Martin Finds A Soul Mate

Aug 3, 2009
Qld

He is also a Shit Kilda supporter

So he's also a supporter designed for a club with not many premierships.

St.Kilda have been using a game plan designed for a club that doesn't want any supporters for the best part of the last decade so it's understandable envy has the better of him.

So he's also a supporter designed for a club with not many premierships.

St.Kilda have been using a game plan designed for a club that doesn't want any supporters for the best part of the last decade so it's understandable envy has the better of him.

He's also forgotten that his club were rattling tins begging for loose change not all that long ago.

Him and Caro must have fun lunchtime conversation.

Meh, let them put up the pay wall and they can go to the sh-tter even quicker than they are going now.

Isn't that just saying it's an attractive game that's perfect for a club that doesn't have many supporters? Because we don't have as many as other teams and maybe need to attract people by being 'fun'?

If so, what is the problem here?

It's unbecoming to a supporter, to come across as an angry ant yelling at the sky. First the Billy Brownless angst, now this. Am I missing something?

I feel sorry for Emma Quayle and our mate Rohan being stuck at that joint amidst the gaggle of second rate 'journalists'. I would be embarrassed if my co-workers were so terrible at their chosen profession.

Nothing wrong with that comment.

We are emotionally involved and should feel somewhat aggrieved that they can't be positive without throwing a little barb at us whenever they can - but I think he is spot on, not only are we trying to win but we are trying to win sexily.

And we are sexing it up big time right now :thumbsu:

But we need to sex it up one step further and play the big sexy non Caucasian man.

Nothing wrong with that comment.

We are emotionally involved and should feel somewhat aggrieved that they can't be positive without throwing a little barb at us whenever they can - but I think he is spot on, not only are we trying to win but we are trying to win sexily.

I think you're reading it differently to many others. The implication of his comment is that it is not designed to win games / finals / premierships on a consistent basis because all that matters is desperately getting supporters. I reckon you would find that Brad Scott and the club would find that a ridiculous concept.

Exactly!

This needs to be taken for what it is, a throwaway line.

I'm really at a loss as to why people on this board are so fixated on the concept of our getting due "recognition" from the wider footy world, particularly the media. Maybe I'm selfish (can't be discounted) but I couldn't give a rat's tossbag what anyone outside of the club thinks about us. If we're playing an exciting brand of footy (which we've done on a number of occasions this year), winning games and building a list capable of challenging for a flag, I'm happy. I really couldn't give a f*** whether supporters of other clubs enjoy it or whether the fickle 24-hour news cycle drones in the media get all lubed up about it. When I was walking out of Sunday's game, I wasn't thinking "Gee, I wonder what Caro*, Robbo or Martin Blake will write about that?". Instead, I walked out genuinely entertained and exhilarated by the win. I'll take that over media plaudits any day of the week.

* Obviously, the answer to this would be "nothing" as the Chief Football Writer doesn't write about actual games of football.

I agree that we worry too much by media comments but it's okay to say how stupid this one was because of how stupid it was. This bloke gets paid good money to come up with that. It's not about getting huge recognition, it's about a basic level of respect. The game plan is designed to win games consistently and time will tell exactly how good it is. But we're a professional sporting team trying to succeed in a cut throat environment, not a vaudeville circus act.

When I was walking out of Sunday's game, I wasn't thinking "Gee, I wonder what Caro*, Robbo or Martin Blake will write about that?". Instead, I walked out genuinely entertained and exhilarated by the win.
Nut job! o_O

I agree that we worry too much by media comments but it's okay to say how stupid this one was because of how stupid it was. This bloke gets paid good money to come up with that. It's not about getting huge recognition, it's about a basic level of respect. The game plan is designed to win games consistently and time will tell exactly how good it is. But we're a professional sporting team trying to succeed in a cut throat environment, not a vaudeville circus act.

Spot on.

But we're a professional sporting team trying to succeed in a cut throat environment, not a vaudeville circus act.

I dunno...

We do have a few entertaining short people (Boomer and Campbell), a juggler (Hansen) and a hypnotist (Scott).....

Martin Finds A Soul Mate