Maryborough Castlemaine District FL

wonker u r absolutely right, royal park has pulled out of the maryborough night series, and thommo is looking for another club to face natte, just had phone call from benchy asing me if i was interested in playing tue night against natte, we (talbot) are not definate starters but are trying to put together a reasonable side to challenge natte, and yes thommo has offered the services of some of his seniour players to take the field if we dont have enough numbers.
will confirm later if we are definately taking part, as it will be discussed tonight at training , but we will not be taking in underdone players who have not done the work

Creek is still without a coach yes so that maybe where this Square player may be headed. Big task out there to get them up and competitive this year I would think but a great personal challenge to take on for whoever does it.

I had a look at Newstead's ground the other day (As I am now in Bendigo quite regularly) and although very patchy the grass that is there is quite green and I would say it is comparable if not better to the same stage at this time of year. Fair to say that Newstead and Talbot are traditionally the hardest grounds in the comp.

Bushy pulled out of the night comp just the other day and Talbot has been approached to fill the void. We will guage interest from players tonight I guess and see if we want to do it. If we did do it I would say we would commit our 12 or so fittest players and Thommo has indicated that he will top up with Burra boys. No good putting players that aren't ready through a match just yet. Fairly ordinary by Bushy to pull out of it with less than a week to go though!

Saw this on another thread and thought it would be interesting. Can each person affiliated with an MCDFL club post their top 3 preseason flyers?

Rich/Sherman, I reckon I've got you two pegged so don't bother putting yourselves in:rolleyes:

HaHa, perhaps you do!

Our top few flyers at training thus far would be:

Coach Bench: As fit as I have seen him and is flying for his age. Think he will surprise a few this year.

Brad Fleming: Fringe player last year that hasn't missed a session this year and should push for senior selection.

Matt & Nath Bond: Matt in particular is really stepping it up this year and looks to be very keen which is a good sign of hopefully a good year for him. Nath is working his butt off as per usual.

Roger Davies: Has never been a big trainer due to work commitments but has hardly missed a session this year and is enjoying training.

was informed tuesday night that robert ' the great' pollock has lost 20kg as is looking fit and rearing to go in 07. has gone down from 122kg to 102 kg and could be a handy acquisition into the seniour side if he stays fit

Have spoken to Polly recently and can confirm that he has dropped the weight and is in very good nick. Has been doing a lot of swimming and running and also some pilates can you believe it. Hopefully this will stop him pulling his hammy in the finals again this year as that really cost the 2s in the finals.

Not sure he will play Seniors but could pinch hit in the 1s when we need him if fit. He is very much looking forward to this year.

Where are the Maryborough talent scouts this year king? Usually they are trying to recruit some the district league's rising stars. It's amazing that they haven't approached both Matt and Nathan Bond - both will be stars of the future. Perhaps the Maryborough club has enough of its own rising stars already or maybe they will get a good look at them on Tuesday night.

What's happening at Dunolly? Three clearances were let go on time limit. I know that, in a recent survey, Dunolly came up amongst the top six most disadvantaged places in the state which includes a lack of internet access. Surely someone out their would have the internet connected. I don't think that Avoca could believe its luck when young Jason Hunt was cleared due to time limit - he is a qualty kid and a quality young footballer. On a positive note for Dunolly I hear that Craig 'bucket' Burns could be heading back out there for season 2007.

Also the word is that Dean Graco is about to join his brother Jarrod at Carisbrook. Played with Murribit the last couple of seasons. If Dunolly can't lure back past locals like him it has a huge task in front of it. Deano's girlfriend will be a great asset to the Carisbrook netball club if it can entice her to travel the few km's out the road from the Maryborough netball club.

I heard that Bushy has pulled out of the night series. What's going on there? They were to do battle with the might of Natte next Tuesday. Probably enough to frighten any side off the park. The word is that Thommo (Maryborough's coach) is trying to put a team together so that Natte can get a hit out.

They were going to get r*ped anyway. I'm sure Natte would prefer the option of a decent hitout against a stronger oposition as the Lexton League will be red hot competition this year.

It would have been encouraging for the Avoca club to have 45 at training on Wed night. (Obviously a credit to the current coaching panel). I am told that the number could easily have been 55+ as some intending players are still tied up with work or summer sports commitments. I don't think Shamui and his brother could make it on Wed night.
Apparently the club held a full scale intra club practice match - no holds barred. There would have been a few sore bodies the next day.

That is a great result and you have done the right thing (so far) by putting Tony on as coach. There would not be a MCDFL with those sorts of numbers.

I couldn't imagine that Avoca would have any animosity towards the Carisbrook club - as i've stated before - all is fair in love, war and football.

Good philosophy.It's not like you would have knocked back Megs if he came back. Would you?

I heard a whisper that Avoca could be on the verge of a couple of surprise signings in the near future.
Watch this space!!

Julian Field? Haha.

On the coaching front, I think that Campbells Creek is still without a coach. Word is that the club held a crisis meeting the other night.

I think they would be suited to Origami this season than football. Very sad.

Where are the Maryborough talent scouts this year king? Usually they are trying to recruit some the district league's rising stars. It's amazing that they haven't approached both Matt and Nathan Bond - both will be stars of the future. Perhaps the Maryborough club has enough of its own rising stars already or maybe they will get a good look at them on Tuesday night.

I dunno about that. Crameri, Clarkson, and Noonan on the move. Kick going to Bungaree, Bucket to Dunolly, a few training with Natte and so on. Maryborough would need to fight to hold on with dear life. They have no money to be recruiting.

What's happening at Dunolly? Three clearances were let go on time limit. I know that, in a recent survey, Dunolly came up amongst the top six most disadvantaged places in the state which includes a lack of internet access. Surely someone out their would have the internet connected. I don't think that Avoca could believe its luck when young Jason Hunt was cleared due to time limit - he is a qualty kid and a quality young footballer. On a positive note for Dunolly I hear that Craig 'bucket' Burns could be heading back out there for season 2007.

They're in big trouble. Not opposing clearances is a little silly.

Also the word is that Dean Graco is about to join his brother Jarrod at Carisbrook. Played with Murribit the last couple of seasons. If Dunolly can't lure back past locals like him it has a huge task in front of it. Deano's girlfriend will be a great asset to the Carisbrook netball club if it can entice her to travel the few km's out the road from the Maryborough netball club.

Dean will add depth. Not quite the standard of player that Jarrod is though. Brook should be very good challengers to Harcourt this season.

Was talking to a bloke on the brook club the other day and he mentioned that Carisbrook were close to signing Marc Cassidy and his wife was thinking about playing netball out there too. Not sure if it is true or not.

How long b4 a clearance goes to time limit?

Heard a whisper that Mick Galvin was thinking about going back to the CREEK to help out maybe looking at a coaching role has some alright players with him any truths to this.

I

I noticed that Nick and Ash Robinson (not related) have lodged clearances to the Carisbrook club. (something that the King predicted some months ago after having a chat to Nick at the Ballarat races). No doubt the Avoca club will be disappointed that two of its local players will possibly be taking to the field against it this season. The loss could also rob Avoca of that the much needed depth that is needed for a team to be successful. Nick is a past league B &F winner.

I heard a whisper that Avoca could be on the verge of a couple of surprise signings in the near future.
Watch this space!!

From what I’ve heard, Avoca will be better of without these two Individuals who put themselves before the team and the club.
Allegedly left a trail of destruction behind them in their off field activities which tainted the Bulldogs name.

Avoca is on the right track now with the appointment of Bellenger, he is a great leader who will instill team ethic and a strong culture within the ranks.

45 on the track the other night indicates that Bellenger has the club pointed in the right direction. The fact that NR & AR do not recognise that fact, and are the only clearances out, also indicates that they are individuals and not team players.

Not sure that too many at Avoca will be that disappointed to be playing against them, in fact I would think that they will relish the opportunity and will be eagerly awaiting the game against brook.

In relation to Nick Robinson being a past league B & F.
Not a big feather in the cap going on the standard of MCDFL umpiring. Admittedly, he is a courageous player who gets his hands on the ball regularly, but turns the ball over more often than not and he can’t kick over a jam tin.

The return of Mick Wardlaw will more than replace the loss of both of these players.

Believe me, these two will not be missed!

Interested to hear who these surprise signings are Wonker? Any names?

Bit harsh Rexy but your entitled to your opinion. Ash is only young but I think Nick has proven his worth over the last couple of seasons. One on their best ball winners IMO.

Talbot will be fielding a side in the night series in place of Royal Park. We will be entering with 15 or so players who are ready to play a game and will be topped up with Burra players. We have made no decision to play the following week and are basically helping out Maryborough so Natte can have a game. We may continue on I dont know.

A couple of 'newys' at Talbot training the other night which should be appearing on the Transfers list this week.

As for Matt & Nath Bond Wonker, both are extremely talented footballers but it would be a tough task to drag them away from Talbot. They are brown and gold through and through! Never miss a training session!

Bit harsh Rexy but your entitled to your opinion. Ash is only young but I think Nick has proven his worth over the last couple of seasons. One on their best ball winners IMO.

Talbot will be fielding a side in the night series in place of Royal Park. We will be entering with 15 or so players who are ready to play a game and will be topped up with Burra players. We have made no decision to play the following week and are basically helping out Maryborough so Natte can have a game. We may continue on I dont know.

A couple of 'newys' at Talbot training the other night which should be appearing on the Transfers list this week.

As for Matt & Nath Bond Wonker, both are extremely talented footballers but it would be a tough task to drag them away from Talbot. They are brown and gold through and through! Never miss a training session!

I thought bushy only pulled out of the one game but were gunna be right for the next one. So they have pulled out all together then. What burra players are playing and how strong is the talbot outfit? Challenge Natte?

From what I’ve heard, Avoca will be better of without these two Individuals who put themselves before the team and the club.
Allegedly left a trail of destruction behind them in their off field activities which tainted the Bulldogs name.

Avoca is on the right track now with the appointment of Bellenger, he is a great leader who will instill team ethic and a strong culture within the ranks.

45 on the track the other night indicates that Bellenger has the club pointed in the right direction. The fact that NR & AR do not recognise that fact, and are the only clearances out, also indicates that they are individuals and not team players.

Not sure that too many at Avoca will be that disappointed to be playing against them, in fact I would think that they will relish the opportunity and will be eagerly awaiting the game against brook.

In relation to Nick Robinson being a past league B & F.
Not a big feather in the cap going on the standard of MCDFL umpiring. Admittedly, he is a courageous player who gets his hands on the ball regularly, but turns the ball over more often than not and he can’t kick over a jam tin.

The return of Mick Wardlaw will more than replace the loss of both of these players.

Believe me, these two will not be missed!

Interested to hear who these surprise signings are Wonker? Any names?

I think you are sadly mistaken mate. Ash and Nick have been great servants to the club for alot of years. Yes they may have been involved in some less than ideal incidents last season, but they will always be held in high esteem at the bulldogs. Both these blokes are hard, corageous footballers and top blokes off the ground

As for the spin you have put on Nick's B&F win...that is just crap. I don't think there would be too many people that wouldn't agree he was a deserving B&F winner....

I agree with your point on Tony Bellenger though, he has bought a new mindset to the club. And I think it will bring some rewards to the club in the not too distant future.

I thought bushy only pulled out of the one game but were gunna be right for the next one. So they have pulled out all together then. What burra players are playing and how strong is the talbot outfit? Challenge Natte?

well speaking to fordy on the weekend at cricket, he said that bushy only started training 2 weeks ago, so that is why they had to pull out, and i believe that is for the while tournament.

not sure on what burra players will be helping out but was under the impression there would be some decent players included, as we are doing them a big favour at short notice. the talbot outfit will be ok, but not a star studded line up, only players fit enough are playing,natte should account for us i beleive but we will give them a solid hit out

I'd be surprised if we got near Natte to be honest. They will be fitter and classier but as Sherman said we will give them a solid hitout and it will only benefit our players. We didn't enter the night series because we are nowhere near ready to play ourselves but are prepared to jump in and help out!

Danny Whitnalls clearance has been put in to come to Talbot. I cant say I have seen him play since he was a junior. Can someone tell me how his footy goes these days?

Been behind with the local news of late guys. Touring round the country now with the missus now so am relying on bigfooty to keep me up to date with all the footy news. Sounds like there’s a fair bit going on too!!!
Very disappointed to read here the forecasted decline of Rovers and the MFC. What has brought this on? M/B with the loss of a few very good players will hurt but from what I had seen the last couple of years I thought Tommo was definitely steering the team & the club in the right direction with plenty of really good young players.
Very disappointed also to hear of a few boys leaving Rovers. What’s the reasoning behind this? Once again I thought O’sh had everyone’s respect & had the boys pulling in the one direction. Can anyone tell me what’s gone on?
Danny Whitnal has turned into a reasonable footballer & I believe could hold down a spot. He’s actually quite a good size now & not a little bloke like he used to be. He’s actually deceivingly tall. I’ve seen quite a bit of him the last few years since he played at Rovers & he really surprised me at times.
Sounds like from what I’ve read that Avoca, Brook & Talbot are all on the improve this year. I’ve said all along that Avoca are too good a club to just plod along & that it wouldn’t take much too turn them into a powerhouse again. All three teams sound like they could challenge Harcourt if Harcourt has really lost as many as have been mentioned.
Not much news on here from inside the Brook & Rovers camps apart from recruits. All news would be most welcome….
King & Sherman, if Webber is as fit as you say, then watch out every other club!!! He could be an early B&F favourite. A very good player.
Keep up the good work with all the latest news & rumors!!!

Been behind with the local news of late guys. Touring round the country now with the missus now so am relying on bigfooty to keep me up to date with all the footy news. Sounds like there’s a fair bit going on too!!!
Very disappointed to read here the forecasted decline of Rovers and the MFC. What has brought this on? M/B with the loss of a few very good players will hurt but from what I had seen the last couple of years I thought Tommo was definitely steering the team & the club in the right direction with plenty of really good young players.
Very disappointed also to hear of a few boys leaving Rovers. What’s the reasoning behind this? Once again I thought O’sh had everyone’s respect & had the boys pulling in the one direction. Can anyone tell me what’s gone on?
Danny Whitnal has turned into a reasonable footballer & I believe could hold down a spot. He’s actually quite a good size now & not a little bloke like he used to be. He’s actually deceivingly tall. I’ve seen quite a bit of him the last few years since he played at Rovers & he really surprised me at times.
Sounds like from what I’ve read that Avoca, Brook & Talbot are all on the improve this year. I’ve said all along that Avoca are too good a club to just plod along & that it wouldn’t take much too turn them into a powerhouse again. All three teams sound like they could challenge Harcourt if Harcourt has really lost as many as have been mentioned.
Not much news on here from inside the Brook & Rovers camps apart from recruits. All news would be most welcome….
King & Sherman, if Webber is as fit as you say, then watch out every other club!!! He could be an early B&F favourite. A very good player.
Keep up the good work with all the latest news & rumors!!!

Webber is exceptionally fit mate! Has lost a lot of weight, perhaps too much.... He should still hit pretty hard and will now be able to run all day. I expect he will push into the midfield as well as the backline this year. Had a knee reco at the end of 05 and played the last 3 games last year and is now fully fit and ready to go. Will be our best recruit.

There seems to be a bit of talk on the Ballarat FL thread that Julian Field has not committed to Redan as yet. The general consensus is he will head back to Avoca at some stage but may play one more year with Redan.

Avoca Boys, is there something lurking in the mist there for you boys?? Understandably you would be keeping it very quiet but a little speculation never heard Big Footy!

There seems to be a bit of talk on the Ballarat FL thread that Julian Field has not committed to Redan as yet. The general consensus is he will head back to Avoca at some stage but may play one more year with Redan.

Avoca Boys, is there something lurking in the mist there for you boys?? Understandably you would be keeping it very quiet but a little speculation never heard Big Footy!

Ran into Jules on Friday night at one of the Rat's quality establishments. He was out with a few of the Redan boys running amok. Anyway, from what I could gather ( or remember) he gave every indication he would remain with Redan for a least this season. But alot can change over a few weeks....I'll leave it at that. Anything you want add Wonker?