Opinion Lynch or Dawes

Lynch or Dawes

Dawes 100%, 24 year old against a 30 year old (will be 30 in January). For those of you questioning shopping himself, well he had a meeting with Bucks and obviously wasn't given any assurances about playing, so what would you do? Can see little upside in Lynch, not even in WC best 22 for final game.
Oh FFS! Do you think that Bucks & Co were not aware that he'd be turning 30 in January? Or is it just you privilege to that information? And are you saying Bucks is now pushing Dawes out at the risk of a 30 yr old breaking down with injury, oh C'MON!!!

Many posters have refused to vote for either player, believing it is not a contest between the two players. How many threads do we need on Dawes? I have never criticised TD but I do now. Starting up two threads on Dawes at much the same time is ridiculous. There are other threads that also deal with Dawes. I am sick of repeating comments that I am sure I've made elsewhere.

Perhaps TD could apply for a job at the Herald Sun?

The ideal option would have us retaining both. Paine's growth in the VFL would ensure that both are under pressure to retain their spots in the team and 2014 would have the likes of Ceglar also pushing for best 22 selection.

Gaining Lynch and losing Dawes essentially puts us in the same position as this year re: structure. What if Lynch duds it up as Ruck/Forward? Paine can't ruck. If we had both, we simply roll Dawes back as Leigh Brown 2.0 and bring in Paine. It gives us flexibility and puts the players on notice.

I'm honestly shocked that Dawes would shop himself around because of the Q Stick, you'd think that it gives the bloke his best chance to retain a best 22 spot because he can go back to his natural game. The only reason I can see it happening is because Buckley is looking to change the structure to be more mobile (Goldsack/Caff, maybe Paine) or if the Club is actually after someone like Giles or Tippett. Would be relatively pleased with Giles, but do not want Tippett.

Want Dawes to stay and I think he can turn it around to be a real contributor but realistically speaking if we get a first round pick for him, the Club ought to go for it.

Ceglar and Gault could play Forward and Ruck

If Dawes Leaves i still believe we are in better shape for the next 2 seasons with Lynch playing his role.
Beyond that i'm not so sure.

In terms of ruck work, i would say its break even.

As a forward, Lynch offers alot more, better mark, stronger body and a much better kick.

I still think the best case scenario is a forward line with Cloke, Dawes and Lynch.
But if its just Lynch and Cloke, i think we are 20% better off than this season.

Dawes is neither soft nor slow. In fact he has decent mobility for a big man. But he is a klutz, I will pay that, although you cant spell the word.
Replying to finger is like taking notice of your 6 year old nephew who insists on putting his face in front of the TV during the replay. It's frustrating as hell to ignore him but much worse if you react and give him delusions of relevance.

Well looks like Dawes wants out because of us Signing Lynch.

So it got me thinking if you would want 1 of Them, Which one and Why?

Not sure who I would choose, Lynch has done more and played some great games but is 29 so you would think he would have 4 seasons left at the Max. While Dawes is younger at 24 but not done heaps Numbers wise but great team Player

Disclaimer:

I voted for Lynch so I can just see the Results in Poll

Lynch obviously.

Dawes is a clumbsy chest mark dropping oath.

Seriously dumb thread.
I'm supposed to pick between a Premiership player who is 24 yold and a 30yold WC reject, recruited to assist the first choice to regain form and increase the potency of the team.

So this poll is a zero sum game - there is ZERO advantage to CFC in either choice ALONE.

Dawes cannot possibly play as bad in 2013.
To think that some people here were putting Beams on the trade table last yr, because he had an equally bad yr in 2011.
How are all those posters looking now?
Talent is permanent form is temporary as the saying proves once again.

Dawes is neither soft nor slow. In fact he has decent mobility for a big man. But he is a klutz, I will pay that, although you cant spell the word.
I'm guessing you missed how often opposition defenders destroyed Dawes once the ball hit the ground. It was pretty much game over once that happened for the entire season, unless there was another Collingwood player in the vicinity to attempt to provide a ground level contest. For a bloke standing 193cm, he is slow with a pretty bad turning circle. I've never seen him beat anyone in a footrace on equal footing.

As far as the OP goes, both are distinctly average players. Lynch is just a little less shit than Dawes. Ultimately with either player in your team you would be looking pretty hard to draft and develop a replacement. Also Lynch might be 30, but Dawes at his current rate of regression will be out of footy in 2 or 3 years.

Ground level dexterity and speed is not his responsibility. Nor will it be that of Lynch.

His job is to mark and kick, something he hasnt been doing either but has done in the past. I hope we keep him, but failing that I hope that if he does change clubs that we replace him wisely.
In the current day and age of football it is. KPP's need to be more athletic than ever, and blokes who are out of the contest once the ball hits the ground will become as archaic as the full time second ruckman. And that's not even mentioning the damning fact that he is a KPF that cannot take an overhead mark. I just don't see how he's going to stay in the game very long.

Seriously dumb thread.
I'm supposed to pick between a Premiership player who is 24 yold and a 30yold WC reject, recruited to assist the first choice to regain form and increase the potency of the team.

So this poll is a zero sum game - there is ZERO advantage to CFC in either choice ALONE.

Dawes cannot possibly play as bad in 2013.
To think that some people here were putting Beams on the trade table last yr, because he had an equally bad yr in 2011.
How are all those posters looking now?
Talent is permanent form is temporary as the saying proves once again.

WC offered him a deal.

Also a premiership player.

I think you will find that Dawes got 20 possessions against WC and played a reasonable game. Lynch is 29 and well past his best. He is only a short term fix after which we will miss Dawes if he goes elsewhere.
Dawes had 7 possessions in the West Coast final. Lynch had 9 and played one less quarter.

Career Statistics comparison. (I'm a Dawes fan, but to my biased eye there is not much difference.)

Player Statistics Comparison

Chris Dawes Name Quinten Lynch
Collingwood Magpies Team West Coast Eagles
Forward Position Forward
71 Career Games 209
Sandringham Origin West Perth
May 16, 1988 Date of Birth January 24, 1983
24yr 4mth Age 29yr 8mth
193cm Height 192cm
105kg Weight 103kg
2006 National Draft Last Drafted In 2001 Rookie Draft
Round 2, Pick #28 Last Draft Position Round 2, Pick #19
Collingwood Magpies Last Drafted By West Coast Eagles
Career Stats for Season Career
71 Games 209
6.6 Kicks Per Game 10.0
5.8 Handballs Per Game 4.3
12.5 Disposals Per Game 14.4
4.9 Marks Per Game 5.4
1.2 Goals Per Game 1.3
0.8 Behinds Per Game 1.0
2.6 Tackles Per Game 1.4
1.7 Hitouts Per Game 2.0
1.1 Frees For Per Game 0.8
0.7 Frees Against Per Game 0.9

The issue here is that somehow this thread is supposed to suggest that BUCKS has chosen LYNCH over DAWES and that we should therefore adjudicate on this decision.
Bucks has plans to use both players to make the team more effective.

He would have made Dawes trade bait if he wanted to - that fact that DAWES has offered himself as trade bait is his problem.

The issue here is that somehow this thread is supposed to suggest that BUCKS has chosen LYNCH over DAWES and that we should therefore adjudicate on this decision.
Bucks has plans to use both players to make the team more effective.

He would have made Dawes trade bait if he wanted to - that fact that DAWES has offered himself as trade bait is his problem.
So you know for a FACT, do you, that Dawes is solely responsible for offering himself up to other clubs? You know for a fact that Buckley told him that he is a wanted player and there will be room for both him and Lynch? And I guess that if you accept these 'facts', then it is OK to call Dawes a sook, as others have done. The problem is that you and others were not included in the conversation between Bucks and Dawes and are only guessing the contents of the discussion.

We are all only guessing...........hope he stays.
Although we might find out only if he leaves.

We are all only guessing...........hope he stays.
Although we might find out only if he leaves.
Hahaha! I actually have a smile on my face after seeing your username. I just read what Dawes' manager said, that Dawes was a 'little bit angry' and that he had felt his position was threatened. There still exists no proof that Dawes initiated offering him up for trade.

:p:)

Opinion Lynch or Dawes