Maryborough Castlemaine District FL

It's hard to pick a best combined side because I have only seen sides twice at the most this year but if we are to have an inter league team next year I thought this could be a FUN idea.
If I have left gun players out it is probably because they weren't fantastic on the one occasion that I might have seen them or they might have been injured.

Backs Ronke (Dun) Fraser (Rov) Shelton (RP)
HB Batson (Rov) Cummins (Mal) Brady (Dun)
C M.Smith (Tal) Martin (Tal) Coghlan (Av)
HF Lakey (Av) Lea (Mal) S. Smith (Har)
F Harris (Car) Stone (Har) M. Bond (Tal)
R Oxley (New) L. Brown (Mal) K. Young (Tr)

Inter Carroll (Mal) A. Pilgrim (Av), Clark (Rov) Kick (Car)

If Oxley couldn't play Bright would replace him but I didn't put Bright in because it allowed me to select Pilgrim who was awesome in the Ruck at Avoca on Sunday and he is a great forward. I tried to get a player in from each side but I struggled with Campbell's Creek Sam Noble is the obvious player but I wouldn't select him.

As with all representative teams I have fiddled with player positions for team balance.

pretty close there i reckon mate. i dont enter into the ruckman argument cos i havent seen oxley play and i can't remember bright either, maybe cos i wasn't paying attention. do ya think brook could've had Lukey Treacy in there as well? only 2 player from carisbrook maybe doesn't seem rite for the top team? thats my opinion i guess!

I'm not gonna get drawn into the argument on who is the best player but on this years form Tim Bright would be the team of the year ruckman. He has been BOG for Talbot in nearly 2/3 of our games. He rucks with no backup and pushes back and takes many marks in defence. Best ruckman I have seen at Talbot almost ever I would say.
Pushing the case for Bright pretty hard for a "team of the year" spot.
Hedger would be the number 1 for his ability to push forward and kick goals.......Simon McClure from maldon number 2, underrated performer, has given their onballers first use a lot of times this season

Oxley is far and away the best Ruckman in the league with the other missing player in your so called best of teams Sean Webster from Newstead who has dominated in all his games against so called highly fancied oponents. Hard to pick these type of sides without bias so everyones opinion is different.
This weeks results.
Harcourt v Dunolly. 12+ goals unless Harcourt resting players
Talbot v Trentham. Massacre, year cant finish quick enough for Trentham
Avoca v Creek. another one side result
Maldon v Rovers. Would expect Maldon to win comfortably at home 6+ goals
Carisbrook v Newstead. Should be a reasonable game but Brooks Class should show through 4 goals

Here's one for you lads.

How high on the ladder would an MCDFL interleague side finish in respect to the Central Highlands FL? Having a fair argument about this currently

Here's my interleague team. Bare in mind that I would have only seen most of these guys 2-3 times max this year.

FB - T. Heenan (CB), B. Fraser (Rov), T. Ronke (Dun),
HB - M. Batson (Rov), P. Cummins (Mal), A. Grant (Av)
C - N. Coghlan (Av), L. Brown (Mal), K. Young (Tren)
HF - J. Young (Tren), C. Lakey (Av), J. McMurtrie (Har)
FF - S. Smith (Har), C. Stone (Har), J. Harris (CB)
R - M. Oxley (New), I. Martin (Tal), D. Carroll (Mal)
I - M. Giri (Har), M. Bond (Tal), A. Pilgrim (Av), N. Wright (CB)

Notable players left out.
T Bellenger (Av), S. Noble (CC), Kris Lea (Mal), T. Bell (Mal), S Burchell (Mal) D. Clark (Rov), D & B Hedger (Rov), C. Burn (Dun), T. Reece (New), D. Forde (RP), M. Smith (Tal), B. Kick (CB) and I'm sure there are a heap of other guys too.

Feel free to pick it apart.

Rojer - if anyone thinks that wouldn't be a decent major league team, they are deluded. No player on my 22 would have a problem walking into any CHFL side. It is a good league, much stronger than ours, but that 22 would be a team many major league teams would be confident with running out of a Saturday.

no surprises in the round just playd guys richs boys belted trentham but he did say on friday that trentham was lookng more at the 2s than the ones maldon did enuf 2 put rovers away and the brookrs were far 2 good for newstead so much for the supposd newstead challenge

Newsteads challenge to C/Brook was ok except for a poor 2nd quarter, some absolutely shit umpiring, along with some cheap shots given by one K Rowe at what looked like coaches directions. Dont rate C/Brook with Maldon, Harcourt of Avoca although they have a couple of good young tall forwards who present well. A number of their players appear to be money men mainly and may come unstuck in finals due to lack of passion. Fair dinkum though our biggest issue as a league is that our umpires that have been involved for a number of years are showing no improvement or guts to make a decision.

After this weekend round of matches the final five has been decided and while Rovers promised much earlier in the year, they have come up short. It says much for the league that a team that has recruited hard and played good footy, couldn't make the five whereas in past years they well have been a top 3 side.

The challenge of recruiting for all clubs is to get value for money spent and although rovers have recruited hard some of their money players appear to contribute little on field. It is always a balancing act for all clubs and just because you spend money it is not always more beneficial than growing a team with your locals.

The ladder at the end of round 17 sees Carisbrook on 62 points
Maldon 60
Harcourt 56 155%
Avoca 52 203
Talbot 46

The next three rounds throw up some really pivotal matches which will determine the five . Talbot will finish fifth

The next three rounds will be pivotal

Carisbrook --- plays ----- Harcourt (A) ......... Trentham (H) ..... Royal Park (A)
Maldon ------ plays ----- Avoca (A)............ Newstead (H)...... Harcourt (A)
Harcourt ----- plays ----- Carisbrook (H) ...... Cam Creek (A) ...... Maldon (H)
Avoca ------ plays ----- Maldon (H) ......... Rovers (A) .......... Bye

The three teams below Carisbrook have a tough run home so places 2 - 4 could change dramatically.

Harcourt displayed all of their running game on Saturday with Stone, Hutchinson, Giri, McMurtrie and Hutchinson playing well. You would have thought that Delidio Park was their home ground as they repeatedly kicked goals on the run from the 50 and the boundary line. Dunolly had a very disappointing first half and after a reshuffle at half time they really took the game to Harcourt. Centre and boundary clearances where dominated by Dunolly and the inside 50's were clearly in the Eagles favour. However, you can't give class players even limited opportunities because they kick goals whenever they got a chance. Better players for Dunolly were Stiles, new recruit Wilson, Bilton and Josh Sullivan who put the brakes on a rampaging Stone after half time. Harcourt might have taken the foot off the accelerator but they were clearly challenged by Dunolly in the second half.

in reply to the team of the year arguement, brendan hedger would have to be a certainity, best mark in the league and will dominate for years to come if he stays in the league

Newsteads challenge to C/Brook was ok except for a poor 2nd quarter, some absolutely shit umpiring, along with some cheap shots given by one K Rowe at what looked like coaches directions. Dont rate C/Brook with Maldon, Harcourt of Avoca although they have a couple of good young tall forwards who present well. A number of their players appear to be money men mainly and may come unstuck in finals due to lack of passion. Fair dinkum though our biggest issue as a league is that our umpires that have been involved for a number of years are showing no improvement or guts to make a decision.

Sounds like a bitter frustration showing out Frustrated. So you don't rate Carisbrook? I did see the Sunday game a few weeks ago when Avoca played Carisbrook and was impressed by both teams. Carisbrook seemed fairly good that day against some good oppositon. Time will tell though if they will stack up against the rest. With your money complaint, do you think that Carisbrook do have alot of players getting paid big bucks? I didn't think that many clubs in the MCDFNL pay out alot, especially compared to Ballarat regional clubs.

MCDFNL budgets are steadily increasing each year. Brook would be close, if not top of the tree in terms of their budget.

Hey guys i have decided to put together an under 17 team of the year based on the 2008 performances. Please feel free to correct me if i have missed out on players or put players out of position:

BACKS-B.Davies(Brook)W.Short(Rovers)W.Mitchell(Harcourt)
H/BACKS-B.Hooland(Talb)R.Oshea(Rovers)H.Forgo(Trentham)
CENTRES-J.Bowen(Brook)B.Fletcher(Avoca)A.Jardine(Rovers)
H/FORWARDS-R.Healy(Trentham)T.Reece(Stead)T.Stiles(Dunolly)
FORWARDS-B.Hudson(Rovers)J.Hunt(Avoca)N.Coghlan(Avoca)
FOLLOWERS-T.Ruggles(Stead)J.Hind(Rovers)J.Hooper(Rovers)
INTERCHANGE-M.Culvenor(Stead)T.Walker(Trentham)
K.Russell(Brook)H.Kelly(Maldon)

CAPTAIN-B.Fletcher(Avoca)
VICE-T.Reece(Newstead)

what does everyone think of this side?? please let me know if u would like to make changes to the side.....

Hey..
i think there should be some changes i have watch alot of U17 games n a few kids in here only do there job against easy teams but not against the harder

Brook are certainlt shelling out big coin and along with Harcourt would be the biggest spenders in the league. Credit must be given to committees for finding a way to fund these teams but in the long run the question is always asked what benefit does it gain in the end. A premiership with all money men will never mean the same as it does to a team that have grown together at one club.

in reply to the team of the year arguement, brendan hedger would have to be a certainity, best mark in the league and will dominate for years to come if he stays in the league

Brendan hedger is a dud, Kris lea is a real forward and would shit all over hedger in a marking contest. The difference is that lea can mark in a 1 on 3 hedger cant, guess u wont be seeing us in the finals

Brook are certainlt shelling out big coin and along with Harcourt would be the biggest spenders in the league. Credit must be given to committees for finding a way to fund these teams but in the long run the question is always asked what benefit does it gain in the end. A premiership with all money men will never mean the same as it does to a team that have grown together at one club.
Is Maldon in that boat?

The majority of the people in Maldons team that are the good players and that would be getting the coin are the home grown guys... Burchells, Trevor Bell, Lachy Brown, Carrols all played junior footy at the club so it would be great to see them take it out!!

Harcourt would just about have to be top of the pile with the money men, seem to get random older blokes that are near finished that want to try pinch one before heading out to pasture, and not too many of them would be cheap dates!!!!