Maryborough Castlemaine District FL

WHAT a shame --- what a waste really, I suppose --- to see the Ross boys piddling about in the leagues they are in currently.
They were tough, durable players for Maryborough in the major league BFL. What is it with blokes who won't commit to the training and discipline required at the higher level.
OK, so you may say they're getting on in age a bit. Then take a look at Reed Wills --- out of Maryborough to district league Loddon Valley, to have a gallop with Newbridge.
I have heard it said (by the Maryborough senior coach, actually) R. Wills couldn't be bothered with the extra training, fitness levels and discipline needed to cut it with Maryborough in the major league.

Well, Jock maybe he wasn't all that happy at the Borough, he did get badly injured last year also. Willsy is definitely being well looked after at Newbridge and is happy and is playing some great footy. The coaching staff and the players love the guy! He's fitting in nicely. Go the W Train!! :thumbsu:

[/b]

dead right there...everyone in country vic knows bellenger is one of the most money hungry players getting round! i'm not sayin his not worth it but he does seem to just go to the club who is will to fork out the most cash for him.

Things look alright at Avoca ATM with the new coach Bellenger. Some credit should be shown where it is deserved Avoca are the club that is on the top of MCDFL

mate i dont think catch me was saying anything about how good avoca were going...more just stating the fact that they to pay out substanial amount to players! and this is fair enough...thats where country footy has gone. i jus think i silly how avoca people alway go round saying they dont pay players when i is clear that they do

Avoca have one of the best incentive schemes going around and I am sure they would be paying a few players travel money but I am aware that all the players apart from the coach are entitled for the incentives.

Avoca have not done a thing wrong thus far and would be quite happy with how things are travelling. Avoca and every other team in the league would know it is only Round 4 and know there is alot of water to flow under the premiership bridge. I agree totally with your last sentence boot of gum!

[/b]

dead right there...everyone in country vic knows bellenger is one of the most money hungry players getting round! i'm not sayin his not worth it but he does seem to just go to the club who is will to fork out the most cash for him.

Mate coming from a Hutchins that is a very big call... Pull your head in buddy and pipe down!

I think they have the cash... I would be more concerned about the loyal players that have been around for a while that will be dropped. Its a balancing act so they wouldn't want too many coming in.

i agree rich that yes they prob do have the money, but jesus would love to see how much they pay players a week to play.....and how it rates to other clubs, that would be very very interesting to see how clubs stack up, unfortunately though a question that will never get answered.

carisbrook have a fantastic supporters base and sponsorship base that must obviously be providing a healthier income than most of us think.

in relation to avoca its great to see they are back up and running again,and full credit tho them for the hard work..... but i will refuse to believe no matter how good there incentive scheme is that costs are at a minimum.....after all if they have a hefty incentive scheme it is still money they are dishing out to there best players, who would most likely be payed players anyway.

To help you with a few figures Avoca forked out exactly $14 700 in total last season which included the coach's payments and the incentive scheme.

If you don't believe what I am putting forward just ask the two boys who headed to Carisbrook this season as they know roughly how much the club would have paid out.

Last Sat the youngster who kicked 8 goals got to take home $300 in cash. Don't you think it is healthier for a club if the players who play the best footy get to take home the loot?

As far as Tony Bellenger goes, he has already gained great respect from all sections of the club and to his credit has the team ticking along nicely. You might remember that many had written Avoca off around christmas, but through shear hard work and a strong junior development program the club has managed to turn its fortunes around.
Avoca has derived enormous enjoyment out of its wins to date and the fact that the club finds itself on top of the ladder has exceeded all expectations.
With the amount of young talent in its ranks, it would be no surprise to see Avoca perform admirably for the next year or two.

: Jason Hare has talked to Osh and is putting in a clearance to Brook also, not sure why it hasn't gone thru yet to Brook but he spoke with Osh last weekend. Gunny? Osh hasn't been told anything about that one.
Have also heard the Rumour about the Big Megs as off with the girl I believe he followed up there.[/quote]
Sherman: :thumbsu: Gunny came and saw the Rovers Match Commitee lastnight, he is putting a clearance into Brook, You were on the money. Noticed Chief has also put in a clearance. Gunny will be playing against you guy's tommorow thou.

To help you with a few figures Avoca forked out exactly $14 700 in total last season which included the coach's payments and the incentive scheme.

As far as Tony Bellenger goes, he has already gained great respect from all sections of the club and to his credit has the team ticking along nicely. You might remember that many had written Avoca off around christmas, but through shear hard work and a strong junior development program the club has managed to turn its fortunes around.

With the amount of young talent in its ranks, it would be no surprise to see Avoca perform admirably for the next year or two.

Wonker i am over the belligerent[FONT=&quot][/FONT] crap that you continue to put up on this site. I am all for the Avoca Football Club and Tony Bellenger but some of your comments are total ridiculous. To say the strong junior development program which has been recently implemented is assisting in the club being up there at the moment is a total joke. You have an aging list and it will be the older recruits that may bring some sucess in 07.

All i can say is you can keep feeding us this utter $hit about not spending much money and all these initives your club is running which makes you better then everyone else in the league but the simple truth is when the money runs out and the older players retire you will be a middle of the road side and unfortunately for you guys its not far around the corner.

Round 4 Odds with Crankingbet!!!!

Harcourt ($1.20) v Maldon ($5)
Trentham ($10) v Carisbrook ($1.10)
Royal Park ($1.40) v Dunolly ($3)
Rovers ($4.50) v Talbot ($1.25)
Newstead ($5) v Avoca ($1.20)

Anyone want a lesson in tipping just follow the beasts lead! I'll have $2,835 on Talbot ($1.25) into Harcourt ($1.20) into Brook ($1.10) into Avoca ($1.20)

Wouldn't have a clue on how you calculate this but it is a sure thing!

chipper was on $450 at clunes, $700 a game in the SANFL, word is carngham matched it, and brook have bettererd it from a very very good source rumour has it at $850 a game, IMO that is ridiculous if true no player in this league is worth that much. I reckon $600 would prob be around the mark.

The clunes figure is spot on, heard it from a few guys who were definetely in the know. Chipper didn't play any games in the SANFL so i think this figure is a total crock of $hit. Would have been the case if he got a game in the ones but he couldn't cut the mustard over there! Would have been on a bit but i would be guessing $200-$400 at the very maximum! The reason i say this is at North Ballarat if you play seniors you get good money but if you plays twos its generally only $100 to $200 a week and this is what i am using as a comparison. To suggest he is being offered $850 is ridiculous, for one he isn't worth it and secondly he is not the sort of player teams tend to pay big money for! Ie. 6ft 6'' Ruckman / Goal kicker that can take a grab

Anyone want a lesson in tipping just follow the beasts lead! I'll have $2,835 on Talbot ($1.25) into Harcourt ($1.20) into Brook ($1.10) into Avoca ($1.20)

Wouldn't have a clue on how you calculate this but it is a sure thing!

Beast .. since you have a hatred for brook ... what do you think about their recruiting spree?

mate i think you'd find both the hutchins boys play for **** all. not sure u really no what your talking about when it come to them!

Hutchy was on big coin when he walked out of Dunolly to go to Murrabit. He was one of the blokes that helped cause the demise of Dunolly by continually wanting big money and putting very little back into the club. You said earlier in the post a few big names would be going back there next year and roumer has it that he is the man and its about time he puts something back in!

Whispers around town suggest your on a fairly sizeable amount for a young fella too!

The clunes figure is spot on, heard it from a few guys who were definetely in the know. Chipper didn't play any games in the SANFL so i think this figure is a total crock of $hit. Would have been the case if he got a game in the ones but he couldn't cut the mustard over there! Would have been on a bit but i would be guessing $200-$400 at the very maximum! The reason i say this is at North Ballarat if you play seniors you get good money but if you plays twos its generally only $100 to $200 a week and this is what i am using as a comparison. To suggest he is being offered $850 is ridiculous, for one he isn't worth it and secondly he is not the sort of player teams tend to pay big money for! Ie. 6ft 6'' Ruckman / Goal kicker that can take a grab

He will kick 3-4 each game.

I would be pretty sure that he would not be payed the said amount in the SANFL. Your comparison to the VFL is very accurate. Senior players get a fair bit, but the reserve list players only get on average $150. So it is a tough job for North Ballarat and etc to try and get a quality list of 40 players. If you're good enough to play 2's at North Ballarat, you'll be a great district league player. See Glen Handley for an example. He would be a top 10 CHFL player and getting a decent pay packet with it.

Beast .. since you have a hatred for brook ... what do you think about their recruiting spree?

I'm all for bringing quality recruits into the league as it helps lift the overall standard of the competition. My only concern is for the guys who make the effort to play for the equivalent to a pie and a coke who might get the boot. Carisbrook don't look after some guys as well as they should and its only because they are loyal to the club! I think its a slap in the face to guys like young Nathan Wright who i imagine isn't on big coin compared what he may get elsewhere who is playing well for his belovered club for bugger all and then guys who aren't proven players are being offered $200 a game! Hardly seems fair IMO. Any thoughts?

Iron Beast goes bang....... You love ruffling the feathers!

Finally it looks to be some nice weather for footy tomorrow. With a few games appearing one sided we may see some big scores for the first time this year!

Talbot has a tough assignment at Rovers IMO. We will have to work hard for the win.

He will kick 3-4 each game.

Should be right to kick 3-4 a game but i wouldn't want to be paying $200 a goal for someone! He will no doubt be a good player in MCDFL but i question how seriously he will take it, one would hope he leaves the nightlife alone and sticks to what he does best and thats ripping it up on the footy field. Would love to have a chat to Owen Weatherly for an honest assessment of where Chipper is at.

I dare say that would be a very wise move iron beast and to search even further about his night life. I just hope you get the response your actually looking for......:rolleyes:

Sanders is critical as I still think they lack Big Men, particularly forwards. They are still vulnerable. I still think Harcourt deserve flag favouritism... When they get their full side on the park they will be tough to beat.

Getting Sanders playing is critical if carisbrook is going to be a real force this year. If Chipper has been offered $850 (which i don't believe) and young Robo has been offered $200, Sanders must be worth $1k a game at that rate...

Iron Beast goes bang....... You love ruffling the feathers!

Finally it looks to be some nice weather for footy tomorrow. With a few games appearing one sided we may see some big scores for the first time this year!

Talbot has a tough assignment at Rovers IMO. We will have to work hard for the win.
especially you king rich as you are in wonderful form at the moment.:eek:

Hutchy was on big coin when he walked out of Dunolly to go to Murrabit. He was one of the blokes that helped cause the demise of Dunolly by continually wanting big money and putting very little back into the club. You said earlier in the post a few big names would be going back there next year and roumer has it that he is the man and its about time he puts something back in!

Whispers around town suggest your on a fairly sizeable amount for a young fella too!

Beast Beast Beast...Hop out of bed on the wrong side this morning did we? you know a fair bit about these boys it seems! i question a couple of things u mention though!
1. Shane hutch putting very little into the club? did he not play there for around ten years in which time reject many substantial offers to go else where and while he was at the club won a league under 17's b&f, he also kick 100 goals one year won a seniors b&f and was always up there in the best players
2. His so called "walk out on the club". there is more than 1 reason he left dunolly. money i'm lead to believe was not 1 of them. Talk to any murrabit boys or even Kolora Noorat boys and you will find that he takes far less cash than he is actually offered

mate you seem to know a fair bit about footy but every now and then mate your not quite the expert u think u are ;)