Luke hodge - contract negotiations

I'm kind of treading in unknown territory here, but I love Luke Hodge and what he's doing for Hawthorn. The guy's a magnificent leader and if I were Hawthorn I'd just give him a lifetime contract. :p I can't see the guy leaving Hawthorn, he's too entrenched and there's no reason for him to leave. The optional 4th year suggested by SJT76 sounds very practical and probably the way to go.

Yeah his a wonderful player. My all time favorite! my idol! and i want him here till he retires!!! 10 more YEARS i hope!!! Like crawf was... hodgie will be a true champion of this football club!

No point in giving players long term contracts imo.

It just makes them lazy and unmotivated.

I wonder if hodge is really gunning for a 4 year deal or if this is just part of the negotiation process. If he's really after a 4 year deal you then have to think that there is some sort of long-term injury concern.

Let's hope not.

No point in giving players long term contracts imo.

It just makes them lazy and unmotivated.

I wonder if hodge is really gunning for a 4 year deal or if this is just part of the negotiation process. If he's really after a 4 year deal you then have to think that there is some sort of long-term injury concern.

Let's hope not.

Good point. But in Hodge's case I think it would be an exception. The guy clearly leaves his heart and soul out when he steps out in brown and gold. I've always thought Hodge's motivation lies in Hawthorn's success as a club, rather than any individual aspirations.

Or maybe I'm being naive.

Was just reading the paper this morning and noted Hodge's response to a question about his contract negotiation.

I don't have the exact quote but it was something like "Of course I'd like to stay a Hawk. Need to sort out some administration stuff first and some other stuff".

Didn't fill me with huge faith. Anyone got the actual quote?

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,25889430-19742,00.html

Hodge said he didn't know much about what is going on and has instructed his manager Paul Connors to keep it that way.

"It is as far from my mind as anything considering our season is hit or miss in the next week or so," he said.

"That is all I want to be focused on at the moment."

LUKE HODGE ON...

HIS FUTURE:
"Of course (I want to stay a Hawk) but the club has certain issues on stuff and we have certain issues on other stuff. It will get figured out."

With all due respect, Kipster, I don't know how you could know that to be a fact. Unless you come up with some proof, I don't accept your assertion.

Please also use "you're" in future when you're referring to "you are incorrect". It's an elemental rule of the English language.

The club has never said it will never sign a player to a four year contract. In some respects, handing Hodge a four year contract offers the club more flexibility in terms of how the club works out its payments to Hodge within the salary cap as a whole.

thanks for the Englihs lesson Dixie, what-ever blows your skirt up....whether you choose to accept my assetion is your opinion...I fail to see why a payment model/player structure has to change because of players wants....

Pelcs came into the club with a plan and the plan is well and truly known within....why do you think Robbo has just been poached? (I am not saying that is the only reason but I am sure it helped) he was also privvy to it....

I love Hodgey but screwing the club is a fast tracked way of being disliked for selfishness and shows a complete lack of loyalty..

I read that article and while I admire the work Hodgie is doing off field and am impressed by the passion he appears to show I was not tbh overly reassured by the comment in regards to his future.

Would love to know what the sticking issues are and how far apart they are in their thinking between hodge and his management and the club.

Yet another piece of information that Robson has no doubt taken with him to the Bombers.

Surely Hawthorn are just trying to appear that they wont buckle to the requests of players, but will ultimately give Hodgey what he want.

Without him we wouldnt have won that flag last year. Give him whatever he wants.

Surely Hawthorn are just trying to appear that they wont buckle to the requests of players, but will ultimately give Hodgey what he want.

Without him we wouldnt have won that flag last year. Give him whatever he wants.

silly statement, no-one is bigger than the club...if they are tryng to keep a list together, how does it look when players don't give a shit?

Special Meeting 5th August in the board room at Waverley Park.
In attendance ; Luke Hodge (LH) ; Alastair Clarkson (AC) ; Terry Dillon (TD) & Jeff Kennett (JK)

JK - Gentlemen...thanks for your time. You all realise why we are here. Robbo's left us in the shitter (AC - 'You're not f#$king kidding mate') and we need to sort out Hodgeys' contract.
Terry, can you bring us upto speed with the finances & TTP !

TD - Thanks, Jeff. As some of us know , we currently sit at payments totalling 94.3% of the salary cap, which leaves us with room to negotiate with our star players, like Luke. But we have to be careful, long term, not to over commit the club too much & stick to Pelchins model as close as possible.

AC - Get to the point, Dillon. Lets wrap this thing up now. (Clarko turns to Hodgey) - Hodgey, you want to stay here don't you !? (LH - 'Yeah, of course I do, love the place') OK, then whats the problem ? You want 4 years not 3, is that right !? (Luke looks out the window over Waverley Park)
LH : 'Clarko...for my wife & kid I want to secure my future here'
AC - Alright, then, it seems the increase in money we agreed with Connors is OK, the only sticking point is the term ?
LH - Yeah !
AC - For f$#k sake, do you know how successful we will be over the next 5 years (now standing)...youngest list in the AFL...arguably the best facilities in the AFL.... and we are arguing over 12 f#%king months !!!
JK - OK, Alastair, you've made your point !
AC - The f#$k I have, Jeff ! Hodgey, look at all these Premiership cups (walking along pointing to all 10 cups) for f&%k sake !!! I was at the Saints, they have ONE (now Clarko is raising his voice) ; I was at Port, they only have ONE (getting louder) and here I am at Hawthorn who have f#$king TEN !!! (almost yelling, veins bulging out his neck) When I leave here, I want to see at least FIFTEEN of these !!!!!!! How many more do you want to be apart of Luke !!?? (Eyeballing Hodgey, only inches from his face) You are a soldier, one of many here, but you are one of my best f#$king soldiers, and I'll be f#%ked if we will let you walk out that door & go to some piss ant club !!!
(Clarko walks over to the window & stares down on the Waverley grass - has dropped his voice to almost a whisper)
AC - Hodgey, whats it going to be ?
JK - (Chirps up) Luke, what Alastair is trying to say is we, as a club would like you to stay, but our position on long term contracts is not negotiable. We hope you and Paul sort out your contract in the next 48 hours because we need to move on signing other players.
TD - I can have the contracts drawn up by morning !?
(AC, now sitting)
AC - Hodgey, whats the problem ? (almost pleading)
LH - Nothun....just that...I thought...well...
AC - What !?
LH - The Captaincy....
AC - Shit, is this what this is all about ! Bloody hell, Hodgey, why didn't you say !? Listen, if it was upto me, you'd be Captain,Vice & Deputy, but its not. The board has to ratify it & last time chose Mitch over you in a split decision. We can revisit the captaincy at seasons end with the leadership group, and I will personally take it to the board !
LH - Thanks, Clarko ! (Clarko & Hodgey shake hands)
JK - Gentlemen if that is all, I need to go to another board meeting. Thank you for your time. And, Luke, the Hawthorn football club will always be your home.
(They all stand to leave... as Clarko reaches the door, he turns and says to Hodgey...'Ring Connors,now and ring me back!! ...with a smirk on his face Clarko says 'You bastard...you were never leaving, were you ?' Hodgey starts to chuckle & says 'Talk to you soon, Clarko')

Country boy from Colac....

Do you honestly think the captaincy or an extra year is a real sticking point.

The lad hasn't got round to signing because there's some stuff to look after.

Four games of footy to win, training sessions, team meetings, nappies to change....

She'll be right mate.

Bookmark it.

Special Meeting 5th August in the board room at Waverley Park.
In attendance ; Luke Hodge (LH) ; Alastair Clarkson (AC) ; Terry Dillon (TD) & Jeff Kennett (JK)

JK - Gentlemen...thanks for your time. You all realise why we are here. Robbo's left us in the shitter (AC - 'You're not f#$king kidding mate') and we need to sort out Hodgeys' contract.
Terry, can you bring us upto speed with the finances & TTP !

TD - Thanks, Jeff. As some of us know , we currently sit at payments totalling 94.3% of the salary cap, which leaves us with room to negotiate with our star players, like Luke. But we have to be careful, long term, not to over commit the club too much & stick to Pelchins model as close as possible.

AC - Get to the point, Dillon. Lets wrap this thing up now. (Clarko turns to Hodgey) - Hodgey, you want to stay here don't you !? (LH - 'Yeah, of course I do, love the place') OK, then whats the problem ? You want 4 years not 3, is that right !? (Luke looks out the window over Waverley Park)
LH : 'Clarko...for my wife & kid I want to secure my future here'
AC - Alright, then, it seems the increase in money we agreed with Connors is OK, the only sticking point is the term ?
LH - Yeah !
AC - For f$#k sake, do you know how successful we will be over the next 5 years (now standing)...youngest list in the AFL...arguably the best facilities in the AFL.... and we are arguing over 12 f#%king months !!!
JK - OK, Alastair, you've made your point !
AC - The f#$k I have, Jeff ! Hodgey, look at all these Premiership cups (walking along pointing to all 10 cups) for f&%k sake !!! I was at the Saints, they have ONE (now Clarko is raising his voice) ; I was at Port, they only have ONE (getting louder) and here I am at Hawthorn who have f#$king TEN !!! (almost yelling, veins bulging out his neck) When I leave here, I want to see at least FIFTEEN of these !!!!!!! How many more do you want to be apart of Luke !!?? (Eyeballing Hodgey, only inches from his face) You are a soldier, one of many here, but you are one of my best f#$king soldiers, and I'll be f#%ked if we will let you walk out that door & go to some piss ant club !!!
(Clarko walks over to the window & stares down on the Waverley grass - has dropped his voice to almost a whisper)
AC - Hodgey, whats it going to be ?
JK - (Chirps up) Luke, what Alastair is trying to say is we, as a club would like you to stay, but our position on long term contracts is not negotiable. We hope you and Paul sort out your contract in the next 48 hours because we need to move on signing other players.
TD - I can have the contracts drawn up by morning !?
(AC, now sitting)
AC - Hodgey, whats the problem ? (almost pleading)
LH - Nothun....just that...I thought...well...
AC - What !?
LH - The Captaincy....
AC - Shit, is this what this is all about ! Bloody hell, Hodgey, why didn't you say !? Listen, if it was upto me, you'd be Captain,Vice & Deputy, but its not. The board has to ratify it & last time chose Mitch over you in a split decision. We can revisit the captaincy at seasons end with the leadership group, and I will personally take it to the board !
LH - Thanks, Clarko ! (Clarko & Hodgey shake hands)
JK - Gentlemen if that is all, I need to go to another board meeting. Thank you for your time. And, Luke, the Hawthorn football club will always be your home.
(They all stand to leave... as Clarko reaches the door, he turns and says to Hodgey...'Ring Connors,now and ring me back!! ...with a smirk on his face Clarko says 'You bastard...you were never leaving, were you ?' Hodgey starts to chuckle & says 'Talk to you soon, Clarko')

What does this mean?

Luke hodge - contract negotiations