Mallee Football League

Hard to compare players of diferent leagues naturally but one thing I will say is Sonny may well have kicked 150 or more goals if he played every game at full forward.

The games I saw him play he spent a fair percentage of his time playing more of a CHF then full forward. Even playing in the midfield and sometimes as a loose man in defence. Not real fair to throw up a number of goals and say beat that as an argument.

Was Dunstall better then Carey??????

Deano, Lukey, i know for a fact Sonny is waaaay better than Fatty Arentz, maybe better than big softy Carroll, but unfortunetly Sean Charles is ridiculous in country footy. The man looks like Googa in the unders back in the day. Sonny is the best NW country footballer right now...except Sean Charles...the man is awesome...CMFL fans you needa come and watch Sonny...likewise MFL fans, go watch Sean Charles...

Didn't realise Tooley-Manang played in your league? I swear it was only Manang back then. They are strong now because they recruit very well and have basically two towns to pick from. Also why would Sonny pass when he is only 30 metres out and handball when he is in the goal square...is he the full quid??? He gets paid to kick goals, he should kick them whenever, where ever he can
Manag's one were on the bottom for years in the MFL, and now they have Tooley $$$ sure they can afford to recruit...all they had for years were the Morriss and they Arentzes

he passes because he is a team player not like arentz,never seen arentz tackle in the forward line but sonny does and thats what won them the first final,good to see some passion in here too sticking up for good country footballers.Last thing on Sonny he does not have to pass off if he is within 70 metres he can kick it that far not sure about the other boys though.

What a bunch of w a n k e r s you blokes are. Sonny mite have 'only' kicked 100 but in the 3 games we played against them he would have given off 20 goals easily with handpasses in the goal square or a little chip when he is only 30 out. Arentz plays for himself and tries to kick them everytime, not once when we played them did he pass it off...
Y is manang - tooley so strong in your league? they were a good side in ours but your not as good as u all think u r....

I would doubt it that your premiership side would make it into the top 5 in the CMFL.. not being a smart arse but the depth in the CMFL is much much better than the MFL. If i was a good a kick as Arentz i would kick them every time i marked it.. the fact that he is better from 50m than most of his other team mates are from 30m is a good reason to shoot for goals. Also if players of the likes of Ryan O'Sullivan and Sam Lowerson from Tooley/Manang lined up in the MFL in 2007 they would change the league forever!! thats why they are good!

People who say Sonny isn't proven at higher leagues are talking crap. He kicked 124 goals 80 behinds in the Sunraysia league in 2000 i think for red cliffs when they won the flag. I think he can play. Has also cracked the 100 goal mark twice in the wimmera league with Dimmy and should of also at Nhill if he played at FF instead of CHF. The bloke can play.

Shaun Charles wouldn't be as good as sonny i think but in saying that its hard to compare as they are both totally different players. Arentz and carroll and sonny would be all on the same level although carroll would take the big graps like sonny i would think.

Would also agree that arentz is all for himself. Saw him play a few years ago at rainbow and i think he kicked 12 out of 15 hogged it and went off at his team mates when they didn't kick it to him. Have seen Luke Carr from horsham towel him up in inter league also.

Would also agree that arentz is all for himself. Saw him play a few years ago at rainbow and i think he kicked 12 out of 15 hogged it and went off at his team mates when they didn't kick it to him. Have seen Luke Carr from horsham towel him up in inter league also.[/quote]

Biggest load of sh*t I have read on Bigfooty. Seen Arentz play many times never once seen him go off at team mates. Certainly not a hog, he is in the team to kick goals thats what full forwards do you dumb ars*s. All a very, very good footballers in there own right and would play full forward in any team in Country Victoria.

Arentz has kicked more than 1500 goals and topped the ton on 7 occasions and 3 times kicked more than 150 goals in a season.

So Roaring Tiger, how many goals you kicked? *********ER !!

People who say Sonny isn't proven at higher leagues are talking crap. He kicked 124 goals 80 behinds in the Sunraysia league in 2000 i think for red cliffs when they won the flag. I think he can play. Has also cracked the 100 goal mark twice in the wimmera league with Dimmy and should of also at Nhill if he played at FF instead of CHF. The bloke can play.

Shaun Charles wouldn't be as good as sonny i think but in saying that its hard to compare as they are both totally different players. Arentz and carroll and sonny would be all on the same level although carroll would take the big graps like sonny i would think.

Would also agree that arentz is all for himself. Saw him play a few years ago at rainbow and i think he kicked 12 out of 15 hogged it and went off at his team mates when they didn't kick it to him. Have seen Luke Carr from horsham towel him up in inter league also.

Shaun Charles played AFL footy and was more than a handy player.. would still be there if he didnt have off field troubles.. Sonny Lindsay has not played AFL. Charles could kick 100 goals in a season easily if he was played in the forward line, he is smart, fast, strong etc

How quickly you clowns forget. How many goals did Jarrod Arentz Kick in your league. If Sonny tops 150 this year come and see me. Oh that reminds me, i think Jarrod my have kicked 13 or 15 in a GF one day didn't he. Send Sonny over to play in the CMFL and we will see how he stacks up against the blokes listed. Sean Charles, Brad Carroll, Jarrod, even Dwayne Holt would do him over i reckon
Mate you are an absolute F%$ck wit you seem to talk ******** on most leagues. The Mallee league last year only played 14 games when Arentz kicked his 150 the teams played 3 or 4 more games. Also Arentz kicked 13 in a losing GF. Sonny would of kicked his nine and given of another 10 and they would of won, "actually he did that last year". Give us a brake mate and go back and give everyone the ********s back on the Central Murray site. You R an absolute tosser mate.

Get your facts right mate, he kicked 13 in a winning grand final and 9 the next year in a losing one when he was coach. Played 16 H & A games and 2 finals when he kicked 151. That is an average of 8.4 a game. Is that not good enough for you ?

They are both freak footballers who play very differently, very hard to compare who is better.

Shaun Charles played AFL footy and was more than a handy player.. would still be there if he didnt have off field troubles.. Sonny Lindsay has not played AFL. Charles could kick 100 goals in a season easily if he was played in the forward line, he is smart, fast, strong etc
Sonny trained at Richmond when he was 19 but his off field manner left them no choice but to let him go,would have put bums on seats in the AFL if he could have stopped his partying off field.Just for the record i really don't like the guy that much not that i have meet him or anything but do appriciate his footy playing ability.do agree that all the footy players we are debating are great footballer just that all but Sonny have enough brains not to be freaks on the footy field like him.

Get f***cked crabbman, i just offered an opinion. So i might have been a goal out, sorry my memory isn't as sharp as yours. Sonny is a gun, but he is a big fish in a really small talent pool out there. Tell him to come into the CMFL and have a crack at it

yes figgy finally you have posted something i agree with. tell him to go to the central murray and he could be as good as phil bramley and the other bloke that played full forward at balranald the other year. both went to CMFL with huge wraps, some even saying they could get close to the 200 mark with the sort of midfields in the teams they played in but as always people who have their tyres blown up by ppl outside the league go there and fall flat on their face.

Can any one tell me wats happenin with ash and mick dedini? rumours hav it that there are coming back to W/L as they have a pretty handy side shapeing up.

Have heard that they have left to go to tyntinder... WL prob wont have a strong side as they have the last couple of years....

W/L are looking to have lost their best 7-8 players of the last two years... 2 Caldwells, 3 Dedinis, Casey Robins and Jay Bett... thats a massive hole in any team in any league

definately monger, these boys are going to be one of the teams which will struggle in the up coming season... would be hard to recruit to woomelang as well..

can add rodney hogan to that as well wanted the job of coaching but they gave it to his brother will not be playing there this year

I thought Nigel and Ash were going to Tyntynder with Nigel Assistant coach, it was in the Guardian and Mick is going to Boga

think your right they have all followed nige,pretty had on there old man left him to run W/L as he is presso this year.

W/U Will be the real deal this year, have just been in adelaide talking to the boys they have recruited and they are in full training. W/U start in full swing on th 24th of jan and had a few runs prior to chrisie and are looking well with 20 blokes on the track.

can add rodney hogan to that as well wanted the job of coaching but they gave it to his brother will not be playing there this year

yeh mate, i think your right with the rocket isnt playing this year for woomelang, although i heard he wasnt going to anyway, as his body probably wouldnt hold up for another season...but im sure if rocket was giving the coaching job he would have pulled on the boots for woomelang again this year... its sad to hear that W/L are stuggleing with players and will probably struggle in season 2007 after a couple of consecutive good seasons...
does anyone know if Woomelang have any recruits? i havent heard any...

what about beulah, how are they going with players?

Hi Fella's, can anyone tell me how Toby Liston goes from Beulah. Little fella with leg speed. He also has a older brother? :confused: