• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Maryborough Castlemaine District FL

Talbot had roughly 25 give or take at Fridays first training run back with quite a few Seniors turning up which was good to see. A testing session in the heat I must say but skills and enthusiasm were quite good!

A Rovers person reeled off some names to me that are definate or probable departures from last years senior side.

S.Sellars
fellow
Pollard
Traivalle
Bullen
Gunn
Trotter
Featherston
Stevens

Maybe one or two others that I have forgotten but if the majority of these players go it will leave a big hole.

A Rovers person reeled off some names to me that are definate or probable departures from last years senior side.

S.Sellars
fellow
Pollard
Traivalle
Bullen
Gunn
Trotter
Featherston
Stevens

Maybe one or two others that I have forgotten but if the majority of these players go it will leave a big hole.
Stevens? I doubt very much, loyal Rovers man, where did you here he is going? Trotts also haven't heard anythingwhere he is off to. Please fill in King

I dunno at this stage Mont. This fella just reeled of these names as blokes he had heard may be on the move. Have to wait and see I guess.

All the more reason to do my restructure of the MCDFL, CHFL, and LPFL.

If the VCFL keeps it as is, there will be more clubs in dire straights around this region.

Spoke to bloke who was heavily involved in things at the creek for the last couple of years and he said that the problem with creek is not that they dont have money but that they just wont spend it. so they may be in dire straights but it sounds like its their own fault. It may be sad to say but country football is now a business and clubs need to run it like a business. The reason behind harcourts success is that people put in hours and hours and hours behind the scenes to raise enough money to meet player payment requirments. The club breaks even every year it does not have endless cash but the commitee work their ass's off to raise money. Creek may need to accept this and get with the times.

Wonker, unfortunately this time I have to take my medicine as I have since been told from the source yesterday arvo that this information was wrong when supplied to me. This guy was told they were looking for $200+ players and were prepared to put them up in the motel. So I will admit what I reported was incorrect. Anything I post is generally what I believe to be pretty close to the money though and I dont think I have posted too much negative stuff about Avoca. Anything that I do may be a bit tongue in cheek just looking for bites as we cant be serious all the time! :D But in general I like the Avoca footy club and they are a well run club dont get me wrong there Wonker!

Another bit of side news apparently the C/Creek footy club are in a bit of trouble. No coach and no players and there will be more news to follow I believe.

Explanation accepted King. Keep the debate rolling

Wonker, unfortunately this time I have to take my medicine as I have since been told from the source yesterday arvo that this information was wrong when supplied to me. This guy was told they were looking for $200+ players and were prepared to put them up in the motel. So I will admit what I reported was incorrect. Anything I post is generally what I believe to be pretty close to the money though and I dont think I have posted too much negative stuff about Avoca. Anything that I do may be a bit tongue in cheek just looking for bites as we cant be serious all the time! :D But in general I like the Avoca footy club and they are a well run club dont get me wrong there Wonker!

Another bit of side news apparently the C/Creek footy club are in a bit of trouble. No coach and no players and there will be more news to follow I believe.

Explanation accepted. Keep the debate rolling.

No idea mate. What is this blokes credentials? Good news for them if someone has put their hand up!

i think he is 35/38 years old. played there 10 years ago, just going back to help his old club out. not much of a player but. if it helps them it might be ok for a year.

so this is only a temporary thing then and not a long term prospect, this may under line bloodhounds earlier comment that they are not prepared to spend the money to get outside players coaching and playing.

congratulations too on this thread reaching the magical 100 page milestone of none other the pure inciteful s%#T talking. haha keep it coming posters

can anyone tell me what is going on at Trentham this year?????????

Last I heard they have recruited fairly well and should field 2 teams. How good they will be time will tell but one would imagine with 2 sides they will be a mile better than last year!

not that hard to beat last year............ what about Creek?????????

i see wayne burchell has put in a clearance to go back to maldon aswell, he will be a very handy recruit for them, represented VIC country in championships few years back. would have been handy to have in maldon's team last year,would have been pretty handy forward line with himself and ladiges. wonder what has made him go back this year, big $$ possibly, has anyone heard on any recruiting to maldon, maybe they are pushing a big recruitment drive again, and with his signing might bring more along

How are Maryoborough looking this year? Few blokes on here would know I would think. Sounds like a few are leaving again with not many coming in. Are they in trouble?

i see wayne burchell has put in a clearance to go back to maldon aswell, he will be a very handy recruit for them, represented VIC country in championships few years back. would have been handy to have in maldon's team last year,would have been pretty handy forward line with himself and ladiges. wonder what has made him go back this year, big $$ possibly, has anyone heard on any recruiting to maldon, maybe they are pushing a big recruitment drive again, and with his signing might bring more along

Cant say for sure but I have a feeling that they would have less cash than last year as it took them a bit of time to pay out their players from last year. I would assume they will be weaker this year. How old is this Burchell?

yeah i agree that they will prob be weaker, as we all are aware of there cash flow issue form last year. maybe they are trying to recruit ex players back and mates for less money, which is prob the right way to go in there situation. burchell would be in his late 20's IMO but dont quote me if i had to quess id say 27, very well build 6,2 type and moves well.