Maths re the new stadium.

It should be remembered of course that the bulk of the old money in Perth and in turn the bulk of the old money that supports footy is in the Western Suburbs, so even if 3/4 of the crowd will potentially be better serviced by Burswood you're always going to get opposition to moving footy away from Subiaco...

Anyway, the selling point of Burswood should not be road access. If you magically transformed Subiaco from a terrible 43,500 seater to a World class 65,000 seater I don't see how the existing road networks would be able to absorb an extra 21,500 people driving to the footy... With access to multiple rail lines and nearby entertainment facilities Burswood should be an example to get Perth people out of their cars, and then out at night. Who knows, there might even be some kitchens open after 9pm... :)

I'd prefer we looked ways to reduce the cost from $1bn in the first place...

People whinge about $1bn not going to hospitals or schools or a new belltower or whatever, but if you float the idea of sending contracts interstate or overseas watch the mouths begin to foam...

:)
Long after the spend amount is forgotten, we will be left with the quality of the stadium.

Now is not the time to skimp.

Leave a world class stadium we can be all be proud of and a legacy, versus a half a$$ed attempt that is ridiculed daily and becomes a disgrace, a waste of money.

Either do it right or don't even bother trying.

Long after the spend amount is forgotten, we will be left with the quality of the stadium.

Now is not the time to skimp.

Leave a world class stadium we can be all be proud of and a legacy, versus a half a$$ed attempt that is ridiculed daily and becomes a disgrace, a waste of money.

Either do it right or don't even bother trying.

Who said anything about skimping?

Did zee Chermans skimp on Allianz Arena?

I'm just floating the idea of looking at architectural designs, materials, modular construction activities etc. that can be done outside WA.

I'm not overly thrilled with a threefold blowout of the arena - but at least we have something quality being built.

I honestly don't get the criticism - it looks mint i reckon

Similarly if the stadium ends up costing 1.5bn but is awesome, I'd prefer that to a 1bn stadium that is bog average

Actually if anyone in the media actually bothered to report things accurately. The quoted "estimate" floated around is from 2005 for an arena of an undisclosed design, so 2.5 years earlier than construction started.

$340 Million > $550 Million blow-out. (including car park).

$390 Million > $550 Million if you include the separate fit-out contract.

Some other fun facts, the original tender didn't include the car park because the car park was estimated on the Arena's current side to cost around $70 million, the actual car park only cost $50 million.

The Government is quoting a 2007 estimate of $700 million for a stadium that would be built at Subiaco. So the $1B combined spend for this is laughable.

Re the new stadium, yesterday I paid my membership for next year.
I'm an in the wings member and next year will be my fifth year on the waiting list. I inquired how long do they think I will have to wait and was told that I should be offered my full membership the first year the new stadium opens. I said well anyone can just rock up to the new stadium and get in and I've been on a waiting for by then 7 years. He then told me not if its an Eagles game as they currently have 43,000 members and over 10,000 wings members who can by up to 4 tickets each, so from day one the Eagles members will sell out the games( not that all would go but they will have a seat). I know a lot of people assuming that when the new stadium opens they will just buy an Eagles membership and turn up, apparently not. In the wings is here to stay and may well be forever!!!!!!

I'm now entering my 5th year as an Eagles in the Wings member and i don't believe it will take that long.

A mate of mine started as an in the wings member two years before I did and he got seated tickets last year.

Now I guess there is a few thousand people between me and my friend, retention rates on tickets is going to be strong while we are winning but we aren't going to be winning for the next eight years.

He stadium should be 65,000 - 70,000 seats. 60,000+ boxes/ corporates as a minimum.

I'm now entering my 5th year as an Eagles in the Wings member and i don't believe it will take that long.

A mate of mine started as an in the wings member two years before I did and he got seated tickets last year.

Now I guess there is a few thousand people between me and my friend, retention rates on tickets is going to be strong while we are winning but we aren't going to be winning for the next eight years.

He stadium should be 65,000 - 70,000 seats. 60,000+ boxes/ corporates as a minimum.

I most definitely think we will be.

We have one of the world's leading architects designing what is supposedly a belter of a stadium, within walking distance of the CBD and people are sooking.

This.

Western Australia has a proud 150 year tradition of whining like hell about infrastructure whilst it is being built, putting every possible obstacle in its way, predicting doom, criticising the planners, questioning why the money wasn't spent on more hospital beds etc. and then it gets finished and people are like wow, this is awesome, how did we ever manage without it.

Read this thread, and its a microcosm of why this stuff takes forever. I know he cops criticism for being arrogant, but well done to Barnett for just making a decision, picking a site, ignoring all the naysayers and navel gazers and actually getting this thing to start happening- otherwise it would be 2020 and we would still debating this nonsense, and standing in line to take a piss at subi each weekend.

The new stadium is going to be phenomenal, and is going to look absolutely breathtaking in that location, cant wait for it to be built, it will be a real milestone in perth's growth.

Everyone who posts on this board should agree to meet up for a beverage at burswood an hour before round 1 2018.

I was just in the team store I'm now 4320th in the queue, and they are all able to buy 4 tickets each. Less than 2 percent of Eagles members don't renew their memberships, so doing the maths.......I'm screwed, I can't see away of being a member until the stadium is built.

But I am just glad I got in when I did.

cant believe the whinging about all this, perth is actually getting some infrastructure built and people still complain. the new stadium will be awesome and im sure that there will be plenty of options post game such as train, walk into the city, walk to burswood etc.

im pretty sure the numbers using public transport at subi now are in to 20K region and there doesnt seem to be any issues there with crowd dispersal post match.

when i come to games now i generally catch the train from northern suburbs get off at leederville and walk (which is probably a couple of k's but ive never actually measured it) then do the opposite when going home because i dont want to have to go into the city to change lines. there is always a heap of people young and old and all shapes and sizes doing the same thing, sure the same will happen with the new stadium

all the crap the new arena got while it was being built seems to have been forgotten as soon as the first event was held, ive been to a couple of wildcats games now and the experience there is first class, if the new stadium is anything like that i will be well happy

Re the new stadium, yesterday I paid my membership for next year.
I'm an in the wings member and next year will be my fifth year on the waiting list. I inquired how long do they think I will have to wait and was told that I should be offered my full membership the first year the new stadium opens. I said well anyone can just rock up to the new stadium and get in and I've been on a waiting for by then 7 years. He then told me not if its an Eagles game as they currently have 43,000 members and over 10,000 wings members who can by up to 4 tickets each, so from day one the Eagles members will sell out the games( not that all would go but they will have a seat). I know a lot of people assuming that when the new stadium opens they will just buy an Eagles membership and turn up, apparently not. In the wings is here to stay and may well be forever!!!!!!

Do you use the club facility to pick up tickets returned by reserved seat holders?

I'm keen to understand why the return system is generally regarded as unsuccessful.

Maths re the new stadium.