Lodden Valley Football League

Calivil United 19.15 (129) v Inglewood 9.12 (66)
Bears Lagoon Serpentine 14.12 (96) v Mitiamo 17.10 (112)
Pyramid Hill 22.12 (144) v Newbridge 6.7 (43)
Marong 25.8 (158) v YCW 13.10 (88)
Seeings i had the week off i wandered out to see the Serp v Miti game, and wasnt disappointed, it was a ripper, very physical encounter, Miti needed this win. I see the hill flogged Newbridge. What happened there, anyone watch that game? I heard YC got another whoopping, but had a shining light in a fella by the name of 'Kenny Zudamen', my mate who was there said he reminded him of Steve Robinson, but taller, and was a one man army. Any stories to come out of todays games, lets liven it up on here, or i will have to make up some bull shirt story to get you out of your shells.

heard last night that a 2s bloke from newbridge was cleaned up by one of his own team mates and knocked out ,and taken away in a meat wagon ? who was it ? is he ok?

that was luke kennedy who got knocked out from a accidental knee from a team-mate! he didnt get taken away in ambulance, he was fine just a bit sore. the ambulance had another newbridge 2's player who did his shoulder.

This bloke probably saved YCW from being beaten by 20 goals.

Marong have suffered a few key injuries over the last few weeks. The list includes:Adam Rout - hand Dallas Pedretti - ribs Charlie Thompson - knee Xavier Thompson - neck Jarryd Morehouse - knee.

Marong have not finished recruiting yet with the possible signing of another key midfielder this week.

hellboy, who were Marongs best on Saturday? I heard Jones was good up forward, gave the young kid Peraz a whopping. where did yc pull kenny Zudeman from, anyone know his history?

I heard YC got another whoopping, but had a shining light in a fella by the name of 'Kenny Zudamen', my mate who was there said he reminded him of Steve Robinson, but taller, and was a one man army. Any stories to come out of todays games, lets liven it up on here, or i will have to make up some bull shirt story to get you out of your shells.

The sad thing was....Kenny starred in the last quarter only.......He sat on the bench for a big part of the game. Jake Concol (LVFL U 17 B & F for the previous 2 years) named in centre, but spent no more than 20 minutes on the ground.

So can you explain the reasoning behind this?

Pyramid are flying at present setting up their season nicely what are peoples thoughts can they win it?

Check out Calivil Forward Leigh Haw's thoughts on saturdays game on the centralvicfooty site.

Pyramid are flying at present setting up their season nicely what are peoples thoughts can they win it?

Check out Calivil Forward Leigh Haw's thoughts on saturdays game on the centralvicfooty site.

don't start talking about the hill now, nothing been said about them to this moment, lets keep it that way :thumbsu:. how's me mate going over there OTM.

Inglewood U 17's copped another humiliating thrashing (over 40 goals), this time by Calival......... I'm not sure where the joy is for the Calival's coach / manager etc......you'd think iin junior footy they'd at least offer Inglewood a few good Calival players for the day, to create a contest. But instead, they'd prefer to humiliate and degrade a heep of 13 year olds. It's no wonder some kids are turned away from footy. I

Couldn't agree more.. Apparently Calivil did get Inglewood its bench players, but still, who gets anything out of it other than teams having a massive %

the league needs to look at increasing the age bracket, plain and simple.

I remember when the age division was increased from U16 to U17......all this did was delay the problem for another year. The answer is not as simple as this.

In the short term, junior coaches need to show some sportsmanship.

I remember when the age division was increased from U16 to U17......all this did was delay the problem for another year. The answer is not as simple as this.

In the short term, junior coaches need to show some sportsmanship.

it gives you a hell of a lot more players to pick from, means that sides aren't relying on 12 - 13 year old kids to fill the side.

You end up with more top age players than bottom age players which will hopefully ensure that flogging don't occur like they do at the moment. The VCFL have a list of over 100 kids that miss out on a game of football from the BJFL under 16.5 and those kids who miss out on BFL under 18's who would then fit into the LVFL. It would then be up to the clubs to try to get these kids back playing football which is what the league should be about, giving kids the chance to play football for as long as they can.

League is shortsighted beyond belief believing these 12 - 13 year old kids should be playing under 17 football and by increasing the age to under 18 you put these younger kids in harms way. THEY SHOULDN'T BE PLAYING KIDS THAT ARE 12 - 13 YEARS OLD IN UNDER 17 FOOTBALL TO START WITH.

Have a combined LVFL side from under 12 upwards in the BJFL giving the younger kids somewhere to play and develop their games. Does them no favours sitting in a forward pocket running away from the contest for 2 - 3 years as 16 - 17 year old kids run after the footy.

The best thing about it is the way these older kids do look after the younger kids ensuring they don't hurt them or keep them out of harm's way.

Maybe Inglewood football club is at a crossroads across the board and needs to do something to survive.

I watched the senior team play Marong and they were very ordinary at times. Rocky Morris is a very good player didnt have a lot else.

I have always wondered how two clubs Bridgey and Inglewood have survived being such close towns together. Maybe the future is a merger.

Changing age brackets is not going to change anything as the young kids are not in Inglewood so they would not improve. It is important to keep the age limit at Under 17 and any kids 13 or younger should play elsewhere until they are old enough to play Under 17 football.

Maybe Inglewood football club is at a crossroads across the board and needs to do something to survive.
I watched the senior team play Marong and they were very ordinary at times. Rocky Morris is a very good player didnt have a lot else.

I have always wondered how two clubs Bridgey and Inglewood have survived being such close towns together. Maybe the future is a merger.

Changing age brackets is not going to change anything as the young kids are not in Inglewood so they would not improve. It is important to keep the age limit at Under 17 and any kids 13 or younger should play elsewhere until they are old enough to play Under 17 football.

Surely the league has an age requirement to play in the under 17 comp, i wouldnt let my boy play against fellas that are 16 and 17. I agree that you are not teaching them anything, they would be better off playing in their own age group until 14 or 15. You have to wonder what insurance company would cover a kid of 12 playing in an under 17 comp, doesnt make sense. I agaree that a LVFL team would be great playing in the BJFL comp, now some body needs to organise it for next season.

What was the go with Marongs ground getting ripped up by some yobbo in his chariot, the netball courts have got a fair bit of rubber on them too apparently. Hope they caught him?

Surely the league has an age requirement to play in the under 17 comp, i wouldnt let my boy play against fellas that are 16 and 17. I agree that you are not teaching them anything, they would be better off playing in their own age group until 14 or 15. You have to wonder what insurance company would cover a kid of 12 playing in an under 17 comp, doesnt make sense. I agaree that a LVFL team would be great playing in the BJFL comp, now some body needs to organise it for next season.

What was the go with Marongs ground getting ripped up by some yobbo in his chariot, the netball courts have got a fair bit of rubber on them too apparently. Hope they caught him?

no minimum age for playing under 17 football. People at league level have the antiquated idea that is good for the kids to play under 17 football as soon as they are 12 - 13 because that is what they did when they were kids back in the 70's and the kids want to play and they are short of numbers so rather than look at lifting the age limit to capture these players they find it better to basically lower the standard by playing these young kids.

Let's face facts, at the moment the LVFL is clearly the third league in and around bendigo below BFL and HDFL, why not try to strengthen the entire league by creating a clearer pathway for players to graduate from junior football to senior football by allowing them an extra season in the juniors at a club.

Will this automatically solve a club's problem with putting a side on the park, no of course it won't that takes a club thinking outside the square and trying things. Will it make the LVFL better? Maybe but it sure as hell won't hurt the league.

Yes, some of the "old heads" involved in the lvfl do not like change and show no flexibility....

Why not invite the bjfl clubs and bjfl to schedule a few Under 13.5 games to be played before the 17's, on lvfl ovals. This would work for the clubs close to bendigo. It may help to create a recruiting base.

Inglewood / Bridgey could put a combined U 13.5 team in the bjfl....Calival have an U 12 team in the bjfl.

Maybe your future is the nut house - Inglewood and Bridgewater are the last two teams on earth that would merge. The oldest and biggest rivalry in the league.

What do you mean 'need to do something to survive'. How bout going from 51 consecutive defeats at an average of well over 100 points to a competitive side who won 4 games last year and lost another 4 by a combined total of 20 points?

Credit to the people and players of Inglewood who kept the club going and developed a platform for future success.

Carn the Blues.:D

Maybe your future is the nut house - Inglewood and Bridgewater are the last two teams on earth that would merge. The oldest and biggest rivalry in the league.

What do you mean 'need to do something to survive'. How bout going from 51 consecutive defeats at an average of well over 100 points to a competitive side who won 4 games last year and lost another 4 by a combined total of 20 points?

Credit to the people and players of Inglewood who kept the club going and developed a platform for future success.

Carn the Blues.:D

Mate, Inglewood are about stuffed. Ground is stuffed, president lasted five minutes before he bolted and after an encouraging win first up they are getting belted again week after week. It's been happening for the past 5 years can't really expect it to survive if they keep battling like they have.

You can hate Bridgewater as much as you want, but it may come down to two choices, merge and have half a footy side to support or fold and let over 120 years of history become just that, history.

Give credit where it is due, they have improved the side, but the club as a whole is about stuffed. Can't get a thirds side together and they get flogged, the twos get flogged and the seniors are struggling as well. How long do you think they can last doing that?

Mate, Inglewood are about stuffed. Ground is stuffed, president lasted five minutes before he bolted and after an encouraging win first up they are getting belted again week after week. It's been happening for the past 5 years can't really expect it to survive if they keep battling like they have.

You can hate Bridgewater as much as you want, but it may come down to two choices, merge and have half a footy side to support or fold and let over 120 years of history become just that, history.

Give credit where it is due, they have improved the side, but the club as a whole is about stuffed. Can't get a thirds side together and they get flogged, the twos get flogged and the seniors are struggling as well. How long do you think they can last doing that?

I think that's a bit harsh........."the President that walked".......work commitments didn't allow the President to do what was required...there are heaps of clubs with stuffed surfaces.....

Inglewood has a strong committee, netballers are performing well in all grades...they have good amenites...........and I'm unsure of their finances...

There's much more that determines the continuation of a club......much more than how the footballers are performing.