Maryborough Castlemaine District FL

That's what made me think a job in Maryborough or with a Brook person might be the hook. I doubt a club around wouldn't put an offer in if things weren't kept quiet.

Great pick up Brook!

as far as i am led to believe chipper was on $450 at clunes according to his pay packet, i believe he is living with bazza gorman now down in melbourne and that is the conneciton with brook, bazza wanted to play footy with chipper chief and gunny, at the one club, aparently since chiipers signing , gunny is meant to be leaving rovers and chief to leave harcourt, as most of u guys have already said , carnham had him penciled in , but brook have come up with the winner, chipper was on $ 700 a game in SANFL, word is carnham matched it, and brook have bettererd it from a very very good source rumour has it at $ 850 a game, IMO that is ridiculous if true no player in this league is worth that much. in all honesty i think $850 is a bit of an overexageration but i reckon $600 would prob be around the mark, yes he will be a good player in this league but the footy will be alot different and he will actuall yhave to go get the ball, pressure will be on him to perform

HARRIS, Justin From EXT.: Great Southern Football League > Victor HarbourCarisbrook

Was he meant to be playing in the SANFL or not? Says here a different league. Sherman are you inferring that gunny and chief are going brook? I couldn't see brook paying anything more than $500 personally.

HARRIS, Justin From EXT.: Great Southern Football League > Victor HarbourCarisbrook

Was he meant to be playing in the SANFL or not? Says here a different league. Sherman are you inferring that gunny and chief are going brook? I couldn't see brook paying anything more than $500 personally.

word has it he was stuffed around by north adelaide or who ever it was, and was playing for that district team, but yes he played and trained with north in SANFL for a while, in reagrds to gunny and chief, yes thats what i am infering and have been led to believe....although personally i dont think gunny will leave rovers, but think chief will go.....dont under estimate there spending power crank, they have a very large following which would provide fantastic revenue for the club..... word has it that young kieran robinson who has only played a hand full of seniour games for the club was offered $200 to stay at brook and not go to natte, so what would that make chipper worth ????

Could all this spending this season see them perhaps be heading back to the dark days a few years ago when they were on the bottom??? Will they upset the locals by bringing in too many imports???

Its a fine balancing act at a footy club.

Could all this spending this season see them perhaps be heading back to the dark days a few years ago when they were on the bottom??? Will they upset the locals by bringing in too many imports???

Its a fine balancing act at a footy club.

I get the feeling that 2008 will be a good year for any team that saves their pennies in 2007.

word has it he was stuffed around by north adelaide or who ever it was, and was playing for that district team, but yes he played and trained with north in SANFL for a while, in reagrds to gunny and chief, yes thats what i am infering and have been led to believe....although personally i dont think gunny will leave rovers, but think chief will go.....dont under estimate there spending power crank, they have a very large following which would provide fantastic revenue for the club..... word has it that young kieran robinson who has only played a hand full of seniour games for the club was offered $200 to stay at brook and not go to natte, so what would that make chipper worth ????

I'm starting to get the feeling brook might have a bit behind them. So is it fact they offered $200 to young robbo then? I agree don't think gunny would go to brook. While Harcourt spent the dollars last year was Carisbrook saving the dollars with their mediocre year?

Blown way out of proportion. Natte offered him a chance to play with family and Brook offered him $100 a week which is what I have been told. I could well be wrong.

My view is that Avoca is doing the best. On top of the ladder, they spend f-all on players and are getting more numbers to training than the bottom half of the ladder combined.

I'm dead against big money being spent as it starts a dangerous precedence, but I'm pretty sure the Avoca approach will be what brings home the flag in 2007.

Blown way out of proportion. Natte offered him a chance to play with family and Brook offered him $100 a week which is what I have been told. I could well be wrong.

My view is that Avoca is doing the best. On top of the ladder, they spend f-all on players and are getting more numbers to training than the bottom half of the ladder combined.

I'm dead against big money being spent as it starts a dangerous precedence, but I'm pretty sure the Avoca approach will be what brings home the flag in 2007.

well it may or may not have been $100 bucks, but i have been told from a very good source that would know it was $ 200 bucks offered by brook and that young robbo then went to natte and told them to up there offer if they wanted him.
i have no doubt that avoca will also be up the top end this year, but i doubt that they have spent f-all , im sure most of the players they have recruited this year would be on some sort of incentive. u dont go from 6th to top 3 without spending some coin.

well it may or may not have been $100 bucks, but i have been told from a very good source that would know it was $ 200 bucks offered by brook and that young robbo then went to natte and told them to up there offer if they wanted him.
i have no doubt that avoca will also be up the top end this year, but i doubt that they have spent f-all , im sure most of the players they have recruited this year would be on some sort of incentive. u dont go from 6th to top 3 without spending some coin.

I have heard the same with the youngest Robbo. He's only 17 for crying out loud.

Bellenger would not come cheap and he would be paying the guys he brought but he wouldn't be near what Brook is going to pay Harris.

I have heard the same with the youngest Robbo. He's only 17 for crying out loud.

Bellenger would not come cheap and he would be paying the guys he brought but he wouldn't be near what Brook is going to pay Harris.

Will be interesting to see if Harcourt go out and try to match Carisbrook now!

Everyone seems to have their very very reliable sources don't they. Not sure what is correct but there has been alot of speculation. I sense an Avoca connection there Thoroughbred.

All points to a super competitive year Gents and I think its great. Brook may have been lacking another gun to really challenge later in the year and they have it now. I believe one of Avoca, Brook Harcourt & Talbot could all challenge on their day.

At the end of the day the talent is important but the main thing is to get the boys to gel together and play for the jumper so we will see who does that best. That is something money cant buy.

All points to a super competitive year Gents and I think its great. Brook may have been lacking another gun to really challenge later in the year and they have it now. I believe one of Avoca, Brook Harcourt & Talbot could all challenge on their day.

At the end of the day the talent is important but the main thing is to get the boys to gel together and play for the jumper so we will see who does that best. That is something money cant buy.

Looks like Brook are forming a much better team than they had when they won back to back. Which they needed to to rival Harcourt. Now i think they will be the ones to beat for sure. However Sanders will be important to them. If he doesn't play they will come back to the field.

Sanders is critical as I still think they lack Big Men, particularly forwards. They are still vulnerable. I still think Harcourt deserve flag favouritism... When they get their full side on the park they will be tough to beat.

Harcourt are definately still flag favourites. 10 goal better side than everyone else last year. Carisbrook still lack big men and I think are still a bit of Harcourt. However are doing everything right atm.

Round 4 Odds with Crankingbet!!!!

Harcourt ($1.20) v Maldon ($5)
Trentham ($10) v Carisbrook ($1.10)
Royal Park ($1.40) v Dunolly ($3)
Rovers ($4.50) v Talbot ($1.25)
Newstead ($5) v Avoca ($1.20)

Royal Park v Dunolly is an interesting game. Can Dunolly win 2 in a row for the first time in the MCDFL. (That is since rejoining)

Well I'll have $500 on Talbot and $50 on Dunolly!!

thoroughbred, think you may find avocas budget to be slighty more than just towels and socks..mr bellinger would be one of the higher paid coaches within the league, can tell you that he was asking $500+ from another club not in this league! and his high profiled recruits lloyd, pilgrim would not come cheap..
perhaps you need to accept that all clubs now shell out some coin, which yes in some cases has risen to unfortunate proportions but that looks like the way its going to be, these good players cant do much about that

Harcourt are definately still flag favourites. 10 goal better side than everyone else last year. Carisbrook still lack big men and I think are still a bit of Harcourt. However are doing everything right atm.

I heard a rumour that the Big Megsy Field is contemplating coming back to the Brook. Apparently he is having seconds thoughts with the move west and could b chasing work around the Maryborough area!!

If this is the case then I would imagine it would give opposition teams a big headache with Sanders and Field in the forward line again!! Also to add the inclusion of Harris.............................how much would the Brook be forking out to have the big fella back??

I heard a rumour that the Big Megsy Field is contemplating coming back to the Brook. Apparently he is having seconds thoughts with the move west and could b chasing work around the Maryborough area!!

If this is the case then I would imagine it would give opposition teams a big headache with Sanders and Field in the forward line again!! Also to add the inclusion of Harris.............................how much would the Brook be forking out to have the big fella back??
that as well as the inclusion of Johnboy "the aarvark" Campbell and craig "silky" wright to the line up should make some major problems with most backlines in the league, beware people the snout is about!

:eek:
Sanders is critical as I still think they lack Big Men, particularly forwards. They are still vulnerable. I still think Harcourt deserve flag favouritism... When they get their full side on the park they will be tough to beat.
yes but they lack the ferocity of the brolga, a massive factor which dennis "ramjet" cometti would surely agree with. Do not underestimate the ferocity of a brolga on heat, it is surely a savage creature :eek:

bazza wanted to play footy with chipper chief and gunny, at the one club, aparently since chiipers signing , gunny is meant to be leaving rovers and chief to leave harcourt, as most of u guys have already said , carnham had him penciled in , but brook have come up with the winner,

: Jason Hare has talked to Osh and is putting in a clearance to Brook also, not sure why it hasn't gone thru yet to Brook but he spoke with Osh last weekend. Gunny? Osh hasn't been told anything about that one.
Have also heard the Rumour about the Big Megs as off with the girl I believe he followed up there.

bazza wanted to play footy with chipper chief and gunny, at the one club, aparently since chiipers signing , gunny is meant to be leaving rovers and chief to leave harcourt, as most of u guys have already said , carnham had him penciled in , but brook have come up with the winner,

: Jason Hare has talked to Osh and is putting in a clearance to Brook also, not sure why it hasn't gone thru yet to Brook but he spoke with Osh last weekend. Gunny? Osh hasn't been told anything about that one.
Have also heard the Rumour about the Big Megs as off with the girl I believe he followed up there.

it seems as if everyone wants to jump on the carisbrook bandwagon ATM, as someone mentioned earlier, how much money have they got???? , if chipper is on the money he is said to be on, how can they afford meggsy??

dead right there...everyone in country vic knows bellenger is one of the most money hungry players getting round! i'm not sayin his not worth it but he does seem to just go to the club who is will to fork out the most cash for him.

it seems as if everyone wants to jump on the carisbrook bandwagon ATM, as someone mentioned earlier, how much money have they got???? , if chipper is on the money he is said to be on, how can they afford meggsy??

I'm sure the pres will chip in for his mate Meggs especially with all the seed he has sold now the rains are here.

I think they have the cash... I would be more concerned about the loyal players that have been around for a while that will be dropped. Its a balancing act so they wouldn't want too many coming in.