Mallee Football League

bonga might be smart but what chance has he got of getting a flag if his got the same list as last season, the hopetoun boys purely suck! good luck on winning more then 3 games next season.....

Wrong again champ! you're really struggling lately arent you? What you obviously arent thinking about is that its NOVEMBER, 6 months to do recruiting, it is quite obvious that hopetoun aren't going to be out to win a flag, they havent got the players, simple as that. I think Brian was appointed to bring through the young kids. Without money there's not a lot any clubs can do, i think the general standard of the league to drop next year.

bonga might be smart but what chance has he got of getting a flag if his got the same list as last season, the hopetoun boys purely suck! good luck on winning more then 3 games next season.....

Just worry about urselves mate at least we are making the effort of putting a good side on the park. I havent heard of any other clubs in the league recruiting anyone yet.

Who actually plays for Hopetoun these days anyway. Is Fat Ar$e still around. Dion? Matt Wellington? And who coached last year?

Chris Vorwerk has coached them for the last couple of years. Fat arse was probably their best player this year. They have a lot of talented juniors but not enough bigger, older blokes....

Who actually plays for Hopetoun these days anyway. Is Fat Ar$e still around. Dion? Matt Wellington? And who coached last year?

Fat Arse is still playing. Dion hasnt played for years and matt wellington is playing with labrador in queensland. better players include 3 players from warrnambool, vorvek, luke puckle, simon cook but had a very lean year, flogged them every time we played them but they have good youngsters coming through

Wrong again champ! you're really struggling lately arent you? What you obviously arent thinking about is that its NOVEMBER, 6 months to do recruiting, it is quite obvious that hopetoun aren't going to be out to win a flag, they havent got the players, simple as that. I think Brian was appointed to bring through the young kids. Without money there's not a lot any clubs can do, i think the general standard of the league to drop next year.

you're dead right mate. Bonga is going to make sure the young kids this year are looked after properly.
Obviously this d i c k head baggin hopetoun is from Ouyen (premiers) or he hasnt got much to show from last season either.

all the years i've been going to Hopetoun when Brim use to Play Hopetoun always were a great side they use to have very Strong under 16's side
surly Hopetoun will be up there in 2007 if they get some decent Players
if they keep their under 16's players at the club probly like all others they loose them to Melbourne or where ever they get work

Hopetoun have struggled for a little while now. Seem to have some good players but your only as good as your bottom 6... Good juniors come through but seem to leave each time. Will be interesting to see if they do some good recruiting, havent heard anything yet.

HAS THERE BEEN ANY RECRUITING DONE YET AT ANY TEAM??? ANY DEPARTURES???

Hopetoun has never really been big on recruiting. Just paying for a coach and hoping to entice a few former players back home for a few expenses. While teams were paying big $ to get players in the 90s, Hopetoun remained mediocre because they/it/we relied on the loyalty of players coming home so never got back to being the power we were in the 80s. I doubt Bonga will be taking any money at all to be honest. He's great with kids and has probably been hired to keep a few of them around and perhaps get a few travelling back. I hope Hopetoun, and the whole league, to be honset, can return to the strength it enjoyed as the Souther Mallee in the 80s.

Sorry to say Amos i dont think it will return to those glory days. If there is one criticism i have of hopetoun is that they dont try hard enough to secure players, especiaally ones that are thinking about leaving the club. They seem to be happy to sit back and wait when other country footy clubs are out spending big money. Their kids are great, no doubt, but there is no short term senior aspirations here. Hopetoun is an honest club and needs one good year, possibly spend some cash, and they will be back up with the best of them. qlynch out

All they need is to recruit 4 - 5 quality players. It's true that they have never spent money on recruiting. Bonga will definately do it for nothing the mans a legend, he will keep the kids there because they have so much respect for him. I think he's a great bloke and would be a great coach of a good side, but he may be a bit disappointed in how well they go next year...... They should have extra money up their sleave because of this but probably wont spend it.....

I'm sure his name probably helped a little with his selection, but the games i saw him play for the tigers this year were more than handy, he was probably best on in a few of them. I'm sure if you could have him in your side he would be in the first half a dozen picked each week.

Send him down to North Gippsland Leauge Im sure Glengarry would love this dog of a footballer

well i doubt he will be at sealake next year from what i've heard! Seems they have spent a bit too much money yet again

no need to get upset fellas, everyone is always loyal to there own club, but you've gotta agree hopetoun haven't really looked like pushing any of the top 3 teams for the last couple of years. thats all i'm saying. it might be harsh but you hopetoun guys would have to agree. good luck to them but it just seems funny that they never really do try and recruit alot of quality blokes. is leigh hutch going back to warrack?

I think Hopetoun are easily intimidated by the likes of beulah and woomelang. Pushed ouyen in one game this year which was positive but rarely able to go on with it and pull off a win. Hutchy is pretty comfortable in hopetoun... bought a house and seems as if hes not going anywhere. Lookout for leigh this year and he will be back to his best. also whoever said wakelin to woomelang next year must be horribly misinformed because he's still on the port adelaide list! qlynch out

Never acutally said that Wakelin was going to Woome, someone merely mentioned a connection and i elaborated with the only connection i knew of...

Also, to whoever said that they havent pushed the top 3 sides, in 2005 Hopetoun were comfortably the 3rd best side in the comp only problem was both Woome and Beulah embarrassed them throughout the year...

I think Ryan McCluggage and the other ouyen lads would have something to say about hopetoun being 2nd best in 2005, i was at that final in beulah and the Ouyen boys absolutely pantsed them, and walpy, sea lake and jeparit were hopeless, hopetoun doesn't go anywhere because whenever the pressure is on they try to get physical, and they are not overly intimidating.

Hopefully this new coach can persist with their young blokes and get a few back home.

I think Ryan McCluggage and the other ouyen lads would have something to say about hopetoun being 2nd best in 2005, i was at that final in beulah and the Ouyen boys absolutely pantsed them, and walpy, sea lake and jeparit were hopeless, hopetoun doesn't go anywhere because whenever the pressure is on they try to get physical, and they are not overly intimidating.
Hopefully this new coach can persist with their young blokes and get a few back home.

he didnt say they were 2nd best he said they were third....get it right

they had their measure through the year, finishing 3rd with 3 games ahead... but yeah the ladder doesnt mean a heap when it comes to finals, just ask Woomelang...

Mate, you obviously don't know Bonga! He will look after the young blokes untill he is blue in the face, not just that but he bleeds devil red and white! He has 2 be taken' on the job for the good of the club and good luck to him and the boys I hope the kick Beulah arse next season!

bonga will look after the kids but mate if he bleeds red and white.i 'll just say something i reckon he coached hopetoun's arch enemy beulah back in the 80's, maybe that was for the good of the club too.... everyones got a price!! you sound like your from hopetoun is jordy phelan travelling back again next season, his a goer.

Hopetoun were disappointing in 2005 compared to what they couldn have been. They beat Ouyen in all previous games and promised a lot but never delivered. I doubt Jordy will return to hopetoun next year. His last season was disappointing, although possibly injured. Word from the Hopetoun boys was that he only polled in 1 game at their club best and fairest which isnt a great effort from a bloke who won it last year. More disappointment for Hopetoun in missing out on lincoln wellington also.

i wood be suprised if jordy didnt play next year. word was that if clint burdett was coachin he would be playin for laharum. labelled by some as soft but i think he just needs some confidence and then he will be a great player.
2005 finals were disappointing for hopetoun but who cares? they are over arent they?

i wood be suprised if jordy didnt play next year. word was that if clint burdett was coachin he would be playin for laharum. labelled by some as soft but i think he just needs some confidence and then he will be a great player.
2005 finals were disappointing for hopetoun but who cares? they are over arent they?

Is that right? Clint Burdett disliked up there is he? marcus burdett rumoured for a return to hopetoun after a good year in the glenelg 2's.

Burdett is a joint coach at piminio so I doubt that he would be coaching hopetoun next year.. Bonga has been named coach anyway so I dont know how this would work...... Who are coaching the teams next year? Is there any truth in the rumour that sonny Lindsay will be coaching Ouyen? Belly is going to WA apparently..