Team Mgmt. Makeup of our team II - Strengths & deficiencies, player development

Biggest issue that people need to realise (imo) is that when you have such a horrific run at the top end of the draft, it hurts you badly for many years to come.

Yes you can pull a few wins in from later picks, trades etc, but all teams need that core of elite talent from the draft. The other methods are always more hit and miss.

Langford
Laverde
Parish
Francis
McGrath
Cox
Perkins
Reid
Hobbs
Tsatas

That there is our Top 20 picks in a decade of drafts.

It is horrific. Absolutely horrific.

Parish had one big year.

Langford has come on but it took the club literally 8 years to realise that is he a forward.

A couple of others have time, but have started terribly.

There’s no coming back from it. We have completely blown elite draft picks and elite talent development for a decade.

We have years at the bottom to come.

The thing many dont seem to acknowledge either is that all our "top end" draft picks haven't been top end. Apart from mr private school boy and back pocket specialist Andrew McGrath, we have never bothered to reach into the bottom reaches of the draft where the genuinely elite talent is.

We have done ourselves no favours but we have never bothered to fully bottom out.I would be letting Draper go for Free Agency compensation, even if it was Band 2 (mid first round) and we take 5 picks inside 30 this year.

Tassie concessions get announced later this season

No to Harley Reid

Draft kids who can kick

Trade anyone not hanging around like McGrath, Parish, Redman for more picks

Let Draper go to the Crows

Biggest issue that people need to realise (imo) is that when you have such a horrific run at the top end of the draft, it hurts you badly for many years to come.

Yes you can pull a few wins in from later picks, trades etc, but all teams need that core of elite talent from the draft. The other methods are always more hit and miss.

Langford
Laverde
Parish
Francis
McGrath
Cox
Perkins
Reid
Hobbs
Tsatas

Parish had one big year.

Langford has come on but it took the club literally 8 years to realise that is he a forward.

There’s no coming back from it. We have completely blown elite draft picks and elite talent development for a decade.

This post shows the crux of the on-field issue I reckon. We're going to feel the pain of the Dodoro legacy for a while yet.
Brad knows it. He's keen to go to the draft.

Nick Bryan and Sam Draper are a main reason I'll watch this season. Bryan's success or otherwise could well determine whether we're confident enough to let Draper go, and we need Draper to play his best season whether he's staying or going.

Three first round picks and two second rounders would be powerful, plus the capacity to reach for futures if necessary. The possibility of spending two firsts on Reid and still having two top ten picks is real.

Tassie concessions get announced later this season

No to Harley Reid

Draft kids who are pure mids

Trade anyone not hanging around like McGrath, Parish, Redman for more picks

Let Draper go to the Crows
Nope. One of the biggest issues on our list is the fact that Parish, Tsatas, Hobbs, Shiel, Setterfield, Durham* and Duursma (wing) have all struggled to impact away from the midfield. The only midfielders who have shown they can are Caldwell, Merrett, Martin and Jones, and the latter two are wingers.

No more one dimensional midfielders who can't impact elsewhere.

*Durham can play multiple roles within the midfield but struggles outside of it

Langford
Laverde
Parish
Francis
McGrath
Cox
Perkins
Reid
Hobbs
Tsatas

Parish had one big year.

You’re right it’s looking pretty grim. There was a time when Lav and Langers looked good value, McGrath was pretty good, and at least 2 of Cox, Reid and Perk were going to kick on… but that’s all looking unlikely now.
I’ve got big concerns on Hobbs, he’s just not the modern day player. Tsatas I think will make it.

In that list we have completely ignored the trend of drafting hard running quick skillful players that lend themselves to fast transition style footy. Total miss from the recruitment team imo.

Honestly if we didn’t luck out and hit gold with Martin, Durham and (fml Dambrosio) this list would be appallingly bad.

Langford
Laverde
Parish
Francis
McGrath
Cox
Perkins
Reid
Hobbs
Tsatas

Parish had one big year.

It can turn quickly if you hit on 2-3 good drafts in a ~ 5 year window. Which is where we've largely struggled, we might have one good draft but then not hit again for a couple of years.

2012: Daniher
2013: Merrett, Fantasia
2014: Langford, Laverde, McKenna
2015: Parish, Redman, McDonald-Tipungwuti
2016: McGrath, Ridley, Draper

That's 12 genuine best-22 level players, of which a number are AA's or AA Squad. Daniher, Fantasia, McKenna, and AMT were all lost in their primes for various reasons, and at their best were pretty damn good.

vs Brisbane (after the go-home 5 or whatever it was and they rebuilt)

2014: Andrews
2015: Hipwood
2016: McCluggage, Berry, McInerney
2017: Rayner, Bailey, Starcevich, Payne
2018: Answerth

10 best-22 players (Coleman was 2019)

If Rosa can pluck half a dozen good AFL players (and an elite one or two) over the next 3 drafts, it can turn fast. Merrett is more likely to be a past his prime veteran like a Crawford was at the Hawks, or Zorko at Brisbane, if he wins a Premiership IMO.

The positive with our list right now is we have 17 players that are out of contract this year so we will get some natural turnover as be able to shed some dead wood;-

At least 6 of these 8 with no contract for 2026 or beyond will be gone you'd think;-

Goldy
Setters
Davey
Menzie
Prior
Vigo
Shiel
Lav

Also out of contract another 9 players who have more upside/currency but we will likely lose a couple off this list also;-

SEH
Day-Wicks
Nguyen
Edwards
Jones
Hobbs
Reid
Bryan
Draper

So at a minimum 8 players on our current list will be gone - probably more...!! The point is we are POISED at the end of this year to do a big list cleanout, and we have draft capital + cash to support positive player acquisitions moving forward into 2026 which should significantly improve our list

This just popped up in my newsfeed;

Their “red wing” got me thinking about the “fat side role” that David Zaharakis was playing in his last couple of seasons, and then we put a bunch of kids through it after that, Perkins being the main one I can recall off hand. Probably something we inherited from West Coast via Worsfold I think.

Not sure if we still do it but now I’m gonna have to look for it again. The whipping boy job that no one is selfless enough to want unless they’re desperate to have a spot on game day regardless of what the role is.

It can turn quickly if you hit on 2-3 good drafts in a ~ 5 year window. Which is where we've largely struggled, we might have one good draft but then not hit again for a couple of years.

2012: Daniher
2013: Merrett, Fantasia
2014: Langford, Laverde, McKenna
2015: Parish, Redman, McDonald-Tipungwuti
2016: McGrath, Ridley, Draper

That's 12 genuine best-22 level players, of which a number are AA's or AA Squad. Daniher, Fantasia, McKenna, and AMT were all lost in their primes for various reasons, and at their best were pretty damn good.

vs Brisbane (after the go-home 5 or whatever it was and they rebuilt)

2014: Andrews
2015: Hipwood
2016: McCluggage, Berry, McInerney
2017: Rayner, Bailey, Starcevich, Payne
2018: Answerth

10 best-22 players (Coleman was 2019)

If Rosa can pluck half a dozen good AFL players (and an elite one or two) over the next 3 drafts, it can turn fast. Merrett is more likely to be a past his prime veteran like a Crawford was at the Hawks, or Zorko at Brisbane, if he wins a Premiership IMO.
Glad someone mentioned hitting a few drafts within a window. it is one thing I have previously mentioned in draft discussions. Nearly all the sides that have progressed to win premierships have had a sweet spot in their drafting where they have nailed 3 or 4 players in multiple drafts in a smallish window.

I know I bang on about this a lot, but I am very envious of how Ross Lyon has gone about his time at StKilda and building that list, specifically his prioritisation of running power:

Day 1, he says we are a team of runners.

Since then they have drafted: Wilson, Phillipou, Wang-Mil, Owens, Windhager, Travaglia, Hastie, Garcia and are right into Bergman.
All of them are tall athletic types who are either 6min 2krs or very athletic. They also added Collard and Henry for even more pace.

They are going to explode, and going after Bergman is right in their wheelhouse.

They are building a point of difference.
Cross-quoting from the Non-Essendon Thread coz it makes more sense here.

I was thinking about how some clubs have list strategies with a sort of specific focus over a period of a few years, and the other day I ended up going through all the old draft profiles for each player on our list to see if there was any rhyme or reason to it. Was hoping to post something more presentable out of it besides a big ass table, but I did throw the combined strengths and weaknesses of our players into a couple of word clouds.

It's notable that phrases like 'run and carry' are interpreted by the word cloud site I used as being three separate words. So like 'forward IQ', 'forward positioning' would count as forward x2, IQ x1, positioning x1.

Anyone want to guess which word cloud is strengths and which one is weaknesses?

Screenshot 2025-03-29 at 17.23.21.png Screenshot 2025-03-29 at 17.23.41.png

Unless dododo wrote the draft profiles I’m gonna guess the one with kicking and defense is the weaknesses
Vast majority are from draft central/RMC, a couple of the rookies/late picks are from scouting notes rather than summary profiles. The oldest players on the list pre-date draft central, and Shiel Wass drafted at 17 so there isn’t any profiles about him, his was a combination of Emma Quayle for the age and the gws website (which doesn’t comment on weaknesses). Goldstein I had to get from a quote from the herald sun :drunk: Basically best available information with a preference for independent third parties. I have the urls saved in the table 😛 the players we didn’t actually draft first up may have developed somewhat by the time we did get them, but probably not much.

Cross-quoting from the Non-Essendon Thread coz it makes more sense here.

I was thinking about how some clubs have list strategies with a sort of specific focus over a period of a few years, and the other day I ended up going through all the old draft profiles for each player on our list to see if there was any rhyme or reason to it. Was hoping to post something more presentable out of it besides a big ass table, but I did throw the combined strengths and weaknesses of our players into a couple of word clouds.

It's notable that phrases like 'run and carry' are interpreted by the word cloud site I used as being three separate words. So like 'forward IQ', 'forward positioning' would count as forward x2, IQ x1, positioning x1.

Anyone want to guess which word cloud is strengths and which one is weaknesses?

View attachment 2267692View attachment 2267693
Jeez it’s hard to say but I’d probably guess the bottom one with marking is the strength and kicking and consistency the weakness.

Yep. Various aspects of kicking (efficiency, on the run, field), strength/body development and composure are the areas for improvement for a lot of them, along with tackling, accountability, defensive efforts and two-way running, which are a bunch of different ways to say more or less the same thing.

The thing is, if composure is an issue in U18s, why would you be any less of a headless chook in a professional context against grown adults? I get someone being composed at U18s and being a bit off-balance until they get used to the level, but if they never had composure in the first place?

Gotta remember there's some survivorship bias here. There's plenty of other blokes we drafted that had other traits and didn't stay on the list for whatever reason. So using it to judge our previous drafting is a messy business, but it does show where the gaps are.

No.PlayerDraft EligibleAge @ 1/1/25Position (Draft)Strengths (Draft)Improvements (Draft)URL
17Todd Goldstein200636.5RuckRuckwork, skills, scoreboard impact
9Dylan Shiel201131.8MidfielderExplosive speed, Linebreaking, Run and carry, Professionalismhttps://www.gwsgiants.com.au/players/297/Dylan-Shiel#playerbio
7Zach Merrett201329.2Outside Midfielder/Small ForwardClassy ball user, Intelligent playmaker, Penetrating short kick, Ballwinning, Pressure, Tackling, Excellent vision, Quick, Strong coreKicking efficiency, Accountability, Endurance, Inside gamehttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/2013/08/25/2013-draft-profile-zachary-merrett/
20Peter Wright201428.3Key forward/RuckGoal kicking, Marking, MovementTackling, Field kicking, Consistencyhttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/2014/08/03/2014-draft-profile-peter-wright/
4Kyle Langford201428.1UtilityCreative, Speed, Acceleration, Vertical leap, Intercept marking, Attack on the ball, TacklingImpact, Kicking efficiency, Skinny, Long neckhttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/2014/10/07/luke-mcalisters-phantom-draft/
15Jayden Laverde201428.7UtilityAthleticism, Versatility, Forward IQ, Strength, Kicking, Composed in trafficAccumulation, Inside game, Decisions under pressurehttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/2014/10/07/luke-mcalisters-phantom-draft/
3Darcy Parish201527.4Balanced MidfielderClassy, Disposal, Kicking, Workrate, Decision making, Impact, Skills, Composure, QuickSize, defensive efforts, Scoreboard impacthttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/2015/10/06/2015-draft-profile-darcy-parish/
11Jade Gresham201527.4Balanced MidfielderIntelligence, Leadership, Accumulator, Endurance, Attack on the ballSpeed, Impact, Conservative kickinghttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/2015/06/29/2015-draft-profile-jade-gresham/
32Ben McKay201527.0Key defender/forwardContested marking, Strength, Agility, VersatilityOffensive game, Kicking, Positioning, Disposal efficiencyhttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/2015/10/10/2015-draft-profile-ben-mckay/
27Mason Redman201527.3Medium forward/Inside midfielderFooty IQ, Composure, Positioning, Poise, Running patterns, Overhead markingHeight (fifth forward @ 186cm)https://central.rookieme.com/afl/2015/11/24/luke-mcalisters-phantom-draft-2/
35Matt Guelfi201527.4UtilityHigh pressure
12Will Setterfield201626.9Inside MidfielderContested work, Hands in close, Attack on the ball, Tackling, VersatilityConsistency, DurabilityScouting notes + https://central.rookieme.com/afl/2016/11/14/matt-balmers-2016-final-afl-draft-power-rankings-part-2/
14Jordan Ridley201626.2Rebound DefComposure, Marking, Rebounding, Good decisions, VersatilityUpper body development (strong lower body)https://central.rookieme.com/afl/2016/11/14/matt-balmers-2016-final-afl-draft-power-rankings-part-2/
2Sam Draper201626.3Ruck/Tall ForwardMobilityhttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/2016/11/20/afl-national-rookie-drafts-review/
1Andrew McGrath201626.5Small Defender/Inside MidfielderAthleticism, Agility, Speed, Ball-winning, Leadership, Shutdown defenceKickinghttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/2016/10/03/matt-balmers-october-power-rankings/
45Thomas Edwards201824.6ForwardLeading patterns, Overhead marking, Skills, Decision-makinghttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/20...wafl-colts-south-fremantle-vs-swan-districts/
6Jye Caldwell201824.3MidfielderAcceleration, Agility, Goal sense, Game smarts, Tackling, LeadershipDurability, Kicking consistencyhttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/jye-caldwell/
28Xavier Duursma201824.5MidfielderFlexibility, All round athleticism, Inside/outside ability, Marking relevance for size, Courage, Leadership, Desperate defensively, Minimal flawsKicking consistency, Body developmenthttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/xavier-duursma/
22Sam Durham201923.5Balanced MidfielderKicking, Vertical leap, Athleticism, Spoiling, UpsideStrength, Accumulation, Scoreboard Impacthttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/samuel-durham/
41Saad El-Hawli201923.6DefenderSpeed, X-Factor, Versatility, Accumulation, Scoreboard Impacthttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/2024/05/29/profiled-2024-afl-mid-season-draftees/
25Jaxon Prior201923.6Half-BackAthleticism, Rebounding, Reading the play, Foot skills, Vertical leapPhysicality, Contested work, Defensive pressurehttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/jaxon-prior/
23Harrison Jones201923.9Key ForwardMarking, Leap, Versatility, Defensive Ability, Endurance, SpeedConsistency, Strengthhttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/harrison-jones/
24Nick Bryan201923.2RuckRuck work, Vertical leap, Speed, Upside, SkillConsistency, Scoreboard impact, Contested markinghttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/nick-bryan/
37Nic Martin201923.7Tall UtilityBalanced, Scoreboard impact, Agility, SizeDefensive pressure, Accumulationhttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/nicholas-martin/
16Archie Perkins202022.8Inside Midfielder/ForwardAthleticism, Explosiveness/power, Overhead marking, Scoreboard impact, Attacking instinct, UpsideFinishing consistency, Midfield accumulationhttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/archie-perkins/
31Zach Reid202022.8Key Position Defender / UtilityVertical leap, Skills, Intercept marking, Upside, Aerial ability, Reading of the playStrength, Raw versatilityhttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/zach-reid/
29Jye Menzie202022.2Small ForwardGoal sense, X-factor, Footy IQ, Forward craft, Upside, Scoreboard impactConsistency, Versatility, Off-ball impacthttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/jye-menzie/
13Nik Cox202023.0Tall UtilityOverhead marking, Dual-sidedness, Kick efficiency, Clean hands, Endurance, VersatilityRaw, Strength/bodyworkhttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/nikolas-cox/
8Ben Hobbs202121.3Inside MidfielderContested work, Clean hands, Accumulation, Consistency, Tackling, ClearancesOutside game, Kickinghttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/ben-hobbs/
18Lewis Hayes202220.0Key DefenderAerial ability, Decision making, Defensive versatility, Intercept marking, Kick efficiency, MobilityContested work, Strengthhttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/lewis-hayes/
5Elijah Tsatas202220.2MidfielderSpeed, Agility, Vision, Clean Hands, Consistency, ProductionStrength, Defensive pressurehttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/elijah-tsatas/
33Alwyn Davey Jnr202220.8Small ForwardSpeed, Agility, Vision, Balance, Tackling, Clean HandsEndurance, Productionhttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/alwyn-davey/
21Archie Roberts202319.1DefenderIntercept game, Kicking, Reading the play, Rebounding, Run-and-carry, Speed-endurance mixDefensive craft, Strengthhttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/archie-roberts/
34Luamon Lual202319.8DefenderAthleticism, Competitiveness, Reading the play, Rebounding, Run-and-carryDisposal consistency, Strengthhttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/luamon-lual/
39Vigo Visentini202319.3RuckCompetitiveness, Physicality, Rate of development, Ruck craft, Work rateComposure, Versatilityhttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/vigo-visentini/
30Nate Caddy202319.5Tall ForwardAerial ability, Overhead marking, Reach, Speed, Scoreboard impact, UpsideGround balls, In-between sizehttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/nate-caddy/
36Angus Clarke202418.2Defender-ForwardKicking, Marking, Rate of improvement, Rebounding, VersatilityExposure, Rawnesshttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/angus-clarke/
38Rhys Unwin202418.2Forward-MidfielderAgility, Defensive pressure, Evasiveness, Goal sense, Smarts, SpeedFinishing, Kickinghttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/rhys-unwin/
44Archer Day-Wicks202418.6Forward-MidfielderAerial ability, Competitiveness, Kicking, Overhead marking, Scoreboard impact, VersatilityComposure, consistencyhttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/archer-day-wicks/
40Zak Johnson202418.0MidfielderFooty IQ, Kicking, Speed, VersatilityContested game, Defensive Actshttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/zak-johnson/
19Kayle Gerreyn202418.6Ruck ForwardAgility, Contested marking, Kick penetration, Physicality, Production, Ruck craftDecision making, Endurancehttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/kayle-gerreyn/
42Jayden Nguyen202418.4Small DefenderCompetitiveness, Dare, Versatility, SpeedComposure, Kicking on the runhttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/jayden-nguyen/
10Isaac Kako202418.8Small ForwardAgility, Creativity, Ground balls, Speed, Vision, X-FactorComposure, Defensive outputhttps://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/isaac-kako/

Team Mgmt. Makeup of our team II - Strengths & deficiencies, player development