Matthew Panos

My tip is that Panos and Rose and/or Hooper will be on our main list next in 2011.
Hypothetical
Rose added to senior list
Hooper added to senior list
Panos added to senior list
Liberatore F/S picked
Wallis F/S

Tell Scott Dalrymple to just go watch Under 16s for the year because we don't even need to rock up on draft day, maybe just pick the highest rated big footy phantom draft player if we need one at the end:D

yeah i really want to no the down side to him, why he wasn't picked earlier... can anyone explain?

There has been an inordinate amount of discussion about him on our board lately. The consensus amongst those posters who actually watch the kids play has always been that he's way too one-dimensional - basically can only lead, mark and kick but isn't even outstanding at any of those things (apart from his accuracy by the sounds it). For the record, they had been playing this tune well before the ND too.

That's not to say he's not a great rookie pick up - the guy was AA this year. Just the reasons put forward as to why he slid.

I think someone reported a while back that he didn't have much of a defensive side, was unwilling to chase and tackle, but there were a few video clips of him laying a bear hug and on a few occasions he seemed pretty good at earning a CP when the odds were against him. Anyway, players can be taught to tackle and chase.

It's a mystery.

He's got obvious flaws to slide this far, but he's got talent too.

Plenty of players have established AFL careers starting from the rookie system. It's becoming more successful by the year.

I think he's a very worthy pick and has some tools to work with. He's agile and very young - he can change and improve his game dramatically yet.

Good Luck to the kid.

Nothing wrong with a big FF who can mark the ball and kick straight

Great pick up by you guys, will develop nicely on your Rookie list and will be ready to take over from Bazza in a year or two

I am still wondering why he dropped so far across the drafts for someone who looks like a promising KPP forward.

16 clubs judged that he was only a mid range rookie pick.

I don't want to bag the kid as he's just getting started but I had a different view of the clips. To be critical, I thought he lacked a bit of intensity in the contest and also had poor vision. Plenty of his handballs were to stationary targets directly next to him. Think Sam Power in that aspect. But happy that he's getting a chance and I hope he busts a boiler to come good.

On a brighter note, I thought the Andrew Hooper clips were great. He looks a bit chunky though so needs to work hard on his endurance but his sprinting and agility scores at draft camp were a pleasant surprise.

Have spoken to 2 kids that have played on him!

Upside fast of the mark great hands and wont miss

Dowside you can run off him -one off the kids said he should have gone 30 in main draft but clubs already have forwards the other one could not believe Carlton did not get him.

53e66897782c8c89c37577a53913f0c7_resized.JPG

Panos: I can’t wait to learn from Barry Hall

If any of you have any thoughts he isnt the steel of the draft look at vision of the SA v WA under 18s championships Shepperd went to West Coast at 7 Matt Panos took him apart-you tube it and smile

Here's a pretty good profile of him.

Strengths

> Good-very good OH mark – good leap, clean, reliable hands, gets front position consistently and good reading of the flight in the air (including under contested pressure)
> Good general smarts as a forward
> Clean-very clean hands at ground level with decent mobility
> Good vision and decision maker
> Very good kick particularly excellent finishing ability for goal from both set shots (particularly) and in general play - capable of good depth – good field kick
> Good quick and efficient DM both by hand (including good vision) and by foot

Weaknesses

> Played as a key target at U18, but would be slightly undersized for such a role at AFL
> Seems to have slightly below average pace off the mark with OK pace over distance at best and doesn’t have great running capacity or work ethic
> Offers little defensively and efforts are generally weak
> Lacks physical intensity – I have not seen him physically impose himself on a contest, which he should be doing considering he is more solidly built than most and on occasions he has pulled out of marking contests

Just a couple points when I've seen him. I've seen him physically impose himself on some games it's just a matter of whether he wants to do it. I've seen him apply defensive pressure in stages but generally makes a poor effort. I think he has the tools to make it's just his lack of intensity and effort which is probably the main reasons he was overlooked.

To the other 15 clubs.............thank you!

We enjoyed opening our 'Kris Kringle'.

If he is not prepared to do the 1% he simply won't make the seniors, if he is, his career is all there for him to grab!

We have been lusting for a genuine full forward for years, let's hope he has the work ethic to realise his potential to the max. I have a feeling with the strong hard working culture within the senior group we will find out.

Firstly - I have only ever seen the highlights of him on the internet. There's actually a fair bit of him posted.

To me he looks like a J.Grant clone. Takes a nice grab but doesn't look all that involved. Not bad around the ground but he's passing has much to be desired. Although his kicking is straight enough for goal it lacks the penetration. By that I mean he has a tendency to stab at goal rather then kick through it. But he has the leg to do it so that's a simple coaching technique. That'll improve his passing as well although that could be a decision making error and in which case is a lot harder to learn.

I'm not here to rain on anyone's parade as I've only seen the highlights on the net but I'm getting a better idea on why he dropped to 40 odd in the rookie draft.

He can work on his deficiency's! And it's good to have another young KPP join the stable. Hopefully they all bounce off each other.

Further thoughts on where Panos fits in at the WO. We have a number of current or prospective key forwards and people have been saying we don't need to recruit any more but none of them is really a good thing to solve our KPF requirements. Consider those over 190cm (or close to it in Hahn's case):

• Hall - great FF but has probably 2 years at best and has a few well documented "issues" which could see his tenure shortened
  • Hahn - big bodied but not a genuine KPF and has nearly as many "off" days as "on" days. An OK mark but not outstanding. Some are querying whether his body will last more than a couple more years.
  • Grant - First round darft pick but still a skinny kid (or has he bulked up over the spring?) and serious question marks over his fitness for AFL and whether he'll even make it. Is a lead-up type, rather than a pack mark or body-on-body player. May be better out of a pocket or HFF.
  • Jones - Mostly played school footy in 09 so we have a bit to learn about him yet. Good size and looks promising but early days. Could even end up in defence.
  • Roughead - Very promising and well built buut more a ruckman than a KPF it appears. Pinch hitter forward only, unless we are desperate for a KPF and have burned all other options.
  • Cordy - Lots of noise about him a year ago but he's still filling out and certainly not ready for a KPF yet. Surprisingly good below his knees for such a tall bloke.Seems like he's being groomed as a long term KPF but could also end up a ruckman which I think is where most of his junior experience was.
  • Minson - surely the experiment is over, now. Worth a try but is best in the ruck and around the ground.
  • Boumann - seemed a likely KPF but it's now looking like he'll be groomed for a KPD role. Had one good game for Willi where he kicked 7 goals but that was 2008.
  • Everitt - could make it as a KPF perhaps but has not been tried there while at Willi/WB as far as I know. Seems like Eade and Fantasia have other plans for him (as a Goodes type perhaps?)
  • Mulligan - no indication he's seen as a KPF, so far. More of a KPD or ruck.
  • Williams - A few on this board (as well as Murph) think he could make a go of being a KPF. Maybe if Boumann, Mulligan etc can crack it for CHB then Williams could be tried at CHF. You'd have to reckon there are big question marks over this strategy though as he's never spent more than a short tactical stint up forward.
  • Lake - We are surely not going to put an All Australian defender and arguably the best FB in the league into forward line!
  • Markovic - reportedly could play up forward but was recruited to help fill the key defensive hole, especially if Lake and/or Williams get injured/suspended. Very unlikely.
Out of all of the above I can't see a definite CHF and FF in three years time. The best prospects are 2-3 year projects but none of them (except maybe Grant) have come to the club with a boom forward reputation and haven't (to my knowledge anyway) kicked heaps of goals over their last junior season or two. Grant may be the only one who fits that description and he is still pretty iffy as a long term prospect.

When you look at it like that, Panos could be more than just a bit of insurance. He looks able to be a lead-up player but also one who can play body-on-body and take a pack mark. And he's a proven goal kicker by the sound of it.

I'll be following his progress at Willi very closely in 2010.

Sounds a bit like a Jack Reiwoldt type to me, if he turns out that way, at pick 48 in the rookie draft..... score!

I am still wondering why he dropped so far across the drafts for someone who looks like a promising KPP forward.

16 clubs judged that he was only a mid range rookie pick.

Gourdis was touted to go early as well...has he done anything at the Tigers?

He looks able to be a lead-up player but also one who can play body-on-body and take a pack mark. And he's a proven goal kicker by the sound of it.

I've never seen him take a pack mark and body on body he's not great. If we wanted that type of player Serhat Temel would have picked instead of Panos.

Like someone else said he's like Riewoldt

I think you guys have made a good selection and you also have a lot of inside information on him. James Fantasia's son played with him at Norwood and Rostrevor College in the last few years. Maybe with this knowledge they took a punt.

Out of all of the above I can't see a definite CHF and FF in three years time. The best prospects are 2-3 year projects but none of them (except maybe Grant) have come to the club with a boom forward reputation and haven't (to my knowledge anyway) kicked heaps of goals over their last junior season or two.

Liam Jones, mark it down, bookmark it, get on early, etc..etc...

hes the one. the power CHF for the dogs!

nice formatting btw.

The reports on Jones are very glowing but he hasn't got any runs on the board yet. It'll be much clearer after next season though. He's expected to make some inroads so hopefully he can perform in Williamstown seniors.

At this stage, all our KPF's are still developing and very much 'unknown'.

I have an inkling the Jones boy will go well too, but mine is just an ill-informed punter's hunch. Do you have any inside oil, Stef? What can you share with us?

Matthew Panos