three goals gets more exciting and the bottom side holding its own against the top with a potential win is what we all want to see.

spot on logz i reckon with that sort of speech you'll make a good coach one day!!!:thumbsu:

Fistly the hdfl is a better standard than the lvfl, calivil would've been lucky to get with in 10 goals of elmore this season.

Secondly the crowds are much better in the lvfl and the hdfl than the bfl, the bfl crowd at a home and away games are pitaful for a major league especially qeo games.

Thirdly the main reason the bfl standard has dropped is since the introduction of the bendigo bombers and then the b/bombers reserves.

Gees Ablett or should I say GOD, have you been having too many tinnies at the cup today. You just said how dismal the crowds are at bfl level, but you also claim that the standard is that much higher, are yu doing a backward flip, finding excuses now for why the bfl standard has dropped cos of the bombers!! Have had quite the few frothies today myself and can not quite keep up with what you are on a bout. Is it due to teh amber fluid or your bullshit???

the yr of footy that has just passed i think was the best yr of competitive football there has been in a long time in the lvfl, apart from marong every other team was in with a chance of winning. the were a few exceptions of course with newbridge flogging a few sides but other then that, the rest were fairly even, inglewood definatly weren't pushovers and with what i've heard about marong for next yr the leauge is going to be even better.

Gees Ablett or should I say GOD, have you been having too many tinnies at the cup today. You just said how dismal the crowds are at bfl level, but you also claim that the standard is that much higher, are yu doing a backward flip, finding excuses now for why the bfl standard has dropped cos of the bombers!! Have had quite the few frothies today myself and can not quite keep up with what you are on a bout. Is it due to teh amber fluid or your bullshit???

How doe's the size of a crowd have any indication to its standard, mate have you been sucking on beers all day or the horses middle leg!