Matt Thomas

After finding out that he's been selected in the SANFL mini-draft by Norwood, I wish every success and a great 2006 to him!

It might not be the reason why he came over to SA, but he'll be playing for a side with one of the oldest and proudest histories in Australia... and that ain't the Power. Given the maturity and application he's shown so far in his career, should slot straight into the league team, as well.

vazie31 said:
i heard he trained till he threw up for PORT

I think Matty Thomas is going to be a great footballer.

But chucking up during your first training session with an AFL club is not a trophy...........it means you are not fit enough and not prepared. But other than that it doesn't mean anything. Some of the greatest names in footy chucked during their first training sessions.

I bet the two Matts that got picked in the PSD were both surprised.........but only one chucked, and the other one was fully prepared.

This boy is going to be an absolute gun, i've already put "32" on the back of my guernsey, and i cannot wait to see him play. Being compared to Michael Wilson is a rather large statement to live up to, but im sure he'll prove to be just as good, if not better. Bad luck about being drafted to Norwood though, poor Matt is all i can say! During training he tackled Eckerman, throwing him to the ground, and it took a while for Eckerman to get up! Its good to see Matt isn't afraid to get into the thick of the action, players like him are needed at Port Adelaide. The burgoyne boys are excellent players,however, they are both ball receivers and won't go in for the hard ball gets most of the time. Hopefully, with Matty in our midfield, he will get into the thick of the action!

My mum is great friend's with Matt's dad, i tell you he is one proud father (as you would be) everyday we get emails and faxes with articles about Matt etc! Can't wait till NAB cup, im sure Matt will get a few games and hopfeully make his mark in the side :D

chewy-on-your-boot said:
I think Matty Thomas is going to be a great footballer.

But chucking up during your first training session with an AFL club is not a trophy...........it means you are not fit enough and not prepared. But other than that it doesn't mean anything. Some of the greatest names in footy chucked during their first training sessions.

I bet the two Matts that got picked in the PSD were both surprised.........but only one chucked, and the other one was fully prepared.

you dont know him, you also dont know how fit he is. Your an idiot for saying that, i have trained with him. He is an animal. Your a fool. He is one of the most professional youngsters to be taken in that draft, his preparation is meticulous and he is mentally tough. Dont ever bag him when you dont know about him.

pafc4life said:
Uhh Yeah, it is actually
Really? Have a look at the
http://portadelaidefc.com.au/ website and see how prominent the links to the Port Adelaide Magpies or their website are. It's like they've gone out of business, or like PAMFC is the inbred cousin of the family-- you'll admit they exist if pushed, but they're not to be talked about or shown in company.

Port Power is a club with a 9 year history. It trots out the '35 premierships in 129 years' line to make itself feel important, but it is not the same organisation as the ignored club that won 34 of those premierships.

SimonH said:
Really? Have a look at the
http://portadelaidefc.com.au/ website and see how prominent the links to the Port Adelaide Magpies or their website are. It's like they've gone out of business, or like PAMFC is the inbred cousin of the family-- you'll admit they exist if pushed, but they're not to be talked about or shown in company.

Port Power is a club with a 9 year history. It trots out the '35 premierships in 129 years' line to make itself feel important, but it is not the same organisation as the ignored club that won 34 of those premierships.

There is a reason why the two clubs operate independantly ..... they were forced to by the SANFL becuase clubs like yours felt that letting them operate as one would be to the detriment of other SANFL clubs .... ever remember the Magpies being forced to leave Alberton, and other clubs doing spot checks to make sure they weren't training there.

You Norwood supporters always make me laugh. Spend all your energy going on about how "successful" you are and try and compare yourself to Port ... when in reality you have done nothing more than any average SANFL club since 1930 - is in 9 flags in 75 years ? How many flags did you win pre - 1900 again ? ... you remind me of collingwood - lots of talk but no results where it counts for decades.

You want to have a crack at our website ..... you cant evewn get the picturew of your coach right on your website.
http://www.go-redlegs.com/club.htm .... top LH corner.

demondavey said:
you dont know him, you also dont know how fit he is. Your an idiot for saying that, i have trained with him. He is an animal. Your a fool. He is one of the most professional youngsters to be taken in that draft, his preparation is meticulous and he is mentally tough. Dont ever bag him when you dont know about him.

You obviously played for an inferior side Demon and haven't trained with the other Matt.

He hasn't chucked at the jungle and busts his gut every training session.

But I hope Matty Thomas has a great career, he is a good bloke.

And you don't need to call anyone an idiot for expressing an opinion. It only shows everyone else how foolish and immature you are.

Malibu#27 said:
There is a reason why the two clubs operate independantly ..... they were forced to by the SANFL becuase clubs like yours felt that letting them operate as one would be to the detriment of other SANFL clubs .... ever remember the Magpies being forced to leave Alberton, and other clubs doing spot checks to make sure they weren't training there.

You Norwood supporters always make me laugh. Spend all your energy going on about how "successful" you are and try and compare yourself to Port ... when in reality you have done nothing more than any average SANFL club since 1930 - is in 9 flags in 75 years ? How many flags did you win pre - 1900 again ? ... you remind me of collingwood - lots of talk but no results where it counts for decades.

You want to have a crack at our website ..... you cant evewn get the picturew of your coach right on your website.

thats gotta sting

Malibu#27 said:

http://www.go-redlegs.com/index.htm

dunno about you mate, but that looks a lot like current coach - Trevor Hill - to me!!

i like all the typos in the last part of your post. it's like you were so excited about a comeback that your fingers just couldn't keep up...

lincsPJ said:
but that's the old site... :rolleyes:

do u still go to PAMFC games?

Old site ???? - I got it from a link from the current site a few weeks ago (mysteriously has dissappeared since.) Looks like the same site, address to me, just different page.

But thats irrelevant, the post was in response to someone having a crack at our history.

As for you question - I actually go to more PAMFC games now than I ever have before.

Malibu#27 said:
As for you question - I actually go to more PAMFC games now than I ever have before.

thats great. i know heaps of power supporters who have given up on the maggies. the departure of jack has probably something to do with it.

i havent seen this matt thomas kid. i hope he goes alright. going to norwood will be great for him. james, gallagher and borlace should work well with him. norwoods centre is quality, it's north and south of the centre where we struggle. :eek:

lincsPJ said:
thats great. i know heaps of power supporters who have given up on the maggies. the departure of jack has probably something to do with it.

i havent seen this matt thomas kid. i hope he goes alright. going to norwood will be great for him. james, gallagher and borlace should work well with him. norwoods centre is quality, it's north and south of the centre where we struggle. :eek:

Fair enough. As for the web-site stuff, I just get annoyed with Norwood supporters that want to pull the tradition line on us, when they were one of the clubs that forced us apart (not you, but that other dude).

Malibu#27 said:
Fair enough. As for the web-site stuff, I just get annoyed with Norwood supporters that want to pull the tradition line on us, when they were one of the clubs that forced us apart (not you, but that other dude).

i dont care about all the tradition stuff. i just want to see my beloved NFC win some bloody games for a change. almost started to turn the corner midway through last season.... then dale decides he has other prospects on his agenda. thanks.

im glad that port got the afl license and not the half hearted norwood/sturt bid. very glad.

lincsPJ said:
i dont care about all the tradition stuff. i just want to see my beloved NFC win some bloody games for a change. almost started to turn the corner midway through last season.... then dale decides he has other prospects on his agenda. thanks.

im glad that port got the afl license and not the half hearted norwood/sturt bid. very glad.

Fair enough - not a bad attitude ..... must be that Barossa air (I'm from there also).

Matt Thomas