Player Watch Mason Cox

If we do get Lynch (don't really care either way), what role does Cox play?
Same same but different.

Tom goes more forward I’d suspect

Two ex-greats claim Mason Cox is unfairly treated by umpires, but Magpies won’t take issue to AFL
GLENN McFARLANE, Herald Sun
July 31, 2018 10:49pm
Subscriber only

COLLINGWOOD has no plans to meet with the AFL umpiring department over the treatment of Mason Cox by opposition defenders as two former star forwards claimed the Magpies’ big man was being unfairly treated.

Wayne Carey and Brian Taylor said Cox wasn’t being rewarded when defenders regularly attempt to chop his arms and stop the 211cm forward from getting to marking contests.

• ec3d741ab18c4b2d221afb0df8efd4ca

Are defenders getting away with too much when dealing with Mason Cox? Picture: Getty Images

• The Magpies confirmed yesterday they haven’t broached the matter with the AFL and have no intention of doing so.

It comes as Cox made a lighthearted quip on social media, joking he was prepared to have a coffee with AFL CEO Gill McLachlan, as Hawthorn coach Alastair Clarkson did earlier this year.

Carey said on Talking Footy: “I see other forwards get slight chops of the arm and slight blocks (and they get free kicks) … he gets absolutely nothing.”

“And let’s be honest, when he puts his hands up at full stretch you can only give away a free kick to spoil (the ball through) chopping of the arms or illegally using your body to push him under the ball.

“It happens to him week in, week out.”

9f79e8674e0a96fb0bfd9bcf439a14fc

Cox has been a revelation for the Pies this year and teams have started to plan for him. Picture: Michael Klein

• Taylor was just as emphatic that rival teams had put work into trying to delay Cox from getting to a marking contest, such was his enormous reach.

“There’s work that goes into him to push him off the football,” Taylor said.

“There’s not always much in it, but just enough to delay him getting to the contest. They are working over Mason Cox and I think they are doing it unfairly.

“His attribute is to be able to run and jump. When he runs and jumps you can’t beat him.

“So all they have to do is interrupt his run and put him slightly off balance so he can’t run and jump at the football in the perfect position and it’s all over.”

Cox tweeted yesterday: “Umpiring would be one of the hardest jobs. No glory and people hate you for making or not making a call. Having said that my coffee order is a skinny cappuccino 1 sugar when you are free Gil.”

When asked about the treatment of Cox last week, coach Nathan Buckley said: “I think he was committed to the aerial contest and I think there’s a lot of early work from their defenders on him.”

“Some of it’s part of the game. It’s up to the umpires to adjudicate that.”

I heard him talking to the umpires and they just told him to keep attacking the ball.
Oh, and on the subject of talking to umpires, heaps of players do it the poor blokes hardly get a moments peace.
Also, Tigers fans reckon we were whinging pfft.
Despite hardly being called for a free kick their defenders are constant whingers.

This is what annoys me the most about Joel Selwood. Puts himself at risk of brain damage just for a few cheap free kicks, but if the umpire has the audacity to pay a free against him he carries on like a man who has just been wrongly convicted of a crime that incurs imprisonment.

To be fair our American cousins don't really do barista-made coffee so he's working from a position of disadvantage...
Good call. The jump from that horrible percolator stuff to a cappuccino is probably bigger than the jump from VFL to AFL.

AFL
Buckley believes Cox is being treated unfairly by umpires
By Mark Koelmeyer 37 minutes ago
19RiCo18MW2897.JPG

Nathan Buckley has revealed on SEN's Whateley, that he believes Mason Cox is being treated unfairly by umpires and that he should be receiving more free kicks for being held in contests.

The Collingwood coach believes there was at least ‘half a dozen’ instances in which he could have been paid a free kick against Richmond last week, but has urged the tall forward to keep attacking the ball.

“Yeah, and we’re aware of that,” said Buckley, on whether Cox is being 'stiffed' by umpires.

“All we can do with that is 'say' keep going at the ball at the highest point big fella, and keep playing the game the way you should.

“It’s a contact sport so you don’t get free run at the ball without having to win a body contest often at stages, but there’s body contests and there’s holds.

“There’s half a dozen that he didn’t get on the weekend but what do you do, you’ve just gotta keep buttering up, you’ve just gotta keep going for it and he will.”

Many believe the main reason for Cox’s inability to win free kicks is due to his height, and because of his physical stature, umpires don’t feel obliged to give free kicks for minor interferences.

Buckley isn’t of the belief that his height is the main reason, but thinks umpires not ‘drawing a line’ early in games is a factor.

“I don’t think it’s because of his size," he said.

“I think it’s because once you don’t pay it early, and I’ve received this as a tagged player, if I’m playing against a player that’s holding me at a stoppage, and he doesn’t get pinged for the first blatant hold, it just emboldens him and then he just keeps holding.

“I’ve always thought you draw the line where you want the line, and then you umpire to that line for the rest of the game.

“The line was drawn quite clearly early in the game for Mason’s contest, and it emboldened the defenders to go to that line.”

I haven't seen Lynch play much. Is he similar to prime Riewoldt/Cloke at CHF just running his opponents off their feet, getting up on to the wings?

Not sure he's at the same level as those 2 in terms of running (very few are) but that was always his go until his PCL issues. Hopefully the surgery allows him to return to that.

6E07352C-CB9E-4804-B334-5210AEBBB2ED.png What a fooking joke!?! 26th amongst KEY FORWARDS!?!? Come on. There’s at least 36 (2 per team) key forwards in the league, and he’s ranked in the bottom 10 for free kicks?

Considering he Rucks maybe 25% of a game. It’s a joke.

How are these teams stopping the tallest man to ever play football from taking a mark? Illegally.

Would Reid play back given he has a one year contract extension?

He just might with the knee scrapes just done allowing him to have better stability

A great last 2 weeks and finals performance back
A great finals performance this year could re establish his Qa back form

Big bonus if

Biggest defensive holder and infringer gets a go this week
RAMPE
undersized against ALL forwards will sure be interesting

BUCKS CALL ON DRAWING A LINE EARLY AND STICKING TO IT IS THE BASIS OF UNPIRING

just shows how bad it is and NOW they wanta change the rules
bunch of KNOBS , just pay what's there and don't be biased

18 to 17 freekicks rally's shows how manipulated it is
The little bit today as 1 in a million members shows the AFL agenda ( get em out of the woodwork)

Thank you Peter schwab ( gold finger) for educating our umpires and of course Anderson , Evans and vlad

Great work

Common denominator of that bunch

HAWTHORN
2 ex players
I ex administrator
1 fan

hence the flags and hence why they guess what all left when the four peat failed

Lets see that story robbo

Think club needs to keep a low profile on this issue. Let the media do all work on the infringing of Cox.

Last thing the umpires or afl would want is to be seen to responding to a club's complaint.

Hopefully the media run hard on it and we can play a straight bat.

Player Watch Mason Cox