Game Day Match Sim - Roos v Tigers - Arden St - 10am

Great not to be blown off the park.

More scoring shots is also very encouraging.
While not a perfect metric it does suggest we are able to get the footy and generate scoring shots.
I actually think it’s a very good indicator

After watching us get beat by 1000 points in the past couple years during pre season, I’ve got to say that was much better. Lots of mistakes which is expected, but lots of positives as well. Sheezel showed class, LDU got it plenty even if his distribution wasn’t spot on…can’t say I agree with anyone having a go at Xerri…never been a huge fan but he’s getting better, actually took a couple of contested grabs and battled well. All our big forwards had moments on what looked a tough day to judge a grab.

Long way to go, heaps to improve on but at least we didn’t look like a junior side playing against men for the first time in a while.

scott is actually useless
Despicable Me What GIF

Considering the disparities in experience (in both total games and gameplan), class and midfield quality, I am very pleased by the effort and result against a high-quality team.

Positives:
  • Powell and Phillips were not disgraced at all. Phillips was particularly impressive with his 20-30 metre passes.
  • No injuries (a big bloody plus)
  • LDU got a ton of it (probably didn't use it as well as he usually does, but still)
  • CCJ had an average first half and then overtook Xerri as second ruck in the second half.
  • Sheezel is all class
  • Charlie did real well considering the questionable delivery
  • Back half structure stood up well in the first and fourth quarters.
  • Clearance structures are still a work in progress, but it was nice to see a high number of rotations in there and that we weren't totally disgraced by a very good midfield.
  • Sleevo looked so much better this week. Was very good first half further up the ground. Played more forward in the second half, but still pressured well.
  • Kayne actually looked alright. Good pressure and smarts today.
  • Ford was pretty good, as was Bonar.
  • While the forward structure didn't work great, but I was a fan of the longer entries, not so much the shorter ones to the pocket.
  • Overall team defence did struggle in the middle parts, but we were never out of the game when the opposition had a run-on.

Negatives:
  • It's preseason, who gives a shit!
  • Seriously though...
  • I love you Jack and thank you for your service, but you seem a bit past it.
  • L Mac and his long kicks nowhere are not great. Teams set up for it. He also got a bit exposed by faster opponents dragging him out wide on transition.
  • A few kids outmuscled and outcontested, but that happens and isn't really a true negative.

Thoughts:

We didn't really make the kind of howlers we were the last two years, especially when switching play, we were a lot cleaner despite the windy conditions.

Richmond was a lot cleaner moving the ball around and hitting targets up forward.

Given we had Zurhaar, Phillips, Powell and LDU in the middle with no Cunners, Jy or Goldy was a real positive.

CCJ was like a lizard, started off cold and slow but as he got some sunlight started to move around better, competed well up forward.

I think LDU was poor in terms of his ball use/decision making.

I liked Goater at half-back, Logue was solid. Sheezel was class.

Late in the game we started going inside 50 a lot deeper and got a lot more reward from it.

Death, taxes and tiger supporter sooking about the umps!! Its feb and just a kick in the park game.
They are an odd bunch. Even when winning, a fair few of them like a good old sook.

Game Day Match Sim - Roos v Tigers - Arden St - 10am